Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Series: Kardia Chronicles

Friday, September 13, 2013

Review + Contest: Chaos by Christine O’Neil

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review + Contest: Chaos by Christine O’NeilChaos by Christine O'Neil
Series: Kardia Chronicles,
Published by Entangled Publishing, Entangled Teen Ember on 26 August 2013
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 250
Format: eARC
Source: Rock Star Book Tours
Goodreads
three-stars

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Crestwood, New Hampshire

First Line: Dear She: My boyfriend is obsessed with video games.

Kardia Series Order
Book 1 – Chaos
Book 2 – Control (01 December 2013)
Book 3 – Clarity (2014)

I am always attracted to a book when the plot involves some sort of retelling of the Greek Myths and Chaos by Christine O’Neil is no exception. When I read the synopsis I jumped at the chance to sign up for the tour as it sounded like something fresh and different. And while the premise of Chaos is unique the delivery just wasn’t my cup of tea, at least not entirely. This may be due in part, to the fact that I read this book at the height of my brain’s clamoring for contemporary reads and Chaos definitely does not fit into this category. But this book was also filled with many of the young adult cliches and so that took away from the uniqueness of the plot. Although, at least there wasn’t a love triangle, at least not yet.

Take Maggie, she’s the ordinary girl who flies under the radar when BAM! one day she wakes up and she’s not so ordinary anymore. She’s also harboring a couple of secrets, one about her lineage and another about what happened the night her boyfriend ended up in a coma. Then there is Mac. The bad boy. The hot guy. The one who can have any girl he chooses and for whatever reason he is focused on Maggie and he seems to delight in making her life a little bit more hellish than the average high school experience. He’s a bit of a bully and yet even why he’s being mean to her Maggie always stops to wax poetic on just how hot he is. *le sigh* And don’t even get me started on Maggie’s mother. Boy did that woman make my head hurt. A lot.

The overall plot, was good. As I said O’Neils take on incorporating the Greek Myths into present day is unique. I liked how the different offspring of the Gods and Goddesses changed and manifests itself in different ways with each generation. I like how there is a whole group out there and wish that more time could have been spent exploring the world of the semigods. Though, that would make things easier if Maggie knew what was happening to her. So instead she must fumble through which puts her onto the radar of the council. Of which, once we meet them, I have a decent idea of where future books are going to go.

For me, Chaos was hit and miss there were things that I really liked and others that I just didn’t care for. The dialogue was so-so and the characters would sometimes annoy me. I could have also done without the whole Dear Abby-esque column as well. As the start to a new series though this one holds promise. I can’t say that I will rush out to get the second book the moment its available but I will try to make time to read it. If you are a fan of the paranormal/fantasy genre or of greek mythology then you will probably like this one.

CONTEST

3 Prize Packs!

  • 1 sterling silver ring and a Team Mac pin as well as temporary tattoos of the magpie.
  • 1 sterling silver ring and a Team Mac pin as well as temporary tattoos of the magpie.
  • 1 fourteen karat gold ring, and a Team Mac pin as well as temporary tattoos of the magpie.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Book:

My name is Maggie Raynard. After sixteen years being just plain me, suddenly, when I lose my temper, my fingers become weapons of mass destruction. Turns out I’m a semi-god, descended from Aphrodite. Sounds cool in theory, but when I accidentally put my ex-boyfriend in a coma, things go downhill pretty fast.

Now some new guy named Mac Finnegan has made it his mission in life to continually piss me off. I’m stuck learning how to use my new powers while also dealing with regular high school problems, and with this annoying—and super-hot—guy all up in my business, I’m about to flip out.

But it gets worse. I just learned there’s this watchdog council of semis who keeps an eye out for any bad apples. They think I’m the baddest of the bunch and want to take me out before I do any more damage. My nemesis Mac might turn out to be my salvation, only he’s got secrets of his own…and they may just kill us both.

Buy the book:
Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

About Christine:

Christine O’Neil is one half of the happiest couple in the world. She and her handsome hubby currently reside in Pennsylvania with a four-pack of teenage boys and their two dogs, Gimli and Pug. If she gets time off from her duties as maid, chef, chauffeur, or therapist, she can be found reading just about anything she can get her hands on, from Young Adult novels to books on poker theory. She doesn’t like root beer, clowns or bugs (except ladybugs, on account of their cute outfits), but lurrves chocolate, going to the movies, the New York Giants and playing Texas Hold ‘Em. Writing is her passion, but if she had to pick another occupation, she would be a pirate…or, like, a ninja maybe. She loves writing fun and adventure-filled romance stories, but also hopes to one day publish something her dad can read without wanting to dig his eyes out with rusty spoons. Christine loves to hear from readers, so please feel free to get in touch with her via the Contact Page. Christine also writes adult romance under the name Christine Bell.

Website / Twitter / Goodreads / The Kardia Chronicles on Facebook

Check out the other stops on the tour

9/2/2013- Crossroad Reviews– Guest Post
9/3/2013- The Book Belles– Review
9/4/2013- Manga Maniac Cafe– Interview
9/5/2013- A Backwards Story– Guest Post
9/6/2013- Coffee, Books and Me– Interview
9/9/2013- Books Are Magic– Review
9/10/2013- K-Books– Guest Post
9/11/2013- Curling Up With A Good Book– Review
9/12/2013- Fantasy Book Addict– Interview
9/13/2013- Ticket to Anywhere – Review

three-stars
Divider