Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Series: Altered

Saturday, April 11, 2015

Mini Reviews: Forged & Betrayed by Jennifer Rush

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Forged

 

Forged by Jennifer Rush 
Published by Little Brown on 03 December 2013
Series: Altered, Book 0.5
Pages: 32
Format: eBook
Source: Library

Place(s) Traveled To: Unknown, Michigan

First Line(s): The bed beneath me was thin as paper, though not as thin as the cotton gown still tied around my naked body.

I really enjoyed the Altered series by Jennifer Rush so when I saw that my library had digital editions of the two novellas in the series I knew that I had to check them out. The first novella, Forged, takes place before the start of Altered (my review) and is the origin story of one character, Dani, and gives a little background to another. I was initially excited for this one but just didn’t care for it. It felt like a different tone than the rest of the series and I just didn’t care for any of the characters. Despite this on weighing in at just 32 pages it was a bit of a struggle to read. To me, this one didn’t really add much of anything to the overall story ARC of the series.

Betrayed + Forged Quote

Betrayed

 

Betrayed by Jennifer Rush 
Published by Little Brown on 26 August 2014
Series: Altered, Book 1.5
Pages: 32
Format: eBook
Source: Library

Place(s) Traveled To: Sarasota, Wisconsin

First Line(s): Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

While I didn’t really enjoyed Forged I did really enjoy reading Betrayed! I just loved reading Trev’s story and devoured this short little novella quickly. For a short story this one had a lot to it and my only real complaint was that it wasn’t longer. I still have hopes that one day Trev and Cal will get full length books as I really want to know more about them both. Though Betrayed does do a good job in filling in some of the gaps of Trev’s story. This one I think adds value to the overall story and one that I think is worth the read. Though at 99cents and only 32 pages you may want to check to see if your library has it in its digital catalog.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Friday, January 9, 2015

Review: Reborn by Jennifer Rush

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Reborn by Jennifer RushReborn by Jennifer Rush
Series: Altered,
Also in this series: Altered, Erased, Forged + Betrayed
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on 06 January 2015
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Contemporary Romance, Emotions & Feelings, Espionage, Friendship, Love & Romance, Sci-Fi, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Altered, Erased, Forged + Betrayed

Place(s) Traveled To: Trademarr, Illinois

First Line(s): I never took to fighting like the others.

To say that finding the words to write my review of Reborn by Jennifer Rush was a difficult thing is an understatement and I’ve been searching for them since I finished this book. Reborn takes us back to the world and story that was begun in Altered (my review) only this time we get Nick’s point of view. Nick, oh the amazingly taciturn soul of few words and who I’ve been longing to know more about since his first grunt in Altered. And let me tell you, it may have taken 3 books and 2 novellas but Jennifer Rush does not disappoint when it comes to Nick’s story. It was everything that I hoped for and more. Reborn was a book that made me smile, it broke my heart, and it also gave me all those happy heart achy feels that I love in books. There was action and romance and just so many things that it really is hard to find the words without spoiling this story.

Reborn Quote

I really love the Altered series and I think that it gets better and better as it goes on. The first two books are told from Anna’s point of view and focus more on her and Sam. Reborn changes things up by not just focusing on Nick but also becoming an alternating POV with him and Elizabeth. I loved this style and now kind of wish that Altered and Erased had done the same as I’d love to be able to see into Sam’s head. Elizabeth is a new character to the series and she adds in a nice balance to Nick. They are very much a yin and yang to the other and give each other balance. Elizabeth helps to bring out Nick’s softer side and Nick helps bring out Elizabeth’s strength.

Reborn is a fast paced story and if I had the time I would have been able to read the whole thing in a day. There is a lot that goes on in this story but what I love about Jennifer Rush’s writing style is that she is able to maintain the mystery and keeps the reader guessing as the story unfolds. It was filled with intrigue and questions and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough to see where it would all end up. Seriously, this series is one of my favorites and I really hope that there will be more books coming. After all Trev and Cass need to find their happily ever afters too. Plus there is still just so much to learn about the past of all of these boys and what the Branch will do next.

My feelings of Reborn summed up in a gif

hugs

 

Irish Recommends - Reborn

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Review: Erased by Jennifer Rush

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Erased by Jennifer RushErased by Jennifer Rush
Series: Altered, Book 2
Also in this series: Altered, Reborn, Forged + Betrayed
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on 07 January 2014
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Altered, Reborn, Forged + Betrayed

Place(s) Traveled To: Hart, Michigan // Unknown, Indiana // Port Cadia, Michigan // Grand Rapids, Michigan // Millerton, Michigan

First Line(s): Like clockwork, I woke after midnight and immediately had the urge to see Sam.

Erased by Jennifer Rush is the sequel to her debut novel Altered (my review) which I read at the strong urging of my friend Andi over at AndiABCs. Well, Altered is one of those books that really makes you want more and so thankfully I was able to get my hands on an early copy of Erased so I could get more. Erased picks up not long after Altered ends and is just as fast paced as the first book. There are lots of secrets revealed and there is just oh so much more to know!

I loved how each of the characters that we grew to love in the first book developed further in this one. I loved learning their various back stories and I got all giddy at times during my read of this book. There were also moments that I wasn’t too fond of and characters that I didn’t care for. As with Altered, there are many secrets and lies for Anna and the gang to filter through. Its hard to know who to trust when everyone you’ve ever known seems to have lied to you after all.

Erased was a crazy roller coaster ride of emotions and twists and turns and it was just oh so good. Once I started I couldn’t stop reading and then I was all crazy bouncy with the need to talk to someone about it. Erased is a book that just begs to be discussed as there are just so many what ifs and theories that fill its pages. Its a book that makes you long for the next installment in the series and one that I think that everyone should read. Jennifer Rush is an amazingly talented writer with a real gift at spinning a tale. Her writing is solid and addictive and I think she’s a great new talent and I can’t wait to read whatever she writes next.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Monday, October 14, 2013

Audio Review: Altered by Jennifer Rush

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Audiobook, Review, Young Adult3 Comments

Audio Review: Altered by Jennifer RushAltered by Jennifer Rush
Narrator: Casey Holloway
Series: Altered,
Also in this series: Erased, Reborn, Forged + Betrayed
Published by Hachette Audio on 01 January 2013
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Length: 7 hours 58 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible.com
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Erased, Reborn, Forged + Betrayed

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Trigger Creek, New York // Elk Hill, Pennsylvania // Lancaster, Ohio // Whittier, Michigan // Port Cadia, Michigan // Traverse City, Michigan // Can Marie, Michigan

First Line: For most of the last four years, I wasn’t allowed in the lab.

Altered Series Order:
Book 0.5 – Altered: The Beginning (03 Dec 2013)
Book 1 – Altered
Book 2 – Erased (07 January 2014)
Book 3 – assumed as many books are trilogies these days

I had never heard of Altered by Jennifer Rush until a blogger friend of mine started to talk about it. A lot. Not only did she talk a lot about Altered but she also kept telling me how I had to read it. As I was looking for a new audio it didn’t take a ton of convincing and I started to listen to it not long after I downloaded it to my iPod. I really liked the story of Altered the plot started off a bit slow but by the end I was on the edge of my seat wondering what new twists and turns would happen next.

I loved the mystery aspect of the whole story though did feel as though there was a whole chunk of story missing. What is the point of altering, not just these boys, but others? What were the alterations made and why? Just how old are they really? And its those questions and more that prevented me from falling head over heels in love with this story. Hopefully those are answers that will be coming in the next book or in the novella that will be coming in December. I am a huge fan of knowing the origins of these and think that those details only add to a story and ignoring them just takes enjoyment away from me.

Another part of the story I enjoyed were the characters. They just all really meshed well together, and while there are reasons for that, it was also a natural bonding and genuine friendship as well. I did think that at times the romance seemed a bit forced and almost wish that it wasn’t included at all. But it wasn’t over the top and never took away from the story. Its a slow build and no insta-love and not the focus of the book. The focus was on the main plot – the escape of the boys and the quest to learn who they were before all the crazy things that happened to them.

Another aspect of the story that was wanting with me was the narrator, Casey Holloway. She just read the story a little too slowly for me and reminded me about how William Shatner spoke in his role as Captain Kirk. It was very halting and I just wanted her to finish a sentence, even just one, without all these crazy pauses. Her voice also felt a bit young for Anna and her male voices could use some work as well. Holloway really seemed to talk even slower for Cas, Sam, Nick and Trev and there were times when they all blended together and I couldn’t always tell which of them were speaking.

If you are looking for a great new sci-fi-eske read then I recommend that you give Altered by Jennifer Rush a try. While I had issues with the audio, I think that this is a great story to read in print. The story is fast paced and one that I think will appeal to boys and girls even though its told from the perspective of Anna. This was a fun story and I am really looking forward to the sequel to see what happens next.

four-stars
Divider