Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Publisher: Image Comics

Monday, March 17, 2014

Review: Walking Dead – Safety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Walking Dead – Safety Behind Bars by Robert KirkmanSafety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman
Series: The Walking Dead,
Also in this series: The Walking Dead: Days Gone Bye, Miles Behind Us
Published by Image Comics on 18 June 2005
Genres: Action & Adventure, Adult, Death & Dying, Diseases, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Graphic Novel
Pages: 136
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: The Walking Dead: Days Gone Bye, Miles Behind Us

Place(s) Traveled To: Prison outside of Atlanta, Georgia

First Line(s): Please tell me that’s the LAST time we’re all going to have to pack into THAT thing.

I always walk into a new volume of The Walking Dead graphic novel with mixed emotions and Safety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman is no exception. Safety Behind Bars is the third volume of the series and brings our group of survivors to the prison which features in most of Season 3 of the show. As with previous installments its always weird to see characters as already part of the group and with different lives and stories to how I know them on the show. Tyrese for example with his daughter and her boyfriend and Hershel with younger daughters in addition to Maggie and Beth. Its strange seeing similar and yet different events unfold and its hard to mesh these two alternate worlds in my brain. I always try to separate the books from the show but its hard coming into the books second and knowing what I know from the show first.

Just like the show though there are lots of intense moments in Safety Behind Bars and some I could have done without. No one needs to see non-zombie heads getting chopped off…ick…and I can see why those scenes in particular didn’t make it onto the show. There is drama enough without it but just think of how crazy intense those would have been to film!!

Overall, I do like the visuals of the artwork in Safety Behind Bars though it seemed like the drawings of Glenn and Maggie changed drastically about half way through the book. I thought they were different people at first and was wondering where they came from until their names were used in the story. The graphic novel format makes Safety Behind Bars a quick read and I did enjoy it. I am just not as big a fan of the comics as I am of the show. Its just easier to fall in love with the realism of tv over the two-dimensional world of the comics.

irishdarkblue

.

 

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Review: Walking Dead – Miles Behind Us by Robert Kirkman

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Walking Dead – Miles Behind Us by Robert KirkmanMiles Behind Us by Robert Kirkman
Series: The Walking Dead,
Also in this series: The Walking Dead: Days Gone Bye, Safety Behind Bars
Published by Image Comics on 24 November 2004
Genres: Action & Adventure, Adult, Death & Dying, Dystopian, Friendship, Graphic Novel, Social Issues, Survival Stories, Suspense
Pages: 136
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: The Walking Dead: Days Gone Bye, Safety Behind Bars

Place(s) Traveled To: Atlanta, Georgia

First Line(s): Lori?

I have to admit that I started and stopped Miles Behind Us by Robert Kirkman several times before I actually sat down to read it. Part of that was due to the fact that it does a quick jump back in past and I kept getting confused thinking I’d already read that one. But then once I sat down and forced myself to read past the first few pages things went back to where things left off in Days Gone Byeand the story really picked up in pace. Though reading the comics after knowing what I do of the tv show still does hurt my brain a little.

After all I already know some of these characters and their fates although at the same time there are enough differences that I don’t really know them at all. In Miles Behind Us we go to the farm, which made up all of Season 2 of The Walking Dead but just one thin volume of the comic installment. Events happened really fast and as with the first book I really miss my pal Daryl. There was also a lot less suspense than in the show as Hershel and the others were more open about what was in the barn so that whole thing was a bit anti-climatic.

Despite all the difference though, and the early addition of some characters I did like this one better than the first comic installment. Even though the characters aren’t quite the same I am getting to know these versions of them a little better and coming to like them. No matter how much I want them to be their tv counterparts I do have to accept who they are as they were originally drawn.

The drawings in Miles Behind Us are simple black and white images done by Charlie Adlard but they do manage to convey a lot to the plot. They add some depth and emotion that might otherwise be missing. I don’t like the comics as much as the show but I will probably continue to keep reading it.

irishdarkblue
three-stars
Divider

Monday, December 23, 2013

Review: Saga by Brian K. Vaughan

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review4 Comments

Review: Saga by Brian K. VaughanSaga by Brian K. Vaughan
Series: Saga,
Published by Image Comics on 23 October 2012
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Graphic Novel, Sci-Fi
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Goodreads
three-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Cleave // Landfall // Space

First Line(s): This is how an idea becomes real.

