Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Rhiannon Hart

Sunday, December 15, 2013

Review: Blood Phantom by Rhiannon Hart

Posted by Irish in 4.5 Stars, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Review: Blood Phantom by Rhiannon HartBlood Phantom by Rhiannon Hart
Series: Lharmell,
Also in this series: Blood Song
Published by Curtis Brown on 09 December 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Novella, Young Adult
Pages: 30
Format: eBook
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Also by this author: Blood Song

Place(s) Traveled To: Xallentaria, Pergamia

First Line(s): A day must be divided up into equal segments, each devoted to a single purpose.

Blood Phantom by Rhiannon Hart is a prequel novella to her Lharmell series which begins with Blood Song (my review). Blood Song was a book that I feel head over heels in adoration. I just loved the rich and detailed world that Hart had created. In Blood Phantom we get an early look at the events that lead to Zeraphina and her family traveling to Pergamia as told from Rodden’s point of view.

I loved Zeraphina’s voice in Blood Song but the character of Rodden was always intriguing. He’s this big, brooding, almost larger than life character. He’s a man of few words but I just loved him all the same. Roddon is a man of secrets and so I was intriguied at the idea of a novella from his POV as maybe we’d get to learn what some of those secrets were.

Alas, that is not to be with Blood Phantom but that doesn’t make this novella as less disappointing. I really enjoyed Rodden’s voice and as with most novellas I wish that this one had been longer. Just as we were starting to learn a bit more about Rodden and the events behind Blood Song. I think I could be quite happy and content if Rhiannon Hart decided to retell the whole series from Rodden’s POV. If you are a fan of the series or just thinking of checking it out then I highly recommend you picking up Blood Phantom. I don’t think that you’ll be disappointed.

irishdarkblue

four-half-stars
Divider

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Top Ten Tuesday: Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

Posted by Irish in Top Ten Tuesday7 Comments

Graphic is not mine, found via an image search on Google, if you know source LMK and I will link

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and today’s topic is all about the authors we love and feel don’t get enough recognition. This is both an easy post to write and a difficult one.

1. Cindy Pon, author of the Kingdom of Xia series – Silver Phoenix (my review) and Fury of the Phoenix (my review).

Fantasy series set in a world that is based on ancient China. The heroine is smart and kick ass and cute Asian boys abound. Also, Pon does the impossible and makes me like and sympathize with the very evil bad guy! This is such a rich, well written world and I wish there were more books set inside it.

2. Sarwat Chadda, author of the Billie SanGreal series – The Devil’s Kiss (my review) and Dark Goddess (my review)

Speaking of kick ass heroines you can’t get much more kick ass than Billie SanGreal who is a girl Templar. Yes, THOSE Templars. She’s snarky and makes mistakes and deals with the consequences. There are cute boys (both good and evil) and a little romance but its Billie and the battles she fights that really make these books.

3. Chantel Acevedo, author of Song of the Red Cloak (my review)

This is one of the first self-published books that I ever read and boy was I super glad that I did. Set in ancient Greece and deals with Spartans, mistaken identity, and some magic. I read this book in its entirety on the train from  Boston to NYC and felt such loss when it came to an end and I had to leave the world.

4. Susan Ee, author of Angelfall (my review) and World After (ETA: 19 Nov 2013)

Another book that I almost skipped because it was self-published. Its because of Ee and Acevedo that I am willing to read Indie publishers because their books were so good. Ee’s post-apocalyptic world is scarily real and I love her take on Angels. These Angels are terrifying and I loved every minute of the book. I’m eagerly awaiting November when I can finally see what happens next!

5. Kim Harrington, author of Clarity (my review), Perception (my review), and The Dead and Buried (my review)

I have a love of mysteries and so rarely am I stumped but Kim managed to do so in Clarity, at least partially. Her heroines and filled with snark and smarts and I really want more books featuring Clare Fern! These books help fill the gap that is missing since Veronica Mars was cancelled.

6. Chelsea Campbell, author of The Rise of Renegade X (my review)

Superheroes and Villains? Seriously, what is not to love? This book is well written and so fresh and unique that I don’t understand why it fell below the radar. Its filled with snark and mystery and the hero (or is he a villain?) is so filled with internal conflict that makes it so easy to connect with him.

7. Cath Crowley, author of A Little Wanting Song (my review) and Graffiti Moon (my review)

One of those amazing Aussie writers that has made its way to the world of US publishing. The stories that Crowley creates are absolutely amazing. So well written and such real characters and these are stories which stuck with me long after I finished reading them.

