Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Series: Grim

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Light It Up by Kimberly Derting

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Light It Up by Kimberly Derting

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Light It Up by Kimberly DertingLight It Up by Kimberly Derting
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Better
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Abduction, Anthology, Family, Short Story / Novella, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 26
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: The Woods

First Line(s): I drop my sleeping bag and sit down hard on the slime-covered boulder, refusing to take one more step.

Original Story: Hansel and Gretal

Anthologies are always a grab bag of good things and not so good things so as with every other story in Grim, I was a bit uncertain at the start of Light it Up by Kimberly Derting. Though in the end Light it Up has been one of my favorite stories (so far) in this anthology. Its true to the original story and modernizes it for a new audience. I thought that it was well written and I hated for the story to end. I would have liked to have seen this one go on for a few more pages to see what happened next. The story was fast paced and it kept me engaged and it makes me want to go back and read all things Kimberly Derting.

irishdarkblue

five-stars
Divider

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Better by Shaun David Hutchinson

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Better by Shaun David Hutchinson

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Better by Shaun David HutchinsonBetter by Shaun David Hutchinson
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Adaptation, Adolescence, Anthology, Diseases, Friendship, Illnesses & Injuries, Love & Romance, Sci-Fi, Short Story / Novella, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 30
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Deathday Letter, Violent Ends

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Hamelin Space Ship

First Line(s): I feel real.

Original Story: Pinocchio The Pied Piper

I was never a huge fan of the whole Pinocchio story but in Better by Shaun David Hutchinson I have seen a potential in it that I never have before. Hutchinson’s version is much darker than the original and really lives up to promise of what I thought the Grim anthology should be. Hutchinson takes this pretty bland story and transports the reader into a futuristic world where a group of humans are flying through space looking for a new home. Think Across the Universe by Beth Revis but where things don’t go as well. Better is a quick read and I loved the promise of it. This is the sort of retelling that I was hoping every story in this anthology would be when I picked it up. Better is also a story that I would enjoy if there was more to it but at the same time I think that its pretty solid as it is.

Edit: I originally thought this story was based on Pinocchio but have since learned it was really The Pied Piper.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Untethered by Sonia Gensler

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Untethered by Sonia GenslerUntethered by Sonia Gensler
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Anthology, Contemporary (No Romance Focus), Death & Dying, Family, Paranormal, Short Story / Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 15
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible
Goodreads
two-stars

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Unknown

First Line(s): Grief hangs on my bones, at times nearly suffocating me.

Original Story: The Shroud

 

Untethered by Sonia Gensler is a very short story in the Grim anthology that feels even shorter than the few pages that it was contained on. Its a fast read and while I did like the twist it was just too short to have any real impact on me. There is no history or boackground or anything tangible to it that allowed me to become connected to any of these characters. I was told that they were grieving and shown it but the why was just sort of glossed over. It just felt so incomplete like we received less than a fragment of a story and I remember asking myself when I hit the last page, “That’s it?” I thought that Untethered was well written and liked Gensler’s style but just didn’t feel this story. I would say to skip it but its over in such a blink that reading it is almost the same as not reading it at all.

irishdarkblue

two-stars
Divider

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Brothers Piggett by Julie Kagawa

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Brothers Piggett by Julie Kagawa

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Brothers Piggett by Julie KagawaThe Brothers Piggett by Julie Kagawa
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, Untethered, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Anthology, Fantasy, Short Story / Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 28
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: The Immortal Rules, The Eternity Cure, The Forever Song

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Small, unnamed village on the edge of the Haunted Wood

First Line(s): This is a story about a boy in love.

Original Story: The Three Little Pigs

The Brothers Piggett by Julie Kagawa is the eighth story in the Grim Anthology and is a retelling of The Three Little Pigs. I had been a little disappointed in the previous stories and so was setting myself up to be disappointed again with this one. But while I didn’t love this story I was pleasantly surprised by it. The Brothers Piggett is a unique twist on the original story and I have to admit I didn’t see this twist coming. This is a quick story and it was a refreshing change from the ones that came before it. The story is well-written and evenly paced and told with Kagawa’s usual style. Its engrossing and makes you want to turn the pages faster. I’d be curious to read an expanded version of this story or one that continues where this one leaves off but I’m also satisfied with how it ended. All in all a good story in this mixed bag anthology.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Beast/Beast by Tessa Gratton

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Beast/Beast by Tessa Gratton

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Beast/Beast by Tessa GrattonBeast/Beast by Tessa Gratton
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Anthology, Fantasy, Short Story / Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 27
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Unnamed

First Line(s): The first time I attempted to escape from the Beast’s castle was under cover of flat, fierce rain.

