Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Source: Inkslinger PR

Monday, February 22, 2016

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: You’re Still the One by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in Adult, Blog Tour, Contest, Excerpt, Review0 Comments

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: You’re Still the One by Rachel Harris

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: You’re Still the One by Rachel HarrisYou're Still the One by Rachel Harris
Series: Country Blues,
Published by Entangled Bliss on 15 February 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Family, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 254
Format: eBook
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Taste the Heat, Seven Day Fiance, Accidently Married on Purpose, The Fine Art of Pretending, The Natural History of Us

Place(s) Traveled To: Nashville, Tennessee // New Orleans, Louisiana // Magnolia Springs, Louisiana

First Line(s): “He’s not gonna know what hit him.”

Every reader knows that there are some books that they read where the secondary characters really stand out and this was true for me with Charlie from Rachel Harris’s ACCIDENTALLY MARRIED ON PURPOSE (my review.) So I was really excited to learn that Harris was writing a spin off series and the first book, YOU’RE STILL THE ONE, would feature Charlie. I was bouncy with excitement and I think that I fell victim to my own hype as I didn’t love this book as much I wanted to. It was cute and charming and everything that one would expect in a Rachel Harris book but for me it was just missing the heat.

YOU’RE STILL THE ONE is a slow burn novel and for me it was almost too slow of a build up between Arabella and Charlie. While I did like how the two really got to know each other and build a relationship built on friendship it just lacked chemistry. I wasn’t racing to the end to see how their story would end because I never really became invested in their story. I also found the set up of this one to be really choppy and wish that the scene transitions and other aspects of the story had been smoother.

You're Still the One -  Teaser (1)

I also wish that some more time had been spent developing the secondary characters. I have no idea who the next story will be about and familiar characters, like Tyler and Sherry, were notably absent throughout much of the book. I didn’t dislike YOU’RE STILL THE ONE I just think that I expected something more since I loved ACCIDENTALLY MARRIED ON PURPOSE so much. Perhaps is there was more romance to it I would have liked it more but its hard when characters don’t even kiss until the book is almost over. So while I think that Charlie and Arabella make great friends I’m just not entirely sure that I buy them as a couple.

For me, YOU’RE STILL THE ONE was a book of missed opportunities. I wanted to love it but it just fell a little flat for me. But I do still love the world that Rachel Harris has created. I’ll still read the other books in this series and hope that we see more cameos in the future of old friends. This is a book that I know that I’ll recommend to some friends of mine because the things that didn’t really work for me I know will really work for them. YOU’RE STILL THE ONE isn’t a perfect read but its a quick read and worth considering for when you are looking for a slow burn escapist read.

 

irishdarkblue

Excerpt

Yup, this was a recipe for unmitigated disaster. With the hot sting of jealousy currently roiling in his gut, demanding he lay claim to what was his, the smart thing for Charlie to do would be to turn tail and run before they breached the point of no return.

Don’t push too far, Tucker. Remember, she’s not for you.  

Even his conscience knew better than to suggest bailing. Completely walking away wasn’t an option anymore. The attraction was too strong. The oppressive Louisiana heat boiled his blood just enough to make dangerous ideas seem possible.

“It’s a beautiful night.” Arabella was a low whispered voice behind him, and when Charlie turned it was in time to watch her cover-up fall to the ground.

Sweet Jesus. The dress she’d worn all day had been typical Arabella, classy and feminine. She’d looked beautiful as always, so much so that it hadn’t been a shocker to find another guy hanging on her with drool on his chin. But the swimsuit hidden beneath the simple dress almost dropped Charlie to his knees.

The two-piece was emerald green, a spectacular color set against her olive skin that made those doe eyes pop. It was vintage in style, like everything she owned, and the bottom consisted of more fabric than half the women’s shorts today, but it cupped her hips and thighs in a way that his hands itched to replicate. And the swimsuit’s top… Charlie swallowed thickly. Arabella’s small, high breasts were lifted in a mouthwatering display of cleavage that was a feast for the eyes.

She looked seductive and innocent and, good Godshe was trying to kill him.

Charlie was moving before he even realized it, walking in a lust-filled daze toward her. But then, his feelings were more complicated than simple lust…and that was the problem.

“You take my breath away.” The line was cliché, like a lyric from some lame power ballad, but for the first time in his life, Charlie understood the meaning. Arabella’s eyes latched onto his, and her chest rose and fell as her pink lips parted in an exhale and, for a moment, he legitimately forgot his own name.

Arabella made his chest ache with want. She made him forget everything in the world other than how it felt to hold her in his arms. How their bodies aligned, her height allowing her to rest her head on his shoulder if she wanted to. Or stare into his eyes if and when he kissed her.

Right now, he wasn’t thinking about the many reasons why he shouldn’t want that, why he didn’t deserve her or why it would be so wrong to reach out and slide his hand along the gentle curve of her waist. No, Charlie forgot all those things, so when his palm grazed across her petal-soft skin, and Arabella’s gasp hit his ears, he also forgot why it was wrong, so very wrong, to act on his needs.

Lowering his head, he breathed in her floral fragrance and closed his eyes.

“Baby girl, you destroy me,” he whispered against her lips. “You have to tell me if you don’t want this, because I’m holding on by a thread.”

“Then let go.”

Tour Stops

Rachel Harris’ YOU’RE STILL THE ONE – Review & Excerpt Tour Schedule:

February 16th

What I’m Reading – Review & Excerpt

Alpha Book Club – Review

I Love Romance – Review & Excerpt

Ficwishes – Review

Book Starlets – Review & Excerpt

FMR Book Grind – Review

Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

February 17th

Lovin’ Los Libros – Review & Excerpt

Angel Reads – Review

SassyCat’s Books Review – Review & Excerpt

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Excerpt

Books According to Abby – Review & Excerpt

First Dream of Books – Excerpt

February 18th

Friends Till The End Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

What Is That Book About – Excerpt

Tsk Tsk What to Read – Review & Excerpt

Oh the Book Feels – Excerpt

Book Junkie: Not-So-Anonymous – Review & Excerpt

SnoopyDoo’s Book Reviews – Excerpt

E-Reading After Midnight – Review & Excerpt

February 19th

thebookdragon – Review & Excerpt

Adventures in Writing – Excerpt

Reviews With Rah – Review & Excerpt

Cyn’s Reviews AndPromotionals – Review & Excerpt

Extreme Bookaholic’s – Excerpt

Jack of All Trades, Master of None – Review & Excerpt

February 20th

The Lovely Books – Review & Excerpt

Miss Riki – Excerpt

Bookaholics Reading Haven – Review & Excerpt

Literary misfit – Excerpt

We All Make Mistakes in Books – Review & Excerpt

Liz’s Reading Life – Excerpt

BookWorm221 – Review & Excerpt

February 21st

Four Chicks Flipping Pages – Review & Excerpt

The Bibliophile Confessions – Review

Jen’s Reading Obsession – Review & Excerpt

Short and Sassy Book Blurbs – Review

Romance Reviews and More – Review & Excerpt

Debbie’s World of Books – Excerpt

February 22nd

The Book Hammock – Review & Excerpt

Books, Coffee & Passion – Excerpt

Crazy Cajun Book Addicts – Review & Excerpt

Vi3tbabe – Review

Ticket to Anywhere – Review & Excerpt

Worth Reading It? – Review

My Fictional Escape – Review & Excerpt

February 23rd

Bridget’s Book Bungalow – Review & Excerpt

Dazzled by Books – Review & Excerpt

The Cover Contessa – Excerpt

Bound By Books Books Book Review – Review & Excerpt

All For Love of the Word – Excerpt

February 24th

Book Angel Booktopia – Review & Excerpt

The Phantom Paragrapher – Review

Sultry, Steamy Reading – Review & Excerpt

Alphas Do It Better Book Blog – Excerpt

Library of a Book Witch – Review & Excerpt

Book reviews by lexi – Review

My Fictional Escape – Review & Excerpt

February 25th

Jax’s Book Magic – Review & Excerpt

Lazy Book Lovers – Review

Romantic Reads and Such – Review & Excerpt

A crazy vermonters book reviews – Review

Books Eater – Review & Excerpt

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Review

Karen McCoy Books Presents: The Writer Librarian – Excerpt

February 26th

Ramblings From This Chick – Review & Excerpt

G & T’s Indie Café – Excerpt

phishbowl’s bookshelf – Review & Excerpt

Beneath The Covers Blog – Excerpt

The Power of Three Readers – Review & Excerpt

Becky’s Book Bytes – Excerpt

Pandora’s Books – Review & Excerpt

Girl with a Pen and a Dream – Excerpt

 

 

You're Still the One - Review & Excerpt Tour Teaser

 

 

About YOU’RE STILL THE ONE:

Love is one dare neither of them can take…
Arabella Stone, Nashville’s darling, is eager to shuck her prim-and-proper rep, and a few wild months spent checking items off her ” summer bucket list” is the way to do it. First up: kiss the man she’s crushed on since she wore a training bra, the bad boy of country himself, Blue bassist Charlie Tucker.

For Charlie, a beautiful woman flirting with him isn’t out of the norm–but a beautiful woman bolting after the hottest kiss of his life sure is. And when he finds out his kiss-and-run Cinderella is none other than Arabella Stone, daughter of his label’s CEO, he knows he’s in trouble. Because not only is she a Stone, she’s also his employee for the next few months at the recording studio he just bought.

Over the course of one thrilling summer, Arabella and Charlie chip away at her bucket list and fight the simmering attraction between them…knowing that once it’s all over, so is their time together.

 

 

 

Rachel Harris - Author photoAbout Rachel Harris:

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Harris writes humorous love stories about sassy girls-next-door and the hot guys that make them swoon. Vibrant settings, witty banter, and strong relationships are a staple in each of her books…and kissing. Lots of kissing.

An admitted Diet Mountain Dew addict and homeschool mom, she gets through each day by laughing at herself, hugging her kids, and watching way too much Food Network with her husband. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult romances, and LOVES talking with readers!

 

 

Website | Facebook |Twitter | Rachel Harris Goodreads | Newsletter Sign Up

 

Contest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

three-stars
Divider

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Blog Tour: Review + Excerpt: Hard as Steel by Laura Kaye

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Hard as Steel - Review & Excerpt Tour - banner

 

I’m excited to be able to bring you the Review & Excerpt Tour for Laura Kaye’s HARD AS STEEL!! HARD AS STEEL is a Hard Ink/Raven Riders Crossover Series Novella brought to you by 1001 Dark Nights. It is due to be released on September 22, 2015! Grab your copy of this sexy novella today!

 

Hard as Steel

Amazon eBook ** Amazon Paperback

Review

During one of the books in Laura Kaye’s Hard Ink series we learn that one of Jeremy’s employees had her apartment broken into by the big bad trying to take down our fearless warriors. In the book, we learn that another employee Ike Young (who is also a member of the Raven Riders who are assisting in the big take down) takes Jess out of town for her protection. Hard as Steel tells their story of when they are away and acts as a bridge between Kaye’s two series, Hard Ink and Raven Riders. Its a quick read and can be read in about an hour or so and I was really looking forward to it. However, I ended up being disappointed as there wasn’t much substance to it. Especially since for most of the novella the two main characters were sick. Talk about unsexy!

Then when they were both well they went at it like rabbits and it was just too much. I’m no prude but it just didn’t fit with the story. Most of the book was spent with Ike trying to push Jess away and then all of a sudden you blink and they are declaring their love and then its the non-stop sex. Or maybe the declaration comes during a break…it all ends up as a blur if I’m honest. Hard as Steel had a slow start and then a rushed finished and like the previous novellas in the Hard Ink series really doesn’t add anything to the story. We don’t really learn anything new about the Raven Riders nor is there any plot development to the Hard Ink series. Its a story that just kind of hangs there in between with no real purpose. As an introduction to Laura Kaye’s writing this one might be good but I just expected something a little more from it.

irishdarkblue

Excerpt

I’m thrilled to be here celebrating the release of my 21st book, HARD AS STEEL! After a midnight break-in at her apartment, close friends and Hard Ink Tattoo co-workers Ike Young and Jessica Jakes are forced into hiding—and forced to confront the feelings they’ve always denied for one another. I have always adored friends-to-lovers and forced proximity stories, and HARD AS STEEL delivers that and more, including a taste of both my award-winning and best-selling Hard Ink and upcoming Raven Riders series! Check out this excerpt:

“Any better?” Ike asked, sitting on the edge of the bed.

Jess peered up at him. “A little.”

His eyes narrowed. “You’re still cold now, aren’t you?”

She shivered and pulled the cover tighter around her shoulder. “Yeah.”

“Fuck.” Ike scrubbed a hand over his bald head and mumbled something she couldn’t quite make out. “Maybe I shouldn’t have put you in the tub after all.”

“I think it was the right thing, Ike. I was so out of it. It is better than it was before.” She worked at a small smile. No matter how bad she felt, the last thing she wanted was to make him feel bad given everything he was doing for her. As if he hadn’t already gone out of his way in giving her a place of refuge and his personal protection for as long as she needed it, now he had to play freaking nursemaid to a sicky. Which, on top of everything, was super attractive.

The only upside to that ice-cold bath was that Ike had gotten wet and tossed his shirt, and Jess thought she might be willing to be sick more often if it meant getting to see him shirtless. Because, holy bad-ass tattooed biker on a stick, he was so freaking hot. Cut muscles, ink everywhere, two insanely delicious indents low on his waist. And scars Jess had never seen before and had no idea how Ike had gotten.

All that goodness and Jess couldn’t even see the big Ravens tat that she knew covered Ike’s broad back. But she’d seen it before, back at Hard Ink when Jeremy occasionally did a new piece for Ike. She’d seen it enough to know that she’d love to have a good reason to dig her fingers into that tat…

Oh, for fuck’s sake, even sick she couldn’t stop fantasizing about what it would be like to be with Ike. Just once.

“Jess?”

Her gaze snapped to his eyes. “Huh?” Hopefully the warmth crawling up her cheeks would pass for a fevered flush. Because she was so busted.

“I, uh, asked if you thought it would help if I got in with you.” The expression he wore said he was dubious about the idea.

And as much as Jess loved the idea, she didn’t want him doing anything with her that he didn’t really want to do. “That’s okay. Why don’t you go get some sleep now? It’s gotta be almost morning.”

He looked at her for a long moment, and then he tapped his hand against her arm. “Scoot over.”

“Ike—”

“Damnit, scoot your scrawny ass over already.” He cocked an eyebrow, humor sliding into his eyes.

