Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Genre: Monsters

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Audio Review: Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Audiobook, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Audio Review: Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini TaylorDreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor
Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone,
Also in this series: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Days of Blood & Starlight
Published by Hachette Audio on 08 April 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Angels, Emotions & Feelings, Fairy Tales, Folklore, & Legends, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Monsters, Mythology, Paranormal, People & Places, Politics & Intrigue, Suspense, Young Adult
Length: 18 hours 11 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Days of Blood & Starlight

Place(s) Traveled To: Washington, DC // Unnamed, Morocco //Rome, Italy // Eretz

First Line(s): Nerve thrum and screaming blood, wild and churning and chasing and devouring and terrible and terrible and terrible —

I was so excited to receive and audio review copy of Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor as it was one of my most anticipated titles of 2014. And the start of this one lived up to my every expectation that I had. Although it wasn’t long before my enjoyment started to wain and my disappointment grew as the story progressed. First there were all the new characters that were added, which isn’t always a bad thing but they had no real backstory and it took too long to get them to a meaningful point in Karou’s story that they just dragged the story down. I didn’t care about them and hated the time that they took away from Karou and Akiva.

With the addition of new characters there was also a lot of POV changes. Crazy random and no real spacer between them that there were moments where I had to rewind the audio because I though one character was the focus when somehow we’d transitioned into another. It added a small layer of confusion that I could have done without. There was also a lack of indicator to let me know that I had reached the end of a disc so there were many instances in which I listened to the early tracks again before I realized I needed a new disc. And yet there was music to indicate the end of a part in the story so I was a bit miffed that there was nothing at the end of a disc. I hated repeating part of the story as it jumbled up events a bit and it also took my focus off of driving. Which isn’t a good thing when you are dealing with traffic.

But what really bothered me was the story. Nothing happened in this book, all 18 hours and 600 and some odd pages of it. Ok, so saying that nothing happened is a bit much but there was lots of unnecessary filler contained withing the pages of Dreams of Gods & Monsters and a lot of things were repeated over and over and over again. Yes, Laini Taylor writes some beautiful prose but it was more compact and focused in the previous books and I missed that here. In this case her prose was used as smoke and mirrors to distract and deflect from the fact that the story was very slow moving and there there was a lot of build up that ended up going no where. Dreams of Gods & Monsters is filled with the promise of action and apocalyptic things but there is more angst than apocalypse. That and the climatic end scene was more of a whimper than a bang and I may have hurt my eyes from rolling them too much.

There was so much that happened because of crazy unrealistic coincidence. If Karou needed something the means were magically at her fingertips and this was without wishes. Everything just fell into place with a nice tidy bow and there were no real consequences that one would expect from two races that were at war. In all honesty, I half expected certain souls that were lost to somehow be found again in the end as everyone sang kumbaya around a fire. I wanted more action in this story and I wanted to care about how things would turn out instead of hoping and wishing that the end of the audio would come faster than I could listen to it.

In many ways it seemed as though Dreams of Gods & Monsters lost focus and it didn’t so much revolve around Karou as it did act as a set up for the stories of other characters to be told. For me, Dreams of Gods & Monsters seemed to act as a backdoor pilot for something else to come. There were lots of open threads at the end of this book that I won’t be surprised if a spin off series is announced. Of the three books in this series I think that Days of Blood & Starlight will remain my favorite. If there is a spin off I am not sure if I will read it, or listen, it will take a very compelling synopsis to get me to overcome the disappointment that I had with this one.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Review: The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: The Forever Song by Julie KagawaThe Forever Song by Julie Kagawa
Series: Blood of Eden,
Also in this series: The Immortal Rules, The Eternity Cure
Published by Harlequin Teen on 15 April 2014
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Asian American, Death & Dying, Diseases, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, Monsters, People & Places, Romance, Sci-Fi, Survival Stories, Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Immortal Rules, The Eternity Cure, The Brothers Piggett

Place(s) Traveled to: Old Chicago, Illinois // Eden // (Future)

First Line(s): The outpost gate creaked in the wind, swinging back on its hinges.

I was so excited to receive a copy of The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa as I couldn’t wait to see what happened after I blitzed through the first two books (The Immortal Rules & The Eternity Cure) last year. The Forever Song picks up a few weeks after The Eternity Cure ends with Allison, Jackal and Kanin tracking Sarren as he carries his super-red lung virus to Eden. The release of which will wipe out the rest of  humanity and vampires alike and essentially mean the end of everything. While life in a vampire and rabid world may not be ideal the human race is hanging on – even if tentatively – and they aren’t ready to give up the fight.

Along the way Allison struggles with retaining her humanity and struggles against the monster inside of her as Sarren has taken away the her hope and attacked her core. This struggles causes a rift between her and her maker, Kanin, but her blood brother is delighted at the idea. And Allison faces her greatest threat when she sees just what traps and surprises that Sarren has left for her along the way. Sarren is even more diabolical than ever in this book and yet you do have to admire his evil genius as he wages his psychological warfare on Allison. The bright light in the story though is Jackal who is always on hand for a witty one-liner or caustic comment and I just love him more and more.

The Forever Song is a fast paced read and I think that fans of the series will enjoy how it all ends. Its a roller coaster ride of emotion filled with things you expect and ones that make shock. I may have even shed a tear or two over some moments at the very end. While I didn’t love this book as much as the first two I did enjoy it and was happy with how Kagawa wrapped up her series. The character ARCs are all believable and my issue was more with the pacing of the ending than anything else. It just seemed a little rushed compared to the build up of getting our heroes to Eden to stop the second apocalypse. There were also a couple of things that seemed to convenient and pushed the boundaries of believability. I also hold an irrational sadness against this series because it did come to an end. I always hate when a series ends and have been known to avoid a final episode or final book just so that it will not end.

The Forever Song isn’t my favorites installment in the Blood of Eden series but as a whole it does fit in well with the two books that came before. I think that there is a lasting appeal to the series that will terrify and delight readers for years to come. Kagawa is a brilliant writer and has a gift for playing with the emotions of her readers. While I do hate to say goodbye to Allison and her cohorts I am looking forward to her next series, Talon, and seeing how she takes on the dragon mythology.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Monday, February 17, 2014

Review + Contest: Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, Review, Young Adult4 Comments

Review + Contest: Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

Review + Contest: Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew SmithGrasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith
Published by Dutton on 11 February 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Friendship, GLBT, Monsters, Sci-Fi, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

Place(s) Traveled To: Ealing, Iowa // Waterloo, Iowa

First Line(s): I read somewhere that human beings are genetically predisposed to record history. We believe it will prevent us from doing stupid things in the future.

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith is one of those books that has been receiving a lot of buzz. All of it good and full of praise, awe and amazement at how unique and wonderful this book is. And while it was certainly a unique story its did resonate with me as it has with most other people I know. For me, this story started off slowly and the whole thing was too much time spent in a teenage boys head. While Austin Szerba was a believable teenage book who is confused about life, and girls and even his own sexuality. He just wasn’t as entertaining as Will Carter from the Brent Crawford’s Carter series.

I often found myself rolling my eyes as I read Grasshopper Jungle I could see things happening long before they did all while the characters always seemed to be surprised and shocked when they did. There is also much in this story that could have been avoided if Austin and his pal Robbie just told people what they knew. Instead they kept secrets and the world ended and yeah.

One thing I did like about this book is how it was the start of a dystopian world. You get to know the hows and whys the world ended and its not generations later where no one knows and everyone just accepts and then marvels when they find something from before the time when the world went to sh!t. Here is a case of how the world was fine and then it was not and the reader got to see it all unfold. No matter how ridiculous the whole thing was.

I also liked how Austin dealt with his confused feelings for his  girlfriend Shann and his best friend Robbie. Both who made him horny but then everything seemed to have that effect on him because, hello, teenage boy. I liked how Austin just seemed to accept his feelings for both of his friends and wasn’t afraid to explore what that meant. In fact, I often preferred a pairing of Robbie and Austin over Shann and Austin as they just seemed more natural and comfortable with each other. Shann and Austin were just always so awkward.

As a whole Grasshopper Jungle wasn’t for me but I did like Smith’s creativity in telling a story. His writing style was unique and I will  probably check out other books that he’s written. I just hope that I like them more than this one.

irishdarkblue

Sixteen-year-old Austin Szerba interweaves the story of his Polish legacy with the story of how he and his best friend , Robby, brought about the end of humanity and the rise of an army of unstoppable, six-foot tall praying mantises in small-town Iowa.

To make matters worse, Austin’s hormones are totally oblivious; they don’t care that the world is in utter chaos: Austin is in love with his girlfriend, Shann, but remains confused about his sexual orientation. He is stewing in a self-professed constant state of maximum horniness, directed at both Robby and Shann.
Ultimately, it is up to Austin to save the world and propagate the species in this sci-fright journey of survival, sex, and the complex realities of the human condition.

 

 

This is the truth. This is history.
It’s the end of the world. And nobody knows anything about it.
You know what I mean.

February 3rd – The Midnight Garden
February 3rd – The Story Siren
February 4th – Good Choice Reading
February 4th Bookish
February 5th – I Read Banned Books
February 5th – Jenna Does Books
February 6th – Bibliophilia, Please
February 7th – Scott Reads It
February 7th – Live to Read
February 10th Alice Marvels
February 10th The Society
February 11th Lexi Swoons
February 11th A Reader of Fictions
February 12th Roof Beam Reader
February 12th Forever Young Adult
February 13th The Compulsive Reader
February 13th Books and Bling
February 14th Book Chic Club
February 14th The QQQE
February 17th JeanBookNerd
February 17th Ticket to Anywhere
February 18th Sleep Eat Read Books
February 18th Read Now Sleep Later
February 19th Anna Reads
February 19th Word Spelunking
February 20th Books With Bite
February 20th What A Nerd Girl Says
February 21st Wastepaper Prose
February 21st LRB – Guest
February 24th We Are Word Nerds
February 24th Cabin Goddess
February 25th Ex Libris
February 25th Cari’s Book Blog
February 25th A Good Addiction
February 26th YA Reads
February 26th The Young Folks
February 27th Novel Thoughts
February 27th Fangirlish
February 28th Once Upon a Twilight
February 28th Naughty Book Kitties

 

 

 

 

Andrew Smith is the award-winning author of several Young Adult novels, including the critically acclaimed Winger (Starred reviews in Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, Booklist, and Shelf Awareness—an Amazon “Best of the Year”) and The Marbury Lens (A YALSA BFYA, and Starred reviews and Best of the Year in both Publishers Weekly and Booklist).

He is a native-born Californian who spent most of his formative years traveling the world. His university studies focused on Political Science, Journalism, and Literature. He has published numerous short stories and articles. Grasshopper Jungle, coming February 11, 2014, is his seventh novel. He lives in Southern California.


Hosted by:
three-stars
Divider

Monday, April 15, 2013

Review: The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult3 Comments

Review: The Eternity Cure by Julie KagawaThe Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa
Series: Blood of Eden, Book 2
Also in this series: The Immortal Rules, The Forever Song
Published by Harlequin Teen on 30 April 2013
Genres: Action & Adventure, Asian American, Death & Dying, Diseases, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Illnesses & Injuries, Love & Romance, Monsters, Paranormal, People of Color, Sci-Fi, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Survival Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 446
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Immortal Rules, The Brothers Piggett, The Forever Song

Place(s) Traveled to: New Covington // Old DC // A few unnamed locations in the dystopian US

First Line: I smelled blood as soon as I walked into the room.

