Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Publisher: Bantam

Friday, July 1, 2016

Review: Deeper by Robin York

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Deeper by Robin YorkDeeper by Robin York
Series: Caroline & West,
Published by Bantam on 28 January 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 370
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Putnam, Iowa // Ankeny, Iowa

First Line(s): Sometimes I hate the girl I was back then.

 

DEEPER by Robin York is a book that came to me highly recommended by a few different people. But once I saw there was no HEA and that the story continued in another book I was a bit hesitant to try it. I like my romance stories to be contained in one book and I most definitely like there to be a HEA. While I found DEEPER to be a quick read it hasn’t been a very memorable one. And my one Goodreads note, at 68%, declares West to be an asshole. This, ladies and gentleman, is the love interest. If he’s not a super likable character at 68% then how am I to be invested that he and his lady love, Caroline, are meant to be?? Caroline and West are your typical New Adult trope characters. She’s the goody goody rich girl that everyone loves and he’s the ultimate bad boy that she’s warned to stay away from. But there are sparks the moment they meet and while they don’t speak for years they both secretly lust after each other.

Then when Caroline’s super perfect (on paper at least) boyfriend, the golden boy of her high school and the guy her daddy adores doesn’t like that she broke up with him he lashes out. He posts intimate pictures of Caroline and posts her personal information (address, email, phone, etc) on-line like the true dickhead he is all while pretending it wasn’t him and that he’s shocked and upset and they should totally get back together. Everyone on campus of course can’t see that he did something wrong and she’s slut shamed and harassed on every level. Renege porn is a real and terrifying thing and I think that York handled that aspect of the story well. But I hated how everyone blamed Caroline for it, even her own father, and of course only West saw the crime of it which brings the two closer together.

Deeper Quote

Then things happen, there is drama and angst and all the new adult book cliches that you would expect. DEEPER is filled with ALL THE TROPES and then to go through all of that and not get a HEA?? Ugh. No. Not a fan. There is also nothing truly memorable about this book. Before starting my review I had to go and read reviews written by others on Goodreads because I was drawing such a blank as to what happened in this story. The only thing I really remembered was the whole revenge porn aspect. Other than that this story did not stick. Which, for me, is never a good sign for a book because me plot recall is usually pretty good. As such I’m not sure that I’ll read the sequel, HARDER (seriously NA please come up with better titles!!! You do your genre a disservice.)

I think that I just expected more from DEEPER because of all the hype and it just didn’t live up to my expectations. For a story that spans two books I wanted to be wowed and filled with an eager expectation to see what happened next. But in all honesty I really don’t care if Caroline and West ever find their HEA. I’m not invested in them enough as a couple for that. And despite being told over and over I’m just not sure that I believe in their romance. Yes, they lust after each other but as people I’m not sure just how well they mesh or believe that they’ll work in the long term. There were parts of DEEPER that were good but they just weren’t enough so in the end I was just meh on this one.

irishdarkblue

IR - Deeper

 

Add Revenge Bound by Heidi Joy Tretheway to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add All the Rage by Courtney Summers to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

three-stars
Divider

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Review: Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe – Blog Tour

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Contest, Review0 Comments

Review: Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe – Blog Tour

Review: Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe – Blog TourBetween the Sheets by Molly O'Keefe
Series: Boys of Bishop,
Published by Bantam on 29 July 2014
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Bishop, Arkansas

First Line(s): Shelby Monroe was not having a very good morning.

 

Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe is the third book in her Boys of Bishop series which I had not read previously. Sometimes when reading a series out of order, even a companion based romance series, you can feel a bit lost on what is going on or miss some of the backstory of the characters. That isn’t the case with Between the Sheets and it truly can be read as a standalone book. I didn’t feel lost at all as I read this book and as such enjoyed the time I spent in Bishop a little more than I may have if I needed to read the other books before this one. Between the Sheets tells the story of bad boy newcomer, Ty, who is a single dad and his more straight laced and uptight neighbor Shelby. Shelby is also Ty’s son’s art teacher and she bonds with him through art to help him adjust to all the changes in his life recently. She also comes into close contact with Ty and despite thinking that there is no way the two can ever be because of one obstacle or another she is drawn to him like a moth to a flame. Ty is also drawn to Shelby but doesn’t think that he’s good enough for her and his self-doubt is often a bit cliched just as Shelby’s hangups are. She too feels like she’s not good enough and so there is a lot of pushing away of the other though this is mostly done by Shelby.

