Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Source: Edelweiss

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Review: A Scot in the Dark by Sarah MacLean

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: A Scot in the Dark by Sarah MacLeanA Scot in the Dark by Sarah MacLean
Series: Scandal & Scoundrel #2
Published by Avon on August 30th 2016
Genres: Adult, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Historical Romance, Love & Romance, Regency, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 392
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: The Season, Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake, Ten Ways to be Adored When Landing a Lord, Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart, Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover, The Rogue Not Taken

Place(s) Traveled To: London, England (1834)

First Line(s): Miss Lillian Hargrove was the most beautiful woman in England.

 

I always get a little giddy when a new Sarah MacLean books is placed in my hands and I was super excited to get an early copy of her newest, A SCOT IN THE DARK. I really liked the first book in this new series, THE ROGUE WORTH TAKING (my review) and was looking forward to seeing more of King’s friend the Duke of Warnick. And while I liked this book I didn’t love it as much as the first in the series but any book that has Freddie (aka the Earl of Stanhope) in it will always hold a very special place in my heart. I enjoyed the chemistry between Warnick and Lily but, for me, there was just something missing from this one and looking back I can’t quite put my finger on what.

A SCOT IN THE DARK was a quick read but its also one that I found easy to put down. There was nothing about it that made me want to keep picking up. Though when I was reading it I was throughly engaged and even laughed out loud on several occasions. There is some good banter between the hero and heroine but they just paled in comparison to King and Sophie from the first book. Those two just set a really high bar and Warnick and Lily didn’t live up. But they did have some really fun scenes together and I loved the cameos from the Talbot sisters. I think perhaps, part of my disappointment with A SCOT IN THE DARK is because it wasn’t a Talbot sister book. I just got really attached to that crazy family and it was hard to say goodbye to them.

scot-in-the-dark-quote

My disappointment is all my own. I think that any devoted reader of Sarah MacLean will love A SCOT IN THE DARK. There is humor and adventure and potential for scandal around every corner. There is chemistry and heart ache and a book that has a lot but still remains true to the love story at its core. There is some fun banter between the main characters and some good side scenes when they are not sharing a page. I just wish that I was able to connect with the lead characters more which would have had me liking this book more than I did.

A SCOT IN THE DARK is a book that can be read as a standalone but why would you want to? It totally helps to read all of MacLean’s books in publication order because then you can enjoy the cameos all the more. I just love how those little cameos really help to flesh out a world and make it seem more real across the various series that MacLean writes. And MacLean can write, that is something that never changes from book to book. She is a gifted author and one that I think all lovers of romance should experience. I know that I, for one, am already looking forward to her next book even though April 2017 seems like its an eternity away!

 

irishdarkblue

ir-scot-in-the-dark

Add Lady Bridget’s Diary by Maya Rodale to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Duke of My Heart by Kelly Bowen to Goodreads.

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Review: Chasing Lady Amelia by Maya Rodale

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Chasing Lady Amelia by Maya RodaleChasing Lady Amelia by Maya Rodale
Series: Keeping Up with the Cavendishes, Book 2
Published by Avon on 28 June 2016
Genres: Action & Adventure, Adult, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Girls & Women, Historical Romance, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Lady Bridget's Diary

Place(s) Traveled To: London, England (1824)

First Line(s): It was in the illustrious and exclusive Almack’s assembly rooms that Lady Amelia Cavendish, previously of America and presently of England, officially confirmed that having one’s brother inherit a dukedom was not all it was cracked up to be, in part because she was not permitted to use phrases like cracked up.

CHASING LADY AMELIA is the second book in Maya Rodale’s Keeping up with the Cavendishes series. A lot of this book happens concurrently with the events in LADY BRIDGET’S DIARY (my review) so it was interesting to get a look at events from different points of view. I found CHASING LADY AMELIA to be a fun, quick read though probably wasn’t my best choice to pick up after reading a Bridgerton book. That family just outshines all others though I do like the bond between the Cavendishes and the humor that they find in their daily lives. They are a quirky lot and I think they’d get along well with the Bridgerton’s though I don’t think that the Ton would survive them both!

Amelia is a totally likable fish out of water character who just wants to find her own place in the world. She is a woman born ahead of her time and so finds herself feeling trapped by the rules of polite society and just wants to go out and explore the world. Which she decides to do for one day because if she’s going to get in trouble for sneaking out she might as well make the most of the situation. Along the way she meets, Alistair Finlay-Jones, who is heir to a title, a past that causes him much angst, and an uncle who thinks it’d be just the thing for the family fortune for him to marry one of those ghastly Americans. There is real chemistry between Alistair and Amelia and I loved the time that they spent together and their journey to a HEA.

Chasing Lady Amelia Quote

 

There were times when CHASING LADY AMELIA totally made my heart ache because of the misunderstandings and inner denials that both Amelia and Alistair go through. But there is no denying that they are each others yin and yang. These two really balance each other out and if anyone can keep adventure seeking Amelia on her toes it is Alistair. I also liked all the appearances of the other Cavendish’s but I wasn’t a fan of all the crazy POVs. There was a lot of head jumping going on and not just between our hero and heroine and that just got old for me real fast. I also found CHASING LADY AMELIA to be repetitive at times and I can understand it, to a point, but oy it got old.

Overall, CHASING LADY AMELIA is a fun addition to the series and I am looking forward to the next installment, LADY CLAIRE IS ALL THAT which is expected out in December of this year. If you are a fan of historical romances then you should probably check this series out. The stories are all loosely based on popular books/movies and its fun to see how Rodale adapts something modern into a historical setting. They are fun books and a good way to spend a summer afternoon or a cold winters day. 🙂

irishdarkblue

IR - Chasing Lady Amelia

 

Add Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

three-stars
Divider

Monday, May 16, 2016

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Charged by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Blog Tour, Contest, Excerpt, Review1 Comment

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Charged by Jay Crownover

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Charged by Jay CrownoverCharged by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver, Book 2
Also in this series: Leveled
Published by William Morrow on 24 May 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 361
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Built

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado

First Line(s): Don’t worry, Sprite, bad decisions always make for good stories…

CHARGED is the newest book in Jay Crownover’s Saints of Denver series and involves characters that we’ve met in this series and also in Crownover’s Marked Men books. Avett is the daughter of the man who used to own the Bar that Rome (my review) now owns and Quaid is the lawyer who helped Asa (my review) out when he got in too deep. CHARGED is the quintessential opposites attract story with the very uptight straight laced lawyer falling for the girl who can’t seem to stay out of trouble. They meet when Quaid is hired to help Avett when she’s arrested as a result of the events that happened in ASA. Avett is one of those characters that I’ve been interested in since she first walked across the page because she just seemed in desperate need of a HEA so I was excited to read her story. However, for me, she went from being an interesting character to one that annoyed me at every turn.

Like most broken characters, Avett has a tragic backstory but I don’t buy her actions that result from it. She claims that she’s trying to redeem herself for the mistakes of her past and yet she only continues on her path of self-destruction. If someone was truly on a path of redemption then wouldn’t they be trying to become better than they were and not continue to make poor choices? Although if she didn’t then she may not have encountered Quaid as they don’t come anywhere close to running in the same circles even though Quiad is friends with people who are part of her circle.  One thing I did like is the growth that both Quaid and Avett went through over the course of the novel as they each found a way to bring balance and stability into their lives.

CHARGED - Tour Teaser 2

CHARGED is more than just a boy meets girl love story and while I often love romances that have a little meat on their bones this one just seemed a little too over the top. I also wasn’t a fan of the random POV that happened at the 80% mark. There was absolutely no reason for it and it didn’t add anything to the story. All it did was set up a character for the next book to come, a character which was already introduced in the Marked Men series and so really didn’t need a POV chapter here. Especially since, to date, Crownover has stuck with POVs just from her hero and heroine. To me, this just distracted me and took me out of the story as it just didn’t fit.

Overall, CHARGED was just an ok read for me. It was a book that I wanted to love as I often love Crownover’s characters but Avett just annoyed me too much. CHARGED is a quick read and I know that it is going to appeal to many readers. I know I am picky and can be hard on books so what bothers me is sure to not be an issue for other readers. If you are a fan of Jay Crownover then pick up CHARGED you will probably like it.

irishdarkblue

From New York Times bestselling author Jay Crownover comes CHARGED, the latest in her sexy The Saints of Denver Series, releasing May 24th! Known for her strong heroines and alpha males, you won’t know what hit you as you read Avett and Quaid’s story. Keep reading for more about the Leagle Eagle and Avett and order your copy today.

Excerpt

Avett

                I blew out a breath and felt that bottom I had careened onto reach up to embrace me even tighter. “It is what it is. I’ve let both my folks down a lot over the last few years but getting caught up with a guy that would rob the bar, a guy who could threaten my dad’s people.” I shook my head. “I deserve to rot.”

                I was being overly dramatic but that’s how I felt. I deserved to sit in jail and so much worse than that. Self-pity was good company down here at rock bottom and I wasn’t ready to let go of the warmth it provided just yet.

                He gave me a look I couldn’t read and headed for the door. “I’ll call your parents for you and see if we can have something in place before tomorrow. Working on your case will be a lot easier for both of us if you aren’t incarcerated. Remember, you need to listen to me, Ms. Walker. That’s the first rule in all of this.”

                Panic hit me like a truck. What if he called my dad and my dad told him he’d had enough of his problematic daughter and her endless nonsense? What if he couldn’t love me anymore? Jail I could survive; losing my father for good, well, it would be the end of me.

                Without thinking I jumped to my feet, which had the chains on both my hands and my legs rattling loudly, and two uniformed officers hurried into the room. I was about to make maybe the worst decision to date but I couldn’t stop the words from sliding off my tongue.

                “Don’t call my dad!” Recklessness, thy name was Avett Walker.

                The attorney turned around and looked at me like I had grown a second head. He didn’t say anything as the officers moved to either side of me and told me to calm down.

                “You can’t call my dad.” The words sounded as panicked and as desperate as I felt on the inside.

                His broad shoulders lifted and fell in a shrug like he really couldn’t give a shit that he was about to ruin my life…which was saying a hell of a lot considering where I was.

                “I have to.” He sounded bored and impatient with my outburst.

                I narrowed my eyes at him, and that vortex of awful, which I always seemed to be smack dab in the center of, started to spin faster and faster around me.

                “Then you’re fired.” I saw the cops exchange a look and my rushed words had the blond man turning fully back around to look at me. “I don’t want your help. I don’t want anything from you.”

                Finally, there was something other than indifference in his gaze. There was surprise, maybe a hint of admiration colliding with a huge splash of humor in the pale depths.

                “Sorry, Ms. Walker, but you didn’t hire me, so that means you don’t get to fire me.” That grin of his, which should be registered as a deadly weapon, flashed across his face again as he watched me, and then he was gone.

 

Amazon ** iBooks ** Barnes & Noble ** Kobo

About CHARGED:

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Marked Men books comes the second installment in the Saints of Denver series featuring a bad girl and a by the book attorney who could be her salvation…or her ruin.

Avett Walker and Quaid Jackson’s worlds have no reason to collide. Ever. Quaid is a high powered criminal attorney as slick as he is handsome. Avett is a pink-haired troublemaker with a bad attitude and a history of picking the wrong men.

When Avett lands in a sea of hot water because of one terrible mistake, the only person who can get her out of it is the insanely sexy lawyer. The last thing on earth she wants to do is rely on the no-nonsense attorney who thinks of her as nothing more than a nuisance. He literally has her fate in his hands. Yet there is something about him that makes her want to convince him to loosen his tie and have a little fun…with her.

Quaid never takes on clients like the impulsive young woman with a Technicolor dye job. She could stand to learn a hard lesson or two, but something about her guileless hazel eyes intrigues him. Still, he’s determined to keep their relationship strictly business. But doing so is becoming more impossible with each day he spends with her.

As they work side-by-side, they’ll have to figure out a way to get along and keep their hands off each other—because the chemistry between them is beyond charged.

 

CHARGED - Tour Teaser 1

 

 

And don’t miss the first titles in The Saints of Denver Series!

 

LEVELED - cover

LEVELED

 

Studio portrait of young bearded man --- Image by © pinkypills/Corbis

BUILT

 

 

Jay Crownover - author picAbout Jay Crownover:

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men, The Point, and the Saints of Denverseries. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

 

 

 

Website ** Blog ** Facebook ** Twitter

CHARGED Goodreads ** Jay Crownover Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Contest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Stops

CHARGED Review & Excerpt Tour

May 16th

Ramblings From This Chick – Review & Excerpt

BJ’ S Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

2 Girls & Their Kindles – Review & Excerpt

She Hearts Books – Review & Excerpt

Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom – Review & Excerpt

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Excerpt

BookWorm221 – Review & Excerpt

Red Hot + Blue Reads – Review & Excerpt

Three Little Birds Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Gemma Reads Too Much – Review & Excerpt

Read more sleep less – Review

Ticket to Anywhere – Review & Excerpt

May 17th

Never Judge a Book by its Cover – Review & Excerpt

The Book Disciple – Review & Excerpt

Desert Divas Book Addiction – Review & Excerpt

Literati Literature Lovers – Review & Excerpt

BFF Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Hot Guys in Books – Review & Excerpt

This Wacky Momma reads! – Review & Excerpt

The Rambling Book Junke – Review & Excerpt

A Reader Who Reads – Excerpt

Books to Breathe – Review & Excerpt

Disheveled Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

May 18th

The Book Bellas – Excerpt

HotPressedBooks – Review & Excerpt

The Book Reading Gals – Excerpt

Books by Migs – Review & Excerpt

Emilie’s Book World – Review & Excerpt

Dirty Birdie Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Pages Abound – Review & Excerpt

NC 2 DC – Review & Excerpt

kimberlyfaye reads – Review & Excerpt

The Book Maven – Review & Excerpt

Julalicious Book Paradise – Review & Excerpt

The Dirty Book Girls – Review & Excerpt

May 19th

Ineffable Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Much Loved Books – Review

Reading is Sexy – Review & Excerpt

Pretty Sassy Cool – Review & Excerpt

About That Story – Excerpt

An Asian Chick & Her Cat Walk into a Book Blog – Review

Shanoff Says… – Review & Excerpt

Krista’s Dust Jacket – Review & Excerpt

Home. Love. Books. – Review

Girls With Books – Review & Excerpt

Milky Way of Books – Review & Excerpt

Rachel Reads Ravenously – Review

May 20th

Naughty and nice book blog – Review & Excerpt

Take Me Away To A Great Read – Excerpt

Waiting For Wentworth – Review & Excerpt

TjLovesToRead – Review & Excerpt

Zili in the Sky – Review & Excerpt

From the TBR Pile – Review & Excerpt

Jack of All Trades, Master of None – Review & Excerpt

Typical Distractions – Review & Excerpt

Blog of Books – Review & Excerpt

Belle of the Literati – Review

Lea’s Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Crazii Bitches Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

This is the Story of My(Reading) Life – Review & Excerpt

May 21st

Random Book Muses – Review

Morning Books and Coffee – Review

Dark Faerie Tales – Review & Excerpt

three chicks and their books – Review & Excerpt

Ali’s Reviews and More – Review & Excerpt

Little Red’s Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Book Angel Booktopia – Review & Excerpt

Andi’s ABCs – Review & Excerpt

StarAngels Reviews – Review & Excerpt

We stole your book boyfriend – Review & Excerpt

City of Fandoms – Review & Excerpt

Natasha is a Book Junkie – Review

May 22nd

Best Book Boyfriends – Review & Excerpt

The Bookworms Obession Blog – Review

Bookcrack – Review

Bookaholics Not-So-Anonymous – Review & Excerpt

Words of Wisdom from The Scarf Princess – Review & Excerpt

Guiltyindulgencebookclub – Review & Excerpt

Cocktails and Books – Review & Excerpt

Ceres Books World – Review

Reese’s Reviews – Review & Excerpt

May 23rd

Lazy Book Lovers – Review

People Like Books – Review & Excerpt

The Book Lovers Codex – Review & Excerpt

Tash – Review & Excerpt

Obsessive Book Nerd – Review

Under the Covers – Review & Excerpt

Princess Reads – Review & Excerpt

Shelf_life – Review & Excerpt

The Bookmark Blog – Review & Excerpt

The Phantom Paragrapher – Review

May 24th

RELEASE WEEK BLITZ!

May 25th

Escaping Into Books – Review & Excerpt

Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

True Story Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Lili’s Books – Review & Excerpt

Two Book Pushers – Review

Book Sojourner – Review & Excerpt

Reviews by Tammy & Kim – Review & Excerpt

Romance Addict Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Babbling Chatter Reads – Review & Excerpt

Rentastic Reads – Review

Smut Book Junkie Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Total Book Geek – Review & Excerpt

My Girlfriend’s Couch – Review & Excerpt

The Book Avenue – Review & Excerpt

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Excerpt

Nose Stuck in a Book – Review & Excerpt

May 26th

RELEASE WEEK BLITZ!

May 27th

Mistress of Romance – Review & Excerpt

Live Read and Breathe – Review

The Revolving Bookcase – Review & Excerpt

Red Cheeks Reads – Review & Excerpt

The Romance Reviews – Review

BFD Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

lyssagabriellee_books – Review

Read-Love-Blog – Review & Excerpt

Renee Entress’s Blog – Review & Excerpt

Lucie Lu’s Book Reviews – Review

Oh My Shelves – Review

I Heart Books – Review & Excerpt

InkSlinger PR - blogger banner

three-stars
Divider

Friday, March 25, 2016

Review: Missing Dixie by Casey Quinn

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Missing Dixie by Casey QuinnMissing Dixie by Casey Quinn
Series: Neon Dreams,
Also in this series: Leaving Amarillo, Loving Dallas
Published by William Morrow on 27 October 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friends to Lovers, Friendship, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Leaving Amarillo, Loving Dallas

Place(s) Traveled To: Amarillo, Texas

First Line(s): “I need a Michelob light, two jack and cokes, a bourbon on the rocks, and a Sex on the Beach,” a waitress named Kimberly calls to me over the crowded bar.

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure why I continued this series all the way to its bitter end. Perhaps because my copy of MISSING DIXIE was a review book because I’m not entire sure that I cared if she and Gavin ever found their Happily Ever After. Especially when I stop and really think about this book and realize that if the two of them just talked to each on page one then the entire 300 page story could have been avoided. Now remember kids, this is 300 pages on top of a whole other book so don’t go picking this one up thinking its a standalone. You really need to read the first half of the story, LEAVING AMARILLO (my review), to get the full scope of what the heck is going on and just how frustrating these two characters are.

There really isn’t much that happens in MISSING DIXIE that couldn’t have happened in LEAVING AMARILLO. Sure some editing would have come into play but there would have been a more cohesive story that didn’t feel like it was overly drawn out. Because seriously, how often can two people angst about not being with the other person and mope about as they refuse to talk to each other. I did like Dixie a little better in this book, she was less of a doormat but still allowed herself to be emotionally manipulated more often than not by those around her. Especially Gavin who would need her desperately one moment then refuse to talk to her the next saying they could never be. Oy, talk about running hot and cold!

Missing Dixie Quote

As with the previous books, there are no shades of gray in this world. Everything is either black or white and there is no compromise. So Dixie can either act as a foster mother to a needy boy or she could have a music career as there is no way for a musician to ever possibly be a parent. *insert eyeroll here* The whole story line with Liam left me feeling a bit cold and disconnected because it just didn’t fit in the context of this book and the story of Gavin and Dixie. It was just one more thing that was put in MISSING DIXIE to draw out this story when everything should have been resolved in LEAVING AMARILLO.

I also felt that the ending of MISSING DIXIE was rushed and tied up a little too neatly. After how slow the story was getting up to that point it was all wham bam thank you ma’am this book is done. If the pacing was better than maybe I would have liked MISSING DIXIE more than I did. It wasn’t terrible but its not a book that I’ll be rushing to recommend to folks either. Though at least in MISSING DIXIE, Casey Quinn did add in Gavin’s POV to help offset the angst of Dixie. Not that Gavin didn’t have angst of his own but it was nice to see things through his eyes. It made things a little more clear when you got both sides of the story. Overall, not bad but not totally great either.

 

irishdarkblue

IR - Leaving Amarillo

Add Make it Count by Megan Erickson to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add All Lined Up by Cora Carmack to Goodreads. (Click here for my reivew.)

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Review: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: Dumplin’ by Julie MurphyDumplin' by Julie Murphy
Published by Balzer + Bray on 15 September 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Girls & Women, Health & Daily Living, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 375
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Clover City, Texas // Odessa, Texas

First Line(s): All the best things in my life have started with a Dolly Parton song.

I’m not going to lie, when I first heard about DUMPLIN’ by Julie Murphy I had my reservations. Even before all the hype around it began and that hype only increased my wariness of this book. I really didn’t think that DUMPLIN’ was going to be a me book and I didn’t even consider picking it up until I was traveling in Greece with a friend and she sold me on this book. A thing for which I’ll be forever grateful to her for doing because I *loved* Willowdean and couldn’t get enough of her story. DUMPLIN’ is a powerful little story and I found that once I picked it up I couldn’t put it down again. I was engrossed. I was enthralled. I was completely and totally lost in its pages.

DUMPLIN’ is a story that will speak to many readers on many different levels. Its not just Willowdean’s story but the story of everyone who has ever struggled to fit in and find their place in the world. Its raw and amazing and I wish that I had this story when I was a teen. Willowdean is a perfectly flawed character. She’s strong and insecure. She’s smart and naive. She’s everything and nothing all at once. Her journey is all about learning to love yourself and learning that your imperfections are what make you uniquely wonderfully perfectly you. Willowdean teaches us that no one can do you better than yourself so you better be the best dang you that you can be.

Dumplin Quote

Another thing that I like about DUMPLIN’ is that while there is a romance to the story the story isn’t about the romance. Its not about Willowdean trying to find someone to love her but about her learning to love herself. But what romance there is will just make your heart ache! My only complaint is that there weren’t enough scenes between Willowdean and Bo as I would have liked to have seen more of them together. Because even though DUMPLIN’ is the story of Willowdean I do so enjoy my swoony moments. So I do hope that these two make a decent cameo in the upcoming companion which will be released a millenia from now in 2018.