8. Swati Avasthi, author of Split (my review) and Chasing Shadows (ETA: 06 Aug 2013)

Split was such a heart-wrenching well written story that will just blow you away. Its such strong writing and defies the stereotype that abusive homes are only for the poor and uneducated. Its a book with poor choices and conflict as well as hope and consequences. I am so glad that soon there will be another Avasthi book in the world and I can’t wait to read it!

9. Rhiannon Hart, author of Blood Song (my review) and Blood Storm (need to read)

I fell so hard for Hart’s writing in Blood Song and begged and pleaded with a friend in Australia to send me book 2 the moment it was released. He did and I have been afraid to read it ever since. Not because I fear it will be bad, because I know it won’t, because the 3rd book isn’t available and I am not ready for that long torturous wait.

10. Kristy Eager, author of Raw Blue (my review)

Such an amazingly well-written character driven story! I read this book in a single sitting and even after it was over it stayed with me. This is new adult before new adult was a thing and totally how new adult should be. Its about a girl who is 19 and who elected to not go to college to deal (or avoid dealing as the case may be) with her demons and to indulge in her love of surfing. I’ve read this book several times over since my first read and it never gets less heart-wrenching.

There are so many other authors that I could feature here and I hate that I can’t list them all. But these are very near and dear to my heart and I think that everyone should read them. So if you haven’t done so yet then what are you waiting for?!? You are missing out on some seriously amazing reads.

Divider

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Blood Song by Rhiannon Hart

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Review, Young Adult4 Comments

Blood Song by Rhiannon HartBlood Song by Rhiannon Hart
Series: Lharmell,
Also in this series: Blood Phantom
Published by Random House Australia on 01 September 2011
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 290
Format: Paperback
Source: Gift
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: Blood Phantom

Place(s) Traveled to: Armentia, Brivora // Xallentaria capital of Pergamia in Brivora // Lharmell

First Line: I was thinking of blood again so I went to practice my archery.

What first drew me to Blood Song by Rhiannon Hart was the cover. It was this stunning piece of art and then I became so very sad when I learned shortly afterwards that the book was only available in Australia. I tried to import it but there were issues and a friend took pity on me and we set up an exchange…and best of all…he was able to get the book signed for me. *huggles book*

I was finally able to get to it this past weekend and I fell instantly in love with the world that Hart created. It was so rich and detailed…but not overly detailed that the story becomes bogged down with details. And the characters…oh readers…I can’t tell you how much I love all the characters in this book. First there is Zeraphina who is strong and courageous and her mother Renata who Zeraphina gets her strength and who must make hard decisions. But most of all there is Rodden. #swoon

Remember how I read Poison Study a ways back and fell for that character named Valek. Well, Rodden reminds me a lot of Valek. He’s all broody and aloof…but he isn’t as assassiny minded as Valek. There is also so much chemistry on the page when he and Zeraphina are together. I would have loved to have every page devoted to them but alas there were other characters…not to mention that pesky thing called a plot as well. While I might call it pesky I did love the premise of this novel. I loved how Hart wove in the mythology of the world without sounding like she was giving a dry lecture. Instead we learned what we needed to know as we needed it. Readers are left with just enough thirst and want for more but never feel like something is missing.

I devoured this book in just a few hours. I was amazed at how time flew and was so very sad to hit the end. I wasn’t ready to leave the Kingdom of Pergamia. I wanted to see Renata scheme a bit more to find a suitable match for Zeraphina now that her eldest Lilith was married. I wanted to see Zeraphina and Rodden argue some more. I also wanted to see Zeraphina and her mother clash. I loved to see those two head butt. They were a great mother/daughter combo. You get the sense that they love each other deeply but they just don’t see eye to eye on how life should be lived. I think that its a great and horrible tragedy that I have to wait almost an entire YEAR to find out what happens next in this story. The pages I had weren’t enough.

Have I mentioned just how much I love this world and its characters? Because if not then I did. There is something in this book for everyone. There is a hint of romance, some drama, action and mystery. The only thing that this book was missing was a map. (Yes Rhiannon I had to mention it here.) I adore maps in books. I love seeing how a world of fantasy fits together and am always sad then I don’t have that map to flip back and forth to. I think Aussies might be a little different….or maybe its me that’s different…but I do love me a good map. Other than that though this book was filled of awesome and you should all find a way to get your hands on it (legally of course) or better yet some US publisher should pick it up…because its amazing and needs to be read by all.

Lharmell Series Order
Book 0.5: Blood Phantom
Book 1: Blood Song
Book 2: Blood Storm
Book 3: Blood Queen (15 April 2014)

irishdarkblue
five-stars
Divider