Original Story: Beauty and the Beast

Another short story that isn’t quite the retelling I though it would be, in Beast/Beast by Tessa Gratton tells the story of Beauty and the Beast and its a combination of the Disney version and some of the original tale that I read as a child. A beauty girl is forced to live with a beast in the hopes that she’ll fall in love and the curse will be broken. While Gratton has a good sense of pace and writing style this one like the previous stories is too like the original and I just wonder at the point of it. Especially with the non-ending. At least with the previous non-retellings the stories ended as their fairy tale counterparts did. I guess this may have been Gratton’s way to heighten suspense or have the reader fill in how things will go and while I don’t normally mind an open ended story in this case I did. I wanted to be shown what would happen between Beauty and her Beast. Or at the very have an indication of the meaning of the title Beast/Beast which implies that more than one person is ugly in the story and yet that was never reflected in what we were told. All in all this one was yet another disappointment in the Grim anthology.

irishdarkblue

two-stars
Divider

Saturday, February 8, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Before the Rose Bloomed by Ellen Hopkins

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Before the Rose Bloomed by Ellen Hopkins

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Before the Rose Bloomed by Ellen HopkinsBefore the Rose Bloomed by Ellen Hopkins
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Short Story / Novella, Verse, Young Adult
Pages: 35
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To:  Lapland // Finland

First Line(s):
Deep in a vault beneath the Hall
of Legends is a tale of love and lust,
fire and ice.

Original Story: The Snow Queen

*le sigh*

Another story in the Grim anthology that is barely distinguishable from the original. Before the Rose Bloomed by Ellen Hopkins is told in verse, a style she favors, and as such it is a quick read. But as with the previous two stories in this anthology its a regurgitation of the original tale. Because of this I found myself wanting to skip this story in the hopes that the next one would be an actual retelling. It also doesn’t help that I’m not a huge fan of stories told in verse though Hopkins is better than others that I have read. Fans of Hopkins will probably enjoy this installment in the Anthology but I am left disappointed since its not a retelling.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, February 1, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Thinner Than Water by Saundra Mitchell

Posted by Irish in 2.5 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Thinner Than Water by Saundra Mitchell

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Thinner Than Water by Saundra MitchellThinner Than Water by Saundra Mitchell
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Anthology, Short Story / Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 28
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
two-half-stars

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Flamen // Lycea

First Line(s): I live in a kingdom surrounded by many lands.

Original Story: Cat-Skin

Though beautifully written Thinner Than Water by Saundra Mitchell falls into the same trap that the previous story, The Raven Princess inthat it doesn’t re-tell a fairy tale. Instead, Thinner Than Water takes the original story and just re-writes it slightly but essentially its the same story. The difference with Thinner Than Water though is that Mitchell changes the ending. In the original, the Princess leaves her kingdom to hide out in another and she eventually marries the Prince (or King in some variations of the tale) and they live happily ever after. In Thinner Than Water, the story ends not long after the Princess leaves and of the two stories I do like Mitchell’s ending best.

Where this story loses me is with the squick factor and so there was a lot of unease while reading the story. In some ways this is a good thing thing as an incestuous story should make the reader feel uncomfortable and Mitchell certainly succeeds in that. But for me, I wish I had skipped this story or that Mitchell had choosen another fairy tale to try to recreate. Overall, this installment in the anthology just wasn’t for me and I hope that the next one is actually more of a retelling and not just a regurgitation of the original.

irishdarkblue

two-half-stars
Divider

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Raven Princess by Jon Skovron

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult1 Comment

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Raven Princess by Jon Skovron

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Raven Princess by Jon SkovronThe Raven Princess by Jon Skovron
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Anthology, Fantasy, Short Story / Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 29
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Summer Days and Summer Nights

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Stromberg // Unknown Locations

First Line(s): The Princess wouldn’t stop crying.

