Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Series: Beautifully Broken

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Blog Tour Review: Until We Fly by Courtney Cole

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Until We Fly by Courtney Cole

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Blog Tour Review: Until We Fly by Courtney ColeUntil We Fly by Courtney Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken,
Also in this series: If You Leave, Until We Burn, Before We Fall
Published by Lakehouse Press on 07 July 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, New Adult, Social Issues
Pages: 227
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: If You Leave, Until We Burn

Place(s) Traveled To: Angel Bay, Illinois

First Line(s): I’m dreaming of bullets and blood. Like always.

Until We Fly by Courtney Cole is the latest book in her Beautifully Broken series and involves Brand, BFF to Gabe and Jacey’s punching bag, and Nora who has always admired him from afar. When Brand is called back to his hometown after his father’s death the two become reacquainted when he rescues Nora from a terrible accident during which he’s hurt. She then defies her controlling father in order to look after him during his recovery. Now I’ve read some horribly parents in books but Nora’s really take the cake, not so much her mother who just lets her husband walk all over her, but her father. Her father is a vile human being and creepily controlling of every move his children make. That Nora is strong enough to defy his dictates in taking care of Brand is nothing short of a miracle. Though I do admire that she does she does break very easily where he is concerned. Especially when uber-creepy William is also involved. Man just thinking of him makes me physically shiver!

In some ways, Until We Fly is Cole’s darkest novel to date and while the two main characters aren’t as damaged as previous books Cole enters a whole new territory of WTF-ery in this book. When certain things were revealed I may have gasped and done a double take at where Cole took the story and was then a little disappointed when she pulled back from it. When Cole did was a complete sucker punch to the gut and then she then neatened it up and made it a little less than what it was and placed a bow on top of it. Yes, it was still traumatic for the character based on what was thought to be true at the time but for me I almost wish that Cole had left things as initially written because its something that some people have to deal with as horrific as it is to think about.

Other than that moment though I did mostly enjoy Until We Fly there are standard romance story tropes that are tossed in with no new spin to it so they felt a little stale. But overall, I thought that Brand and Nora had some real chemistry and I liked them together. I think that Nora benefited from Brand’s strength and Brand benefited from her love. Brand had a horrible childhood and where he could have let it affect him more than he did and acted more like a Pax or a Dominic (ie been a total asshole) he didn’t. Brand was a good man and Nora was a good woman and together they made each other better. They both had issues from the past to deal with but they did’t let their past control their present.

.
.

irishdarkblue

.
.

.

.

UNTIL WE FLY2

.

.

 

UNTIL WE FLY Synopsis:

Ex-Army Ranger, Brand Killien, has always been good. A good friend, a good soldier, a good everything. The problem is, good hasn’t gotten him anything but a crushed heart. So after licking his wounds, he decides to move on.  And moving on doesn’t include being good anymore.Bad sounds so much better. Jaded and detached, Brand is determined to never open himself up to anyone again.  It’s not worth the pain.  Instead, he becomes closed, hardened, aloof.But then he’s called back home for a family emergency… a family that he is estranged from.  A family that he put out of his mind a long time ago for very good reasons…reasons that involve secrets and pain.  Reasons he tried hard to forget. But home is where the heart is, and it just might be where Brand finds his again. Why?  Because home is where Nora Greene is. A fiery, red-headed spitfire, Nora is a thing from his past.  A beautiful, feisty thing.  When Brand left, she was away at boarding school. But she’s back now. And she wants Brand, scars and all.

