Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Tessa Dare

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Mini Review: Lord Dashwood Missed Out by Tessa Dare

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Mini Review: Lord Dashwood Missed Out by Tessa DareLord Dashwood Missed Out by Tessa Dare
Series: Spindle Cove,
Also in this series: A Week to be Wicked
Published by Avon on 08 December 2015
Genres: Adult, Emotions & Feelings, Historical Romance, Love & Romance, Regency, Road Trip, Short Story / Novella
Pages: 144
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: A Week to be Wicked, Romancing the Duke, Say Yes to the Marquess, When a Scot Ties the Knot

Place(s) Traveled To: Hastings, England // Spindle Cove, England // Canterbury, England (19th Century)

First Line(s): By the age of three-and-twenty, Miss Elinora Browning had given up on wedding vows – instead, she made herself a promise.

LORD DASHWOOD MISSED OUT is a novella set in Tessa Dare’s Spindle Cover universe and was a quick, fun story that I enjoyed. As with most of Dare’s books the two leads had some amazing banter and good chemistry. I loved the story of Nora and Dashwood and their scenes often brought a smile to my face. When they weren’t making my heart ache with their backstory. What I didn’t like about LORD DASHWOOD MISSED OUT was how the POV would split and go into other characters from Dare’s Spindle Cove books. Those POVs were distracting and didn’t add anything to the story for me. What I wanted more of in this book was more time spent with Nora and Dash.

LORD DASHWOOD MISSED OUT is a sweet romance and the declaration at the end will just melt your heart. This is a short novella but it feels like a full story. It was fun revisiting Spindle Cove and seeing some of those characters and I hope that we get to see Nora and Dash in the upcoming book, DO YOU WANT TO START A SCANDAL.

 

irishdarkblue

Lord Dashwood Quote
three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Review: When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review1 Comment

Review: When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa DareWhen a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare
Series: Castles Ever After,
Also in this series: Romancing the Duke, Say Yes to the Marquess
Published by Avon on 25 August 2015
Genres: Adult, Emotions & Feelings, Historical, Historical Romance, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: A Week to be Wicked, Romancing the Duke, Say Yes to the Marquess, Lord Dashwood Missed Out

Place(s) Traveled To: Invernesshire, Scotland (1817)

First Line(s): Dear Captain Logan MacKenzie, There is but one consolation in writing this absurd letter. And that is that you, my dear delusion, do not exist to read it.

The fake fiance/boyfriend isn’t a new trope in the romance world but what happens if that fake fiance you created, wrote letters to and then killed off suddenly showed up on your doorstep. This is the dilemma that Madeline Gracechurch faces at the start of Tessa Dare’s newest book WHEN A SCOT TIES THE KNOT. This is the third book in her Castles Ever After series but unlike most romances there is little to no connection between these books so they can be read independently or in any order. Of the books in this series, WHEN A SCOT TIES THE KNOT is my favorite. It was filled with so much humor that I often found myself laughing out loud. I just loved Maddie and her aunt and also her Captain.

In order to read WHEN A SCOT TIES THE KNOT you have to suspend belief just a bit when it comes to Maddie’s letters making it to some someone with the name of her invented fiance and that all the details she’d mention would be real. But once you get over that its so easy to get lost in the story. I adored Logan and loved his interactions with Maddie. I loved that he read her rambling letters and got attached to her before he’d even met her. Granted he did have other reasons for wanting to marry Maddie but once you understand his motivations its hard not to adore him. Plus the chemistry between Logan and Maddie practically sizzles off the page and they quickly became one of my favorite Tessa Dare couples (Minerva and Colin though are still tops.)

 

When a Scot Ties the Knot Quote

WHEN A SCOT TIES THE KNOT is a fast paced, full filled story that I found hard to put down. It had me laughing one moment and then making my heart ache in the next. There were times when Maddie and Logan frustrated me when they refused to communicate but over all I just loved them. Overall, though Maddie and Logan were so good together. I loved the trust that Logan showed in Maddie and the genuine love between them both. Maddie is smart and sassy and Logan appreciates and encourages it even as he gets all wigged out by her interest in the natural world. This just makes him all the more lovable because he is a big tough soldier and yet he’s afraid of bugs. It was entertaining to say the least.

If you enjoy a good historical romance then you really should consider picking up a Tessa Dare. Her books are always a good time and the pages just fly by as you get lost in the story. They are always filled with a little humor and contain smart women. Tessa Dare is one of my go to authors when I need a good pick me up to get lost in for a bit. When you pick up a Tessa Dare book you know you are in for a good time and that is definitely the case with WHEN A SCOT TIES THE KNOT.

 

irishdarkblue

IR - When a Scot Ties the Knot

 

Add One Good Earl Deserves a Lover by Sarah MacLean to Goodreads. (Click here for my review)

Add Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn to Goodreads. (Click here for my review)

four-stars
Divider

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Review: Say Yes to the Marquess by Tessa Dare

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Say Yes to the Marquess by Tessa DareSay Yes to the Marquess by Tessa Dare
Series: Castles Ever After, Book 2
Also in this series: Romancing the Duke, When a Scot Ties the Knot
Published by Avon on 30 December 2014
Genres: Adult, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Historical Romance, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: A Week to be Wicked, Romancing the Duke, When a Scot Ties the Knot, Lord Dashwood Missed Out

Place(s) Traveled To: Charingwood, England (19th Century)

First Line(s): “Oh, Miss Whitemore. Just look at this horrid place.”

Say Yes to the Marquess is the second installment in Tessa Dare’s Castles Ever After series and unlike most romance series there is little to no overlap with the previous book so can definitely be treated as a standalone book. Say Yes to the Marquess follows Clio a woman who had a prime engagement during her debut season and was the envy of all. But then her intended left the country and didn’t return for eight years and Clio is tired of being the good girl and waiting as society looks at her with pity. So when she inherits a castle she informs his brother, Rafe, that she’s breaking the engagement and moving on. Only her intended is on his way home and Rafe has every plan to get those two hitched…even if he has to plan the wedding himself.

What follows is an oft time hilarious story that I’ve come to expect from a Tessa Dare book. I love her strong characters and the wit and banter that fill the pages of her books. They are entertaining and make for a quick and enjoyable read. It also doesn’t hurt that Dare is a master at writing characters that have lots of chemistry with each other. And chemistry is what Clio and Rafe have in spades. If only they didn’t have so many obstacles in their way…mainly Rafe trying to marry her off to his brother Piers and Clio wanting to remain single until she finds someone who will love her unconditionally. The sparks between Clio and Rafe leap off the page and as a reader you cheer for them to get over the various hurdles of themselves and 19th century etiquette so that they can find their happily ever after.

Say Yes to the Marquess Quote

Another thing that I love about a Tessa Dare novel is her secondary characters which always add depth and realism to a story and that is certainly the case with Say Yes to the Marquess. There is Rafe’s friend and co-conspirator who just adds an extra element of fun to the story as this bruiser tries to play a gentile wedding planner. And there there are Clio’s sisters who you often just want to strangle. Well, one more so than the other as the other is sweet and really just wants to be left to her own devices and who I think is on the autism spectrum. Which was a really interesting aspect of her character since autism wasn’t a thing in 19th century England as it is now. People with autism were just odd or outcasts or would become hermits if they couldn’t adapt to societies ways.

Say Yes to the Marquess was a fast read and would be a great addition to your beach bag this summer. I read the book in a single sitting and it gave me all the feels as Clio and Rafe journeyed through their story. It was a book that I wish I’d read sooner but was so glad to have read when I did. Its a story that I know I’ll read again and I can not wait to see what Tessa Dare comes up with next!

irishdarkblue

IR - Say Yes to the Marquess

Add Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

four-stars
Divider

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Review: Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Romancing the Duke by Tessa DareRomancing the Duke by Tessa Dare
Series: Castles Ever After,
Also in this series: Say Yes to the Marquess, When a Scot Ties the Knot
Published by Avon on 28 January 2014
Genres: Adult, Historical, Regency, Romance: Historical
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: A Week to be Wicked, Say Yes to the Marquess, When a Scot Ties the Knot, Lord Dashwood Missed Out

Place(s) Traveled To: Woolington, Northumberland, England

First Line(s): The name Isolde Ophelia Goodnight did rather spell a life of tragedy.

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare is the start of a new series and after her Spindle Cove books I was really looking forward to this one. I’m also a sucker for a good historical romance and that is something that I can always count on Tessa Dare for. Romancing the Duke is not a serious story and there were many giggle worthy moments as I read the story. I loved how Izzy and her Duke, Ransom interacted. They had chemistry from the get-go even if Ransom your typical antisocial wounded warrior.

Fortunately for him, his retreat from society allowed for his castle to be sold and then given to Izzy who was just the one to pull him out of his funk. Just as Random was good at helping Izzy realize many truths about herself. I also loved how Romancing the Duke was a nod to all the delightful things about being part of a fandom. Seriously there were times when I thought this story was a bit like tumblr in book form. I liked how Dare shows how powerful stories can be, not just in the now, but also in the past. I enjoyed the crazy cos-players and wish they could somehow appear in every book Dare writes from now on. (Though alas, I am sure that is not to be.)

Izzy is a strong, fiesty character and she needs her Duke every bit as much as he needs her. She’s just not as headstrong as he is and realizes it all so much faster. Men, always so hard headed when it comes to matters of the heart. Especially alpha males in historical romances. But Random wasn’t your typical jackass alpha. Oh he was grumbly and he’d shout but he was never mean to Izzy. There was always a tenderness to his actions that took away from his bark.

Romancing the Duke is a quick story with an engrossing plot that I didn’t want to put down. Once I started this book I didn’t put it down until I had hit the last page. And even while there were a few cliched moments that made me roll my eyes and groan a bit the overall effect of this story was magical. Romancing the Duke doesn’t have any deep plots or mysteries but there is more to it than just a boy meets girl story. And while it didn’t always feel like a historical story it managed to hit all the right notes that I could forgive its flaws.

Romancing the Duke is a fun story and one that I could recommend to anyone looking for a quick escape. A story that they don’t have to think about too much and where all a reader needs to do is just sit back and let themselves be entertained. I hated for the Spindle Cove series to end (and have in fact been avoiding the end by avoiding the last book) so I am glad that Dare has a whole new series for me to fall in love with. I can meet a whole bunch of new friends as I work my way up to saying goodbye to the ones in her other series.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Thursday, March 22, 2012

A Week to be Wicked by Tessa Dare

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Adult, Review4 Comments

A Week to be Wicked by Tessa DareA Week to be Wicked by Tessa Dare
Series: Spindle Cove,
Also in this series: Lord Dashwood Missed Out
Published by Avon on 27 March 2012
Genres: Adult, Emotions & Feelings, Historical Romance, Love & Romance, People & Places, Regency, Road Trip, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: Romancing the Duke, Say Yes to the Marquess, When a Scot Ties the Knot, Lord Dashwood Missed Out

Place(s) Traveled to: Spindle Cove – Sussex, England // Edinburgh, Scotland // London, England (1814)

First Line: When a girl trudged through the rain at midnight to knock at the Devil’s door, the Devil should at least have the depravity—if not the decency—to answer.

I was very excited to learn that A Week to be Wicked by Tessa Dare would feature the story of Minerva Highwood and Colin Sandhurst as I loved the scenes that those two shared in A Night to Surrender. I can easily say that the romance between Minerva and Colin did not disappoint. Not in the slightest. It was just such a fun journey with them all the wait up to Scotland. The pair were just so opposite from each other, and poor Colin was just so broken, but the two really complement each other well.

With this book I often found myself laughing out loud at some of the ridiculous names and stories that Colin and Minerva would concoct to strangers that they met on their journey. From long lost royalty (Prince Ampersand lol) to a sword swallowing circus act. I loved watching Minerva go from a quiet and bookish girl into a free spirited woman confident in her own abilities. I also really enjoyed seeing Colin open up and start to heal the wounds he’d been carrying around with him since his boyhood.

About the only thing that I was disappointed in with A Week to be Wicked were the cut away moments to Kate and Thorne who were back in Spindle’s Cove. Now while I did enjoy the little snippets that they learned about Colin and his thoughts in regards to Minerva I also felt taken out of the story each time we journeyed back to Spindle’s Cove. Their scenes I felt were more set up for the third and final book of the series, A Lady by Midnight, rather than add to Colin and Minerva’s story. Especially since the cut always always seemed to happened when things were really getting enjoyable with Colin and Minerva.

Overall though, I really enjoyed A Week to be Wicked. I thought that it was a fun story and was a great way to pass a couple of hours as I got lost in the book. I enjoyed this book far more than the first book in the series as well. Its always nice when books improve over the course of a series rather than decline. If you are a fan of historical romance and want a fun story then this is a book for you. As I said before, Colin is a bit broken (and really the best heroes always are, aren’t they?) so its not all sunshine and roses for for these two. But the journey that takes them from Minerva hitting Colin with a satchel full of rocks to their HEA is a wonderful one and not to be missed.

irishdarkblue

 

Week to be Wicked Quote
five-stars
Divider