Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Publisher: Hachette Book Group

Monday, July 25, 2016

Review: Hamilton the Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Hamilton the Revolution by Lin-Manuel MirandaHamilton: The Revolution by Jeremy McCarter, Lin-Manuel Miranda
Narrator: Mariska Hargitay
Published by Grand Central Publishing on 12 April 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary (No Romance Focus), Non-Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars

Dear Reader

It may come as a shock for you to learn that I am a fan of the musical Hamilton. If it doesn’t….then you know me well and if you like Hamilton too then we can be besties! Anywho, when I heard about the Hamiltome I knew that I had to have it and when I was given an opportunity to review to audio I had to take that too. Because there really can’t be too much Hamilton in ones life. My only regret was that I didn’t have access to either prior to seeing the musical because reading this behind the scenes tale really ups the emotional punch of an already emotional story. I loved this behind the scenes look at the creation of this epic musical and getting a sneak peak at some of Lin-Manuel Miranda’s thoughts when it came to particular lyrics.

HAMILTON: THE REVOLUTION is definitely a book that you’ll want to have if you are a fan of the musical. Its beautifully bound and the pictures just really add to the story vignettes that comprise each chapter. These stories and histories of the musicals creation are enhanced even further as they are often followed by the musicals libretto. This is where the audio suffers and you loose something when all you do is listen. I loved Mariska Hargitay’s narration but all she did was read the chapter text and all of Miranda’s notes are lumped together on a single disc. Without the context of the books layout I think it really hampers ones enjoyment of the audio. So I found myself listening to the audio in the car and then coming home to look at the sections and pictures that the audio skips over.

Overall, though I really enjoyed HAMILTON: THE REVOLUTION and if you are a fan of the musical then you will enjoy it as well. This is a great book to give those who haven’t (or can’t) see the musical to get an up close and personal look at some of the staging and costumes. I loved reliving the show by looking at all these visuals and I loved the songs all the more when I knew more about Miranda’s thought process in how they were developed. I’m not gonna lie HAMILTON: THE REVOLUTION totally had me tearing up at times and at the end of the book I breathed such a sigh of contentment. Reading this book was such an amazing journey and I’m so very glad that Miranda and company took the time to put it together to release into the world. I love the musical even more now and can’t wait until such times as I can see it again.

irishdarkblue

Click here to read my review of Hamilton by Ron Chernow.

Click here to check out the Hamilton Book Tag.

five-stars
Divider

Monday, April 25, 2016

Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: The Dead House by Dawn KurtagichThe Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on 15 Sept 2015
Genres: Contemporary (No Romance Focus), Death & Dying, Friendship, Mystery & Detective, Suspense, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: Book Expo (BEA-ALA-et al)
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Somerset, England

First Line(s): I curse anyone who reads this book. If you touch it, hell will be waiting. Screw you. Happy reading.

THE DEAD HOUSE by Dawn Kurtagich is the a YA debut murder mystery story. Its told using mixed media or “found” documents after there is a fire at a boarding school that resulted in the deaths of a couple of students and another,Carly, to disappear without a trace. Twenty years after the events in question Carly’s diary is found and that is the main source material used to tell this story. The reader quickly learns that Carly isn’t your average teenager. Because at night she’s no longer Carly and she becomes Kaitlyn. The two girls, though they share a body, are two very different people and they lead two very different lives and yet they somehow manage to coexist. It is never clear throughout the telling of THE DEAD HOUSE which personality is the original and which is the alter.

THE DEAD HOUSE is a quick read because of its format and I thought that the story was well written and engaging as I was reading it. However, the more time that passes between my reading of the book the more story itself fades into the background. When I finished THE DEAD HOUSE I wasn’t sure what to make of the story and now a few months later I am still unsure of it. There didn’t seem to be much in the way of resolution and it felt a little open ended as if there might be a sequel at some point in the future. I also expected THE DEAD HOUSE to be a creepier story than it was and maybe the audio version incorporates the creep factor in better. Though I’m not sure how well this mixed media style would work in audio form.

The Dead House Quote

Overall, I was left a little underwhelmed with THE DEAD HOUSE. It was interesting and yet at the same time its also forgettable. I feel like I’m missing something when I see all the rave reviews of this story. Because for me there wasn’t a whole ton of substance. We got the facts and nothing but and we never really got a solution to the mystery at large. Who was Carly/Kaitlyn really? Where did she go after the fire? Or was she a victim that was never found? In the end I was left with more questions than answers so was left thinking that the whole story was just average.

Other than the main mystery of the fire, there are several other things going on from potential paranormal aspects to cults and mysterious events that happened years before the fire. There is a lot of detail given and yet not a lot at the same time. THE DEAD HOUSE is a weird little novel that I liked but didn’t love and maybe it is one that I should re-read to see if its one of those stories that makes more sense the more its read. Although, I really don’t have a whole heck of a lot of desire to re-read this one. THE DEAD HOUSE wasn’t a bad book but it wasn’t what I was expecting either and so maybe that’s part of where my disappointment comes in. If you liked mixed media and ghost stories then maybe you’ll like this one too.

irishdarkblue

IR - Dead House

Add The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender to Goodreads.

Add Daughters Unto Devils by Amy Lukavics to Goodreads.

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Review: When the Stars Align by Jeanette Grey

Posted by Irish in 2.5 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: When the Stars Align by Jeanette GreyWhen the Stars Align by Jeanette Grey
Published by Forever on 01 September 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Arecibo, Puerto Rico // Baltimore, Maryland // Vieques Island, Puerto Rico

First Line(s): You don’t ask, you don’t get.

I’ll admit it. I have double standards. We all do when you think about it and WHEN THE STARS ALIGN hits on one of mine. The heroine of WHEN THE STARS ALIGN, Jo, is one that really got on my nerves as she had a huge chip on her shoulder. And while I can sometimes put up with this more when its the hero it just tends to grate me the wrong way when its the female of the story. I don’t know why it just is. Perhaps because a male hero with a chip on his shoulder often comes across as more broody while female characters express this in more judgmental behaviors. And boy did Jo judge those around her throughout most of WHEN THE STARS ALIGN.

I had high hopes for WHEN THE STARS ALIGN because this was supposed to be a book about physics and romance. There was to be SCIENCE! Which if you know me is right up my alley as I am a scientist by training. So the lack of any real science was sad making. It also grated that this was a physics based internship at the Arecibo Observatory and there were people in the program that had nothing to do with physics or astronomy that just wouldn’t happen in the real world at least not at such a prestigious internship where so many capable applicants apply.

When the Stars Align Quote

The world building of WHEN THE STARS ALIGN could have also been better. Here we are in this beautiful location and we don’t really get a chance to see or experience it. The most we learn is that its hot. Well, there is that one scene where they go swimming but that scene bothered me in that Jo, a girl who can’t swim, managed to dive and do all these things while in a life preserver that just aren’t realistically possible.

For me, this book was slow and overly drawn out. I didn’t really buy the relationship between Jo and Adam. Adam was a genuinely nice guy, though a little bit of a doormat at times, and Jo was just mean and hostile. It was hard for me to get into the story and I only finished it because I was co-reading it with some friends. But the frustration levels were high and I thought of DNFing this one several times. In the end WHERE THE STARS ALIGN was not a book for me but it has good ratings on Goodreads so don’t take my word on it. =)

irishdarkblue IR - When the Stars Align

Add Catching Liam by Gennifer Albin to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add The One & Only by Viv Daniels to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

two-half-stars
Divider

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Review: Opening Up by Lauren Dane

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Opening Up by Lauren DaneOpening Up by Lauren Dane
Series: Ink & Chrome,
Published by Forever on 16 June 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Erotica, Family, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 313
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Bellevue, Washington // Edmonds, Washington // Seattle, Washington

First Line(s): “I don’t even know who that is, but I’d like to take several large bites.”

Opening Up is the start of a new series by Lauren Dane and focuses on PJ Colman and Asa Barrons. PJ is a bit of a black sheep in her family as she’d much rather paint custom designs on cars than walk the corporate path but she puts her time in the office in the hopes of her family listening to her business ideas. However, as the youngest and most wild of the clan she’s often overlooked and put down by her family. Eventually things come to a head and she quits to form her own business. Business that brings her into Asa’s path as he owns a custom garage and hires her to do paintwork on his jobs.

There is all the requisite tension between the two which is only highlighted by the fact that Asa thinks he’s too old for PJ.  Asa is no match for PJ though. She’s smart and sassy and she knows what she wants and its everything that Alpha male Asa is able to give her. I loved Asa and PJ together and thought that they had real chemistry. There may have been an age gap but these two are pretty evenly suited to each other. PJ is the yin to Asa’s yang and even though there is much awkward and cheesy dialogue I just loved how these two fit with each other.

Opening Up Quote

What I didn’t love was PJ’s family. They were all sorts of vile and manipulative. PJs sister and one of her brothers weren’t all bad but when her family was bashing and belittling her they didn’t stand up for her either. Telling PJ after the fact how wrong they were means little when you don’t do it in the moment when you had the opportunity to do so. I’m not sure how PJ put up with most of the Colman clan when she was doing so much better on her own than when she worked for the company. But then family is a fickle thing and its always hard to let go of blood.

OPENING UP was a quick read and I enjoyed it in the moment. I liked how there was no pointless breakup but as with most romances these days the ending felt rushed and while OPENING UP includes an epilogue it really didn’t do much to close out the story. I’m also not a fan of epilogues in general and I always tell myself that I won’t read them when I encounter them but then I do and I am always disappointed. Epilogue aside I’m glad that I read OPENING UP and I am looking forward to seeing how this series progresses with the next book FALLING UNDER (goodreads) which will be Duke’s story.

irishdarkblue IR - Opening Up

Add Call on Me by Roni Loren to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Fight with Me by Kristen Proby. (Click here for my review.)

three-stars
Divider

Monday, July 13, 2015

Review: Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer LathamScarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on 19 May 2015
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Arabian, Fairy Tales, Folklore, & Legends, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Magic, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Thrillers, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Las Almas Bay, Unknown

First Line(s): The kid was cute. Her bare, knobbly legs swung back and forth like pendulums between the chipped legs of my client chair.

Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham was a book that I was really looking forward to reading this year as its a debut novel featuring a Muslim-American. Yay diversity!! And while I did like the story I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had hoped I would. Scarlet Undercover was a quick read but it wasn’t as mysterious or suspenseful as I was hoping it would be. Much of the mysterious elements came in the form of characters being cryptic and not revealing what they knew in a timely manner. This just frustrated me to no end because so much could have been avoided if the various characters didn’t keep secrets and just communicated with each other. Also, being cryptic is not the same as laying red herrings and weaving  a tapestry of misdirection and false truths until you get to the big reveal.

I did enjoy the character of Scarlett but did find elements of her character to be a bit unrealistic. The secondary characters were also interesting but none of them ever really shined all that bright. While I often enjoyed Scarlett’s voice when looking back I find both her and her friends and family to all be forgettable. There is a romance element to this story but like the overall mystery its a bit lukewarm and falls short of creating that heart achy feels that I so love in a story. Again, the romance and the mystery all suffer from lack of communication and as such the love interest and the story line could have all been easily resolved if people just talked to each other.

Scarlett Undercover Quote

The plot pacing of Scarlett Undercover could have also been better. So much happened due to convenience and it often made my eyes roll when events and people just appeared and disappeared exactly when needed. Despite all my high hopes for Scarlett Undercover I was left underwhelmed with the story. I also felt that the ending was a bit rushed and then there were all the unresolved threads. As far as I know Scarlett Undercover is a standalone book but there is definitely enough left open to spawn a sequel or two. Which, if it happens, I’m on the fence on if I would read it or not because while this book was just ok I never really became invested in the story.

I did like that Scarlett was smart and sassy as well as being a diverse heroine. This book was bursting with diversity which is a good thing but sometimes felt a little forced. Just as the paranormal elements of this book felt forced because they were just randomly tossed in and not fully explained or developed. Scarlett Undercover was just an ok read for me but if you are looking for some snarky diversity then you should check it out.

irishdarkblue

IR - Scarlett Undercover

Add Clarity by Kim Harrington to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, April 11, 2015

Mini Reviews: Forged & Betrayed by Jennifer Rush

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Forged

 

Forged by Jennifer Rush 
Published by Little Brown on 03 December 2013
Series: Altered, Book 0.5
Pages: 32
Format: eBook
Source: Library

Place(s) Traveled To: Unknown, Michigan

First Line(s): The bed beneath me was thin as paper, though not as thin as the cotton gown still tied around my naked body.

I really enjoyed the Altered series by Jennifer Rush so when I saw that my library had digital editions of the two novellas in the series I knew that I had to check them out. The first novella, Forged, takes place before the start of Altered (my review) and is the origin story of one character, Dani, and gives a little background to another. I was initially excited for this one but just didn’t care for it. It felt like a different tone than the rest of the series and I just didn’t care for any of the characters. Despite this on weighing in at just 32 pages it was a bit of a struggle to read. To me, this one didn’t really add much of anything to the overall story ARC of the series.

Betrayed + Forged Quote

Betrayed

 

Betrayed by Jennifer Rush 
Published by Little Brown on 26 August 2014
Series: Altered, Book 1.5
Pages: 32
Format: eBook
Source: Library

Place(s) Traveled To: Sarasota, Wisconsin

First Line(s): Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

While I didn’t really enjoyed Forged I did really enjoy reading Betrayed! I just loved reading Trev’s story and devoured this short little novella quickly. For a short story this one had a lot to it and my only real complaint was that it wasn’t longer. I still have hopes that one day Trev and Cal will get full length books as I really want to know more about them both. Though Betrayed does do a good job in filling in some of the gaps of Trev’s story. This one I think adds value to the overall story and one that I think is worth the read. Though at 99cents and only 32 pages you may want to check to see if your library has it in its digital catalog.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Review: The Storybook of Legends by Shannon Hale

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Middle Grade, Review0 Comments

Review: The Storybook of Legends by Shannon HaleThe Storybook of Legends by Shannon Hale
Series: Ever After High,
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on 08 October 2013
Genres: Adaptation, Adolescence, Books & Libraries, Fairy Tales, Folklore, & Legends, Fantasy, Friendship, Girls & Women, Middle Grade, Royalty, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 305
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Fairy-Tale World

First Line(s): Once upon a new school year, Raven Queen was packing.

The Storybook of Legends by Shannon Hale is the first book in the Ever After High series which was created by the same people who did Monster High and is a spin off of sorts. Though instead of “monsters” this story is filled with the children of the fairy tales we grew up listening to. We quickly learn that all the children in this story have a destiny that they need to fulfill and that destiny is to live out their fairy tale story as written and as determined by the Storybook of Legends. If your mother was an Evil Queen then you are supposed to grow up to be one too, even if you don’t feel so very evil. Which is Raven Queen’s dilemma as the new school year starts. This is her legacy year, the year she signs the book of Legends and seals her fate. Only she doesn’t want to be evil and wonders just what will happen if she doesn’t sign the book after all.

Along the way you meet her friends and a girl named Apple White, the daughter of Snow White, and the girl that Raven is supposed to grow up and poison so she can have her happily ever after. Apple is supposed to be good but what I love about this book is that the lines are blurred between good and evil and just because someone is perceived to be good doesn’t mean that they are. I really liked how fun and imaginative this story was and I did so enjoy the youtube cartoon tie-in as well. I liked all of the characters and the mystery that was contained in its pages. It was a fun fairy tale retelling and one in which I look forward to reading the other books in the series.

 

Storybook of Legends Quote

While I enjoyed the story I did get a little frustrated at times because I couldn’t understand why if each fairy tale character had two parents then why did Raven have to follow her mother’s path when her father was a good king. And what about the fairy tale characters that had multiple children? How do their stories play out as if there are 3 girls then they can’t all be Cinderella, can they? And just what happens if you don’t follow your destiny but instead forge your own path? These are all questions that I hope get answered as the series moves on. But for now, I was happy with it and do think that younger readers will enjoy it as well.

 

irishdarkblue

 

IR - Storybook of Legends

Add The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy to Goodreads. (Click Here for my review)

Add Kat, Incorrigable by Stephanie Burgis to Goodreads. (Click Here for my review.)

three-half-stars
Divider

Friday, January 9, 2015

Review: Reborn by Jennifer Rush

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Reborn by Jennifer RushReborn by Jennifer Rush
Series: Altered,
Also in this series: Altered, Erased, Forged + Betrayed
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on 06 January 2015
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Contemporary Romance, Emotions & Feelings, Espionage, Friendship, Love & Romance, Sci-Fi, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Altered, Erased, Forged + Betrayed

Place(s) Traveled To: Trademarr, Illinois

First Line(s): I never took to fighting like the others.