UNTIL WE FLY on Goodreads

And don’t miss the other Beautifully Broken, now available:
IF YOU STAY
IF YOU LEAVE
BEFORE WE FALL

Praise for the Beautifully Broken Series:

“I loved If You Stay. Like, really really loved it. The kind of love that kept me reading until 2:40 am and left me crying, smiling, devastated, and elated. The best kind of book love.” – Andrea, The Bookish Babe

“Beautiful, raw, gritty, emotional and breath-taking are just a few of the words I can find to describe this book…reading this book was one of the best experiences I have had.” –Amanda, Globug and Hootie Need a Book

“In If You Leave, we continue the wild ride Courtney Cole started us on in If You Stay. This raw story of heartbreak and hope solidifies Cole’s standing as a rising star in hot contemporary romance.” — New York Times Bestselling author of Down to You, M. Leighton

“Another raw, gritty masterpiece with a sexy-as-hell Army Ranger to swoon over.” — K.A. Tucker, author of Ten Tiny Breaths

UWFly14

ABOUT COURTNEY COLE:

Courtney Cole is a novelist who would eat mythology for breakfast if she could. She has a degree in Business, but has since discovered that corporate America is not nearly as fun to live in as fictional worlds. She loves chocolate and roller coasters and hates waiting and rude people.

Courtney lives in quiet suburbia, close to Lake Michigan, with her real-life Prince Charming, her ornery kids (there is a small chance that they get their orneriness from their mother) and a small domestic zoo.

Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUpPinterest

 

Blog Tour Schedule:

July 8

Live Read and Breathe-Review Only
Smut Book Club-Playlist and Review
Love Between the Sheets-Review Only
Tome Tender-Review Only
Wolfel’s World of Books-Review Only

July 9

The Geekery Book Review-Facebook Chat
Ramblings From This Chick-Review Only
Reviews from Tammy & Kim-Review Only
Krista’s Dust Jacket-Review Only
The Book Hookup-Review Only
Novel Seduction-Review Only
Anna’s Book Blog-Review Only

July 10

Three Chicks and Their Books-Excerpt and Review
Lovin Los Libros-Review Only
Carver’s Book Cravings-Review Only
Reading in Black & White-Author Interview & Review
2 Bookaholics-Review Only
A Life Bound by Books-Review Only

July 11

Readers Live A 1000 Lives-Review Only
Red Hot + Blue-Excerpt & Review
Book Addict Mumma-Book Trailer And Review
Prisoners of Print-Review Only
Red Cheeks Reads-Review Only
BookAngel Booktopia-Review Only

July 12

Little Read Riding Hood-Review Only
Made For You Book Reviews-Review Only
Book Club Sisters-Guest Post
Aria Kane-Excerpt
Jodie’s W.I.N.E. List-Review Only
Imagine A World-Review Only

July 13

Stuck in YA Books-Review Only
Book Bitches Blog-Excerpt & Review
A Nook for Books-Review Only
Bibliobelles-Review Only
Zili in the Sky-Excerpt
Southern Belle Book Blog-Review Only

July 14

Madison Says-Author Interview & Review
Steamy Guys After Dark-Review Only
Ever After Romance-Review Only
Literati Book Reviews-Excerpt & Review
Books over Boys-Guest Post
Mustreadbooksordie-Review Only

July 15

Starbucks N Books Obsession-Review Only
Nose Stuck in a Book-Guest Post & Review
Always YA at Heart-Character Interview (Nora) and Review
I Read Indie-Review Only
Dirty Girl Romance-Review Only
Book Freak-Review Only

July 16

Ticket to Anywhere-Review Only
Stuck in Books-Character Interview (Brand) & Review
Read That-Review Only
Tyhada Reads-Review Only
Schmexy Girl Book Blog-Excerpt and Review
Summer’s Book Blog-Review Only

July 17

The Unofficial Book Fan Club-Dreamcast & Review
I Love Lady Porn-Review Only
Bestsellers & Beststellars-Guest Post and Review
Holly’s Red Hot Reviews-Review Only
Books, Booze and Beyond-Review Only
City of Books-Review Only

a Rafflecopter giveaway

three-stars
Divider

Monday, July 14, 2014

Review: Before We Fall by Courtney Cole

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Before We Fall by Courtney ColeBefore We Fall by Courntey Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken,
Also in this series: If You Leave, Until We Burn, Until We Fly
Published by Forever on 03 December 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Erotica, Love & Romance, Movie Stars, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
two-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Chicago, Illinois // Los Angeles, California

First Line(s): The slap can be heard all the way down the beach.

After reading the novella, Until We Burn, I wasn’t sure that I would like Before We Fall by Courtney Cole as I really didn’t like the “hero” Dominic Kincade. But I am a sucker for reading a series in order and since I wanted to read Until We Fly I had to get through this one first. Before We Fall opens up with a completely pointless prologue and then continues into one of the most eye-rolly stories I’ve read in awhile. First their is the personality change in Jacey who is now insisting that Brand is, and always has been, like a brother to her which contradicts some of her behavior in If You Leave. If anything Brand was the one with sibling-like thoughts but here he’s a love sick puppy that Jacey uses for validation. Then there is Dominic who is even more of a douche in this book than he was in Until We Burn although at least this one is more cohesive in its writing.

Dominic was an ass but he made no secret of it. Jacey on the other hand would act like a girl proud of her sexuality but then blush like a virgin at the littlest hint of a sexual comment or if anyone looked at her. She’d change in her room, with the door open, and then get mad and self-rightous when Dominic watched. If you don’t want someone to watch you change….CLOSE THE DAMN DOOR! Jacey finacial struggles also seemed a bit off since her brother and seemingly everyone else around her was well off but then if she didn’t struggle with money should wouldn’t need Brand to rescue her at every turn. Oh how I wanted to slap her silly with how she knowingly used that man’s feelings for her to get what she wanted. She was manipulative and selfish and just a whole different character from how see seemed to ne in If You Leave.

The plot was also a bit ridiculous and the cryptic mytery of Dominic’s past almost made my eyes roll out of their sockets. The fact that he was so traumatised by it at 18 that he turned crazy sexual deviant? Um….really?!? I’m not buying it. Not to mention that this story was filled with the same coversations, over and over and over again. I’m pretty sure the story could have been half the length that it was if those repetitive moments. If this one wasn’t on my ereader you can be sure that it would have been sent across the room on more than one occassion. And yet, I did keep reading it. I am not sure why I was able to read this disaster of a book until the end but once I got to that epilogue I really wish I hadn’t. Because really?!?! Are you freaking killing me with putting in this paranormal-eske bullshit into a contemporary series where none existed before?!? I…just…can’t.

For me, Until We Fall, was a train wreck of a book and one that I wish I had skipped. The Beautifully Broken series is written in such a way that they can be read independantly of each other and I really regret wasting my time on this one. If you like your sanity, and your book tastes are similar to mine then you might want to avoid this one.

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

People who liked this book better than me

Vilma’s Book Blog: “The story culminates in an emotionally charged series of events as truths are revealed and life-changing choices must be made. I really felt the emotions the story evoked, and especially for Dominic, I really wanted him to find his path to healing.”

Schmexy Girl Book Blog: “Honestly, this book is such an emotional read. There are tears, lots of them. And aching hearts, and tightness in the chest. You feel all of that. These characters are so well written. You instantly feel their connection, their bond, their emotions, their pain, their suffering. And just when you thought the tears are done and they couldn’t get more damaged, there are more tears.”

Prisoner’s of Print: “The powerful emotions that run off each page had my heart and head all twisted up and kept me completely invested in Jacey and Dominic’s story. I couldn’t put this book down.”

before we fall2

two-stars
Divider

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Review: Until We Burn by Courtney Cole

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Until We Burn by Courtney ColeUntil We Burn by Courtney Cole
Series: ,
Published by Self-Published on 21 November 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance, Short Story / Novella
Pages: 84
Format: eBook
Source: Wattpad
Goodreads
two-stars
Also by this author: If You Leave, Until We Fly

Place(s): Traveled To: Los Angeles, California // London, England // Amsterdam, The Netherlands

First Line(s): “Harder,” the girl whispers.