Shelby annoyed me the most in this book and if she just communicated a bit more half the issues that she had never would have happened. Shelby also had issues when it came to taking responsibility for her actions. She was always looking for someone else to blame and would project her fears onto others. This just further alienated her from those around her and kept her in this bubble where she thought she was safe. But this just makes her cold and also made it hard to like her. Ty on the other hand was a really sweet and likable character and my heart ached for him. I also liked what he was trying to do with his son, who he only learned existed a few months prior. Both Ty and his son are at odds at they both adjust to their new roles and despite a few missteps they do seem to manage fairly well. Although as with any book, a little communication goes a long way and so much could have been avoided if they two just talked with each other.

Where Between the Sheets lost me a bit was when O’Keefe decided to incorporate a POV from Casey, Ty’s son. I just thought that those bits were unnecessary and took away from the story of Ty and Shelby. Yes, you got to see a bit of Casey’s angst and as a child’s perspective it was realistically written but it didn’t add to the story. These scenes were just filler and only really serve to make your heart ache a bit more for Casey and what he went through than you already did. I often found myself giving a little sigh when the story moved to Casey’s perspective as they didn’t move the story along. Of all the perspectives used, Ty’s was my favorite. He was just so real and genuine and by far my most favorite character in the book. Though I did like some of the other characters seen as well, like Ty’s boss and the owner of the local bar.

Overall, I enjoyed the time that I spend in Bishop but at this time I am not sure if this is a world that I will want to revisit by checking out the previous books in the series. If I knew that Ty was in them more I might read them but I get the impression that he’s a new character to the series in this book and so not sure that the others will be worth my time. I liked this book but it didn’t wow me and Shelby’s character just put me off from it. It was a fun romance and I did like the bad boy aspect of it but there was nothing so super new or different in this book that sets it apart from every other bad boy story.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

.

Perfect for readers of Susan Mallery and Rachel Gibson,Between the Sheets is Molly O’Keefe’s final book in the Boys of Bishop trilogy, featuring a sizzling romance between a sexy motorcycle bad boy and the girl next door who can’t resist him. 

After years of running, Wyatt Svenson has now parked himself in Bishop, Arkansas, trying to do the right thing and parent a son he didn’t even know he had until recently. Over six feet tall and packed with muscles and power, Ty likes to get his hands dirty, fixing his motorcycle at night and keeping his mind away from the mistakes he’s made. Then his pretty neighbor shows up on his driveway, doesn’t bother to introduce herself, and complains about the noise. First impression? She should loosen up. Funny that she turns out to be his son’s elementary school art teacher—and the only one willing to help his troubled boy. Ty needs her. In more ways than one.

Though Shelby Monroe is safe in her structured life, she is drawn to Ty’s bad-boy edge and rugged sexuality. What if she just lets it all go: her worries about her mother, her fear of heartbreak, and her tight self control? What if she grabs Ty and takes a ride on the wild side? “What if” becomes reality—intense, exhilarating . . . and addictive. But Ty wants more than a secret affair. He wants it all with Shelby. But will she take a chance and open her heart? Ty is determined to convince Shelby to take the biggest risk of her life: on him.

BETWEEN THE SHEETS Buy Links



NEVER BEEN KISSED BUY LINKS (BOOK #2) 

Amazon:  http://amzn.to/1qpWwn6
Barnes & Noble:  http://bit.ly/SXQ3U1

WILD CHILD BUY LINKS (BOOK #1)
Amazon:  http://amzn.to/1pdqiLp
 Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1jDyO1i

AUTHOR LINKS: 
Site – http://www.molly-okeefe.com/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/MollyOKwrites
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/MollyOKeefeBooks
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/223845.Molly_O_Keefe

 

BETWEEN THE SHEETS2

 

three-stars
Divider