To say that finding the words to write my review of Reborn by Jennifer Rush was a difficult thing is an understatement and I’ve been searching for them since I finished this book. Reborn takes us back to the world and story that was begun in Altered (my review) only this time we get Nick’s point of view. Nick, oh the amazingly taciturn soul of few words and who I’ve been longing to know more about since his first grunt in Altered. And let me tell you, it may have taken 3 books and 2 novellas but Jennifer Rush does not disappoint when it comes to Nick’s story. It was everything that I hoped for and more. Reborn was a book that made me smile, it broke my heart, and it also gave me all those happy heart achy feels that I love in books. There was action and romance and just so many things that it really is hard to find the words without spoiling this story.

Reborn Quote

I really love the Altered series and I think that it gets better and better as it goes on. The first two books are told from Anna’s point of view and focus more on her and Sam. Reborn changes things up by not just focusing on Nick but also becoming an alternating POV with him and Elizabeth. I loved this style and now kind of wish that Altered and Erased had done the same as I’d love to be able to see into Sam’s head. Elizabeth is a new character to the series and she adds in a nice balance to Nick. They are very much a yin and yang to the other and give each other balance. Elizabeth helps to bring out Nick’s softer side and Nick helps bring out Elizabeth’s strength.

Reborn is a fast paced story and if I had the time I would have been able to read the whole thing in a day. There is a lot that goes on in this story but what I love about Jennifer Rush’s writing style is that she is able to maintain the mystery and keeps the reader guessing as the story unfolds. It was filled with intrigue and questions and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough to see where it would all end up. Seriously, this series is one of my favorites and I really hope that there will be more books coming. After all Trev and Cass need to find their happily ever afters too. Plus there is still just so much to learn about the past of all of these boys and what the Branch will do next.

My feelings of Reborn summed up in a gif

hugs

 

Irish Recommends - Reborn

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Monday, October 27, 2014

Review: Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: Famous in Love by Rebecca SerleFamous in Love by Rebecca Serle
Series: Famous in Love,
Published by Poppy on 21 October 2014
Genres: Adolescence, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friends to Lovers, Friendship, Love & Romance, Movie Stars, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

Places Traveled To: Portland, Oregon // Maui, Hawaii

First Line(s): “You’re famous, Patrick.” Jake winks at me, I roll my eyes.

In Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle, Paige Thompson is living the dream. She’s a regular girl like you and me who has a love of acting and she somehow manages to get chosen as the lead role in a book to movie series adaptation (think Twilight-style series). She’s over the moon at this and then also realizes that she should probably read the books because while her BFF is crazy obsessed with them she has always had better things to do than read.  Cut from her normal homelife to moving to Hawaii to start filming and there she meets her co-star, Rainer, a Hollywood heart-throb who is just a couple of years older than her and who befriends her and falls for her all in short order. All while she thinks he can’t possible fall for a girl like her as she’s awkward and young and keeps messing up her big chance. Then just as she starts to tell herself that she likes Rainer too, Jordan Wilder comes to set. The bad boy of Hollywood and someone who antagonizes Paige and sets her on edge. Queue to one of my least favorite tropes, the love triangle.

Though calling what happens in Famous in Love a love triangle is a bit of a stretch because even though the story is told in a first-person stream of conscious way the story stays very much on the surface of things. Its very superficial and you never really get to know who Paige is or why she makes the choices she does. I also firmly believe that one person can’t be in romantic love with two different people at the same time and also found it really hard to buy into Paige’s feelings for Jordan as she barely spent any time with him. And what time she did spend was usually with him being a condescending ass and them getting into an argument. I also don’t buy that ending and feel that it was very unfair to all the characters involved….again its just so superficial and blah.

For me, it seemed like there were a lot of things glossed over in Famous in Love and it never really gave me the heart-achey feels that I love. I never felt any tension between Paige and her love interests, Rainer and Jordan. I just don’t see what it was about her that they fell for. Its as if the idea of her, this fresh-faced unknown was more of a draw to them than who she was. Because Paige never came across as a real 3D person, she was very superficial and often clueless to the things going on around her. As a friend she kind of failed and I don’t blame her BFF for getting all mad at her. I know that I wanted to shake her several times during my read of this book.

I also found Famous in Love to be pretty inconsistent, there were some continuity errors (though these might have been corrected from ARC to final) and just all over the place most of the time. Its a quick read and once I managed to really focus on it one that I read it in a day but its one that just doesn’t do much for me. I also have no clue how Serle can make this into a trilogy. I know that the book/movie series that Paige is staring in is a trilogy and so this series may follow that but if the entire series is going to be Paige flip flopping between Rainer and Jordan than count me out. I don’t have it in me to deal with a love triangle over three books. I just don’t. Especially one that ends as crazily and unfairly as the one in this story. I just don’t buy the ending, not at all. And really don’t see how it works for any of the parties involved. For me, Famous in Love was just an ok read but its definitely not one that I’d recommend anyone rush out to read.

irishdarkblue

Famous in Love Quote

three-stars
Divider

Monday, July 14, 2014

Review: Before We Fall by Courtney Cole

Posted by Irish in 2 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Before We Fall by Courtney ColeBefore We Fall by Courntey Cole
Series: Beautifully Broken,
Also in this series: If You Leave, Until We Burn, Until We Fly
Published by Forever on 03 December 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Erotica, Love & Romance, Movie Stars, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
two-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Chicago, Illinois // Los Angeles, California

First Line(s): The slap can be heard all the way down the beach.

After reading the novella, Until We Burn, I wasn’t sure that I would like Before We Fall by Courtney Cole as I really didn’t like the “hero” Dominic Kincade. But I am a sucker for reading a series in order and since I wanted to read Until We Fly I had to get through this one first. Before We Fall opens up with a completely pointless prologue and then continues into one of the most eye-rolly stories I’ve read in awhile. First their is the personality change in Jacey who is now insisting that Brand is, and always has been, like a brother to her which contradicts some of her behavior in If You Leave. If anything Brand was the one with sibling-like thoughts but here he’s a love sick puppy that Jacey uses for validation. Then there is Dominic who is even more of a douche in this book than he was in Until We Burn although at least this one is more cohesive in its writing.

Dominic was an ass but he made no secret of it. Jacey on the other hand would act like a girl proud of her sexuality but then blush like a virgin at the littlest hint of a sexual comment or if anyone looked at her. She’d change in her room, with the door open, and then get mad and self-rightous when Dominic watched. If you don’t want someone to watch you change….CLOSE THE DAMN DOOR! Jacey finacial struggles also seemed a bit off since her brother and seemingly everyone else around her was well off but then if she didn’t struggle with money should wouldn’t need Brand to rescue her at every turn. Oh how I wanted to slap her silly with how she knowingly used that man’s feelings for her to get what she wanted. She was manipulative and selfish and just a whole different character from how see seemed to ne in If You Leave.

The plot was also a bit ridiculous and the cryptic mytery of Dominic’s past almost made my eyes roll out of their sockets. The fact that he was so traumatised by it at 18 that he turned crazy sexual deviant? Um….really?!? I’m not buying it. Not to mention that this story was filled with the same coversations, over and over and over again. I’m pretty sure the story could have been half the length that it was if those repetitive moments. If this one wasn’t on my ereader you can be sure that it would have been sent across the room on more than one occassion. And yet, I did keep reading it. I am not sure why I was able to read this disaster of a book until the end but once I got to that epilogue I really wish I hadn’t. Because really?!?! Are you freaking killing me with putting in this paranormal-eske bullshit into a contemporary series where none existed before?!? I…just…can’t.

For me, Until We Fall, was a train wreck of a book and one that I wish I had skipped. The Beautifully Broken series is written in such a way that they can be read independantly of each other and I really regret wasting my time on this one. If you like your sanity, and your book tastes are similar to mine then you might want to avoid this one.

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

People who liked this book better than me

Vilma’s Book Blog: “The story culminates in an emotionally charged series of events as truths are revealed and life-changing choices must be made. I really felt the emotions the story evoked, and especially for Dominic, I really wanted him to find his path to healing.”

Schmexy Girl Book Blog: “Honestly, this book is such an emotional read. There are tears, lots of them. And aching hearts, and tightness in the chest. You feel all of that. These characters are so well written. You instantly feel their connection, their bond, their emotions, their pain, their suffering. And just when you thought the tears are done and they couldn’t get more damaged, there are more tears.”

Prisoner’s of Print: “The powerful emotions that run off each page had my heart and head all twisted up and kept me completely invested in Jacey and Dominic’s story. I couldn’t put this book down.”

before we fall2

two-stars
Divider