“Well, I’ll scoot over,” she said as she made herself move. “But you and I both know there ain’t anything scrawny about my ass.”

“Jessica?” Ike said as he got in next to her wearing only his jeans.

“Yeah?” The minute he was down, she nearly dove into the crook of his body, her forehead against his neck, her breasts against his ribs, her bare legs intertwined with his denim-clad ones. She wasn’t sure where to put her hand, because the not-sick part of her brain wanted to touch him everywhere right now oh my god I’m in bed with Ike! But she settled for resting it on his chest, the hair on his pecs ticklish against her fingers.

“Shut up and go to sleep.” He took the edge off the words by clasping her hand in his and pressing it more firmly to his skin.

“Be nice to me. I’m sick,” she said, burrowing in further.

Ike wrapped his arm around her shoulders and pulled her tighter against him. God, he felt good, warm and hard and strong. “Woman,” he said, his voice full of gravel. “This is me being nice.”

Tour Stops

Laura Kaye’s HARD AS STEEL – Review & Excerpt Tour Schedule:

September 23rd

The Book Hammock – Review & Excerpt

What I’m Reading – Review & Excerpt

Smut Book Junkie Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews – Review

JB’s Book Obsession – Excerpt

Love Affair with an e-Reader – Review

Book Reader Chronicles – Review & Excerpt

September 24th

Coffee-Books-Life Blog – Review & Excerpt

East Coast Book Chicks – Review & Excerpt

Obsessive Reading Disorder – Review & Excerpt

Blushing Reads – Review & Excerpt

Krista’s Dust Jacket – Review & Excerpt

Red Hot + Blue Reads – Review & Excerpt

Kelsey’s Corner Time – Review & Excerpt

Wicked Reads – Review & Excerpt

A little fiction of every flavour – Review & Excerpt

Fangs, Wands and Fairy Dust – Review & Excerpt

September 25th

Naughty Book Eden – Excerpt

Reviews by Tammy and Kim – Review & Excerpt

Deluged with Books Cafe – Review & Excerpt

What Is That Book About – Excerpt

mignonmykel : reviews – Review & Excerpt

Adventures in Writing – Excerpt

Hot Guys in Books – Review & Excerpt

JordansBookReviews – Excerpt

Books According to Abby – Review & Excerpt

September 26th

Little Read Riding Hood – Review & Excerpt

I Heart YA Books – Excerpt

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Excerpt

Becky on Books – Review & Excerpt

Words of Wisdom from The Scarf Princess – Review & Excerpt

A Tasty Read Book Reviews – Review

Ashleyz Wonderland – Excerpt

Those Crazy Book Chicks – Review & Excerpt

September 27th

Ramblings From This
Chick
– Review

Connected by Books – Excerpt

Ripe For Reader – Review

Inner Goddess – Review & Excerpt

Cocktails and Books – Excerpt

Southern Vixens Book Obsessions – Excerpt

Ticket To Anywhere – Review & Excerpt

My Favorite Things – Review

September 28th

MrsLeif’s Two Fangs About It – Review

Echoing Books – Review & Excerpt

Book Sojourner – Review & Excerpt

Edible Pages Book Blog – Review

Dark Faerie Tales – Review & Excerpt

The Book Reading Gals – Review & Excerpt

My Girlfriends Couch – Review & Excerpt

Romancing the Readers – Review

Bewitching bibliophile – Review

September 29th

Obsessed With Myshelf – Review & Excerpt

Sultry, Steamy Reading – Review & Excerpt

Love Affair With Fiction – Excerpt

Feeling Fictional – Review

Alleskelle Blogs – Review & Excerpt

Becky’s Book Bytes – Review & Excerpt

Teatime and Books – Excerpt

September 30th

Wickedcoolflight.net – Review & Excerpt

The Fairest of All Book Reviews – Review

Typical Distractions – Review & Excerpt

Booklover Sue – Excerpt

Renee Entress’s Blog – Review & Excerpt

The book obsessed momma – Review

Always YA at Heart – Review & Excerpt

We stole your book boyfriend – Review & Excerpt

Friends Till The End Book Blog – Excerpt

October 1st

Books Need TLC – Review

The Book Junkie – Review

Bitten By Love – Excerpt

Sweet Reads: You’re In For A Treat – Review & Excerpt

Sofia Loves Books – Review

Viviana, Enchantress of Books – Review

Confessions of a Bookfreak – Review & Excerpt

Read-Love-Blog – Excerpt

October 2nd

Somewhere Lost in Books – Review & Excerpt

Cupcakes and Vodka Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Grownupfangirl – Excerpt

My Book Snack – Review & Excerpt

Talking Books Blog – Review & Excerpt

Nose Stuck in a Book – Review & Excerpt

Once Untold – Review & Excerpt

G & T Indie Café – Excerpt

Brooklynn Gibbs – Excerpt

 

Fashinable muscular man with tattooes on grey background

 

 

About HARD AS STEEL: A Hard Ink/Raven Riders Crossover Novella

After identifying her employer’s dangerous enemies, Jessica Jakes takes refuge at the compound of the Raven Riders Motorcycle Club. Fellow Hard Ink tattooist and Raven leader Ike Young promises to keep Jess safe for as long as it takes, which would be perfect if his close, personal, round-the-clock protection didn’t make it so hard to hide just how much she wants him—and always has.

Ike Young loved and lost a woman in trouble once before. The last thing he needs is alone time with the sexiest and feistiest woman he’s ever known, one he’s purposely kept at a distance for years. Now, Ike’s not sure he can keep his hands or his heart to himself—or that he even wants to anymore. And that means he has to do whatever it takes to hold on to Jess forever.

 

Hard As Steel - Tour Teaser 2

 

 

 

Author PhotoAbout Laura Kaye:

Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over twenty books in contemporary and paranormal romance and romantic suspense. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. She lives in Maryland with her husband, two daughters, and cute-but-bad dog, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.

 

 

 

Website | Facebook |Twitter | Newsletter SignUp | HARD AS STEEL on Goodreads

 

Hard As Steel - Available Now

 

Divider

Friday, August 15, 2014

Review: Revenge Bound by Heidi Joy Tretheway

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Revenge Bound by Heidi Joy TrethewayRevenge Bound by Heidi Joy Tretheway
Series: Tattoo Thief,
Also in this series: Tattoo Thief, Tyler & Stella, Say it Louder
Published by Self-Published on 31 July 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, New Adult, Parents, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Tattoo Thief, Tyler & Stella, Say it Louder

Place(s) Traveled To: New York, New York // Ithaca, New York // Steamboat Springs, Colorado // Los Angeles, California

First Line(s): The internet is full of naked pictures of pretty girls.

Whenever it comes to a series that involves a group of people there is always one that you want to know about more and one that you don’t really have an opinion on one way or the other. In Heidi Joy Tretheway’s Tattoo Thief series, Jayce falls into the catagory of one that I wanted to know more about so I was excited when Revenge Bound would be his story. Violet, on the other hand, was someone that I was more unsure of as she didn’t really make her presence known in Tyler & Stella and she kind of faded into the backround. I really wasn’t expecting much from her so was pleasently surprised when she was made from stronger stuff than I thought.