I knew the moment that I finished The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa that I would have to immediately dive into the sequel, The Eternity Cure. Julie Kagawa has a way with world building that makes it hard to set a story aside and I think that this is part of why I held off reading The Immortal Rules for so long. This is probably why I probably would have waited until the final book was out if I wasn’t part of a blog tour for this series. (And with this statement I have just become my mother…oy)

The Eternity Cure picks up several months after The Immortal Rules ends. Allie is on her own and searching for the psychotic vampire Sarren who is holding her sire hostage. During her travels she meets up with Jackal, the vampire prince of old Chicago. As a reader you don’t really get to know much about Jackal in The Immortal Rules other than he’s a just a tad bit evil. In The Eternity Cure you get to see a whole other side of him…oh he’s still evil and doesn’t think much about humans but he is filled with snark and wit and you can’t help but like him.

Jackal stole most of the scenes he was in with his snarky one liners and I often found myself laughing out loud because of them. I really liked his chemistry with Allie and their unlikely alliance. Sarren was also pretty entertaining as the sociopath vampire who Allie is trying to find. He is just so completely nuts and yet with this brief moments of horrible sanity. Sarren it scary smart and I wish that there was more of him in the book. He’s just so delightfully creepy and fun.

The overall plot of the book is realistic and fits in well with the first book. There is lots of action and development and The Eternity Cure does not suffer from second book syndrome. Though as a second book in a series a reader does need to have read book 1 in order to fully understand all the events in this book.  The Eternity Cure was a very fast read and I couldn’t put it down once I started it. I did predict the events of the ending before the big reveal but that didn’t make them any less shocking. This book ends on a bit of cliff hanger and it really really sucks that there is no word yet on when the third book will be released.

The Blood of Eden series is a fantastic read, its not perfect but its a a series that I would (and have) recommended to my friends. Its realistic and that just makes the whole story all the more creeptastic as a result. I love when a fictional world is plausible….and yes this series does have that whole vampire thing but if you separate them from the story I can totally see a world like Julie Kagawa coming about. I really liked this series and I am dying to see where it all goes from here. So many possibilities!!

Finally, just wanted to give a shout out to the awesome Australian cover of this book…I think I’m going to have to import this one as it will fit in so well with my copy of The Immortal Rules.

four-stars
Divider

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Review: The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult4 Comments

Review: The Immortal Rules by Julie KagawaThe Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
Series: Blood of Eden,
Also in this series: The Eternity Cure, The Forever Song
Published by Harlequin Teen on 24 April 2012
Genres: Action & Adventure, Asian American, Death & Dying, Diseases, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Health & Daily Living, Illnesses & Injuries, Love & Romance, Monsters, Paranormal, People & Places, People of Color, Sci-Fi, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Survival Stories, Suspense, Young Adult
Pages: 516
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Eternity Cure, The Brothers Piggett, The Forever Song

Place(s) Traveled to: New Covington // Old Chicago // Various places in a dystopian United States

First Line: The hung the Unregistereds in the old warehouse district; it was a public execution, so everyone went to see.

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa is one of those books that I was really looking forward to but then never seemed to have the time to read. So my copy sat on my shelf mocking me just as so many of my other unread books do. Then I was asked to be part of a blog tour for the sequel, The Eternity Cure, and thought I should probably read it soon. Well soon became now when instead of getting content for the tour we were asked to provide our own based on a topic. For which, my first thought was crap….I haven’t read these yet how can I do this? Is it possible to back out? But then I took a few deep breaths and hunkered down to read.

I was quickly sucked into the dystopian world that Julie Kagawa created. I loved how she gave a history of how her world came to be that was both informative, without being dry, as well as believable. If you know anything about me then you know when I read a dystopian I like to have a history. A how this world is, especially when it has only been a couple of generations since the event. All too often we’re thrust into a world only 50 or so years after and no one knows or cares about the before. In Kagawa’s world people know and while they don’t always care there is knowledge that is passed on. I liked this and for me it made everything more real. 

Allison Sekemoto. She was snarky and feisty and she faced some difficult choices in life and death. While I may not have always made the same choices that she did I did admire her convictions. I also liked all the others that she came across, Zeke and Jeb and Kanin and The Archers. Her interactions with others were believable and I found myself cheering her on in various fight scenes. And The Immortal Rules doesn’t hold back there and contains lots of action that really makes this a fast paced read.

What keeps me from giving this 5 stars is that events seemed to happen almost too perfectly. There wasn’t a ton of mystery or things to figure out the answers that Allie needed just always seemed to appear when she needed them. There was also some cheesy dialogue moments but thankfully those were rare and easily overlooked. The ending was also almost a little too perfect but there was just enough left open so the reader gets an idea of what the next book will be about.

I enjoyed The Immortal Rules and its a book that I’ve since found myself recommending to others. I liked how it was fast paced and I easily got lost in its pages. I liked how it was about vampires and how some of those vampires were a bit like zombies. It was an interesting mix and those Rabids really keep you on your toes. There are no zombies in this book but the rabids reminded me of how zombies are often portrayed in movies and books with the exception that they are allergic to daylight.

After reading The Immortal Rules I knew that the very next book I read would be The Eternity Cure. This is a great series and if you like vampires, dystopians, zombies, or any combination of those then you really need to give this one a try.

four-stars
Divider

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Audio Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Audiobook, Review, Young Adult5 Comments

Audio Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini TaylorDays of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor
Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Book 2
Also in this series: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Dreams of Gods & Monsters
Published by Hachette Audio on 06 November 2012
Genres: Action & Adventure, Angels, Emotions & Feelings, Fairy Tales, Folklore, & Legends, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Monsters, Mythology, People & Places, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Length: 15 hours 25 mintues
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible.com
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Dreams of Gods & Monsters

Place(s) Traveled to: Prague, Czech Republic // Morocco // Eretz

First Line(s): Prague, early May. The sky weighed gray over fairy-tale rooftops, and all the world was watching.

I am dead.

These words come to you from beyond the grave because I have died and Laini Taylor and her newest release, The Days of Blood and Starlight is the cause. Taylor has reached her hand into my heart, my soul and torn them both out. Crushing them into the dirt and dust on the ground and left me an empty vessel.

Now long time readers of my humble blog might recall the love that I had for the first book in this series, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but know this that book doesn’t even hold a candle to this one. The Days of Blood and Starlight is definitely among one of the best books that I have ever had the pleasure to read. Second books in a series always leave me wary as you never know how they will move the story along. Days not only moves the story along but it leaves its predecessor in the dust with how brilliant and amazing it is.

Laini Taylor’s prose combined with Khristine Hvam’s narration is a combination that defies words. I loved Hvam’s narration in Daughter but she brings things to new heights in this book. All of her voices are solid and I’d often find myself forgetting that only one person was reading this book. Hvam’s narration just builds a world around you and it all feels so real. I often found myself finding excuses to be in my car just so I could listen to more of this beautiful book.

Days takes all that we thought we knew in Daughter and expands it and changes it and kept me on the edge of my seat with each new twist. This book put my emotions through a roller coaster ride and it bruised my soul. If you think that Romeo and Juliet have a star crossed love then you haven’t met Akiva and Karou. Those two…I…I have no words to describe all that I feel about this pair.

The story itself is also one that is hard to put into thoughts. Its like nothing I have read before and I have absolutely no clue as to where things might go in the third book. Often I’ll have a hint of how a trilogy will progress but Laini Taylor has such a gift for the surprise that anything can happen. And no matter how this story ends I think I’ll be an emotional wreck and yet extremely satisfied. I loved every word of this story even though there were so many scenes that just tugged at my soul. I love how real it feels and I just love each and every character (even those of so evil ones.)

I love how Days is told from many points of view as it just helps to add so many layers to the story. I love how it broke my heart, mended it, and then broke it all over again. I love how even though there were tears in my eyes that it was filled with hope. Hope is a very powerful thing and I have hope in the events to come that are still untold. But I also dread the day when the third book is released. Because even though its at least a year away I am not ready to let go of this world and these characters. I just want to live in this world forever and I know that this book, this series, will be a favorite of mine for years to come.

five-stars
Divider

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Audio Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Audiobook, Review, Young Adult4 Comments

Audio Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini TaylorDaughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone,
Also in this series: Days of Blood & Starlight, Dreams of Gods & Monsters
Published by Hachette Audio on 27 September 2011
Genres: Action & Adventure, Angels, Emotions & Feelings, Fairy Tales, Folklore, & Legends, Fantasy, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Monsters, Mythology, People & Places, Young Adult
Length: 12 hours 32 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible.com
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: Days of Blood & Starlight, Dreams of Gods & Monsters

Place(s) Traveled to: Prague, Czech Republic // Marrakesh, Morocco //Eretz

First Line(s): Walking to school over the snow-muffled cobbles, Karou had no sinister premonitions about the day.

I am always wary of the over-hyped book. The one that everyone is not only talking about…but raving about as well. When I hear of those books, especially when they were on my wishlist, I grow very wary and don’t always want to pick it up. Because more often then not when I read those over-hyped books I am disappointed and when I turn the final page I sit there and think…did I read the same book as everyone else because that just wasn’t good. I was initially excited when I picked up an ARC of Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Tayler at BEA but then it quickly moved into the uh-oh I’m not so sure about this category as it began to be hyped up on twitter and blogs. So I waited to read it and it wasn’t until other hype-skeptics started to also rave about this book that I thought about giving it a go.

Since time is a valuable commodity and I had this brand new audible.com account I thought that I would check out the audio version of it (because even though I have the ARC AND a signed hardcover I just needed another copy of it.) In the end, I think I made the right choice as the audio was FANTASTIC. I can’t get over just how amazing Khristine Hvam was a narrator. She did such a wonderful job with all the accents and never once did I doubt who was speaking. She brought all the characters to life and with the rich prose of Laini Taylor’s writing this story just came alive inside my head.

I loved the mythology that Taylor used to build her world and I loved the world itself. This was an angel book that is so very different from all the multitude of angel stories out there. Its a mystery filled with many twists and turns that it will keep the reader guessing. Its a love story and one filled with adventure and travel. Its a book that is filled with so much goodness that its almost impossible to put it all into worlds. Its a story that I couldn’t stop listening to and would often sit in my car with my eyes closed as the story played so that I could better visualize it all. Karou’s story is absolutely fascinating and I loved the added bits that were told from Akiva. Heaven knows I adore a well told dual-point of view story.

The only thing that I didn’t like about this book was the 100 or so page flashback that occurred towards the end of the book. I get that it was necessary to flesh out more of the history of the protagonists but it really took me out of the story and I grew impatient for it to end. If I hadn’t been listening on audio I would have been sorely tempted to just skip that section all together. I would have preferred it ever so much if Taylor had broken up that flashback over several chapters…mixing it in better with the contemporary part of the story. That is the part that I fell in love with and while the past was interesting I liked the hear and now better.

Also….don’t even get me started on that ending! Gah…the ending alone makes me wish that I had waited even longer to try this book because I really really really need to know what happens next. Before I started this book I didn’t realize that it was going to be a series (I know, I know it was posted everywhere but I just wasn’t paying attention) but the ending definitely lets the reader know that there will be more. It screams it and as I reader I am now desperate for it. I want to know more about these characters. I want to know if Karou will succeed in her mission and I want to know just what will happen with Akiva. This book is filled with so many emotions for me. There is the happy, giddy, heartachy ones and the ones that make me want to curl up in a ball and cry. I was ripped to shreads as I read it….and to be honest I wouldn’t have it any other way. This story wasn’t perfect but it was so very good and so beautifully written that I just couldn’t get enough. Can it be next September already?

five-stars
Divider