Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Publisher: St Martin's Press

Sunday, May 31, 2015

Mini Review: Please Remain Calm by Courtney Summers

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Mini Review: Please Remain Calm by Courtney SummersPlease Remain Calm by Courtney Summers
Series: This is Not a Test, Book 2
Published by St Martin's Press on 20 January 2015
Genres: Action & Adventure, Contemporary (No Romance Focus), Death & Dying, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Ghosts & the Undead, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Short Story / Novella, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 96
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Some Girls Are, All the Rage, Violent Ends

Place(s) Traveled To: Cortege, unknown // Fairfield

First Line(s): The little girl limps to our car.

Please Remain Calm is a followup novella to Courtney Summer’s 2012 zombie novel, This is Not a Test (my review.) It picks up immediately where This is Not a Test leaves us and gives us all a hint on what happens to Sloane and Rhys. Unlike This is Not a TestPlease Remain Calm is told from the point of view of Rhys and I think I liked the story a bit better as a result. I liked being in Rhys’s head and seeing things through his eyes. He’s a little more hopeful than Sloane and even though the world around them is falling apart he still holds out hope for humanity and for life.

The journey that Sloane and Rhys take in this novella isn’t an easy one. Life outside the school is rough and fraught with dangers similar to those that you see if you watch The Walking Dead. And like with the tv show its more other people that you have to worry about than the brainless zombies that infest the world. There is danger around ever corner and Courtney Summers excels at keeping the reader on the edge of ones seat. Nowhere is safe and the uninfected are far and few between and there is no telling who you can trust.

For a short novella, Please Remain Calm, feels longer and while I wished that there were more pages I was satisfied with how things played out. Even if I didn’t always agree with the choices that Summers made. But that’s what I like about a Courtney Summers book. You never know what she is going to do and she does often take the unexpected path. She could give everyone a happily ever after and tie everything up in a neat little bow but that isn’t real life and that isn’t what I expect from a book by Summers. I like that her books are raw and emotional. I like how they always make you feel something. If you liked This is Not a Test then you will have to read this book. Its not enough, its never enough, but its something more than what we had before.

 

irishdarkblue

Please Remain Calm Quote

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, January 17, 2015

Review: Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda JonesSeventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge
Published by St Martin's Press on 21 October 2014
Genres: Adult, Angels, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Demons, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Ghosts & the Undead, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge

 Place(s) Traveled To: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line(s): If the howling from the backseat of Agent Carson’s black SUV weren’t already dead, I would’ve strangled her. Gladly.

Seventh Grave and No Body is the seventh installment in Darynda Jones’s Charlie Davidson series and picks up not long after Sixth Grave on the Edge ends. While I wasn’t thrilled with the previous installment I was looking forward to Seventh Grave as I thought that maybe some of the bigger story ARC mysteries would be dealt with. However, I ended up being more disappointed in this story than I’d hoped and think that its really losing steam. The start of this series was so fresh and unique and now its just dragging on and getting a little repetitive in its telling. Charlie is getting a little annoying with her constant naming of things and constantly rushing off into danger.

In the beginning you could almost excuse her leaps into danger as there was always a bigger end game going on. But this aspect was missing in Seventh Grave and when you add into it that Charlie is pregnant its just reckless and irresponsible. The mystery that is started in this book is mediocre at best and as with the previous installment not much is accomplished with the overall story ARC. Other than re-hashing things that happened before there wasn’t anything new here and so that made Seventh Grave all the more frustrating and I am really starting to question if I want to continue reading this series or not.

Seventh Grave and No Body Quote

There are still elements of the story that I like, I do enjoy the humor though as I said above I do wish that some things would get toned down. The secondary characters continue to shine though why they continue to put up with some of Charlie’s antics I’ll never know. So in the end I sighed more than I laughed in this one and it just took longer to get through than it should have. There were also moments in this book that were impossible to believe because its hard to feel tension and think that characters are in peril when there are 4 more books to come in the series.

For me, its starting to seem as though there is no end point to the series and I think that does this world and characters a disservice. It just drags things out too much and so not much really happens in the story. While I do like how there is less than a year to wait between the next installment I am just not sure if I have the time or the energy to devote to books 8, 9, 10 and 11.

irishdarkblue

 

IR - Seventh Grave
three-stars
Divider

Friday, September 26, 2014

Review: Sugar Daddy by Lisa Kleypas

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Sugar Daddy by Lisa KleypasSugar Daddy by Lisa Kleypas
Series: Travis Family,
Published by St Martin's Press on 06 May 2007
Genres: Adolescence, Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friends to Lovers, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 371
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
two-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Welcome, Texas // Houston, Texas

First Line(s): When I was four, my father died in an oil-rig accident.

Sugar Daddy by Lisa Kleypas came to my attention when I stumbled on some Twitter chatter about swoon worthy male leads and there was much talk about Hardy Cates who makes his debut in this book. As I’d heard about Sugar Daddy from others I decided to move it up on my list of books to read. I’ve become a more active reader of adult contemporary romances recently and was familiar with Kleypas’s historicals and so was looking forward to reading this one. However, I ended up being pretty disappointed in it. This book was a very on the surface read and it involves a lot of Liberty Jones inner monologue and there is very little in the way of character dialogue. Much of the book seems to be her reflecting on events as opposed to directly interacting with the characters that she talks about.

Sugar Daddy is also a divided book there is the part that is the Liberty/Hardy interaction and then there is the time that comes after when she finds her ‘sugar daddy.’ Or who her new friends assume is her sugar daddy but in truth is just an older man who becomes a father figure of sorts. But her friends aren’t the only ones who make assumptions, his son does as well. This bring in the second romance that is contained within Sugar Daddy and the reader is supposed to be torn between Hardy and Gage. Both of whom are abusive, alpha males and there is very little appeal to either of them. In fact, Gage does some pretty horrible things all in the interest of “protecting what’s his” and what he considers his is Liberty. Which is annoying and frustrating on so many levels.

Overall, I found Sugar Daddy to be a very slow and boring book. There is very little in the actual way of romance in the story and its more of just a recounting of Liberty’s life, her past and where she is now. For a romance novel there was very little romance in the story. Liberty never dated Harday and they only shared a few kisses before he left without a word to make his fortune. The same goes with Gage and at 70% through the book there really wasn’t a ton going on. Many times I wondered why I was still reading the book. Sugar Daddy wasn’t a story for me and at this time I don’t think I’ll be reading the rest of the books in the series. I will still read Kleypas’s historicals but for now I’ll think twice before trying one of her contemporaries again.

 

irishdarkblue

 

 

 

People who liked this book better than I did

Dear Author – “The first person POV totally works, mainly because Liberty is such a terrific heroine. She’s funny, self-deprecating and strong.”

Not Another Romance Blog – “This is the first 5 out of 5 Aww review on the blog and with great reason. This book was a Journey! We sat back and watched as a naive, self-conscious 14 year-old is transformed by life and grows into a strong young woman. This book was just GOLD. plainly, and simply, gold.”

 

Sugar Daddy Quote

 

 

 

two-stars
Divider

Monday, June 30, 2014

Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Adult, Review2 Comments

Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda JonesSixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Seventh Grave and No Body
Published by St Martin's Press on 20 May 2014
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Adult, Angels, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Demons, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Ghosts & the Undead, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 326
Format: ARC
Source: Gift
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled To: Albuquerque, New Mexico // Other locations in New Mexico

First Line(s): “A girl, a mocha latte, and a naked dead man walk into a bar,” I said, turning to the naked dead man sitting in my passenger seat.

 

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones was among my most anticipated titles of 2014 as I just love the humor of this series. So I was really excited when I received an ARC of it as part of Andi’s Spring Book ExchangeSixth Grave on the Edge is filled with all the humor and shenanigans that I’ve come to expect from a Charlie Davidson book and despite many of the same tricks and ploys used in previous books Darynda Jones manages to keep the story fresh. I think this is due in part ot how these books aren’t a mystery of the week sort of story anymore and while there is always a mystery story ARC in the book there is this larger backstory/mystery going on that spans multiple books.

The big mystery is intriguing and I look forward to gaining new clues to the big mystery of just what Charlie’s full purpose is here on Earth. I love seeing more of Cookie, Uncle Bob, Reyes, and all the rest as they all continualy grow and become a bit more real as the series progesses. However, in this book I have to admit to being a little disappointed in it. It just didn’t seem as if much of anything happened in the bigger storyline and the main mystery of the book was just so-so. Overall, Sixth Grave felt more like book 2 in a trilogy in the sense that there was a lot of build up but not a lot of action. There were lots of hints about things to come but not major revels. At least, not until the end. Even the question proposed at the end of Fifth Grave Past the Light wasn’t fully answered until towards the end of this book.