Original Story: The Raven

At first reading The Raven Princess by Jon Skovron is among my favorite in the Grim anthology so far. However, it is also the most literal telling that I’ve read so far. The Raven Princess is almost word for word identical to the original story and as such it loses a little something in my eyes. The whole idea of this anthology is for authors to put their own spin on a classic fairy tale  and in this Skovron fails. Yet even though The Raven Princess as original as some of the others that I have I do still think that it is a worthwhile read. Skovron is a good writer I just expected something more from this story than what I got.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, January 18, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Twelfth Girl by Malinda Lo

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult0 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Twelfth Girl by Malinda Lo

Short Story Saturday: Grim – The Twelfth Girl by Malinda LoThe Twelfth Girl by Malinda Lo
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, Figment, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Anthology, Fantasy, Short Story / Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 35
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Good Girl

 

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Middlebury, Massachusetts // AARU // Magh Meall

First Line(s): Harley was the kind of girl who could get away with anything.

Original Story: Twelve Dancing Princesses

I really liked the writing in The Twelfth Girl by Malinda Lo and for much of the story I though it was going to be you typical Twelve Dancing Princesses story. Because of that this one dragged a bit for me and it just felt long. Where The Twelfth Girl gets interesting though is at the very end. There is this twist that has you sitting up and taking note and then the story just ends. This is the point where I wish that the story could have gone on for longer and maybe revised some of what came before to make it a wee bit more interesting. For me, Liv just seemed to be this passive character and the more interesting one was Harley. I think if The Twelfth Girl had been told from her POV I would have enjoyed it more.

Liv is just the girl who sits off to the side yearning to be a part of the popular crowd. She does nothing extraordinary to stand out or even try to make friends and yet magically she is chosen by Harley to be part of her circle. Then Liv is told of dangers, which she ignores, until its almost too late when a quick flash of insight saves the day. And yet, her part of the story doesn’t seem to have concluded. There are many questions left unanswered and its just overall a so-so story. Whereas Harley’s story is still filled with mystery and that’s the one I want to know more about. But alas, tis not to be.

irishdarkblue

 

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Figment by Jeri Smith Ready

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Short Story Saturday, Young Adult2 Comments

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Figment by Jeri Smith Ready

Short Story Saturday: Grim – Figment by Jeri Smith ReadyFigment by Jeri Smith-Ready
Series: Grim,
Also in this series: The Key, The Raven Princess, Thinner Than Water, Before the Rose Bloomed, Beast/Beast, The Brothers Piggett, Untethered, Better, Light It Up
Published by Harlequin Teen on 25 February 2014
Genres: Anthology, Fantasy, Short Story / Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 38
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Short Story Saturday is a new feature that I am doing here on Ticket to Anywhere where I start to read some of the various anthologies I have, one story at a time. One of the anthologies that I am focusing on now is Grim edited by Christine Johnson which is described as: “In the days when fairy tales were first spun, they weren’t the sweet and cheerful stories we tell today. Back then, fairy tales were terrifying. They were a warning to the listener to stay out of the night, to keep away from the mystical and ignore the mysterious.”

Place(s) Traveled To: Unknown, United States

First Line(s): It begins, as always, in darkness.

Original Story: Puss-in-Boots

Figment by Jeri Smith-Ready is the second story in the Grim Anthology and was a pretty well developed story. As with more short stories, Figment could have been longer and I would have liked to have seen it as a full length story for the ending was a bit rushed. Despite that though it was a good adaptation of the original story. I really liked the character of Eli and even though the reader doesn’t get a lot of time with him he was a fully developed character. He’s not perfect but you could see him as that swoon worthy book boyfriend that everyone would want the heroine of a story to chose. I also like the character of Lyra during her oh so brief appearance. Figment is also a good story for thinking about the ideas of luck versus hard work and which of the two is better and longer lasting.

One thing that sets Figment apart from other anthologies that I’ve read is that it includes and epilogue. And this epilogue is a bit of a killer as there is this large gap between it and where the main narrative of the story ends. Its a tease to the reader as it just makes you want to know what happened during the time that passed. How did the characters in the story change and where did they go. I think that without this epilogue I may not have liked this story as much. I just like thinking about all the paths and possibilities. All in all there is much to think of in this story and I look forward to reading more of this anthology.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider