Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Suzanne Young

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Review: The Epidemic by Suzanne Young

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: The Epidemic by Suzanne YoungThe Epidemic by Suzanne Young
Series: The Program,
Also in this series: The Program, The Treatment, The Remedy
Published by Simon Pulse on 29 April 2016
Genres: Action & Adventure, Death & Dying, Diseases, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Health & Daily Living, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Romance, Sci-Fi, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: ARC
Source: Book Expo (BEA-ALA-et al)
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: The Program, The Treatment, The Remedy

Place(s) Traveled To: Portland, Oregon / Roseburg, Oregon / Eugene, Oregon / Myrtle Creek , Oregon/ Grants Pass, Oregon / Weed, California

First Line(s): My entire life is a lie.

When I finished THE REMEDY by Suzanne Young I wanted to immediately jump into its sequel, THE EPIDEMIC because whoa Nelly that was one crazy way to end a book!! Thankfully, this was just a duology so I knew that Young couldn’t toy with my emotions TOO much but it was still a wild and crazy ride from the start of THE EPIDEMIC all the way until the end. I firmly believe that Suzanne Young is an evil mastermind as its pure genius how she connects all her books in this series together. I admit, there were times where I gasped allowed at a reveal and was taken by surprise by some of the twists and turns in the story. In the end, about the only real coherent thing I could say for THE EPIDEMIC is that it was mind blowingly good.

Blew My Mind

I still didn’t like, or trust, Deacon for much of the book but I did eventually come around to that ship. But who I shipped most was Quinn and all the things that she went through throughout THE EPIDEMIC. She had such an amazing story ARC that I am so very very sad to see it all come to an end. Although its good for Quinn because after what she went through I don’t think she’d survive any more of what Young could cook up for her. (Have I mentioned that Young is an evil author? Because if not she is.)

lots of feelings

THE EPIDEMIC is a book that kept me on the very edge of my seat from start to finish and one that I couldn’t put down once I started. I pretty much read THE EPIDEMIC in a single sitting and barely paused to eat or do anything because I was so invested in what would happen next. THE EPIDEMIC was so creepily delicious and by the end I was an emotional wreck of a reader who just wanted to cry in a corner and then maybe re-read THE PROGRAM because I think that book will be even more creepily good now that I know what I know about you know what.

the more you know

 

I have so much that I want to say about THE EPIDEMIC but its hard to do so without spoiling anything in the series. This is definitely one of those books where its best to go in fairly blind because then everything just feels a little bit more raw and the discoveries are that much more exciting. I also have real trouble finding words to fully express my feelings and thoughts about THE EPIDEMIC but I can show you what I was thinking as I read it via my Goodreads updates:

epidemic reactions

This world that Young has created in her Program series is nothing short of fantastic and all too scarily real. As you read this series you can see how these progression of events could happen and that just makes it all the more terrifying. Young is also a super talented writer and just has this way with words and language that really set a scene and pulls out real and raw emotions from a reader. I always become so invested in her stories and when each one ends I am left pining for the next one. If you haven’t experienced the crazy emotional roller coaster ride that is then what are you waiting for? Its totally worth it…and I’ll be waiting for you over on twitter with hugs and cookies if you need them.

shock - still processing

irishdarkblue

IR - The Remedy

 

Add The Remedy by Suzanne Young to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Altered by Jennifer Rush to Goodreads (Click here for my review.)

Add The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

five-stars
Divider

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Audio Review: The Remedy by Suzanne Young

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Audiobook, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Audio Review: The Remedy by Suzanne YoungThe Remedy by Suzanne Young
Narrator: Rebekkah Ross
Series: The Program,
Also in this series: The Program, The Treatment, The Epidemic
Published by Simon & Schuster Audio on 21 April 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Death & Dying, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Sci-Fi, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible.com
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: The Program, The Treatment, The Epidemic

Place(s) Traveled To: Corvallis, Oregon // Eugene, Oregon // Portland, Oregon // Lake Oswego, Oregon

First Line(s): It’s time to say good-bye.

When it came to Suzanne Young’s book THE PROGRAM (my review) I fell hard and I was sad when the series was over as I just loved this world that she created. When I heard that Young was writing a prequel duology I was both excited and scared and sad. I was excited because I wanted more of this world and I was scared because I wasn’t sure if THE REMEDY would live up to its predecessor and I was sad because our old friends wouldn’t be in this one. I should not have worried though as Young totally knocked things out of the park with this creepy origin story to how The Program came to be. THE REMEDY is told from the POV of Quinlan McKey who is a Closer. That is she is a girl that pretends to be girls who died in order to help grieving families move on.

Quin’s life is never fully her own due to the work that she does and its something that her father has had her do for the past 11 years. Which is far far longer than the recommended time to be a closer. In THE REMEDY she’s sent out on a long term assignment not long after coming off a job and as a result she begins to lose herself a little. Quin has never lived a normal life but in this role she gets to experiment with what may have been if her life was different and she likes it. Quin also begins to uncover some shocking facts and learns that all may not be what it seems with the company that she works for and with the world in general. There seems to be an epidemic starting and if she isn’t careful she might get sucked in.

The Remedy Quote

I didn’t think that I would like a character more than Sloane from THE PROGRAM but Quin totally wins the reader over with her actions. She’s smart and vulnerable and as a reader you just want her to find peace and happiness. You want to shake her father for making her do this work and you want to slap Deacon for some of the things that he does. I was totally invested in THE REMEDY and found myself coming up with reasons to drive around town just to listen to more of this story. Its twisty and turny and there are just some things you can’t see coming until after they’ve happened. Rebekkah Ross is a fantastic narrator and her voice just totally sucks you into this story and won’t let you go. Ross *is* Quin and you can’t ask for any more than that when it comes to a books narrator.

THE REMEDY was a total emotional roller-coaster ride for me and just when I thought I had things all figured out Young would toss in some new fact or detail to totally surprise me. THE REMEDY left me in awe an amazement and I just don’t understand when everyone isn’t totally buzzing about this story. Its realistic and stunningly written and I love trying to find all the connections between THE REMEDY and THE PROGRAM. Its a book that can be read independently of the other series but I think it just becomes all the richer for reading in the order that it was written in. THE REMEDY is one of the best books that I’ve read so far this year and I can not wait to see where Young goes with this series next.

 

irishdarkblue

IR - The Remedy

Add Altered by Jennifer Rush to Goodreads (Click here for my review.)

Add The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

five-stars
Divider

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Review: The Treatment by Suzanne Young

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: The Treatment by Suzanne YoungThe Treatment by Suzanne Young
Series: The Program, Book 2
Also in this series: The Program, The Remedy, The Epidemic
Published by Simon Pulse on 29 April 2014
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Adolescence, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Diseases, Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Illnesses & Injuries, Love & Romance, People & Places, Sci-Fi, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: The Program, The Remedy, The Epidemic

Place(s) Travels To: Salt Lake City, Utah // Portland, Oregon // Unknown USA

First Line(s): Over the last four years, suicide has reached epidemic proportions, killing one in three teens.

 

The Treatment by Suzanne Young is the long awaited followup to The Program which I listened to on audio and just loved it. I was debating on if I wanted to listen to The Treatment or read it when I received an egalley back in October and knew I wouldn’t be able to wait in order to see what happened. The Treatment picks up not long after the events in The Program ends with Sloane and James on the run from the Programs Goon Squad. Things are dicey for our beloved duo and that makes for some edge of your seat moments. Its not long before they hook up with the small rag-tag band of rebels including new character Dallas and Realm. I had mixed feelings on Dallas and move from disliking her, to liking her, to feeling sorry for her, and back again. My feelings for Realm never wavered.

In fact, I grew to dislike him more than ever. He was worse in every way in this book filled with lies and manipulations. He acted so horrible towards Dallas and would play both Sloane and James in an attempt to drive a wedge between them. If I could have smacked Realm out of the book I totally would have. Its rare that I dislike a character so intensely but I couldn’t find any redeeming qualities in this one and my feelings for him did end up effecting my enjoyment of the book. Its hard to fall in love with a story when there is a character that just makes you so grumbly.

The actual story moved along at a fast pace although I found it a little more choppy than the first book. It was filled with weird little jumps and some awkward transitions which would also take me out of the story. But as with the first book, The Treatment, is filled with issues that will make a reader think. Its also scary in its realism as I could see a world like this existing if real world events played out in a particular way. Dystopias are always more scary there there is a potential for them to come true. I always love a book that can make you think and this one definitely has that. And its message isn’t so overpowering that it weighs down the story instead it only adds to it.

As with The Program, I was in love with Sloane and James and I fell even more in love with them in this book. Even with all that Realm tried to do they still managed to find a way to remain true to each other. Though there were many ups and downs for our duo I did like where they ended up even as it wounded my heart a little.

The ending of The Treatment seemed a little rushed and hard to believe but overall I enjoyed this one. I liked what Young did with this characters and I enjoyed knowing that this was a duology so that events weren’t overly drawn out. I even liked that even though Sloane and James’s story is complete there is potential to have a spin off book or novella with some of the other characters in the story. I think that The Treatment and its first book are well worth the read and can’t recommend them enough.

irishdarkblue
four-stars
Divider

Sunday, June 2, 2013

Audio Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Posted by Irish in 4.5 Stars, Review, Young Adult4 Comments

Audio Review: The Program by Suzanne YoungThe Program by Suzanne Young
Narrator: Joy Osmanski
Series: The Program,
Also in this series: The Treatment, The Remedy, The Epidemic
Published by Simon & Schuster Audio on 30 April 2013
Genres: Dystopian, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, Social Issues, Suicide, Young Adult
Length: 10 hours 56 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Also by this author: The Treatment, The Remedy, The Epidemic

Place(s) Traveled to: Town outside of Portland, Oregon

First Line: The air in the room tastes sterile.

I’d heard rumblings about The Program by Suzanne Young since it was announced and while I was looking forward to it I was a little wary as well. There are just so many dystopias out there and so many have been a disappointment that at first I wasn’t sure about this one. Then more of my blogger friends started to talk about it and so when an opportunity came up to review the audio I thought I’d give it a chance. But it wasn’t until Andi from Andi’s ABCs started to rave about it that I decided to move it up in my listening queue.

To say that I liked it is a bit of an understatement considering that I listened to all 11 hours in roughly 2 days. I spent almost any entire day in the office listening as I work and I during the course of my day I wanted to cry, cry harder, and then smack a book character (or two upside the head). In The Program, teen suicide is an epidemic and the government has developed a way to “save” them be eliminating those memories that lead to their downward spiral. Teens in this world are under constant surveillance and are afraid to show emotion in fear that they might get flagged and sent to the Program. In The Program we learn the story of Sloane and James and its one of the most heartbreaking and uplifting stories that I’ve read. I loved reading about their story and even though they made my heart break they often gave me that wonderful heart achy feeling that I love in books.

The Program is an emotional journey and a heartbreaking story that reminds me so much of one of my favorite movies, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Both the movie and this book deal with big questions of memory and just how far would you go in order to protect yourself, or someone else. In Eternal Sunshine people pay to have certain memories erased for various reasons…mostly because they are painful in some way. In The Program similar memories are forcibly removed from teens under the guise of saving them.

But without all of your memories, the good and the bad, are you really you? How much are you changed when you don’t fully remember who you are? Life can be painful but its those moments that help define us and who we become just as much as the happy memories do. So its no surprise that one reason teens in The Program fear being sent away so much is because those that return seem to come back empty and changed from who they were before.

The Program isn’t just about memory and how it defines a person but it also deals with the question of love and relationships. The phrase x and y are meant to be or that they will be a couple forever are used often by teens and adults alike when they think they are in love. Sometimes a relationship works and other times it doesn’t. Think of the person that you love most, if they were erased from your memory do you think that some part of you would still know them? Do you think that you would find them again?

The one problem I had with The Program was the epilogue. I am not a huge fan of epilogues as it is as they are often a let down. Usually because they try so hard. And while this one doesn’t try hard or jump decades into the future it does change POVs. This normally wouldn’t bother me but the scene captured  in this epilogue was just so…blah. Its an almost exact rehash of something earlier and it just didn’t resonate with me at all.

I really enjoyed The Program and I do look forward to seeing where things go in the next book of this duology. If you like dystopians you may like this one. If you are a bit wary of them this could be a good one to try as its kind of dystopian light in that the world hasn’t gone through anything cataclysmic. The world is just like ours with just a few differences. If you are a fan of the movie Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind then you will probably enjoy this book as well. If you haven’t seen the movie but liked this book then you should totally check it out (its also currently available on Netflix streaming).

About the Narrator

Joy Osmanski is the narrator of this audio and this is my first time listening to a book that she’s voiced. Overall she did a good job though there were times when she mixed up voices, sometimes in the same scene so that was a little off putting at times. Though never enough to take me out of the story completely. I enjoyed her style and would definitely listen to her again.


four-half-stars
Divider