In Revenge Bound, we learn that Violet’s ex-boyfriend was not dealing with the break up well and when attempts to win her back failed he decided to post intimate photos of her on a revenge porn webiste along with her name, address, and phone number. Which is beyond a dickhead move to do as there are some very real crazies out in the world, many of who start to text Violet and a few who try to accost her at her home. This sort of response from the ex is one that totally baffles me and it seems like something out of a Law & Order: SVU episode than anything else. What makes it even more scary is that this sort of thing does actually happen in the world and that just made my heart go out to Violet.

I loved Violet and Jayce’s relationship and thought that they really meshed well together. They complimented each others strengths and help make the other person better. I like how, while there is instant attaction between the two there is a real build up in feelings and it was fun to see their relationship grow over the course of the book. Even if it did seem a bit too much of a coincidence that they both shared similar sexual proliclivities. But then that is part of what makes this a fictional story and not real life as you can have these sort of things all fall nicely into place with just a few strokes of the keyboard. It still worked and it worked for Violet and Jayce and it made me happy that they found a HEA together.

What bothered me about this story was Kristina, a secondary character that we’ve seen since the begining. Kristina is the long time girlfriend of Tattoo Thief’s drummer, Dave, and a very real B!tch. Which is why I found it hard that all the characters in this story seem to confinde in her at some point in time or another. She’s not the sort that one spills secrets to and so its no shock that she uses these secrets against those around her when it suits her interests. This sort of behavior also escalated a bit too fast in Revenge Bound to seem realistic though I know its just a set up for the big conflict in the fourth book in the series. Because with each book the story becomes a bit more than just a straight romance and after the events in Revenge Bound you need something dramatic to keep the momemtum going.

For there is a lot that happens in Revenge Bound that goes beyond Jayce and Violet falling in love. There is the stalker to deal with along with Violet’s ex  and how that effects not just Violet but also her family and Jayce. While I did think that the whole stalker aspect was a bit rushed at the end it was a realistic progression from observation to action. It just all happened so fast. But will admit that those final moments did keep me on the edge of my seat. I liked how Violet wasn’t a passive character as I initially thought she would be based on what we saw of her in Tyler & Stella. I liked how she was strong and took control of her situation even when there were times when she probably should have asked for help. (Tretheway talks a little about why she wrote Violet as she did in this post and I think you should check it out.)

Overall, I enjoyed this installment in the series and while I think that Tyler & Stella is still my favorite Revenge Bound is a close second. If you like new adult romances that involve rock stars and heroines that find their strength then you should really check this one out.

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

.

Revenge Bound quote

three-half-stars
Divider

Friday, July 25, 2014

Review: Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Seven Day Fiance by Rachel HarrisSeven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris
Series: Love and Games, Book 2
Also in this series: Taste the Heat, Accidently Married on Purpose
Published by Entangled Bliss on 14 October 2013
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance, Parents, People & Places, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 211
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Taste the Heat, Accidently Married on Purpose, The Fine Art of Pretending, You're Still the One, The Natural History of Us

Place(s) Traveled To: Magnolia Springs, Louisiana // Bon Terre, Louisiana

First Line(s): Shivering as a cool November air kissed her exposed skin, Angelle Prejean quickened her pace across the Magnolia Springs Banquet Hall parking lot.

Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris is the second book in her Love & Games series and follows Cane Robicheaux who we first met in Taste the Heat, along with Angelle Prejean. Angelle is shy and awkward and she’s head over heels in like with bad boy, commitment phobic Cane Robicheaux. Otherwise known as your typical romance novel trope. Another common trope used in Seven Day Fiance was the fake relationship, for which I’ve always been a bit partial too. I always love that push and pull between the characters as they fight for what the reader knows is inevitable…that they are destined for a HEA. So even though I am over the good girl/bad boy trope I am able to over look that for the trope that I do like. Plus, Cane Robicheaux really isn’t your typical bad boy, he’s just got some issues from his past that he never worked through as his role models weren’t always the best. 

For the most part I liked Angelle and I liked who she was with Cane. I liked how he made her be a better her than she was alone just as she made Cane a better Cane. What I didn’t like was the stupid ass decisions that Cane made in the story and just how quickly everyone jumped to the worst case scenario. That scene really bugged me because yes, as a reader wer knew what a jerk he was acting like, but he left all of his things and was only gone a few hours and suddenly the entire town had turned on him. Way to have trust there Angelle and company. I mostly liked Angelle but she annoyed me at times as she could be a bit too naive and was a little too quick to judge. This after Cane put his entire life on hold just to help her save face with her parents who she had been lying to for months. I thought that was really sweet of him all things considered. And Cane was a nice guy throughout most of the book so that seen when he had a personality transplant just came out of no where. One thing I hate in books is conflict just for the sake of having conflict. Its stupid and pointless and what is wrong with just bringing two people together in their HEA? Why do they need all that extra drama??

Because Cane and Angelle had enough to deal with without the drama. There was Cane’s hangups with relationships thanks to his parents and there was Angelle’s crazy involved parents. There was enough drama without adding more and for me it just took away from the story. It pull me out of the fun heart-achy read that Seven Day Fiance was up until that point. Angelle and Cane had a lot of chemistry and they just sizzled on the page and so they didn’t need extra drama. Plus with this drama coming near the end of the book it meant that the HEA portion of it was rushed. I did like this one better than Taste the Heat but I’m not head over heels in love it with it either. I like the town of Magnolia Falls and I enjoyed seeing Bon Terre but I am not sure how often I’ll re-read this story and if I do I’ll probably skip the pointless drama scenes and just stick with the HEA, feel good, make my heart ache ones.

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

.

.

Seven Day Fiance2

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Blog Tour Review: Until We Fly by Courtney Cole

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Until We Fly by Courtney Cole

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Blog Tour Review: Until We Fly by Courtney ColeUntil We Fly by Courtney Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken,
Also in this series: If You Leave, Until We Burn, Before We Fall
Published by Lakehouse Press on 07 July 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, New Adult, Social Issues
Pages: 227
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: If You Leave, Until We Burn

Place(s) Traveled To: Angel Bay, Illinois

First Line(s): I’m dreaming of bullets and blood. Like always.

Until We Fly by Courtney Cole is the latest book in her Beautifully Broken series and involves Brand, BFF to Gabe and Jacey’s punching bag, and Nora who has always admired him from afar. When Brand is called back to his hometown after his father’s death the two become reacquainted when he rescues Nora from a terrible accident during which he’s hurt. She then defies her controlling father in order to look after him during his recovery. Now I’ve read some horribly parents in books but Nora’s really take the cake, not so much her mother who just lets her husband walk all over her, but her father. Her father is a vile human being and creepily controlling of every move his children make. That Nora is strong enough to defy his dictates in taking care of Brand is nothing short of a miracle. Though I do admire that she does she does break very easily where he is concerned. Especially when uber-creepy William is also involved. Man just thinking of him makes me physically shiver!

In some ways, Until We Fly is Cole’s darkest novel to date and while the two main characters aren’t as damaged as previous books Cole enters a whole new territory of WTF-ery in this book. When certain things were revealed I may have gasped and done a double take at where Cole took the story and was then a little disappointed when she pulled back from it. When Cole did was a complete sucker punch to the gut and then she then neatened it up and made it a little less than what it was and placed a bow on top of it. Yes, it was still traumatic for the character based on what was thought to be true at the time but for me I almost wish that Cole had left things as initially written because its something that some people have to deal with as horrific as it is to think about.

Other than that moment though I did mostly enjoy Until We Fly there are standard romance story tropes that are tossed in with no new spin to it so they felt a little stale. But overall, I thought that Brand and Nora had some real chemistry and I liked them together. I think that Nora benefited from Brand’s strength and Brand benefited from her love. Brand had a horrible childhood and where he could have let it affect him more than he did and acted more like a Pax or a Dominic (ie been a total asshole) he didn’t. Brand was a good man and Nora was a good woman and together they made each other better. They both had issues from the past to deal with but they did’t let their past control their present.

.
.

irishdarkblue

.
.

.

.

UNTIL WE FLY2

.

.

 

UNTIL WE FLY Synopsis:

Ex-Army Ranger, Brand Killien, has always been good. A good friend, a good soldier, a good everything. The problem is, good hasn’t gotten him anything but a crushed heart. So after licking his wounds, he decides to move on.  And moving on doesn’t include being good anymore.Bad sounds so much better. Jaded and detached, Brand is determined to never open himself up to anyone again.  It’s not worth the pain.  Instead, he becomes closed, hardened, aloof.But then he’s called back home for a family emergency… a family that he is estranged from.  A family that he put out of his mind a long time ago for very good reasons…reasons that involve secrets and pain.  Reasons he tried hard to forget. But home is where the heart is, and it just might be where Brand finds his again. Why?  Because home is where Nora Greene is. A fiery, red-headed spitfire, Nora is a thing from his past.  A beautiful, feisty thing.  When Brand left, she was away at boarding school. But she’s back now. And she wants Brand, scars and all.

UNTIL WE FLY on Goodreads

And don’t miss the other Beautifully Broken, now available:
IF YOU STAY
IF YOU LEAVE
BEFORE WE FALL

Praise for the Beautifully Broken Series:

“I loved If You Stay. Like, really really loved it. The kind of love that kept me reading until 2:40 am and left me crying, smiling, devastated, and elated. The best kind of book love.” – Andrea, The Bookish Babe

“Beautiful, raw, gritty, emotional and breath-taking are just a few of the words I can find to describe this book…reading this book was one of the best experiences I have had.” –Amanda, Globug and Hootie Need a Book

“In If You Leave, we continue the wild ride Courtney Cole started us on in If You Stay. This raw story of heartbreak and hope solidifies Cole’s standing as a rising star in hot contemporary romance.” — New York Times Bestselling author of Down to You, M. Leighton

“Another raw, gritty masterpiece with a sexy-as-hell Army Ranger to swoon over.” — K.A. Tucker, author of Ten Tiny Breaths

UWFly14

ABOUT COURTNEY COLE:

Courtney Cole is a novelist who would eat mythology for breakfast if she could. She has a degree in Business, but has since discovered that corporate America is not nearly as fun to live in as fictional worlds. She loves chocolate and roller coasters and hates waiting and rude people.

Courtney lives in quiet suburbia, close to Lake Michigan, with her real-life Prince Charming, her ornery kids (there is a small chance that they get their orneriness from their mother) and a small domestic zoo.

Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUpPinterest

 

Blog Tour Schedule:

July 8

Live Read and Breathe-Review Only
Smut Book Club-Playlist and Review
Love Between the Sheets-Review Only
Tome Tender-Review Only
Wolfel’s World of Books-Review Only

July 9

The Geekery Book Review-Facebook Chat
Ramblings From This Chick-Review Only
Reviews from Tammy & Kim-Review Only
Krista’s Dust Jacket-Review Only
The Book Hookup-Review Only
Novel Seduction-Review Only
Anna’s Book Blog-Review Only

July 10

Three Chicks and Their Books-Excerpt and Review
Lovin Los Libros-Review Only
Carver’s Book Cravings-Review Only
Reading in Black & White-Author Interview & Review
2 Bookaholics-Review Only
A Life Bound by Books-Review Only

July 11

Readers Live A 1000 Lives-Review Only
Red Hot + Blue-Excerpt & Review
Book Addict Mumma-Book Trailer And Review
Prisoners of Print-Review Only
Red Cheeks Reads-Review Only
BookAngel Booktopia-Review Only

July 12

Little Read Riding Hood-Review Only
Made For You Book Reviews-Review Only
Book Club Sisters-Guest Post
Aria Kane-Excerpt
Jodie’s W.I.N.E. List-Review Only
Imagine A World-Review Only

July 13

Stuck in YA Books-Review Only
Book Bitches Blog-Excerpt & Review
A Nook for Books-Review Only
Bibliobelles-Review Only
Zili in the Sky-Excerpt
Southern Belle Book Blog-Review Only

July 14

Madison Says-Author Interview & Review
Steamy Guys After Dark-Review Only
Ever After Romance-Review Only
Literati Book Reviews-Excerpt & Review
Books over Boys-Guest Post
Mustreadbooksordie-Review Only

July 15

Starbucks N Books Obsession-Review Only
Nose Stuck in a Book-Guest Post & Review
Always YA at Heart-Character Interview (Nora) and Review
I Read Indie-Review Only
Dirty Girl Romance-Review Only
Book Freak-Review Only

July 16

Ticket to Anywhere-Review Only
Stuck in Books-Character Interview (Brand) & Review
Read That-Review Only
Tyhada Reads-Review Only
Schmexy Girl Book Blog-Excerpt and Review
Summer’s Book Blog-Review Only

July 17

The Unofficial Book Fan Club-Dreamcast & Review
I Love Lady Porn-Review Only
Bestsellers & Beststellars-Guest Post and Review
Holly’s Red Hot Reviews-Review Only
Books, Booze and Beyond-Review Only
City of Books-Review Only

a Rafflecopter giveaway

three-stars
Divider

Monday, March 3, 2014

Review: The Hazards of a One Night Stand by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: The Hazards of a One Night Stand by Alyssa Rose IvyThe Hazards of a One Night Stand by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Series: Hazards, Book 2
Also in this series: The Hazards of Skinny Dipping
Published by Self-Published on 27 February 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Love & Romance, New Adult, Social Issues
Pages: 248
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars
Also by this author: The Hazards of Skinny Dipping

Place(s) Traveled To: Gasden, South Carolina //Kiaweh, South Carolina // Charlotte, South Carolina

First Line(s): Field parties are about as much fun as they sound.

The Hazards of a One Night Stand by Alyssa Rose Ivy is a companion book to her Hazards of Skinny Dipping and is set at the same college, Harrison, as the previous story. The main character of this book, Mallory, is a sorority sister to Juliet and as such she and Ross do have lots of cameos in this story. And thank goodness for that because I really did not like Mallory. If it wasn’t for the secondary characters in this story and the super sweet male lead, Colton, then I probably would have called this one a DNF. Mallory was spoiled, judgmental, bratty, and didn’t care about anyone around her or who she might hurt with her actions. I honestly don’t get what people saw in her or why Colton kept chasing after her. Sure they had a great one night together but her attitude afterwards was just deplorable.

Mallory really had a hard time getting out of her own way and loved to make mountains out of mole hills. She claims to have been deeply in and love with and hurt by her ex-boyfriend who just happens to be Colton’s older brother. But throughout the book she keeps saying how it was always Colton she had the crush on. But she couldn’t be with Colton because he was younger than her and people would talk. Colton was three months younger. THREE MONTHS?!?! Her ex was over a year older than her but that was ok? Mallory was filled with these contradictions and a terrible attitude that just got worse and worse as the book went on.

As I said above though the secondary characters made this story more bearable. I liked Colton and wish that we’d gotten to see things from his POV. I also like Juliet and Cara and they all helped to lesson the drama that was Mallory’s world. Though after meeting her father and what a domineering ass he was you can almost understand where Mallory was coming from but as he barely saw her he can only be blamed for so much. Her stepdad was controlling (ridiculously so) but he let her be all bratty so he didn’t help Mallory’s attitude any.

If you can get past Mallory’s whininess then the plot of this one isn’t that bad and the pacing is pretty even. The story never felt rushed and you can see the seeds being set for future stories set in the world of Harrison University. If there are more stories I will probably read them as I do like Ivy’s writing and I don’t think that she can make a character that I hate more than Mallory. So if I can make it through her story I can pretty much make it through any others that Ivy might write.

Others who enjoyed this book more than I did:

Pink Fluffy Hearts -“[Ivy’s] main characters both male and female are always dealing with real issues, which make them incredibly relatable to the readers. Mallory is no different. She is sweet and kind and has a very big heart that she hides behind a wall of sarcasm.”

Lovin’ Los Libros – “While I didn’t enjoyThe Hazards of a One Night Stand quite as much as its predecessor, I still found myself completely engaged and was happy to see some familiar faces in this novel.”

Other books set in college that you may enjoy:

One & Only by Viv Daniels (5 stars)
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (5 stars)
True (4 stars) and Sweet (4 stars) by Erin McCarthy
The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen (4 stars)

irishdarkblue

two-stars
Divider

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Blog Tour Review: Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Trethway

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Trethway

Blog Tour Review: Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy TrethwayTyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Tretheway
Series: Tattoo Thief, Book 2
Also in this series: Tattoo Thief, Revenge Bound, Say it Louder
Published by Self-Published on 20 February 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, New Adult, Performing Arts
Pages: 275
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Tattoo Thief, Revenge Bound, Say it Louder

Place(s) Traveled To: New York, New York

First Line(s): I never hated myself as much as I do right now.

Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Trethway picks up a little before the end of Tattoo Thief and is told from Stella’s POV. You get to see a bit more of her motivation behind stealing the video but the way that whole scenario played out is still a bit unsatisfactory. And the big cryptic secret/envelope that she had was a little underwhelming as well. Although, despite these things I did enjoy Stella’s story more than I did Beryl’s and I think a good reason for that is because Stella and Tyler actually spent most of the book together.

I liked how Stella and Tyler started as friends(ish) and then roommates and then as a couple. It made their realtionship seem real and tangible which is part of what I think was missing from Beryl and Gavin’s story. Since I liked the main characters better I found Tyler & Stella to be a quick read as I wanted to see how they would get to their HEA. I also wasn’t disappointed at all that there wasn’t a ton of cameos from Beryl. Normally I love it when characters from previous books keep popping in on the next one but in this case I was happy for the focus to be on Stella and Tyler. And I could have done with a little less Violet. Though I get why she was around so much as its a set up for her story which will be coming next.

As with, Tattoo Thief, this one ends with a random dialogue scene that is a lead in for the next book and it just left me sighing. And not a sigh of happiness either. This method of ending just seems so forced to me as if its trying to be a cliff hanger but without the suspense or drama that cliff hangers usually have. So if I ever re-read this story then I will have to make a notation to stop before I get to that very last chapter. I much preferred the story ending with some happy times/thoughts between Tyler and Stella and not with other characters.

Overall, I enjoyed Tyler & Stella and its one that I would recommend those that like new adult, rock starts, and books about second chances. Its a companion to Tattoo Thief and can probably be read independently of the first book since this one starts before that one ends so all the main points of that book are pretty well covered. The writing and the pacing were good and I found myself cheering Stella and Tyler on as they searched for their HEA. They are both flawed people with issues and they manage to overcome them and find a common ground. Tyler and Stella compliment each other in a way that I found missing from Beryl and Gavin’s story and I was sad when this one was over. While I will read Violet and Jace’s story when it comes out I have a feeling that Tyler & Stella will remain my favorite of the lot.

irishdarkblue

Tyler & Stella Synopsis:

Stella Ramsey always says bad boys can’t break your heart. They don’t call, don’t cuddle and don’t send flowers—but what do you expect? For Stella, no strings means no regrets.

When the biggest story of her fledgling career as a music journalist nearly ruins her relationship with her best friend, Stella has one chance to redeem herself. Tyler Walsh could be that chance.

Stella promises the bassist for the rock band Tattoo Thief anything in exchange for behind-the-scenes access. But Tyler doesn’t want anything. He wants everything—and that’s more than Stella is prepared to give.

When Tyler’s explosive secret thrusts Stella into the media spotlight, she must choose between the selling the story and telling the truth—and exposing the truth about herself as well.

Tyler & Stella (Tattoo Thief #2) is a sizzling story of lust, lies, and sacrifice, revealing how much love can forgive.


Heidi Joy Trethway  Bio:

Heidi Joy lives in Happy Valley off Sunnyside Road. She swears she did not make that up.

Heidi’s obsessed with storytelling. Her career includes marketing, journalism, and a delicious few years as a food columnist. Media passes took her backstage with several rock bands, where she learned that sometimes a wardrobe malfunction is exactly what the rock star intends.

You’ll most often find Heidi Joy with her husband and two small kids cooking, fishing, exploring the Northwest, and building epic forts in their living room.

She loves to hear from readers via messages at facebook.com/author.heidi.

Links:

 

Blog // Twitter // Facebook // Author Goodreads // Tyler & Stella Goodreads

 

 

Heidi Joy Trethway  Bio:

Heidi Joy lives in Happy Valley off Sunnyside Road. She swears she did not make that up.

Heidi’s obsessed with storytelling. Her career includes marketing, journalism, and a delicious few years as a food columnist. Media passes took her backstage with several rock bands, where she learned that sometimes a wardrobe malfunction is exactly what the rock star intends.

You’ll most often find Heidi Joy with her husband and two small kids cooking, fishing, exploring the Northwest, and building epic forts in their living room.

She loves to hear from readers via messages at facebook.com/author.heidi.

 

Contest:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Blog Tour Schedule:

Feb 21

Dirty Hoe’s Book Blog     Dreamcast

Books to Breathe             Review

Feb 22

BestSellers & BestStellars             Playlist

Ramblings From This Chick           Review

Feb 23

sofia loves books             Review

Read-Love-Blog                                Review

Feb 24

Made For You Book Reviews                      Review

All booked out                  Excerpt

Feb 25

All Romance Reviews                     Review

Cocktails and Books                        Review

Feb 26

Holly’s Hot Reads                             Guest Post

Our Fictional Boyfriends                                Review

Feb 27

A Life Bound By Books   Review

Ficwishes                             Excerpt

Feb 28

Live Read and Breathe                   Review

Brianna Lee Book Reviews           Guest Post

Mar 1

Sassy Girl Books                                Review

Reading Between the Wines      Guest Post

Mar 2

deal sharing aunt                             Dreamcast

Ticket to Anywhere                        Review

Mar 3

My Daily Romance                           Review

Mar 4

Nomi’s Paranormal Palace           Excerpt

Fabulously Girly Book Blog           Playlist

Mar 5

Romance Addict Book Blog          Review

The Book Bellas                 Review

Mar 6

Gigi’s Book Blog                 Review

Smokin’ Hot Book blog   Dreamcast

Mar 7

Sarah’s Bookshelf            Review

mustreadbooksordie     Excerpt.