As with all the other books Sixth Grave was entertaining but I just wanted a little more depth to it. A bit more of the big mystery revelead. Or even more development among the various characters as they all just sort of stood still in this one. With the exception of Mr Wong who had some cryptic remarks made about him and now I’m more curious than ever about Charlie’s roommate than I was before. Though despite not being as fully satisfied in this installment as I normally am in a Charlie Davidson book I still managed to read it pretty fast. This series is alwys good fun and even with the added minor cliff-hangers that are appearing at the end of each book I do find myself excited for the next one. And you can be sure that I’m uber excited that Seventh Grave and No Body will be released in October 2014 and a year from now in 2015. I just hope that there is a bit more substance to that one than was in this one.

 .

irishdarkblue

 

.

.

.

Sixth Grave Quote

three-half-stars
Divider

Monday, July 8, 2013

Review: Fifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Adult, Review2 Comments

Review: Fifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda JonesFifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Sixth Grave on the Edge, Seventh Grave and No Body
Published by St Martin's Press on 09 July 2013
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 501
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Sixth Grave on the Edge, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled to: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line: The dead guy at the end of the bar kept trying to buy me a drink.

Holy frijoles Batman!

This is one book that I have a hard time putting into words it was just that good and exceeded all of my expectations. If you’re a regular reader of this blog then you know that I’ve been blitzing through the Charley Davidson books by Darynda Jones. And if you live in Massachusetts then you may have hear my squeal of delight when I received a copy of Fifth Grave Past the Light which is the newest installment in the series. Fifth Grave picks up almost immediately after Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet ends and its just filled with hotness and awesome.

The mystery portion of this book wasn’t as intriguing to me in this book as in previous ones and in some cases it even took a back seat to the secondary storylines. Because in this book, dear readers, sh!t really starts to hit the fans. Things are alluded to that could have some crazy crazy things happen to our favorite grim reaper in the future. Not to mention the whole crazy portal back story and its future implications. Talk about edge of your seat moments and yet at the same time just not enough. Before this book the whole secondary portions of Charley’s purpose was just kinda meh. Well, not meh but it just wasn’t at the forefront of my brain. But in Fifth Grave there were just enough details and hints given that have me lusting for more.

And speaking of lust….can we just say ooh la la steamy hot scenes with our favorite son of satan, Reyes. Wow. These are the scenes that readers have been waiting for ever since First Grave on the Right. I just love these two together and their chemistry positively sizzles off the page. Plus there was that ending!! Talk about killer and its a whole millenina (ok only about a year) until the next book is out and you know what will happen next. So while there is a cliff hanger its not one that the story hinges on. The mystery is solved in this book and the cliff hanger is all about Charley.

There was some disappointments in this book and that was a lack of the Step-monster. I may not like the character much but I do like the barbs that she and Charley toss at each other. I also missed Charley’s interactions with her father but was glad to see more of her sister. Which such a big secondary cast though it can be hard to give them all the page time that they deserve. So as long as there is Reyes, Cookie, Uncle Bob, and Swoops I can be happy. Mostly. It will also be interesting to see where all these secondary characters fit into that thing that we learn about in this book. I have my ideas and I can’t wait to see if they pan out or not.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and think its the best one in the series to date. I am eager to see what happens next. If you love a humorous, sexy, fun paranormal story and you haven’t picked up this series yet then you are seriously missing out.

Charley Davidson Series Order
Book 1: First Grave on the Right
Book 1.5: For I Have Sinned (novella)
Book 2: Second Grave on the Left
Book 3: Third Grave Dead Ahead
Book 4: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
Book 5: Fifth Grave Past the Light
Book 6: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Summer 2014)

five-stars
Divider

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review1 Comment

Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda JonesFourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson,
Published by St Martin's Press on 02 October 2012
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled to: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line: I sat watching the Buy From  Home Channel with my dead aunt Lillian and wondered what my life would’ve been like had I not just eaten an entire carton of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Therapy with a mocha latte chaser.

Its always hard to review a series while trying to keep spoiler free but I will try my best with Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones. I feel hard for this series and I blitz read through all the available books because I just didn’t want to leave this world. I love Charlie, her family, her friends, her frenemies, and her who knows what he is Reyes. (*swoon* Reyes) I even love the quirky chapter titles and this is normally something that I royally dislike. But they work for these series and I love hitting a new chapter to see what saying or quote is used next.

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet picks up soon after the crazy climax of the previous book with Charlie dealing with the consequences. She is not handling things as well as she would like and has developed a bit of an addiction to shop at home networks. Not to mention what happened with Reyes and Swoops. What I love about this series is that it always feels so real, yes even with all the demons and grim reapers. Things happen and there are consequences and repercussions for them. Well, except for when Charlie gets injured as she has some super amazing healing powers that I wish I had as I really do not like pain. lol

As with the previous books in the series there is a mystery ARC that covers the book from open to close and then there is this whole bigger story line that has been brewing over the previous books. The main mystery is solved and neatly tied up in a bow and I like that and there was just enough clues for this bigger story given to keep me interested in learning more. Though I do wish that Darynda Jones would pick up the pace a bit with these little nuggets for the bigger background story ARC. I also liked getting to know all the characters just a little bit better. I know that I’ve said that before and will probably say it again but that is the real benefit of a series.

A true series with the same MC in every book and not just companion novels linked together by a theme. I like learning all of Charlie’s quirks and idiosyncrasies and can really relate to her. I love the chemistry she has on the page with everyone in her life, even her evil step-monster. I love how these books are able to make me laugh out loud.

When I pick up a Charlie Davidson mystery I know that I am in for a good time. There are humorous moments and serious ones. There are hot steamy scenes and then there are things that can make a girl cringe. These are great beach time reads or sitting by the fire on a cold winter night. There is just something so fun about these books that I can’t help but recommend them to everyone I know. They are just such good fun and I hope that they never end because I would be so sad to have to leave these characters and this world forever.

Charley Davidson Series Order
Book 1: First Grave on the Right
Book 1.5: For I Have Sinned (novella)
Book 2: Second Grave on the Left
Book 3: Third Grave Dead Ahead
Book 4: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
Book 5: Fifth Grave Past the Light
Book 6: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Summer 2014)

four-stars
Divider

Friday, June 14, 2013

Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, New Adult, Review, Young Adult7 Comments

Review: Fangirl by Rainbow RowellFangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Published by St Martin's Press on 10 September 2013
Genres: Adolescence, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friends to Lovers, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 445
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: Carry On

Place(s) Traveled to: Lincoln, Nebraska // Omaha, Nebraska (2011)

First Line: There was a boy in her room.

I don’t normally review books months before they are released but every so often an exception must be me. Such is the case with Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl which is a book that I’ve literally been bouncing over and telling everyone I know to preorder it immediately. As regular readers are aware I recently jumped onto the Rainbow Rowell bandwagon when I read Eleanor & Park (my review) on a flight to Frankfurt. That book just filled me all the emotions and I just fell so deeply in love with the character’s and Rowell’s writing style that I needed more. Fortunately for me I had access to my libraries digital catalog and I was able to download and devour her debut, Attachments (my review). But it wasn’t enough and so I think when I received approval for Fangirl while in Germany I may have let out a wee bit of a scream.

I then proceeded to stay up all night reading this book and was a total zombie the next day causing my co-workers to think I was still suffering from jet lag. To which I corrected them, nope…just a really good book. Only a really good something will keep this gal from sleeping and Fangirl hit all the right notes. First there were the amazing characters of Cath, Levi, Regan, and Wren. Although truth told I really wanted to smack Wren upside the head on more than one occasion for her attitude towards her twin. Oh, I totally get the need for independence and wanting to separate yourself from your sister but there are less hurtful ways to go about it than she did. But then Reagan and Levi more than made up for any slights that Wren gave. Oh Levi 3>

Not only is there there the main story of Cath learning to cope with all these new experiences during her freshman year of college but there is also a story within a story and I just LOVE those. Cath is a bit of an introvert and she has taken to writing fan fiction based on her favorite series, The Simon Snow Series which is her worlds Harry Potter. So inter-spaced with Cath’s story are snippets of her fan fiction and you just can’t help but fall in love with that world as well, especially if you are a fan of Harry Potter.

I could not put this book down. With each book that Rainbow Rowell writes her writing and characterization just gets so much stronger. I thought that I felt all the feelings with Eleanor & Park but what I felt during my read of Fangirl far surpassed that book. I think that I may have cried a little when I hit the last page because I didn’t want it to end. I wasn’t ready to leave this world and I just wanted to know more about Cath and all the characters in this story. I want there to be a sequel….nay FOUR sequels…chronicling all four years of Cath’s college experience. I want there to be a website so that I can read all of Cath’s fan fiction and I am so not a fan fiction reading person. I have nothing against it but its just never been something I’ve been interested in reading.

I’ve read this book a good dozen times since finishing it for the first time last month and I know that I’ll re-read it hundreds of times more in the future. These characters are already old friends who are very dear to me and I envy everyone who hasn’t read it yet because I’d loved to re-read this book again for the first time. Just thinking about it can make my hear ache (in that oh so wonderful way). There aren’t enough words to use to say how much I loved this story and all the ones I find just aren’t enough to full articulate all that I want to say. What I do know is that Fangirl is definitely one of my all time favorite reads. Its a book that I will most likely buy over and over as I’ll keep giving it away to people who need to read it. And if I wasn’t aware of it before I’m utterly and completely in love with Rainbow Rowell’s writing. If she published a book of grocery lists I would read it and love it. I am a fan for life and think you should be too. In fact, I’m giving away a pre-order of Fangirl here and you should enter. Because if you haven’t read a Rainbow Rowell book yet you are totally missing out on something amazing.

five-stars
Divider

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Review: Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers (Teaser Review)

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Review, Young Adult14 Comments

Review: Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers (Teaser Review)Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers
Published by St Martin's Press on 05 January 2010
Genres: Contemporary (No Romance Focus), Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Girls & Women, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 246
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: All the Rage, Please Remain Calm, Violent Ends

Place(s) Traveled to: Hallowell, Connecticut

First Line(s): I wake up, and the bruises on my arms have turned really yellow and brown, so I have to wear long sleeves, even though fall is doing its best impression of summer and the air is sticky and hot.

Through the wonderful amazing kindness and generosity of fellow bloggers I was able to borrow an Advanced Copy of Some Girls Are from the super awesome Steph of Steph Su Reads. Some Girls Are or SGA as its been referred to on Twitter arrived on Friday. There was temptation to start reading it right then, but also some hesitation. After all there is already so much hype over this book and its greatness….and I am often disappointed with highly hyped up books as seen in Exhibit A. So I patted it a bit and put it on nightstand. Saturday came and I had to get my car looked at by my dad’s handy dandy cave (aka the only mechanic in world I trust to tell me truth & break it to me gently when Monty is really sick). I spent some quality time with my parents, got my dad a cell phone (note to all this is the first sign of the coming zombieapocalypse be ready!) and  in general continued to put off reading SGA.

Though I did carry it with me all day long. That night I pestered Courtney Summers on twitter to see if she had a playlist for the story. As playlists seem to becoming a popular trend with authors and their books these days. She didn’t have anything posted on her site but she did have on in her iTunes, which she then proceeded to Tweet to me. People, this is part of why I LOVE twitter so very much. I love the real time interaction you have with authors (and bloggers and other twitter peeps). So then I was able to put off reading for a wee bit longer as I assembled the list. I even downloaded some LADY GAGA – this should let you all know my dedication to procrastination….and even more amazing the album doesn’t suck. Its actually kinda catchy….words I never thought I’d say when it comes to the Haus of Gaga. (I think Courtney Summers may brainwashed me on this, but I can’t be sure).

Anywho, playlist made I proceeded to sit down and read. Now mind you….I didn’t start the book until 11 pm. When I started I thought to read just a chapter or two before calling it a night and finishing it up on Sunday. Well, before I knew it the clock was striking 4 am and I had finished the book and was just sitting there amazed, in awe and so completely blown away. When I regained some sense I immediately pulled out my phone and tweeted this message to Courtney “OH. EM. GEE. You are so twisted. SGA is effing brilliant. But seriously…OMG!!!” Now you’d think calling someone twisted would be a bad thing, but no this was what I received in response “!!! Hah!! I paused revision just to check twitter and saw your tweet and now I am like 😀 THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!! omg!” followed by “PS CUTB was just easing people into my twistedness. After SGA there’s no going back. 😉 srsly, though–thank you!!!”.