Until We Burn by Courtney Cole is a prequel story to introduce the anti-hero of the third book in her Beautifully Broken series, Dominic Kincade. Dominic is one of the biggest Hollywood stars and as such has most anything he wants handed to him on a silver platter. But instead of enjoying his fame his is mean tempered and jaded and all at the ripe old age of 24. He’s an asshole of the highest order and there is very little that is redeemable to him in this novella.

Until We Burn is almost a series of little short stories all trying to act as one novella. Each chapter is the blink of a new story and there isn’t much cohesion between them. Just when things start to get interesting the chapter ends and the next chapter will start after a gap in time has elapsed. And only occasionally do we get a dry recap of what happened in that gap. All the characters that we are introduced to are unlikable and horrible flawed and Dominic seems to take joy in being disappointed in those around him. Even as he condemns them for their flaws or takes them for all he can.

Another thing that really bothered me about Until We Burn is this mysterious past of Dominic’s which involves the only girl he’s every loved and then somehow lost. The event that caused him to shut his heart to all feelings when he was just 18. *insert eye roll here* Until We Burn was supposed to get me excited for Before We Fall but after reading this story I’m not sure if I want to read an entire book with Dominic Kincade as the main character. He’s just that unlikable.

irishdarkblue

two-stars
Divider

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Review: If You Leave by Courtney Cole

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, New Adult, Review1 Comment

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: If You Leave by Courtney ColeIf You Leave by Courtney Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken, Book 2
Also in this series: Until We Burn, Before We Fall, Until We Fly
Published by Forever on 06 August 2013
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Until We Burn, Until We Fly
Place(s) Traveled to: Kabul, Afghanistan // Angel Bay, Illinois // Chicago, Illinois

First Line: It’s the smell of blood that tells me I’m dreaming.
Beautifully Broken Series Order
Book 1 – If You Stay
Book 2 – If You Leave
Book 3 – Before We Fall (Dec 2013)

If You Leave is the newest book in Courtney Cole’s Beautifully Broken series and this one focuses on Mila’s sister, Madison, and an former soldier, Gabriel. Mila and Pax from, If Your Stay both make decent sized cameos in this story so fans of their characters will be happy to see just how their lives are moving forward. At first I wasn’t so sure if I would read If You Leave as I had mixed feelings on Maddy during my read of If You Leave. But reading the book from her POV she really grew on me. She had issues, and some of them invented, but she also had some reasons for her behavior. It was interesting to learn about her past and I was happy to see her overcome her fears and give a HEA a shot.

Gabriel was also a broken character and dealing with some pretty serious PTSD and I think that Courtney Cole did a fabulous job of writing about this issue. This is a very real thing that so many soldiers face and its nice to see authors like Cole and Trish Doller writing about it. Its something that needs to be brought to light and more importantly those that suffer from it need to know that getting help isn’t a sign of weakness but rather strength. Though I didn’t always agree with how Gabriel to decided to deal with his issues I did enjoy his character. Well, mostly. He was just what Maddy needed but that bit in the end where he did you know what….well, that made me want to smack him a bit. There were also some scenes during that time that just made me roll my eyes. As not every girl will fall at a soldiers feet just because he does or says something nice. Just no.

Overall, the plot was evenly paced and the writing was pretty solid. There was some cheesy dialogue and cheesy moments (mostly from Mila and Pax) but they didn’t take too much away from the story. If You Leave was also filled with realism and some of those heart achy moments that I love. I enjoyed the banter and chemistry between Gabriel and Maddy and hope to see more of them in the future. There is also some set up in this book for the third book in the series, Before We Fall and I am curious to see if my predictions are correct. If you enjoyed If You Stay than chances are pretty good that you will enjoy this book as well. Though, its not a book where the characters stay with me when I turn the final page. There was just something missing from this story that I can’t quite put my finger on. Its good but not great. Its a quick read and I don’t feel like I wasted any time in reading it.

three-stars
Divider