Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Genre: Paranormal

Monday, February 29, 2016

Review: Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Last Sacrifice by Richelle MeadLast Sacrifice by Richelle Mead
Series: Vampire Academy,
Also in this series: , Spirit Bound
Published by Razorbill on 7 December 2010
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Friendship, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Royalty, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 594
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Spirit Bound, Bloodlines

Place(s) Traveled To: Unknown, Pennsylvania // Harrisburg, Pennsylvania // Roanoke, Virginia // Altswood, West Virginia // Lexington, Kentucky // Paris, Kentucky // Ann Arbor, Michigan // Detroit, Michigan // Sturgis, Michigan // Greenston, Michigan

First Line(s): I don’t like cages.

There was almost five years between my reads of BLOOD PROMISE (no review) and SPIRIT BOUND (my review) and I told myself that it wouldn’t that much time pass before I actually finished up the series. I had meant to read LAST SACRIFICE almost immediately after SPIRIT BOUND but it can be so hard for me to say goodbye to a series that it took me a few months before I was able to pick it up. As an ending, I liked LAST SACRIFICE and I managed to read this 600 page book in about a day. It was a quick read and fast paced but it isn’t my favorite in the series. Maybe its just the distance from my devouring of the first four books between now or maybe there was something else at play. For one, LAST SACRIFICE is a bit of a love triangle and we all know how I feel about those.

The main character, Rose, has been in love with Dimitri since VAMPIRE ACADEMY (my review) and they’ve had their ups and downs throughout the series. But in the final two books Rose has put aside those feelings and has started a relationship with Adrian only she really hasn’t. Which makes my heart hurt so much for Adrian who I’ve grown to love so much over the course of the series. Granted I never thought of Rose and Adrian as OTPs but he deserved better than how she treated him and I know that did affect my feelings towards this story in many ways.

Last Sacrifice Quote

I also think that LAST SACRIFICE could have been shorter than it was. Yes, there is the mystery of trying to figure out who framed Rose but I just felt it was a little stagnant at times as the characters just sort of shuffled about. Then the end result was kind of anti-climatic and didn’t seem to justify nearly 600 pages. Most of which was spent running around America getting to know the alchemist Sydney more as her story will be the focus of the BLOODLINES spinoff series (goodreads). I also really wasn’t a huge fan of how often Rose peaked into Lissa’s life. I get that there was no easy way to tell the reader all that was going on in court but I would have preferred a dual POV story than all the mind-link stuff. Especially since no matter how often Rose said she’s still full away of her surroundings when she was in Lissa’s mind she really was anything but.

Overall, I am glad that I finally finished this series and I know that I will be continuing on with BLOODLINES, which hopefully won’t take me over five years to read! But I wasn’t in love with the end of this series as I was in the beginning. I think that with time I’ve changed as a reader and I know for a fact that I’m a lot harder on books now than I was five years ago. I was invested in the story but I could have done without some of the angst and with what happened to Adrian. That boy needs love and he didn’t deserve to be treated as he was by Rose. I’m told that he makes an appearance in BLOODLINES so I’m hoping that there is a better end to his story than this.

irishdarkblue

IR - Spirit Academy

 

Add Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, January 17, 2015

Review: Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda JonesSeventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge
Published by St Martin's Press on 21 October 2014
Genres: Adult, Angels, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Demons, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Ghosts & the Undead, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge

 Place(s) Traveled To: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line(s): If the howling from the backseat of Agent Carson’s black SUV weren’t already dead, I would’ve strangled her. Gladly.

Seventh Grave and No Body is the seventh installment in Darynda Jones’s Charlie Davidson series and picks up not long after Sixth Grave on the Edge ends. While I wasn’t thrilled with the previous installment I was looking forward to Seventh Grave as I thought that maybe some of the bigger story ARC mysteries would be dealt with. However, I ended up being more disappointed in this story than I’d hoped and think that its really losing steam. The start of this series was so fresh and unique and now its just dragging on and getting a little repetitive in its telling. Charlie is getting a little annoying with her constant naming of things and constantly rushing off into danger.

In the beginning you could almost excuse her leaps into danger as there was always a bigger end game going on. But this aspect was missing in Seventh Grave and when you add into it that Charlie is pregnant its just reckless and irresponsible. The mystery that is started in this book is mediocre at best and as with the previous installment not much is accomplished with the overall story ARC. Other than re-hashing things that happened before there wasn’t anything new here and so that made Seventh Grave all the more frustrating and I am really starting to question if I want to continue reading this series or not.

Seventh Grave and No Body Quote

There are still elements of the story that I like, I do enjoy the humor though as I said above I do wish that some things would get toned down. The secondary characters continue to shine though why they continue to put up with some of Charlie’s antics I’ll never know. So in the end I sighed more than I laughed in this one and it just took longer to get through than it should have. There were also moments in this book that were impossible to believe because its hard to feel tension and think that characters are in peril when there are 4 more books to come in the series.

For me, its starting to seem as though there is no end point to the series and I think that does this world and characters a disservice. It just drags things out too much and so not much really happens in the story. While I do like how there is less than a year to wait between the next installment I am just not sure if I have the time or the energy to devote to books 8, 9, 10 and 11.

irishdarkblue

 

IR - Seventh Grave
three-stars
Divider

Monday, June 30, 2014

Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Adult, Review2 Comments

Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda JonesSixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Seventh Grave and No Body
Published by St Martin's Press on 20 May 2014
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Adult, Angels, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Demons, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Ghosts & the Undead, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 326
Format: ARC
Source: Gift
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled To: Albuquerque, New Mexico // Other locations in New Mexico

First Line(s): “A girl, a mocha latte, and a naked dead man walk into a bar,” I said, turning to the naked dead man sitting in my passenger seat.

 

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones was among my most anticipated titles of 2014 as I just love the humor of this series. So I was really excited when I received an ARC of it as part of Andi’s Spring Book ExchangeSixth Grave on the Edge is filled with all the humor and shenanigans that I’ve come to expect from a Charlie Davidson book and despite many of the same tricks and ploys used in previous books Darynda Jones manages to keep the story fresh. I think this is due in part ot how these books aren’t a mystery of the week sort of story anymore and while there is always a mystery story ARC in the book there is this larger backstory/mystery going on that spans multiple books.

The big mystery is intriguing and I look forward to gaining new clues to the big mystery of just what Charlie’s full purpose is here on Earth. I love seeing more of Cookie, Uncle Bob, Reyes, and all the rest as they all continualy grow and become a bit more real as the series progesses. However, in this book I have to admit to being a little disappointed in it. It just didn’t seem as if much of anything happened in the bigger storyline and the main mystery of the book was just so-so. Overall, Sixth Grave felt more like book 2 in a trilogy in the sense that there was a lot of build up but not a lot of action. There were lots of hints about things to come but not major revels. At least, not until the end. Even the question proposed at the end of Fifth Grave Past the Light wasn’t fully answered until towards the end of this book.

As with all the other books Sixth Grave was entertaining but I just wanted a little more depth to it. A bit more of the big mystery revelead. Or even more development among the various characters as they all just sort of stood still in this one. With the exception of Mr Wong who had some cryptic remarks made about him and now I’m more curious than ever about Charlie’s roommate than I was before. Though despite not being as fully satisfied in this installment as I normally am in a Charlie Davidson book I still managed to read it pretty fast. This series is alwys good fun and even with the added minor cliff-hangers that are appearing at the end of each book I do find myself excited for the next one. And you can be sure that I’m uber excited that Seventh Grave and No Body will be released in October 2014 and a year from now in 2015. I just hope that there is a bit more substance to that one than was in this one.

 .

irishdarkblue

 

.

.

.

Sixth Grave Quote

three-half-stars
Divider

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Review: Liv, Forever by Amy Talkington

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Liv, Forever by Amy TalkingtonLiv, Forever by Amy Talkington
Published by Soho Teen on 11 March 2014
Genres: Adolescence, Contemporary (No Romance Focus), Death & Dying, Friendship, Ghosts & the Undead, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 280
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Unnamed, New Hampshire (2015)

First Line(s): Chances of a girl like me ending up at Wickham Hall were next to nothing.

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when I picked up Liv, Forever by Amy Talkington other than it was a murder mystery set at a boarding school. I do enjoy mysteries and boarding schools so I thought that I would give it a shot. Liv, Forever was a quick read and I read it in just a couple of sittings but it was also a little formulaic. Only in this case when the most popular boy in school is drawn to the outcast girl she isn’t just shunned and tormented further instead she is killed.

Liv, Forever is a bit cliched with its insta-love set up between Liv and Malcolm and I much preferred her interactions with her BFF Gabe over those very few with Malcolm. A part of me wishes that the romance was with her and Gabe as I often felt that there was a bit more chemistry between them.Even though Gabe was a little too eager to help Liv at all costs no matter the consequences to himself. There was a little bit too much world revolving around Liv in this book which made things a bit cliched. And there were lots of cliches in this book and while they are things that normally bug the bejeesus out of me in this case they didn’t bother me as much and I don’t know why.

There was just something about Liv, Forever that sucked me into it and made it so I couldn’t stop reading. Perhaps if I’d taken more time on it I may have obsessed over its imperfections more but as it was I was able to just get lost in the story. The mystery was a bit predictable but I liked the language of this story. I liked how it was written and how Talkington chose to unfold her mystery. I also liked the little side stories about the other ghosts on Wickham Hall’s campus who remained trapped within its boundaries as Liv was.

Liv, Forever is paranormal light, even though Liv is a ghost for a portion of the novel. Partly because she never really feels like a ghost as the whole story is told from her POV. She’s a bit of a surface character and yet you do cheer her on and hope that somehow things will all work out for the best. Which is hard because once you are dead, you are dead so there is no real happily ever after to be had in this story. Despite that though there is hope to Liv’s journey and things don’t end on a sad note. While I did have issues with Liv, Forever I do think that it was a solid debut novel and will be looking forward to reading Amy Talkington’s next book.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Monday, February 24, 2014

Review: Split Second by Kasie West

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Split Second by Kasie WestSplit Second by Kasie West
Series: Pivot Point, Book 2
Also in this series: Pivot Point
Published by Harper Teen on 11 February 2014
Genres: Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Paranormal, Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Distance Between Us, Pivot Point, On the Fence, The Fill-In Boyfriend, P.S. I Like You

Place(s) Traveled To: The Compound // Dallas, Texas

First Line(s): My car sat on he far side of the parking lot, and I couldn’t get to it fast enough.

Split Second by Kasie West is the sequel to Pivot Point and picks up almost immediately after that book ends. Although unlike the first book Split Second doesn’t tell two different and yet the same story. Pivot Point was all about Addie making a choice – which parent to live with after the divorce to stay with her mother in The Compound or to enter the world of the Norms with her father. But Pivot Point wasn’t just about that single choice there were so many other decisions and events that resulted from each path and both ended with two very different consequences. Parted of me hated how Pivot Point ended but when you look at the alternate path I can’t see Addie deciding any other way.

In Split Second, Kasie West changes things up a bit and alternates the POV of each chapter. Now we get to learn more about Addie’s BFF Laila, her thoughts and feelings and the consequences of her actions in the first book. I’m still not entirely sure on if I like Laila or not but I do understand her a bit better. And Laila came with Conner who was just all sorts of snarky fun. Although there was also more Duke and Stephanie and I really could have done without either of those two. But at least in this book Stephanie wasn’t as awful as she was in the first book and I felt more sympathy for her character than I did in Pivot Point.

Duke on the other hand was just much more vile than he was in the first book and if I could have reached inside the book and smacked him I would have. At least Trevor was as sweet as before and I was happy to see him return in this story. The overall plot/mystery was evenly paced and believable and my heart broke a time or two as certain things were revealed. While I didn’t like Split Second as much as I did Pivot Point it was still a really enjoyable story that I hated to end. I am sad that this series is just a duology but at the same time I am happy where all the characters ended up. What is even more sad is that I am now officially out of Kasie West books to read. I am a total fan girl for her writing and she is totally on my autobuy list. If you haven’t read anything by West yet then you are really missing out!

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Sunday, February 23, 2014

Audio Review: Black Heart by Holly Black

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Audiobook, Review, Young Adult2 Comments

Audio Review: Black Heart by Holly BlackBlack Heart by Holly Black
Narrator: Jesse Eisenberg
Series: Curse Workers,
Also in this series: White Cat, Red Glove
Published by Listening Library on 10 April 2012
Genres: Friendship, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Paranormal, Social Issues, Suspense, Young Adult
Length: 6 hours 33 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible.com
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: White Cat, Red Glove

Place(s) Traveled To: Princeton, New Jersey // New York, New York // Paterson, New York

First Line(s): My brother Barron sits next to me, sucking the last dregs of milk tea slush noisily through a wide yellow straw.

Black Heart by Holly Black is the third, and final, book in the Curse Workers series and I have to say that I am really sad that there are no more books. I have really enjoyed my time in Cassel Sharpe’s world of con men and thieves. I’ve enjoyed Cassel’s sharp sense of humor and his gift of not just getting into trouble but in getting out of it as well. In Black Heart the stakes are higher and there are times when things looks bleak for our hero but the intensity of it just keeps you on the edge of your seat.

As with the previous books, I listened to Black Heart in my car and I can’t imagine any other narrator than Jesse Eisenberg for Cassel Sharpe. He is just so perfect in this role that I am unsure on if I will be able to listen to Eisenberg’s voice and not think of Cassel Sharpe. Its hard to say much about Eisenberg’s narration that I haven’t already said before as this is the third book in a series. He’s firm and consistent in all of his voices and part of why I am sad that this book is over is that it is also the end of Eisenberg as Cassel Sharpe.

Black Heart is a really good end to a series. All the main story ARCs are wrapped up and the ending is a complete one. Not just that but its also a hopeful ending and leaves open the potential for more books. I would love to see more stories involving Cassel, Lila, Sam, and the rest of this crazy cast of characters. I just love how flawed and real they all are. When you read (or in my case listen to) this story it is so easy to forget that they are characters in a book.  The story telling and world building is just so vivid that everything comes to life before your eyes.

The Curse Workers series has something in it for everyone. There is romance and mystery and magic and mayhem. Its a gripping story and once you start it you will be glad that all the books have been published. I can’t even imagine how horrible the wait would have been if I had read these as they were published. That is one perk in coming to late to the party. This is a series that I can’t recommend highly enough and if you are a lover of audiobooks then you need to try this series in this format.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Review: Pivot Point by Kasie West

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult4 Comments

Review: Pivot Point by Kasie WestPivot Point by Kasie West
Series: Pivot Point,
Also in this series: Split Second
Published by Harper Teen on 12 February 2013
Genres: Mystery & Detective, Paranormal, Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
Pages: 343
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Distance Between Us, Split Second, On the Fence, The Fill-In Boyfriend, P.S. I Like You

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Dallas, Texas //Jackson, Texas (AKA The Compound)

First Line: “Heads up,” a loud voice shouted from my right. I looked up in time to see a football smack me right between the eyes.

I first discovered Kasie West when I read her young adult contemporary, The Distance Between Usa book that had me falling head over heels in love. I was then really curious about her debut, Pivot Point, but scared at the same time for what if this book didn’t live up to the first one I’d read by her? Its through the near constant nagging from Andi over at AndiABCs that I finally decided to cave and give Pivot Point a go. As usual, Andi was right and I really enjoyed Pivot Point, not as much as her contemporary but enough that I managed to read it in one sitting.

Once I started I couldn’t put this book down so I was really glad that I had decided to read it during the read-a-thon as I had not plans that day other than to read. At first, I was a little confused on the set up of the novel. In Addie’s world there are people who have paranormal powers, not witches or vampires but more like telekinesis or clairvoyance. Addie has the ability to see all the different outcomes of a choice with the draw back that she can only “search” through her timeline. Most people with abilities like Addie’s live in The Compound separated from normals and able to use their powers at will. Then one day Addie is faced with a choice to remain in The Compound and all she knows or experience life in the normal world. In Pivot Point the chapters alternate between Addie’s two different paths as she tries to determine which choice to make.

Initially this change in timeline was a bit confusing me to me and it would take a paragraph or two in order to figure out where I was. Though when I mentioned this on twitter several people pointed out that the definitions at the start of each chapter provided the clue needed to let the reader know what timeline we were in.

chapter 3

PARA words = Compound Timeline

chapter 4

NORM Words = Life in the Normal World

*face palm*

It was so clear once that was pointed out but darn it I did feel like an idiot. lol

Overall, Pivot Point, was a faced paced story and I was so invested in wanting to know which choice Addie would make. Faced with the different outcomes I can see why she chose the one she did but part of me was also sad by the choice. I just liked the person Addie became in the timeline she didn’t chose better but I know that even though it was a tough choice it was the right one. I liked how the two timelines were both very similar, Addie’s fate and the various events that were going on were all still happened but how she experienced them were different. I think that West did a great job in making all the different pieces fit together in a realistic way.

I also liked most of the characters in the story as well. Addie’s mom was a bit of a caricature at times but I can see how she was based on what we know of her ability. Addie’s dad was lovable and I just wanted to see more of him. As for Addie’s friends, I liked her normal ones better than the ones in the Compound. I was not a fan of Addie’s BFF Laila as to me she was one of those false BFFs that I dislike so much in books. She always seemed to care more about herself then what would be good for Addie. She was selfish and annoying and I just didn’t enjoy reading many scenes that she was in.

Pivot Point also includes a love triangle of sorts, which if you know me you know that I detest them, but Kasie West conquers this in such an ingenious way that its not really a love triangle at all. In each timeline Addie falls for a boy and that romance she has is also part of the decision making process. One boy in an a$$ of epic proportions (IMO) and the other is just so absolutely perfect for her even if he does have some issues. Romance isn’t the only thing driving Pivot Point and that is a good thing even though I think that the story could have stood on this plot point alone. But there is also this deeper, more involved mystery and that is what really sucked me in as a reader.

If you’ve been on the fence about Pivot Point then you need to run to your nearest bookstore or library and grab yourself a copy. This book will not disappoint and it will make you hunger for its sequel, Split Second (available 11 February 2014 from Harper Teen) which deals with the aftershocks of the events in Pivot Point. I am so excited to have a copy of this book and now just need some free time in order to be able to sit down and devour it!

irishdarkblue
four-stars
Divider

Monday, October 7, 2013

Audio Review: River Marked by Patricia Briggs

Posted by Irish in 1 Star, Adult, Audiobook, Review2 Comments

Audio Review: River Marked by Patricia BriggsRiver Marked by Patricia Briggs
Narrator: Lorelei King
Series: Mercy Thompson,
Also in this series: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, Silver Borne
Published by Penguin Audio on 02 March 2011
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Length: 8 hours 54 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Goodreads
one-star
Also by this author: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, Silver Borne

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Tri-Cities, Washington // Columbia River Basin, Washington

First Line: Under the glare of streetlights, I could see the grass of Stefan’s front lawn was dried to yellow by the high summer heat.

Mercedes ‘Mercy’  Thompson Series Order
Prequel – Homecoming
Book 1 – Moon Called
Book 1.5 – Wolfsbane & Mistletoe (short story)
Book 2 – Blood Bound
Book 3 – Iron Kissed
Book 4 – Bone Crossed
Book 5 – Silver Borne
Book 6 – River Marked
Book 7 – Frost Burned
Book 8 – Night Broken (~2014)

I am not sure where to start in my review of River Marked because this series really went off the rails for me in a big way. I had listened/read the previous books and despite the high werewolf content I found myself enjoying them. I enjoyed the banter of Mercy with the Alpha wolves and how she was never afraid to get her hands dirty, no matter the risk. But this book, just failed in so many ways. Not the least of which I really felt lost in the beginning. I kept thinking that I had missed an entire book and found myself checking Silver Borne out of the library to double check that I hadn’t.

River Marked starts in the midst of wedding planning and I didn’t recall Adam ever proposing to Mercy. I think that would have been a pretty important scene given how commitment phobic Mercy was – even though she did go through with the bonding – although if I recall right she wasn’t a full participant in that initially. Also the whole wedding sequence was just so rushed and forced and I really think that Briggs missed the boat on that one. Especially since the rest of the story removes all the players that the reader has come to know and love and introduces a whole new set of characters.

This new set of characters gives a whole new insight to Mercy’s past and adds a ton of Indian mythological lore to the story line. But it fails to make any of it interesting  The lore was given in these large info dumps and I just couldn’t bring myself to care. I didn’t connect with any of the characters as I kept thinking that these were a one and done group. Why bother getting to know them if the odds of them returning are slim? Plus they just didn’t have interesting story lines. The whole book was just dry and boring and if I was reading it in print I would have DNF’d it long before reaching the end. Lorelei King is the only reason why I kept listening until the end.

The whole big mystery of the story also did little for me. It was just so over the top and makes me wonder if this series may have jumped the shark. Before I looked forward to a new Mercy Thompson book but now I am unsure on if I want to continue on with Frost Burned or not. For me this book was a big old no and not one that I can recommend. If you are a fan of the series then I might suggest you skip this one entirely and just move on with Frost Burned. 

one-star
Divider

Monday, September 30, 2013

Audio Review: Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Audiobook, Review1 Comment

Audio Review: Silver Borne by Patricia BriggsSilver Borne by Patricia Briggs
Narrator: Lorelei King
Series: Mercy Thompson,
Also in this series: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, River Marked
Published by Penguin Audio on 30 March 2010
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Length: 9 hours 8 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
four-stars
Also by this author: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, River Marked

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Tri-Cities, Washington

First Line: The starter complained as it turned over the old Buick’s heavy engine.

Mercedes ‘Mercy’  Thompson Series Order
Prequel – Homecoming
Book 1 – Moon Called
Book 1.5 – Wolfsbane & Mistletoe (short story)
Book 2 – Blood Bound
Book 3 – Iron Kissed
Book 4 – Bone Crossed
Book 5 – Silver Borne
Book 6 – River Marked
Book 7 – Frost Burned
Book 8 – Night Broken (~2014)

I don’t know what it is about the Mercy Thompson series but there is just something about it that keeps bringing me back over and over again. Considering that much of the series revolves around werewolves, which I don’t typically like, this is saying a lot. Silver Borne picks up not long after the events of Bone Crossed and while that one took us back into the pit of vampires this one brings back the fae. In this book we learn a lot more about the fae, about Mercy, and about werewolf politics as Mercy’s relationship heats up.

One thing that I love about an ongoing series is just how detailed the world becomes and how the secondary characters get more and more fleshed out as time goes on. No longer are any of the characters two dimensional but they all have pretty detailed back stories. And even though you only get to see them through Mercy’s eyes you can really get a sense of who they are.

What did drag this one down a bit for me was the whole side story with Samuel. It just seemed a bit forced when coupled with the larger mystery of the fae book/artifacts story line. His story could have been done all on its own, although I’m not sure how I’d feel about that either. How his story line, in this book, is wrapped up was also a bit much. It just seemed to contrived and convenient based on all that has come before with his story. But even with all that, Silver Borne, rates among my favorite for the overall series.

As with previous books, Silver Borne, is a fast paced story with lots of action to keep the reader engaged. Lorelei King continues to do a fabulous job bringing this large cast of characters to life and I find it so hard to read this series in print as I just love her narration. The only problem that I have with the audio is that I can’t just sit down and blitz through the story but it does make driving to/from work and errands so much more bearable. This is a fun series and if you are looking for something with long lasting appeal and don’t mind urban fantasy then you should check this one out.

four-stars
Divider

Friday, September 27, 2013

Review: Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult2 Comments

Review: Unspoken by Sarah Rees BrennanUnspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
Series: Lynburn Legacy,
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on 11 September 2012
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 370
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
three-stars

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Sorry-in-the-Vale, England

First Line(s): Every town in England has a story.

The Lynburn Legacy Series Order
Book 0.25: The Spring Before I Met You
Book 0.5: The Summer Before I Met You
Book 1: Unspoken
Book 2: Untold
Book 3: Unbroken (2014)

Regular readers of my blog know that I love love loved Sarah Rees Brennan’s debut series, The Demon’s Lexicon, and I was really looking forward to her newest one The Lynburn Legacy. When I first read the premise of Unspoken I was excited for the possibilities of it and couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy. When I did, I found that it took me forever to read. While I couldn’t put down The Demon’s Lexicon it seemed as though I didn’t want to pick up Unspoken. I enjoyed the beginning, the mystery of it all but I found it really hard to connect with any of the characters.

I found that Unspoken was filled with dialogue and seemed to lack world building. I never got a real sense of the world, the town of Sorry-in-the-Vale or its concepts of magic. What I got was a lot of talk and it just all seemed so forced. Kami was supposed to be this strong, snarky character and while she started off as cute and quirky by the end I felt the opposite. It just seemed as though Brennan was trying too hard to make Kami and her friends funny and as a result the opposite happened.

I also never felt the connection between Jared and Kami and never understood how they could end up as a couple as they never seemed to like each other much. And the other characters were just charactures of personality and were ultimately very forgettable. The characters weren’t the only things forgettable about this story but the plot was well. I recall that Kami did some stupid things and ended up in trouble but there was no big build, no climax, and before I knew it the book was over.

For me, Unspoken, was forgettable and that makes me sad as I so wanted to love it. At this time I am unsure if I will read Untold though I did just acquire a copy thanks to a wonderful Indie bookstore. I am curious about where Unspoken might go and hopeful that the story will get better as it progresses. But I am in no rush to get this one read. What about you readers, have you read Untold? What did you think of it? Is it better than Unspoken and more importantly…do you think I will like it?

three-stars
Divider