Not long ago on Twitter I started to hear a lot of a graphic novel called Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and illustrated by Fiona Staples. The talk was enough for me to place a hold on it at the library and as its a graphic novel it was a pretty quick read. I was excited for this one based on what people were saying but in the end I was left a little underwhelmed by it all. The artwork of Saga is pretty amazing and I loved what Staples did with the story. The colors were all so vivid and this crazy complex world was really brought to life. I loved the visuals of it and if it had been a traditional print story I’m not sure that the images of how the people and the various worlds they were on would have come across.

The story, on the other hand, was just plain odd. I get that there were warring peoples and star-crossed lovers but the back story of it all wasn’t explained very well. Not the history of the war or why the two planets hated each other so. And the whole thing was just a bunch of characters running around trying to hide while others ran around trying to chase them. The whole story surrounds this child who is born of the two warring races and so embodies both of them. Both sides want the child for various reasons, and its assumed that they both want her dead. And yet, as the story is narrated by said child looking back over events the plot just lacks the tension it would have had if her eventual fate was unknown.

The sexual undertones of this graphic novel were also a bit off putting for me as well. I know that graphic novels are typically a thing read by guys but enough girls read them too and yet they always seem to be filled with bare breasted women. Then there was the whole sex planet side story line that really didn’t fit in with the main plot. It all just seems to belittle women and their roles and makes it seem as though they can never be the hero of a story.

I have the second volume on order at the library but I am debating on if I want to read it or not. There just wasn’t enough wow factor in this one.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Review: The Walking Dead – Days Gone Bye by Robert Kirkman

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: The Walking Dead – Days Gone Bye by Robert KirkmanThe Walking Dead: Days Gone Bye by Robert Kirkman
Series: The Walking Dead,
Also in this series: Miles Behind Us, Safety Behind Bars
Published by Image Comics on 26 September 2006
Genres: Adult, Dystopian, Graphic Novel
Pages: 144
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Miles Behind Us, Safety Behind Bars

Place(s) Traveled To: Atlanta, Georgia

First Line(s): This is not good.

I picked up The Walking Dead graphic novel after I’d blitzed through the first three seasons of the TV show and I kind of wish that I’d done this in reverse. I fell hard for the TV show, the characters and the story and I was jonsing for a fix as I waited for the new season to start. I though what better way to work through my addiction than to check out the the graphic novel it was based one. Now while I have heard that the graphic novel and the show take differing paths initially they are pretty similar. And its these similaries that made it a bit tough to get into the story as I knew what was coming.

There is a certain element of suspense to the show where you are always on the edge of your seat wondering what is around the next corner. Since the start of the graphic novel is fairly similar to the show there wasn’t as much suspense to the story. I already had all these preconceived notions on the characters and so its hard to like and care for someone that you know will die or turn into a douche.

Despite knowing what’s to come I did enjoy The Walking Dead – Days Gone Bye graphic novel. I thought it was fast paced and I enjoyed the artwork. It was fun seeing how these images were mirrored on the TV cast like Carl’s paw print tee shirt and Glenn’s baseball hat. The Walking Dead – Days Gone Bye is a quick read and I read it in a very short time. It was nice revisting certain aspects of the TV show but it was hard to see the graphic representations of the characters as the ones of the TV show are so firmly ingrained in my head.

Right now I am debating on if I want to continue with the graphic novel series or not. As I said about I know that the show and the graphic novel do start to take separate paths. Though it is sad to know that one of my favorite characters on the show doesn’t appear in the novels at all. That and the fact that the first volume of Walking Dead didn’t wow me as much as the show have me hesitating. Perhaps during the next read-a-thon I’ll try out the next volume as graphic novels are always a nice when the eyelids are getting heavy.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider