Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Publisher: Entangled Teen Ember

Friday, September 13, 2013

Review + Contest: Chaos by Christine O’Neil

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review + Contest: Chaos by Christine O’NeilChaos by Christine O'Neil
Series: Kardia Chronicles,
Published by Entangled Publishing, Entangled Teen Ember on 26 August 2013
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 250
Format: eARC
Source: Rock Star Book Tours
Goodreads
three-stars

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Crestwood, New Hampshire

First Line: Dear She: My boyfriend is obsessed with video games.

Kardia Series Order
Book 1 – Chaos
Book 2 – Control (01 December 2013)
Book 3 – Clarity (2014)

I am always attracted to a book when the plot involves some sort of retelling of the Greek Myths and Chaos by Christine O’Neil is no exception. When I read the synopsis I jumped at the chance to sign up for the tour as it sounded like something fresh and different. And while the premise of Chaos is unique the delivery just wasn’t my cup of tea, at least not entirely. This may be due in part, to the fact that I read this book at the height of my brain’s clamoring for contemporary reads and Chaos definitely does not fit into this category. But this book was also filled with many of the young adult cliches and so that took away from the uniqueness of the plot. Although, at least there wasn’t a love triangle, at least not yet.

Take Maggie, she’s the ordinary girl who flies under the radar when BAM! one day she wakes up and she’s not so ordinary anymore. She’s also harboring a couple of secrets, one about her lineage and another about what happened the night her boyfriend ended up in a coma. Then there is Mac. The bad boy. The hot guy. The one who can have any girl he chooses and for whatever reason he is focused on Maggie and he seems to delight in making her life a little bit more hellish than the average high school experience. He’s a bit of a bully and yet even why he’s being mean to her Maggie always stops to wax poetic on just how hot he is. *le sigh* And don’t even get me started on Maggie’s mother. Boy did that woman make my head hurt. A lot.

The overall plot, was good. As I said O’Neils take on incorporating the Greek Myths into present day is unique. I liked how the different offspring of the Gods and Goddesses changed and manifests itself in different ways with each generation. I like how there is a whole group out there and wish that more time could have been spent exploring the world of the semigods. Though, that would make things easier if Maggie knew what was happening to her. So instead she must fumble through which puts her onto the radar of the council. Of which, once we meet them, I have a decent idea of where future books are going to go.

For me, Chaos was hit and miss there were things that I really liked and others that I just didn’t care for. The dialogue was so-so and the characters would sometimes annoy me. I could have also done without the whole Dear Abby-esque column as well. As the start to a new series though this one holds promise. I can’t say that I will rush out to get the second book the moment its available but I will try to make time to read it. If you are a fan of the paranormal/fantasy genre or of greek mythology then you will probably like this one.

CONTEST

3 Prize Packs!

  • 1 sterling silver ring and a Team Mac pin as well as temporary tattoos of the magpie.
  • 1 sterling silver ring and a Team Mac pin as well as temporary tattoos of the magpie.
  • 1 fourteen karat gold ring, and a Team Mac pin as well as temporary tattoos of the magpie.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
About the Book:

My name is Maggie Raynard. After sixteen years being just plain me, suddenly, when I lose my temper, my fingers become weapons of mass destruction. Turns out I’m a semi-god, descended from Aphrodite. Sounds cool in theory, but when I accidentally put my ex-boyfriend in a coma, things go downhill pretty fast.

Now some new guy named Mac Finnegan has made it his mission in life to continually piss me off. I’m stuck learning how to use my new powers while also dealing with regular high school problems, and with this annoying—and super-hot—guy all up in my business, I’m about to flip out.

But it gets worse. I just learned there’s this watchdog council of semis who keeps an eye out for any bad apples. They think I’m the baddest of the bunch and want to take me out before I do any more damage. My nemesis Mac might turn out to be my salvation, only he’s got secrets of his own…and they may just kill us both.

Buy the book:
Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

About Christine:

Christine O’Neil is one half of the happiest couple in the world. She and her handsome hubby currently reside in Pennsylvania with a four-pack of teenage boys and their two dogs, Gimli and Pug. If she gets time off from her duties as maid, chef, chauffeur, or therapist, she can be found reading just about anything she can get her hands on, from Young Adult novels to books on poker theory. She doesn’t like root beer, clowns or bugs (except ladybugs, on account of their cute outfits), but lurrves chocolate, going to the movies, the New York Giants and playing Texas Hold ‘Em. Writing is her passion, but if she had to pick another occupation, she would be a pirate…or, like, a ninja maybe. She loves writing fun and adventure-filled romance stories, but also hopes to one day publish something her dad can read without wanting to dig his eyes out with rusty spoons. Christine loves to hear from readers, so please feel free to get in touch with her via the Contact Page. Christine also writes adult romance under the name Christine Bell.

Website / Twitter / Goodreads / The Kardia Chronicles on Facebook

Check out the other stops on the tour

9/2/2013- Crossroad Reviews– Guest Post
9/3/2013- The Book Belles– Review
9/4/2013- Manga Maniac Cafe– Interview
9/5/2013- A Backwards Story– Guest Post
9/6/2013- Coffee, Books and Me– Interview
9/9/2013- Books Are Magic– Review
9/10/2013- K-Books– Guest Post
9/11/2013- Curling Up With A Good Book– Review
9/12/2013- Fantasy Book Addict– Interview
9/13/2013- Ticket to Anywhere – Review

three-stars
Divider

Monday, August 26, 2013

Blog Tour Review + Contest: Darker Days by Jus Accardo

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, Review, Young Adult3 Comments

Blog Tour Review + Contest: Darker Days by Jus AccardoDarker Days by Jus Accardo
Series: The Darker Agency,
Published by Entangled Teen Ember on 19 August 2013
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 335
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Goodreads
four-stars

Place(s) Traveled to: Penance, New York

First Line(s): It was hard to piss off my mom, but I’d managed to do just that – piss her off. Big time.

Darker Days by Jus Accardo is the start of her new series about The Darker Agency and also part of Entangled’s newest imprint Ember Teen. This series is a paranormal mystery/suspense with a wee bit of romance mixed in for fun and is told from the POV of Jessie Darker. Jessie helps her mother run the Darker Agency which is just like your typical PI firm and they track down deadbeat dads and cheating spouses. And if you happen to have a demon possessed pet or a zombie in your pool then they can help you take care of that too.

I’ve been on a bit of a contemporary kick lately and so wasn’t sure how I would like Darker Days but once I started it I couldn’t put it down. The book is told from Jessie’s POV and she is one feisty character filled with all the snark and sass that I love. She’s a strong character and doesn’t need to have any dark and mysterious boy come to her rescue  In fact, she’s more likely to punch said boy in the face if he tried! She isn’t perfect and her life is far from normal but she rises to the occasion when needed and more often than not kicks some serious a$$. 

The mystery contained in this book isn’t all that hard to figure out but Accardo leaves a nice little trail of breadcrumbs which will be helpful for younger readers. Accardo doles out just enough information to leave the reader wanting more and quickly turning the pages to see what new twists and turns happen next. The pacing is realistic and believable and I don’t think I rolled my eyes once at the romance aspect of it either. By necessity, this mystery takes place over five action filled days and in that time Jessie manages to fall for Lukas, who is pure sin. Despite how quickly these two come to care for one another it never had the whiplash, eye-roll inducing insta-love that I dislike so in books. Their relationship may have been fast but it felt like one that developed over a longer period of time and I liked that.

I liked all of the characters and really enjoyed how they all played off of each other. Jessie and her mother are two peas of a pod. And Lukas was able to go toe to toe with Jessie on all points despite being from another time. This aspect of his character also lead to some funny moments as he adjusted to how things are now. I also enjoyed how close and involved that Jessie’s parents were in this story. No, absent or dead parents here and no overly angtsy rebellious teenager acting out either. The Darker’s may not be the most normal family on the block by they are certainly well adjusted.

I did have a couple of quibbles with this story, like the math was off at one point when the characters were talking about the now and the time where this all started (1882). They kept saying that it was 147 years ago which makes it 1866. But that could just be a minor error in the ARC version that I had. The big bad’s motivation was also a bit convoluted and yet seems to lack much in the way of actual substance. So hopefully that will be discussed and developed further as the series progresses.

Overall, Darker Days is a great start to a new series and this book sets up a bit of events that will be coming down the road. But even though not all the plot points are closed out the main mystery of this book is so the reader gets a sense of completion. I really enjoyed this book and am not looking forward to the long wait until the next book in the series. I really liked living in Jessie’s head and I want to know more about her, about her crazy town, her witchy BFF, and what mad cap mystery she’ll find herself in next. If you like a good mystery then this is a series that I can recommend to you. Its also one that I think those who are wary of the paranormal will enjoy as there are zombies and mentions of ghosts and interactions with witches its not an in your face sort of book. Penance is just your average town with a few quirks hidden below the surface.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

four-stars
Divider