 

three-half-stars
Divider

Saturday, November 30, 2013

Blog Tour Review: The Thrill of It by Lauren Blakely

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, New Adult, Review1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The Thrill of It by Lauren Blakely

Blog Tour Review: The Thrill of It by Lauren BlakelyThe Thrill of It by Lauren Blakely
Series: No Regrets,
Published by Self-Published on 21 November 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 275
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Caught Up in Us, Pretending He's Mine

Place(s) Traveled To: New York, New York

First Line(s): I’m a sex addict and a virgin.

The Thrill of It by Lauren Blakely was a hard book for me to get into and its another one of those books where its hard to pinpoint just what it was that was off about it. Although part of it was because I had a hard time thinking of a virgin as a sex addict or even as a call girl. The two ends just didn’t seem to meet. Even after learning more of Harley’s story it was still hard to see her as a virgin sex addict. Even Trey, who actually had sex, just didn’t seem like an addict to me. Although they both showed more signs of addiction than in a historical romance I read a few years back where the hero was also supposedly a sex addict. So there is that.

Of the two sex addict origin stories Trey’s seemed more realistic and believable. Harley’s didn’t really seem to have a starting point and just seemed a bit of a cliche. Even with all the stories she told as she wrote her memoir. I don’t know. I just think that there was just too much broken in this story that it all sort of imploded just a bit and began to cancel each other out. Sometimes a story can have too much going on that it takes away from all that its trying to do. I think that this would have been a bit better if it was just Trey or Harley who had all the issues. Even if part of their story is the result of them connecting via a Sex and Love Addicts Anonymous meeting.

I did like the relationship of Harley and Trey but the character that really shone for me was Harley’s roommate Kristen and I really wish that she’d had more page time. I liked how she made Harley seem more genuine and real. Harley’s mother was total cringe-worthy and I think that Blakely succeeded in what she was trying to do there. But with Trey also having the typical bad parents it all just became another cliche.

As I said above, the start of this book was hard to get into but I did begin to enjoy and get into the story by the midway point. The pages flew by faster and I was curious to see where Harley and Trey would end up and what contemporary storybook cliche would pop up next. I was ready to rate this book a bit higher than 3 stars and then we got to the ending.

*insert eye roll here*

The cliff hanger ending.

I just.

I can’t.

Its just.

Ugh.

I don’t know how many books are in this series but I am not looking forward to a long drawn out series filled with ups and downs and troubles that exist more in the characters head than in reality. The rough patches in the road that happen because one character refuses to communicate something important to another. As of now I am unsure if I will continue to read this series or not it will all depend on what the synopsis says

THE THRILL OF IT Synopsis

A new adult story of Love. Sex. Addiction. Blackmail. And Power…

Some say love can be an addiction. Others say it’s the thing that makes life worth living. Let me tell you everything I know about love…Love isn’t patient, love isn’t kind. Love is a game, a chase. A thrill. Love is wild and war-like, and every man and woman must fight for themselves. At least that’s how it was for me. A high-priced virgin call girl by the time I started college, I was addicted to love and to sex. Even though I’ve never had either. I controlled love, played it, and held the world in the palm of my hands. Then I fell down from those highs, and I’m being blackmailed for all my mistakes, forced to keep secrets from everyone, except the only guy I don’t regret.

Trey…

With all the other women, I knew what they were. They were temporary. They were pills, they were bottles, they took away all the pain, and numbed the awful memories that wore down my ragged, wasted heart. Until I met Harley. She’s the only girl I ever missed when she walked away. But now she’s back in my life, every day, and there are no guarantees for us, especially since I don’t know how to tell her my secrets. What happened to my family. All I know is she’s the closest I’ve ever come to something real, and I want to feel every second of it.

How can you love with no regrets when regret is all you know?

Lauren Blakely Bio

Lauren Blakely writes sexy contemporary romance novels with heat, heart, and humor, and her books have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iBooks bestseller lists. Like the heroine in FAR TOO TEMPTING, she thinks life should be filled with family, laughter, and the kind of love that love songs promise. Lauren lives in California with her husband, children, and dogs. She loves hearing from readers! Her novels include Caught Up In Us, Pretending He’s Mine, Playing With Her Heart, Trophy Husband, and Far Too Tempting. On November 21, she’ll release the edgy new adult novel THE THRILL OF IT. She also writes for young adults under the name Daisy Whitney.

LINKS

Website  // Blog   // Facebook  // Twitter // THE THRILL OF IT Goodreads //Lauren Blakely Goodreads

 

CONTEST

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Visit other stops on the blog tour by clicking here.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Blog Tour Review: A Risk Worth Taking Tour by Heather Hildenbrand

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, New Adult, Review1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: A Risk Worth Taking Tour by Heather HildenbrandA Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand
Published by Publisher: Accendo Press on 22 October 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 265
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Goodreads
three-stars

 

Place(s) traveled to: Grayson County, Virginia

First Line(s): I looked around my bedroom at the growing pile of cardboard boxes and sighed.

When I first read the synopsis of  A Risk Worth Taking by Heather Hildenbrand I thought it was right up my alley. It was a contemporary new adult and seemed to include all the things that I have been craving in stories of late. Sadly though, A Risk Worth Taking, didn’t live up to my expectations and I had a hard time getting into the story.

A Risk Worth Taking is a short book but it felt long, and not in a good way. It just seemed like it took forever for something to happen and then what did happen was just sort of meh. I found Summer to be this moody emo sort of character who was way over emotional over her parents divorce and acted more like she was 12 and not 22. I liked Ford better but around Summer he was this deep and philosophical person and I much preferred him when he was hanging around Casey. Both Ford and Summer seemed more natural and human when Casey was in the mix and those were the scenes that I liked best.

A Risk Worth Taking wasn’t a bad story but I just wish that there had been more depth to it. More emotion to tug at the heart strings. Summer is all “I hate my mother” and then an event happens and she’s “Oh mom I love you so much!” The transition just didn’t seem real to me. Nor did the timeline of the story. I haven’t sat down and plotted it out but it just seemed more time passed then was actually quoted. It just felt off.

As I said above, Casey was my favorite part of the story. He was fun and just brought life to the page. He energized the story for me and without him in it this one may have ended up on the DNF pile. If Heather Hildenbrand ever writes a book that centers around Casey I am totally going to read it.

Other than that, there isn’t much that I can say for A Risk Worth Taking. For me it was a slow story with an annoying heroine. But I feel that there is an audience for this book, after all Goodreads, is filled with glowing reviews. If you are looking to give new adult a shot then maybe this one is for you, its short, doesn’t have a ton of sex scenes (and what is there aren’t adult romance descriptive), and there are good bones to the plot.

GIVEAWAY:
Heather is giving away a gift basket with a hair flower, nail polish, bracelet, and a $20 Amazon Gift Card!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

BLOG TOUR PARTICIPANTS

–Wednesday, October 23rd
sofia loves books -Review Stop
Living in a Bookworld -Excerpt
Reading Rainblog -Review Stop

–Thursday, October 24th
The Phantom Paragrapher -Review Stop
Anonymous Interests -Review Stop
Contagious Reads -Review Stop

–Friday, October 25th
A Bookworm Confessions -Review Stop
Keep Calm & Read Romance -Top 10 & Review

–Saturday, October 26th
aliennation -Review Stop
Book Crazy -Review Stop

–Sunday, October 27th
Reads and Thoughts -Excerpt

–Monday, October 28th
Books Like Breathing -Review Stop
Reader Girls -Playlist
Owl Always Be Reading -Excerpt

–Tuesday, October 29th
Book Wookie -Excerpt
Ticket to Anywhere -Review Stop
The Geekery Book Review -Author Interview

-Wednesday, October 30th
Ramblings From This Chick -Guest Post
Shawna’s Survey -Excerpt
FTLOBbyJBlog -Review Stop

–Thursday, October 31st
Bibliophile Mystery -Excerpt
Stuck In YA Books -Excerpt
Magnet4books -Top 10 List

–Friday, November 1st
Paige -Excerpt
Fictional Candy -Top 10 List
Lis les Livres -Excerpt

–Saturday, November 2nd
A Life Bound By Books -Character Post & Review
read that Review Stop
BOOKS,COFFEE AND WINE -Review Stop

–Sunday, November 3rd
Rumpled Sheets Blog -Review Stop

–Monday, November 4th
TSK TSK What to Read -Excerpt
The Whispering Pages Book Blog -Review Stop

–Tuesday, November 5th
My Daily Romance -Author Interview
Jess Time To Read -Playlist
happy tails and tales -Guest Post

–Wednesday, November 6th
Paulette’s Papers -Guest Post
Madison Says -Review Stop

–Thursday, November 7th
The Book Cafe  -Review Stop
Cocktails and Books -Excerpt
Deal Sharing Aunt -Top 10 List

–Friday, November 8th
The Autumn Review -Review Stop
SassyCat’s Books Review -Guest Post
Stories and Swag -Review Stop

–Saturday, November 9th
Booked On Romance -Review Stop
Books Over Boys -Top 10 List
Hardcover Therapy -Review Stop

–Sunday, November 10th
I Read Indie -Author Interview
Above Average Below Special -Review Stop

–Monday, November 11th
Starbucks & Books Obsession -Review Stop
Booklovers LaceyCat -Review Stop
Wolfel’s World of Books -Top 10 List
Charlotte’s Tangled Web of Books -Review Stop

–Tuesday, November 12th
Pete de violet -Review Stop
Lovin’ Los Libros -Review Stop
Crim Reviews -Excerpt

–Wednesday, November 13th
Globug and Hootie Need a Book -Review Stop
Reading Bliss -Review Stop
Winding Stairs Book Blog -Review Stop
NightlyReading -Excerpt

–Thursday, November 14th
Paperbook Princess -Review Stop
The Reading Cow -Review Stop
Always YA at Heart -Review Stop
Bound By Books Book Review -Excerpt

–Friday, November 15th
Book Addict Mumma -Review Stop
Everything But the Books -Dream Cast
Hackaroo’s Reviews -Excerpt

three-stars
Divider

Monday, October 21, 2013

Blog Tour Review – One to Hold by Tia Louise

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Blog Tour, Contest, Review1 Comment

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Blog Tour Review – One to Hold by Tia LouiseOne to Hold by Tia Louise
Published by Self-Published on 09 October 2013
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 146
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Goodreads
three-stars

 

Place(s) traveled to: Scottsdale, Arizona // Baltimore, Maryland // Princeton, New Jersey // Sea Breeze, Virginia

First Line(s): In the cool darkness of the semi-crowded bar, I could allow the last year to dissolve into a hazy fog, a far-off memory.

One to Hold is the debut romance from Tia Louise and one that I read in a single sitting. Its a short book and a quick read but, for me, there was no mega wow factor about it. This was a typical meet and greet fall in love romance with a random backstory that got a bit convoluted by the end.

One to Hold was a hard book for me to get into at first. I had trouble determining the ages of the characters and initially thought that the heroine, Melissa, was so much older than the hero, Derek, based on various comments and internal dialogue moments that she had. But then later on, Derek reveals his age via some comments and the way I calculated it he was a couple years older than Melissa. So that was a bit weird and off putting.

I also wasn’t a huge fan of all Melissa’s cryptic references to events that happened in the past. When we finally do learn about these events its in this long info dump that just took me out of the story. I am not a fan of the info dump and think all of the information could have been given during all those times she was alluding to past events. There was also this crazy over the top, random ending that just left me going ‘huh…did that just happen?’

Melissa is a bit a Mary Sue character and tends to be fairly passive. Derek is more of an alpha male but not in an over-powering dominate or aggressive way. In many ways he is a good match for Melissa and does help her stand her ground. A bit. I did like how these two characters had a lot of chemistry together and its that chemistry that kept me reading until the end. I wanted Melissa and Derek to have their happily ever after.

I also enjoyed the little side romance between Melissa friend, Elaine, and Derek’s partner, Patrick. Although I did get confused a few times as to what Derek and Patrick’s working relationship was as Patrick first calls Derek his boss and then later the business name is revealed and they are partners. This was just one of a few  inconsistencies in the story-line.

One to Hold reads as a debut novel as it is flawed but even with the flaws there is a promise to the writing. While I didn’t love One to Hold the characters did grow on me and I do look forward to seeing what Tia Louise comes up with next.

 

About the book:

WARNING: Mature themes, strong language and sexual content. Recommended for adult readers (18+) only!

Derek Alexander is an ex-Marine, ex-cop, and the top investigator in his field. Melissa Jones is a small-town girl trying to escape her troubled past.

When the two intersect in a bar in Arizona, their sexual chemistry is off the charts. But what is revealed during their “one week stand” only complicates matters.

Because she’ll do everything in her power to get away from the past, but he’ll do everything he can to hold her.

About Tia Louise:

Tia Louise is a former journalist, world-traveler, and collector of beautiful men (who inspire ALL of her stories… *wink*)—turned wife, mommy, and novelist.

It’s possible she has a slight truffle addiction. And she will never look at a family restroom the same way again.

ONE TO HOLD is her debut adult romance.

Contest:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Other stops on the tour:

October 8

Stuck in YA Books-Excerpt
Me Read A lot-Review Only

October 9

Rumpled Sheets Blog-Guest Post
Roses Book Blog-Review Only

October 10

The Revolving Bookcase-Review Only
Keep Calm & Read Romance-Review Only

October 11

The Book CellarX-Author Interview
Mostly YA Book Obsessed-Dream Cast
Same Book, Different Review-Review Only

October 12

Book Boyfriend Reviews-Review Only
Made For You Book Reviews-Author Interview

October 13

Books Over Boys-Guest Post
2 Bookaholics-Excerpt

October 14

Mean Girls Luv Books-Review Only
Ramblings From This Chick-Review Only

October 15

Just Booked-Review Only
Swooning Over Books-Review Only

October 16

Cocktails & Books-Excerpt
Novel Seduction-Review Only

October 17

Worth the Read Blog-Review Only
Sam’s Book Basket-Character Interview
The Bo0ki3-Review Only

October 18

Paulette’s Papers-Playlist
Reading Between the Wines Book Club-Guest Post

October 19

Blissful Book Blog-Review Only
Book Freak-Review Only
Magnet 4 Books-Guest Post

October 20

Phantasmic Reads-Author Interview
True Story Book Blog-Character Interview
Harlie’s Books-Review Only

October 21

Bound by Books Book Review-Excerpt
Ticket to Anywhere-Review Only

three-stars
Divider