And let me tell you I thought that Cracked Up To Be (CUTB) was amazing (my review) but compared to SGA its like night and day. CUTB is puppys and rainbows and SGA is like a zombie on crack. It its a totally mindblowing book and its really hard to put into words just how uber amazing it is. Especially now months before its out, which is why I am rambling crazily and not really saying much of anything at all. In many ways Kirkus said it best “… will make readers cringe…. a truly mean girl is not easily knocked down. Powerful and compelling.”

Some Girls Are is a cringe worthy book. It also is a book that is filled with realism and raw emotion. Regina is a character that you love and hate and who breaks your heart into pieces all at once. I am counting down the days until January when I can buy my very one copy and read it over again. Once I do I’ll sit down and give you a better review then this one of me babbling over procrastination and avoidance….which so wasn’t needed because Some Girls Are not only lives up to the hype but it surpasses even the most glowingest review out there.

Also, in case you wanted to listen to the Some Girls Are playlist – which seriously adds to the reading experience of the book – Courtney has graciously allowed me to post it here for you. The songs are just amazing when paired up with the text. The songs were also chosen more for the feelings & sounds rather than because of the lyrics so don’t try to infer any deeper meaning out of them than that.

  • Changes Are No Good by The Stills
  • Beautiful Dirty Rich by Lady Gaga
  • Feeling Good by Muse
  • AntiMatter byNERD
  • Stupid Girl by Garbage
  • Little Bit by Lykie Li
  • LES Artistes by Santogold
  • Y Control by Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  • I Can’t Take it by Tegan and Sara
  • Smile Like You Mean It by The Killers
  • Just Dance by Lady Gaga
  • Alert Status Red by Matthew Good
irishdarkblue
five-stars
Divider

Thursday, July 19, 2007

Review: The Book of Names by Jill Gregory & Karen Tintori

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Adult, Review3 Comments

The Book of Names by Jill Gregory, Karen Tintori
Published by St Martin's Press on 09 January 2007
Genres: Action & Adventure, Contemporary (No Romance Focus), Death & Dying, Espionage, Mystery & Detective, People & Places, Politics & Intrigue, Social Issues, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars

Place(s) Traveled to: New York City, New York // London, England // Israel

First Line: Two men shoveled the sand under cover of darkness.

The premise of this book is simple, into every generation there are 36 pure souls (lamed koviks) that are born who through their existence keep the earth together. If any of these souls die then bad things start to happen – war, famine, earthquakes, etc. Way back when in Biblical times Adam, bright boy that he was wrote down the names of every living creature including who all the lamed koviks in all the coming generations.

As you can guess with all these pure souls running about there are those people who will stop at nothing to destroy them. People who want to disrupt Gods plan and remake the world in their image. They somehow manage to break the code of Adams book of names and start to kill off the lamed koviks. The world slowly moves to turmoil as they do.

Enter the reluctant hero, David Sheppard, who do to an accident in his youth has somehow managed to tap into a higher existence and is somehow able to come up with the names of various lamed koviks. David has no idea at first the meaning of these names that keep coming to him, just that when he searches for some their names many of them have died in weird accidents or unnatural causes and all he really wants is to stop the names from coming. Until one name that pops out matches that of his ex-stepdaughter who he loves as his own child.

Enter beautiful sidekick who helps David to realize the power of the names and just what is happening in the world because someone is killing them off. She convinces David to join her fellow Israeli’s in tracking down the remaining names to try to stop the ultimate evil from taking over.

What follows is a fast paced read about the ultimate battle between good and evil. As David rushes to save his stepdaughter and with her the fate of the entire world a reader can’t help but to swiftly turn the pages to see just what will happen next. This book is right up there with Angels & Demons by Dan Brown and The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell in that its a good read though unrealistic. However, I found this novel to be slightly more realistic then those two previously mentioned books. This books is a fast adventure that I didn’t want to put down – well once I got through the first 20 pages that is. I admit that I almost put it down at first for those first few pages didn’t thrill me…..but I always try to read at least 50 pages or so before turning away from a book and I am so glad that I didn’t.

irishdarkblue

five-stars
Divider