Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Series: Gamers

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Review: Leveling the Field by Megan Erickson

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Leveling the Field by Megan EricksonLeveling the Field by Megan Erickson
Series: Gamers,
Also in this series: Changing His Game, Playing for Her Heart, Tied to Trouble
Published by Entangled Brazen on 02 May 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, People of Color, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 162
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Trust the Focus, Focus On Me, Make it Count, Changing His Game, Playing for Her Heart, Tied to Trouble, Out of Frame, Strong Signal, Fast Connection

Place(s) Traveled To: Willow Park, Pennsylvania

First Line(s): The guy was late. Lissa Kingsman glanced at the clock on the wall of the office and tried not to look as irritated as she felt.

Ever since we first meet Ethan in Megan Erickson’s PLAYING FOR HER HEART (my reivew). I always love a good tortured hero story and I couldn’t wait to meet the girl who would break Ethan out of his shell. And Lissa did not disappoint. LEVELING THE FIELD is the final book in Erickson’s Gamers series and Ethan is the perfect character to conclude the series. I loved getting to know more about him and I loved watching as Lissa helped to break him out of his self-imposed solitude. Lissa is a fierce, strong heroine who doesn’t put up with any of Ethan’s bullshit and I loved that about her. I also loved her family and so it kind of makes me sad that this series is over because we won’t be able to see more of them, particularly her brother who I just adored. As with the other books in this series, the secondary characters really help to make the story and I loved being able to check in with characters from the previous books.

LEVELING THE FIELD is a short book and I do wish that it had been longer but this story totally sucked me in and kept me up into the wee hours of the night. I liked the tension between Lissa and Ethan and their chemistry but do with that they had more time together to be with each other and not just hooking up. Seemed liked they’d meet up, hook up, get into a fight and then part for a couple of weeks and then repeat. It was frustrating to me because I just wanted them to be together and find that happily ever after that I knew they each deserved. Although Ethan did have a lot of emotional baggage to deal with first and I think that Erickson handled that aspect of the story well. But I do think if could have been better if LEVELING THE FIELD was longer and if maybe Ethan saw a therapist. The man’s issues ran deep and I think that having him talk to a therapist would have been more realistic.

The writing, plot, and pacing in LEVELING THE FIELD is everything that I’ve come to expect in a Megan Erickson book but for me this one didn’t pack the emotional punch as some of her other reads. I think that this story, while dealing with some serious issues, stuck close to the surface and so I didn’t get as emotionally attached as I sometimes do. LEVELING THE FIELD is a good book but its not my favorite of Erickson’s or in this series. But I do think that it is worth the read because Ethan really deserves that happily ever after. I enjoyed LEVELING THE FIELD and I do recommend it I just think that, in this series my heart will always belong to Chad and Owen. <3

irishdarkblue

IR - Leveling the Field

 

Add The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

 

three-half-stars
Divider

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Review: Tied to Trouble by Megan Erickson

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Tied to Trouble by Megan EricksonTied to Trouble by Megan Erickson
Series: Gamers,
Also in this series: Changing His Game, Playing for Her Heart, Leveling the Field
Published by Entangled Brazen on 04 January 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, GLBT, Love & Romance
Pages: 175
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Trust the Focus, Focus On Me, Make it Count, Changing His Game, Playing for Her Heart, Out of Frame, Strong Signal, Fast Connection, Leveling the Field

Place(s) Traveled To: Willow Park, Pennsylvania

First Line(s): Chad leaned over the candy apple-red fuel tank of his Honda Interceptor and prepared to gun the engine.

My stars where do I even begin when it comes to TIED TO TROUBLE by Megan Erickson? This is the book that was the whole reason why I started to read her Gamers books. And after meeting Chad and Owen in CHANGING HIS GAME (my review) I couldn’t wait to get to know them even better. Chad and Owen are like oil and water at times and yet they compliment each other so very well. These boys are seriously so OTP that it hurts. The push and pull between just made my heart ache and their chemistry was seriously off the charts!!

TIED TO TROUBLE is an opposites attract story and so there is much butting of heads between Chad and Owen but it works well as they really are each others yin and yang. They balance each other out even as they are driving each other crazy. Another thing that I loved about TIED TO TROUBLE was that we finally got all those cameos of Austin and Marley that I felt were missing from PLAYING FOR HER HEART (my review). I loved seeing where they were and how their continuing story was woven into the budding relationship of Chad and Owen.

Tied to Trouble Quote

As with the previous books in the Gamers series, TIED TO TROUBLE is a short book which then makes for a fast read. But despite its short length it feels longer. Erickson has a way of really building her world and her characters that more pages aren’t necessary. That isn’t to say that I don’t want more pages because I most definitely do! But TIED TO TROUBLE is a full and complete story and as a reader I don’t think that anything is missing. Well, except for those 100 or so more pages that further detail the roller coaster ride that is Chad and Owen’s relationship.

As with CHANGING HIS GAME, TIED TO TROUBLE is oh la la hot when it comes to the sexy times! These boys like to play and I swear I’ll never look at a bow tie the same way again! The story isn’t perfect there were things that I think could have been avoid if these two knuckheads just COMMUNICATED a little better but over all I loved TIED TO TROUBLE and it was so worth the read for me. This is a book I know I’ll be re-reading and also bullying others to read as well. So do yourselves a favor just go out and read it now and make me a happy little blogger.

irishdarkblue

IR - Tied to Trouble

Add Him by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add The Baller by Vi Keeland to Goodreads. (Review coming soon.)

four-stars
Divider

Friday, January 29, 2016

Review: Playing for Her Heart by Megan Erickson

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Playing for Her Heart by Megan EricksonPlaying for Her Heart by Megan Erickson
Series: Gamers, Book 2
Also in this series: Changing His Game, Tied to Trouble, Leveling the Field
Published by Entangled Brazen on 11 Aug 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 186
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Trust the Focus, Focus On Me, Make it Count, Changing His Game, Tied to Trouble, Out of Frame, Strong Signal, Fast Connection, Leveling the Field

Place(s) Traveled To: Willow Park, Pennsylvania // Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

First Line(s): He was the perfect Beck.

 

PLAYING FOR HER HEART is the second book in Megan Erickson’s Gamers series and picks up almost exactly where CHANGING HIS GAME (my review) leaves off. PLAYING FOR HER HEART is the story of Grant and Chloe. Grant we met in CHANGING HIS GAME as Austin’s BFF and business partner and Chloe is a new introduction but she’s connected to the group through Ethan, who is a friend of Grants. I loved Grant in CHANGING HIS GAME so was happy to read his story but it took me a bit to warm up to Chloe. Chloe just ran a bit too hot and cold for me and she just seemed to be a walking contradiction. On one hand she was very shy and almost reclusive but then on the other she was bold and experimental when she was engaging in various role plays. She never really seemed to mesh the two sides of herself either.

Grant was a sweetheart and everything that I expected he’d be from CHANGING HIS GAME and then some. I also loved getting to know Sydney more and seeing their interactions and that is saying a lot from me because kids are so hard to capture realistically in books. I’m usually not a fan of child characters but in this case it worked and that says a lot of Erickson’s writing and characterization. But what I was disappointed in with PLAYING FOR HER HEART was the lack of scenes with Austin. It seemed like his parts were given over to Ethan and while I get that Grant and Ethan are good friends they aren’t best friends like Grant and Austin. There were just moments that it seemed would have worked better if they’d played out with Austin instead of Ethan.

Playing for Her Heart Quote

Even though I didn’t think that Ethan was always the right person for a scene I loved him as a character. I loved his relationship with his sister, Chloe and oh how he made my heart ache! For me, Ethan was a distraction in PLAYING FOR HER HEART because he stole every scene that he was in. He and Sydney tended to steal the lime light from the two main characters, Grant and Chloe so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I didn’t like PLAYING FOR HER HEART as much as CHANGING HIS GAME. Chloe was just too inconsistent a character and her love story was overshadowed by secondary characters which is never a good thing.

But like CHANGING HIS GAME, PLAYING FOR HER HEART is a quick read. It makes for a great escape for an afternoon is an enjoyable story but not one that wows me. I think that might be in part because I’m not really into the whole role play aspect of the sex scenes between Grant and Chloe. I get the escapism of it all and even the appeal to become someone else but I am more or a realist and so that’s why CHANGING HIS GAME is my favorite of the two Gamers books that I’ve reviewed. PLAYING FOR HER HEART is worth reading and its an important book in the series, mostly because we learn more about Ethan, but its not going to be my favorite.

irishdarkblue

IR - Playing for Her Heart

Add Call on Me by Roni Loren to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

three-half-stars
Divider

Monday, January 25, 2016

Review: Changing His Game by Megan Erickson

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Changing His Game by Megan EricksonChanging His Game by Megan Erickson
Series: Gamers,
Also in this series: Playing for Her Heart, Tied to Trouble, Leveling the Field
Published by Entangled Brazen on 28 April 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance
Pages: 172
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Trust the Focus, Focus On Me, Make it Count, Playing for Her Heart, Tied to Trouble, Out of Frame, Strong Signal, Fast Connection, Leveling the Field

Place(s) Traveled To: Willow Park, Pennsylvania // Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

First Line(s): Marley Lake hated the spinning rainbow wheel.

Holy hotness batman!! CHANGING HIS GAME by Megan Erickson is one sexy ass read! I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked up CHANGING HIS GAME. What I did know was that it was the first book in a series and I really wanted to read the third book, TIED TO TROUBLE. When I can I like to read a series in order and so I grabbed myself a copy of CHANGING HIS GAME and was very happily surprised. This book is smart and funny and off the charts sexy.

I loved this cast of characters and Marley and Austin are so OTP that it hurts. They made me smile throughout this entire book, well, that is when they weren’t busy breaking my heart as they go through those pesky trouble times that are part of the romance formula. The secondary characters really help to flesh out this world and I hope to see more of them all in the books to come.

Changing His Game Quote

 

CHANGING HIS GAME is a short book and as such its a quick read. I got lost within its pages and I hated to put it down. It was filled with a great story line that was realistic and it made my heart ache in all the ways that I love. The push and pull between Austin helps to fuel their chemistry and it just sizzles off the page. This is one book that I hated to end because I hated to leave this world and these characters.

With every book that I read of Megan Erickson’s I become more and more a fan of her work. Her stories are so diverse and real and so very easy to get lost in. I am really looking forward to discovering the other books in this series and learning the stories of the other characters. Erickson is also fast becoming an autobuy author from me. Her stories are crack in the best sort of way.

irishdarkblue

IR - Changing His Game

 

Add Lead by Kylie Scott to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Fight with Me by Kristen Proby to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

 

four-stars
Divider