Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Series: True Believers

Friday, September 5, 2014

Review: Shatter by Erin McCarthy

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Shatter by Erin McCarthyShatter by Erin McCarthy
Series: True Believers,
Also in this series: True, Sweet, Believe
Published by Intermix on 02 September 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Girls & Women, Health & Daily Living, Love & Romance, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: True, Sweet, Believe, You Make Me

Place(s) Traveled To: Cincinnati, Ohio

First Line(s): I hated living alone. I was never meant to live alone.

Shatter by Erin McCarthy is the fourth and final book in her True Believers story and involves Kylie, the girl who had a boyfriend for most of the series and then suddenly did not for reasons that you learn in Believe as well as in this story. Kylie is really struggling at the start of this story as there has been so much change in her life and she’s trying to cope with it all as well as deal with her normal course load. Kylie is also the bubbly, friendly girl in the group and as you read the series you see characters describe her as not smart. You even get that from various characters in this story as well, that she’s the pretty girl or the hot one and so that makes up for her lack of a brain. But I find that misleading of who Kylie is for while she may not always grasp Chemistry equations she is smart in other ways. She’s also funny and sweet and your heart just breaks for her at the start of the story as you only want her to be happy. Enter in Darwin (aka Jonathan) her new science tutor and all around sexy geek genius. The two have a spark and get carried away one night and end up with an unplanned pregnancy and that’s where this story really starts to take off.

Kylie and Jonathan are both at a loss as to what to do but try to make the best of things. They are two opposite people and yet they mesh really well. I love how they compliment each other and really felt their relationship was real. Though as with most stories the two characters do some stupid things, make assumptions and there is so much that could have been resolved if they just communicated with each other. There were a few times in which I wanted to shake them but overall I loved their story arc. I also liked how we got to see the characters from the previous books as I missed their stories when I hit the final pages of their books. So I love when a companion series actively incorporates previous characters.

The plot of Shatter was a bit predictable at times but it still managed to make my heart ache. I also found that there were times when the story seemed to drag but overall this was a story that I couldn’t stop reading once it hit my ereader and I read it in a single day. I also could have done without the epilogue and when I do reread these books you can be sure that I will be skipping over those last few pages. It was just too sickeningly sweet and everything just ended up a but too perfect that it broke the realism of the story. This is part of why I am not a fan of epilogues as I think they just try to do too much and be too perfect in its ending that it just loses something for me. Epilogue aside, Shatter, was one of my favorites in this series. It was genuine and touching and a book that I recommend to all looking for a good heart-warming story. A must for all Erin McCarthy fans as well.

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

.

Shatter Quote

four-stars
Divider

Monday, January 20, 2014

Review: Believe by Erin McCarthy

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Believe by Erin McCarthyBelieve by Erin McCarthy
Series: True Believers,
Also in this series: True, Sweet, Shatter
Published by Berkley Books on 21 January 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 145
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: True, Sweet, Shatter, You Make Me

Place(s) Traveled To: Cincinnati, Ohio

First Line(s): I spent my sophomore year in college partying. I wasn’t even original about it. Just the typical pattern of skipping class and going out every single night.

I’ve really been enjoying the True Believer series and so was looking forward to Believe by Erin McCarthy, especially after reading the sneak peak at the end of Sweet. However, after reading the full story I just didn’t connect with this one as much as the others and its hard to put a finger on why. I think part of it had to do with Robin, she was just so whiny much of the time and I understand they why of it all but she did bring a lot of her angst onto herself. If she’d just told someone, more importantly told Kylie, about what happened then much of the angst and turmoil could have been avoid. But when do characters ever talk about the important things in a book?

I also wasn’t a fan of the whole Davis storyline. It just felt incomplete and tacked on as an after thought. There was no real tension to it, no suspense, and the climax just came out of nowhere and didn’t really have the most satisfying of conclusions. I really would have preferred to have that storyline cutout entirely as it just seemed like so much had already been cut that it lost its relevance.

What I did like in Believe was Robin and Phoenix. I really enjoyed these two together and was glad that McCarthy decided to split the narrative of the story between them. It was nice getting a glimpse into what Phoenix was thinking and for me it added to the story. Although it does deviate from the single POV of the books that came before that and that I’m iffy on. I do like when authors stick to a single pattern for a series but I do understand why McCarthy did what she did so I can’t complain too much about that. I think without Phoenix to buffer Robin’s angst I may not have finished this book.

I was also sad about what a douchebag Nathan turned out to be as he seemed like a nice guy in the first two books. But it was a realistic turn and then this way we do get a fourth book with Kylie’s POV which means the potential for more guest appearances from the Mann brothers, Rory and Jessica. All of who where horribly underused in Believe. And after reading the sneak peak of Shatter (out 14 September, 2014) I am really excited for her story.

Because of Robin’s guilt she distanced herself from her best friends which meant that they didn’t make many appearances in this story. Though the story of Robin and Phoenix did make up for this somewhat. Robin and Phoenix were both broken and in need of someone to help fill the cracks and without the events that came before I don’t think Robin would have given Phoenix a chance. So sometimes out of something bad some good can come. Believe is the third book in a series but it can almost be read as a standalone as the appearances of the other characters are few and far between. Believe was a decent addition to the series but it wasn’t my favorite, for now that one goes to Sweet but True comes in at a close second.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Review: Sweet by Erin McCarthy

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, New Adult, Review4 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Sweet by Erin McCarthySweet by Erin McCarthy
Series: True Believers, Book 2
Also in this series: True, Believe, Shatter
Published by Berkley Books on 15 October 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 257
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: True, Believe, Shatter, You Make Me

 

Place(s) traveled to: Cincinnati, Ohio

First Line(s): I couldn’t go home for the summer. I just couldn’t.