DUMPLIN’ is a book that I think everyone should read. If you are one the fence then jump off of it and into this story. If I’d listened to my first instincts I would have missed out on reading this amazing unputdownable read. It was fresh and funny and had all the things that I love in a story. There was laughter and tears and moments that just hurt my heart. We’ve all been a Willowdean and we all could learn from her knowing that its okay to let our sparkle shine no matter what anyone else says. We are all beauty queens and we don’t need the crown to prove it.

irishdarkblue

IR - Dumplin

Add Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon to Goodreads. (Click here for my review)

Add The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

four-stars
Divider

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Mini Review: Lord Dashwood Missed Out by Tessa Dare

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Mini Review: Lord Dashwood Missed Out by Tessa DareLord Dashwood Missed Out by Tessa Dare
Series: Spindle Cove,
Also in this series: A Week to be Wicked
Published by Avon on 08 December 2015
Genres: Adult, Emotions & Feelings, Historical Romance, Love & Romance, Regency, Road Trip, Short Story / Novella
Pages: 144
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: A Week to be Wicked, Romancing the Duke, Say Yes to the Marquess, When a Scot Ties the Knot

Place(s) Traveled To: Hastings, England // Spindle Cove, England // Canterbury, England (19th Century)

First Line(s): By the age of three-and-twenty, Miss Elinora Browning had given up on wedding vows – instead, she made herself a promise.

LORD DASHWOOD MISSED OUT is a novella set in Tessa Dare’s Spindle Cover universe and was a quick, fun story that I enjoyed. As with most of Dare’s books the two leads had some amazing banter and good chemistry. I loved the story of Nora and Dashwood and their scenes often brought a smile to my face. When they weren’t making my heart ache with their backstory. What I didn’t like about LORD DASHWOOD MISSED OUT was how the POV would split and go into other characters from Dare’s Spindle Cove books. Those POVs were distracting and didn’t add anything to the story for me. What I wanted more of in this book was more time spent with Nora and Dash.

LORD DASHWOOD MISSED OUT is a sweet romance and the declaration at the end will just melt your heart. This is a short novella but it feels like a full story. It was fun revisiting Spindle Cove and seeing some of those characters and I hope that we get to see Nora and Dash in the upcoming book, DO YOU WANT TO START A SCANDAL.

 

irishdarkblue

Lord Dashwood Quote
three-stars
Divider

Monday, March 7, 2016

Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Posted by Irish in 4.5 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan MatsonThe Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Published by Simon & Schuster on 03 May 16
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Young Adult
Pages: 496
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Also by this author: Amy & Roger's Epic Detour, Second Chance Summer, Since You've Been Gone

Place(s) Traveled To: Stanwich, Connecticut

First Line(s): I flexed my feet in too-tight shoes and made myself stand up straight, trying to ignore the rapid fire clicking of cameras going off all around me.

Dear Reader,

Oh how you are in for a treat when it comes to Morgan Matson’s newest book, THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING. Unlike the title this book was everything I expected and more. I adored the character of Andie who is struggling a bit due to a scandal her political father finds himself in which ends up messing up some of her carefully laid plans. Andie is the sort of girl who doesn’t just have a 5 year plan, she has a 10 year plan, and the spreadsheets to go along with it. She’s smart and driven and most importantly she’s focused. So she’s at a bit of a loss when her premium, hard won internship is yanked out from under her right before she’s supposed to depart and at a bit of lose ends for the summer. All the prime internships have filled up months ago and she’s adrift on trying to find something to fill that gap on her college applications.

But sometimes the unexpected isn’t the worst thing that could happen and maybe, just maybe, traveling on the road not taken is the best decision that you can do. Which is how Andie finds herself walking dogs for the summer complete with a clever spin on how to make it work on her applications and discovers something about herself and all her carefully laid plans. She gets to spend more time with her friends and actually living life while also getting to know her father a little bit more. Her father has been mostly absent for years due to his politician job and so there there a bit of clashing when he tries to parent a girl who has parented herself just fine for the last few years.

Unexpected Everything Quote

As with all Morgan Matson books there are some fun cameos from past characters and its always fun to catch these little glimpses. Matson also really excels at the character development and I loved the journey that Andie takes from the girl she thought she was to the girl she really is. I loved her friends and her romantic interest Clark and I loved watching Andie walk on the unexpected path. I totally devoured THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING and I loved almost ever word of it. I could have done without the book excerpts, which were a little too reminiscent of FANGIRL for me, and ones that I ended up skipping entirely as the book went on. Though I did like the story that Andie and Clark talked about on their walks and thought that was a lot of fun to read. And while I would like to read that story, and even the one in the excerpts, I would prefer to have a full book and not these random snippets that don’t add to this particular story.

Like most Matson books, I devoured THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING. It made my heart ache and I couldn’t read the words fast enough. This book made me long for summer days and hanging out with friends and I totally wanted to partake in Palmer’s Scavenger Hunt. THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING is a wonderful book of family and friendship and finding your way. Its a great book that shows that maybe what you’ve always thought you wanted isn’t really what you need. Its a book that reminds you to enjoy life and friends and knowing that every day is a day of self-discovery and that your life journey is always unfolding. THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING is sure to wow all Morgan Matson fans and hopefully bring new ones into the fold. I know that, as with all Matson’s books, that I’ll be re-reading THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING often and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

 

irishdarkblue

IR - Unexpected Everything

Add Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

four-half-stars
Divider

Friday, March 4, 2016

Review: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: The Mirror King by Jodi MeadowsThe Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Series: The Orphan Queen, Book 2
Also in this series: The Orphan Queen, The Hidden Prince, The Glowing Knight
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on 05 April 2016
Genres: Assassins, Death & Dying, Emotions & Feelings, Epic Fantasy, Love & Romance, Politics & Intrigue, Romance, Royalty, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 544
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: The Orphan Queen, The Hidden Prince, The Glowing Knight

Place(s) Traveled to: Skyvale, Indigo Kingdom // Aecor City, Aecor

First Line(s): The Prince’s blood was on my hands.

If you’ve read THE ORPHAN QUEEN (my review) then you know what complete and utter shit that ending was. Like seriously! I’ve read terrible endings by evil authors but THIS one…my stars…Jodi Meadows didn’t pull out any stops and if I was anything like Wilhemina then I’d have been hunting her down demanding answers, and maybe a little vengeance. But I am not Wil, so instead all I could do was sit and weep as a part of my soul had been crushed by how that story ended. No really, here is an actual photo of me after I finished reading THE ORPHAN QUEEN:

a river of tears

Therefore, you should not be in the least surprised to know that the moment I was able to get my hands on a copy of THE MIRROR KING that I did so.

Push through a crowd

For me, THE MIRROR KING was a drop everything and read title because I *HAD* to know what happened next! And fortunately Meadows doesn’t putter around and she picks up the story almost immediately after THE ORPHAN QUEEN ends. Oh how I had missed all of these characters and this world. The banter between all the characters is so amazingly good that I found myself laughing in between bouts of tears as Meadows tried her damnedest to stop on my heart some more. This author, folks, she is evil incarnate. I know that comes with the territory of her being an author but really did she need to do THAT?!?!  Is it really too hard to give a HEA at say page 1? Is that too unrealistic?

Not how it works

Mirror King Quote

So, feelings aside I really enjoyed THE MIRROR KING and I am oh so very very glad this this was a duology and not a trilogy as I couldn’t have recovered from 2 books with cliff hangers. Especially with that one in THE ORPHAN QUEEN! THE MIRROR KING is filled with lots of twists and turns and gasp out loud moments along with ones that will break your heart. Seriously, this book is an emotional roller coaster but its ending is totally worth the journey in getting there. Because while the ending of ORPHAN QUEEN made me weep and toss my book across the room the ending of THE MIRROR KING made me happy sigh and clutch my eReader to my chest.

book hug

But what utterly and completely kills me with THE MIRROR KING is THAT LETTER!!! If you’ve read PERSUASION by Jane Austen (my review) then you know the sort of feels that I mean. While the letter here is more of a list it is oh so perfect of a list and oh so perfect for this story. It “pierced my soul leaving me in half-agony and half hope” much as Captain Wentworth told Anne in those final moments. There may have been an eternity* to wait between THE ORPHAN QUEEN and THE MIRROR KING but oh how it was worth it because Meadows really delivered a wonderful story that was so perfect for this world and her characters.

Though its a bittersweet ending because this story is over and there are no more words. Its really really hard to say goodbye to a beloved story and characters. That Meadows can get me so attached in just two books is truely a remarkable thing and I can not recommend this series enough. Its fantasy at its best and if you know me then you know just how hard I am on fantasy, especially YA fantasy. So well done Jodi Meadows, well done. You’re still evil but I still love you. Thanks for writing a kick ass book! *muah*

two thumbs up

*This may be a slight exaggeration.

irishdarkblue

IR - Orphan Queen

 

Add The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetter to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

five-stars
Divider

Thursday, February 25, 2016

Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: P.S. I Like You by Kasie WestP.S. I Like You by Kasie West
Published by Point on 26 July 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Distance Between Us, Pivot Point, Split Second, On the Fence, The Fill-In Boyfriend

Place(s) Traveled To: Morris, Arizona

First Line(s): A lightning strike. A shark attack. Winning the lottery.

There are few authors out there in which I get really excited for…ok that’s a lie…but you know the feeling I mean that bouncy excitement when you hear that author x has a new title coming out. Its that moment when you know you want the book right that instant and it almost doesn’t even matter what the book is about because you want it and you’ll love it because it is author x. Well, Kasie West is that sort of author for me and I yearn for a new book from here even as I’m just starting her newest book. Such is the case with P.S. I LIKE YOU which is a story that I devoured and then was left a wee bit sad at the end because I didn’t savor that first time read. I’ll never experence these characters for the first time again and yet I know that there is nothing that could have slowed down my reading process because the story was just that engrossing.

West has a gift for writing likable and believable characters and in creating a world that you want to exist in. Kasie West’s characters aren’t perfect, they make mistakes and there are times when you want to shake them. Lily could be frustrating at times with her attitude towards one character but over all I adored her. I also loved her friendship with Isabel. Those girls are everything I like to see in a friendship in books. They support each other and they also call each other out on their crap. I hated when they fought and my heart ached during those moments and I loved when they came back to each other. They were real friends, unlike so often in a YA book when the BFF is more of a frenemy than a friend.

PS I Like You Quote

And then there was the boy. *inesrt happy sigh here* Oh how I loved how West reveled the plot of PS I LIKE YOU. I adored the note exchange and how Lily and her love interest got to know each other without bias. In letters you can more easily be yourself. You don’t have to pretend if you don’t want to and over the course of several exchanges Lily and her guy revealed secrets and likes and just got to know each other without filters. There was no pretending or putting up false fronts and their exchanges just make your heart ache at times. Especially when the time comes to leave letters behind and to maybe find that common ground in the real world. This transition is one that West does beautifully and oh how it all made my heart melt in the end.

PS I LIKE YOU was a quick read and one that I loved. In my opinion, you really can’t go wrong with a Kasie West book. They are fun and enjoyable and I’ve loved them all. Although if I were to pick a favorite then, right now, it would be PS I LIKE YOU. This book isn’t perfect but its pretty gosh darn close and I know that I will be re-reading it often. PS I LIKE YOU has everything I adore in a story and even a little bit more. Its Kasie West at her best and I’m already hungering for her next book. West is usually an instant love for me and if she is for you as well then you’ll be wanting to make sure you get your hands on PS I LIKE YOU.

irishdarkblue IR - PS I Like You

Add In Real Life by Jessica Love to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

four-stars
Divider

Friday, February 19, 2016

Review: 26 Kisses by Anna Michels

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: 26 Kisses by Anna Michels26 Kisses by Anna Michels
Published by Simon Pulse on 24 May 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Butterfield, Michigan // Trawley, Michigan

First Line(s): Seth loved me first.

When I picked up Anna Michels’s debut 26 KISSES I was hoping for a cute story with a happily ever after. I was also wary of 26 KISSES because the whole premise is for the main character, Veda, is to kiss 26 boys as a way to get over her long time boyfriend who broke up with her because he’s an asshat. Yes, I was happy that Vee was trying to move on in a unique way since the regular method (crying and ice cream wasn’t helping) but I also wanted her to find a new happily ever after….or at least a happily for now….with someone new. How can she do that though if she’s busy kissing other guys?

I needed have worried though because Michels writes a fun, quirky summer time read that made my heart ache in all the right ways. I love the challenge that Vee’s friend, Melinda, comes up with that Vee should kiss a boy whose name begins with each of the different letters of the alphabet. Now before you think that 26 KISSES is one big make out session that isn’t the case at all. Vee takes a creative mind to the kisses and while there are some make out sessions there is also Elmo the dog and a kiss on the forehead from her father. And along the way there is Killian. *swoons*

26 Kisses Quote

Killian is sure to become many a readers book boyfriend. He is sweet and funny and compliments Vee in so many ways. I love so much about this boy and I totally want to see the dashboard of his jeep! I swear if I was back in high school with my beater of a car I’d want to start doing something similar. Next to Vee I think Killian was my favorite character in 26 KISSES but I also loved Mel and Seth and all in all the secondary cast in this book is just full of win.

26 KISSES is a quick, fun read that I enjoyed more than I thought I would. Its well written and is a total feel good, brain candy sort of read. Once I started this one I found it hard to put down and had a smile on my face almost the whole time. I am really glad that I put aside my fears of love triangles and picked this one up because even though there are lots of kisses there is only one real romantic story line and its so heart-achingly good. 26 KISSES isn’t out until 24 May but you totally want this on your wishlists!

irishdarkblue

IR - 26 Kisses

Add The ABC’s of Kissing Boys by Tina Ferraro to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

four-stars
Divider