Related Post(s): Interview with Erin McCarthy (Post goes live on 25 Oct) // Quotably Yours: Sweet

True Believers Series Order:
Book 1: True
Book 2: Sweet
Book 3: Believe (07 Jan 2014)
Book 4: Untitled

As soon as I finished True by Erin McCarthy I wanted to dive into Sweet, its companion/sequel as I wasn’t ready to leave the Mann brothers. I was also excited to learn more about Jessica and Riley, especially since these two did not like each other…at all when they first met. Due to a crazy set of circumstances Jessica ends up spending some time crashing at the Mann house in order to avoid going home for the summer. With Tyler and Rory off doing coupley summertime things there is no real buffer between Jessica and Riley. For a portion of the book it is unclear on if these two will fall madly in love…or kill each other. Just when you think one or the other will happen they go and do something to surprise you.

There is so much chemistry between Jessica and Riley that it just sizzles off the page. This is shown through their actions and their there conversations and not by jumping into bed every other paragraph. Riley and Jessica are both guarded in their emotions and are more likely to trade insults than anything else and as the reader you get to sit back and watch it all unfurl. I loved each and every interaction they had as they might say that they didn’t want to do x but then the very next day the one who said that would be doing whatever that task was with no complaint…or not much of one. What Sweet does well is to show that actions really do speak louder than words especially when it comes to this volatile couple learning how to be a couple.

It was also fun learning more about the younger Mann brothers and even more about Robin, who will be featured in the next book Believe. Although I really did miss having Rory and Tyler around. I think if they had been in the story this would have been a 5 star read for me. But as it was, their absence felt like a gaping hole. Even if it was necessary for them to be away as if Tyler was around then Jessica wouldn’t have had a place to crash and there would not have been a story to tell. Sometimes things happen for a reason even when you don’t like what that reason is.

Overall, I loved how sweet and fun this story was. Riley and Jessica are dealing with some very real and separate issues and they are as different as oil and water. And yet, despite all their difference they mix very well together and they beat all the odds that are stacked against them. I devoured this book and I was so sad when it came to an end. I was not ready to leave this world or this family and though I know that Robin’s story is coming I just don’t think it will be the same as this one. I didn’t really like Robin much, she was ok, but there was nothing about her that made me want to know more. Although I do feel bad for her and am curious to see how she deals with the fallout of what she did.

If you are looking for some fun new adult stories then you should really check out this series. Its all about the romance and not about the sexy times as many new adult reads seem to be these days. Erin McCarthy has a real gift with creating real stories with characters that could be your BFF if they were real. With every story she writes I get lost in her world and feel all the things. I know that this series will probably be one that I revisit from time to time as Jessica, Rory and the Mann family are all dear friends and I don’t think that I will tire of their stories.

Click here to see some of my favorite quotes from Sweet

irishdarkblue
four-stars
Divider

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Review: True by Erin McCarthy

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, New Adult, Review5 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: True by Erin McCarthyTrue by Erin McCarthy
Series: True Believers,
Also in this series: Sweet, Believe, Shatter
Published by Berkley Books on 07 May 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 235
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Sweet, Believe, Shatter, You Make Me

 

Place(s) traveled to: Cincinnati, Ohio

First Line(s): Getting drunk was not in my plans for Friday night.

Related Post(s): Interview with Erin McCarthy  // Quotably Yours: True

True Believers Series Order:
Book 1: True
Book 2: Sweet
Book 3: Believe (07 Jan 2014)
Book 4: Untitled

When I first heard that Erin McCarthy was branching out into new adult as I had loved her adult romance series. But then I read the opening lines of True and I wasn’t so sure about it. I don’t mind virgin heroines but I don’t like how the moment a girls friends here she is then they immediately say she needs to have sex. Or the girl herself thinks that there is something wrong with herself as she’s never had sex in high school. In True, Rory’s friends go one step further by hiring someone to do the deed. *cue heavy sigh and much eye rolling*

It was my love of Erin McCarthy’s past books that kept me reading and in the end I was really glad I had done so. As True is much more than a girl losing her virginity story. In fact, that isn’t even a huge part of the overall plot. True is more of a story about love and building a lasting bond. Rory and Tyler have such a real relationship that they often made my heart ache (in all the very best of ways). I just loved their chemistry and I was so glad that I didn’t stop reading after the opening paragraphs.

Part of what really makes True come alive though are the secondary characters. Rory’s roommates are a bit two dimensional but I do love how they challenge Rory to be a bit more than she thinks she is. Even though I didn’t care for some of their methods in helping Rory see that. Tyler’s brothers, on the other hand, are just filled with crazy fun. Their love and closeness just really leaps off the pages. I really loved the scenes that included them as they really helped add realism to the story.

True may not have started out how I would have liked but it got so much better from there. Once I got past those opening pages I was hooked and couldn’t put this one down. I loved the characters and all the emotions that Erin McCarthy managed to make me feel as I read this story. McCarthy is a gifted and talented story-teller and if you enjoy her adult books that you are bound to like these books as well.

Click here to see some of my favorite quotes from True

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider