Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Rachel Harris

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: The Natural History of Us by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, Review, Young Adult1 Comment

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: The Natural History of Us by Rachel Harris

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: The Natural History of Us by Rachel HarrisThe Natural History of Us by Rachel Harris
Series: The Fine Art of Pretending
Also in this series: The Fine Art of Pretending
Published by Spencer Hill on 05 April 2016
Genres: Adolescence, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Diseases, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Health & Daily Living, Illnesses & Injuries, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Young Adult
Pages: 297
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Taste the Heat, Seven Day Fiance, Accidently Married on Purpose, The Fine Art of Pretending, You're Still the One

Rachel Harris’s THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US is already getting swoons from readers everywhere! We can’t wait for you to get your hands on it. Known for her sweet romances, Rachel’s THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US, is no different! Check out everything we have for you on this amazing title and then go grab your copy today. Justin and Peyton’s story is sure to put a smile on your face and keep you turning pages long into the night!

Review

Place(s) Traveled To: Fairwood City, Texas

First Line(s): They say once rodeo gets into your blood, you’re never the same.

THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US by Rachel Harris is a companion story to THE FINE ART OF PRETENDING (my review) which I read and enjoyed last year. In FINE ART the main character Aly wants to date her long time crush, Justin, and uses her BFF Brandon to help her out. Things don’t work out the way Aly plans and while she finds her HEA Justin does not. I liked Justin’s character in FINE ART so was really curious to see who Harris would pair him with in THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US. In this book we meet Peyton who is a smart, quiet girl who just happens to share a past with Justin. We learn of their history via flashbacks as they reconnect in the present when they are forced to work together on a school assignment. Which Justin sees as an opportunity to win her back and Peyton sees as the worst punishment ever.

While THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US is told in classic Harris style there was just something missing in it for me to love it completely. For me, the flashbacks just took away from the story as they were overly long and the lead ins to them were a bit too cliched. Learning the history of Justin and Peyton is important but I think it was just too drawn out and I wanted more of them in the now. There was just so much potential for their story and in the various class assignments that the two of them had that just weren’t really explored. But the think that bothered me more about THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US was how Peyton had a boyfriend for a good 75% of the book. I do not like love triangles and while this wasn’t as angsty as they tend to be it still could have been a cleaner story without the added complication of a boyfriend.

What I did like was how Justin and Peyton interacted together. They were cute together and their personalities fit well. I do think that Peyton was a little too forgiving but I also liked how Justin worked to prove himself to her. I liked how his character changed for the player to the committed boyfriend and I would have liked to see this story continue on for a few more chapters just to see them as a couple. Justin’s backstory hurt my heart at times as well and I thought that he was a boy who really needed a hug and I liked that Peyton saw beyond the facade and saw the real him.

THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US isn’t a perfect book but it is a quick read and is out just in time for beach season. This is a great book to read on the beach or by the pool as its just not overly complicated. Its a fun coming of age story with some more serious undertones as Justin and Peyton are both working through some life issues that they are both too young to deal with. I adored Peyton’s family and her BFF Faith and really wish that they’d had more on page time. In the end, I liked THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US but it I just wanted sometimes more from this story so I didn’t love it. But I do think that it will appeal to many of my readers….after all….I do tend to be harder on books than all of you. If you liked THE FINE ART OF PRETENDING then you will most likely like this one.

 

irishdarkblue

 

 

Excerpt

“Hold out your hand.” At the expression on his face, I rolled my eyes. “Just do it.” Cautiously, as if I was going to put out a cobra or something, he uncurled his fingers and lifted his palm. I dropped a small silver coin in the center. “For luck.”

Wonder warred with confusion in his gorgeous brown eyes and my heart melted.

“On this side there’s a horseshoe,” I said, my cheeks warming with a blush. “You know, the universal symbol for luck… and a small reminder of me.”

I bit my lip, hoping he didn’t think that was too corny—or that it revealed too much.

I flipped the coin over, exposing the other side, and my fingers slid across his rough skin. My breath caught. When I lifted my eyes, I found him watching me with so much intensity, so much heat, that an actual shiver rolled through me. Just like in my favorite books.

Huh. So that was what smoldering looked like. Good to know.

I swallowed hard and noticed him do the same, and nothing could hold back my smile. Justin glanced down and laughed. “Kick some ass!” he read, skimming his fingernail over my initials.

“I figured…” I cleared my throat. “I thought you could hide it in your sock or something,” I said, unable to tell if he liked the gift or not. He just kept staring at it. “If it’s dumb, you don’t have to—”

“No.”

He’d said it so quietly I almost wasn’t sure he’d spoken at all. But then he closed his hand around the coin and raised his head. Time ceased to exist as Justin’s eyes trailed across my face. I held my breath waiting and a sweet smile crossed his face.

“Damn.” He shook his head softly. “You’ve done it now.”

“What?” I asked, hoping whatever it was that it was a good thing. “What did I do?”

Justin merely shook his head again and smiled. “Wait for me after the game.” Shifting his gaze to the old concession stand, he took a step back and said, “Over there, okay?”

When I nodded, excitement lodging in my throat, making it impossible to speak, he winked and then took off to join his teammates. As I watched his cute butt in those uniform pants run across the field, a giddy grin found my lips.

 

 

 

TNHoU - Signed Books

You can order a signed and/or personalized copy of THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US now through April 8th HERE!

TNHoU - Tour Teaser 1

 

About THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US:

One class assignment. One second chance at love. The school player is all in. Now he needs to win back the sweet commitment girl who’s forever owned his heart.

Justin Carter has a secret. He’s not the total player Fairfield Academy believes him to be. Not really. In fact, he used to be a one-woman guy…and his feelings for her never went away. Too bad he broke her heart three years ago and made sure to ruin any chance she’d ever forgive him.

Peyton Williams is a liar. She pretends to be whole, counting down the days until graduation and helping her parents at the family ranch. But the truth is, she’s done everything she can to get over Justin, and salvation is just around the corner. With graduation one short month away, she’ll soon break free from the painful memories and start her life fresh. Of course, she has to get through working with him on one last assignment first.

For Justin, nothing ever felt as right as being with Peyton, and now that fate’s given him a shot at redemption, he’s determined to make the most of it. And for Peyton…well, Justin Carter has always been her kryptonite.

Order THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US Today!

Amazon **Barnes and Noble ** Kobo ** IndieBound

Add to your Goodreads

 

Rachel Harris - Author photoAbout Rachel Harris:

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Harris writes humorous love stories about sassy girls-next-door and the hot guys that make them swoon. Vibrant settings, witty banter, and strong relationships are a staple in each of her books…and kissing. Lots of kissing.

An admitted Diet Mountain Dew addict and homeschool mom, she gets through each day by laughing at herself, hugging her kids, and watching way too much Food Network with her husband. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult romances, and LOVES talking with readers!

 

 

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Newsletter Signup ** Goodreads

 

 

TNHoU - Tour Teaser 3

 

Tour Stops

Rachel Harris’s THE NATURAL HISTORY OF US– Review & Excerpt Tour Schedule:

March 28th

For the Love of Books & Alcohol – Excerpt

A Leisure Moment – Review

SnoopyDoo’s Book Reviews – Excerpt

Home.Love.Books. – Review

My Nook, Books & More – Excerpt

Swoony Boys Podcast – Review & Excerpt

JOJO THE BOOKAHOLIC – Excerpt

March 29th

A Crave For Books – Review

Becky on Books – Review & Excerpt

Angel Reads – Review

Girl with a Pen and a Dream – Excerpt

Lovin’ Los Libros – Review & Excerpt

I Read Indie – Excerpt

The Phantom Paragrapher – Review

March 30th

Bookish Things & More – Review & Excerpt

Stuck In Books – Review & Excerpt

Reading Adventurously – Review & Excerpt

Typical Distractions – Review & Excerpt

Crazii Bitches Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

What Is That Book About – Excerpt

March 31st

Dazzled by Books – Review & Excerpt

Kindle and Me – Review & Excerpt

The Cover Contessa – Review & Excerpt

Book Groupies – Excerpt

We All Make Mistakes in Books – Review & Excerpt

The Bibliophile Confessions – Review & Excerpt

Ticket To Anywhere – Review & Excerpt

April 1st

Bookaholics Reading Haven – Review & Excerpt

Books Eater – Review & Excerpt

SprinkleofBooks – Excerpt

Melena’s Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Ficwishes – Review & Excerpt

Gaga Over Books – Review & Excerpt

My fictional escape – Review & Excerpt

April 2nd

Collector of book boyfriends – Excerpt

Caitlin Audet – Excerpt

Andi’s ABCs – Review

My Slanted Bookish Ramblings – Review

A Dream Within A Dream – Excerpt

Defiantly Deviant – Review

Book Briefs – Review

April 3rd

The Romance Reviews – Review

Cheyanne Young – Review & Excerpt

Adventures in Writing – Excerpt

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Review

Short and Sassy Book Blurbs – Review & Excerpt

Ashleyz Wonderland – Excerpt

Blogging For The Love Of Authors And Their Books – Review & Excerpt

April 4th

The bookworms obsession blog – Review

Bookaholics Not-So-Anonymous – Review & Excerpt

Addicted to Books – Review & Excerpt

Bookish Escapes – Review & Excerpt

Adventures of a Book Junkie – Review & Excerpt

The Bookish Thought – Review

Tween 2 Teen Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

April 5th

Book it – Review & Excerpt

Julie Antonovich Reece – Excerpt

Book Junkie: Not-So-Anonymous – Review & Excerpt

YA Book Madness – Excerpt

The Book Hammock – Review & Excerpt

A Full Bookshelf – Review

April 6th

Books and Boys Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Reading Is My Bliss – Review

Behind Closed Covers – Review & Excerpt

Jackie’s Book World – Review

The Procrastinator’s Corner – Review & Excerpt

KatyaRath – Review

The book slayer77 – Review

April 7th

Southern Vixens Book Obsessions – Excerpt

The Lovely Books – Review

thebookdragon – Review & Excerpt

Aira Reads – Review

Reviews from the Heart – Review & Excerpt

Literary Misfit – Review & Excerpt

Love & Life & Learning – Review & Excerpt

April 8th

Alpha Book Club – Excerpt

Crawling Over the Pages – Review

Three chicks and their books – Review & Excerpt

Reviews By Rah – Review & Excerpt

All For Love of the Word – Excerpt

Library of a Book Witch – Review & Excerpt

The Bookmark Blog – Review & Excerpt

 

TNHoU - Tour Teaser 2 Contest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And don’t miss Rachel Harris’s

The-Fine-Art-of-Pretending
THE FINE ART OF PRETENDING!

 

three-stars
Divider

Monday, February 22, 2016

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: You’re Still the One by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in Adult, Blog Tour, Contest, Excerpt, Review0 Comments

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: You’re Still the One by Rachel Harris

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: You’re Still the One by Rachel HarrisYou're Still the One by Rachel Harris
Series: Country Blues,
Published by Entangled Bliss on 15 February 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Family, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 254
Format: eBook
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Taste the Heat, Seven Day Fiance, Accidently Married on Purpose, The Fine Art of Pretending, The Natural History of Us

Place(s) Traveled To: Nashville, Tennessee // New Orleans, Louisiana // Magnolia Springs, Louisiana

First Line(s): “He’s not gonna know what hit him.”

Every reader knows that there are some books that they read where the secondary characters really stand out and this was true for me with Charlie from Rachel Harris’s ACCIDENTALLY MARRIED ON PURPOSE (my review.) So I was really excited to learn that Harris was writing a spin off series and the first book, YOU’RE STILL THE ONE, would feature Charlie. I was bouncy with excitement and I think that I fell victim to my own hype as I didn’t love this book as much I wanted to. It was cute and charming and everything that one would expect in a Rachel Harris book but for me it was just missing the heat.

YOU’RE STILL THE ONE is a slow burn novel and for me it was almost too slow of a build up between Arabella and Charlie. While I did like how the two really got to know each other and build a relationship built on friendship it just lacked chemistry. I wasn’t racing to the end to see how their story would end because I never really became invested in their story. I also found the set up of this one to be really choppy and wish that the scene transitions and other aspects of the story had been smoother.

You're Still the One -  Teaser (1)

I also wish that some more time had been spent developing the secondary characters. I have no idea who the next story will be about and familiar characters, like Tyler and Sherry, were notably absent throughout much of the book. I didn’t dislike YOU’RE STILL THE ONE I just think that I expected something more since I loved ACCIDENTALLY MARRIED ON PURPOSE so much. Perhaps is there was more romance to it I would have liked it more but its hard when characters don’t even kiss until the book is almost over. So while I think that Charlie and Arabella make great friends I’m just not entirely sure that I buy them as a couple.

For me, YOU’RE STILL THE ONE was a book of missed opportunities. I wanted to love it but it just fell a little flat for me. But I do still love the world that Rachel Harris has created. I’ll still read the other books in this series and hope that we see more cameos in the future of old friends. This is a book that I know that I’ll recommend to some friends of mine because the things that didn’t really work for me I know will really work for them. YOU’RE STILL THE ONE isn’t a perfect read but its a quick read and worth considering for when you are looking for a slow burn escapist read.

 

irishdarkblue

Excerpt

Yup, this was a recipe for unmitigated disaster. With the hot sting of jealousy currently roiling in his gut, demanding he lay claim to what was his, the smart thing for Charlie to do would be to turn tail and run before they breached the point of no return.

Don’t push too far, Tucker. Remember, she’s not for you.  

Even his conscience knew better than to suggest bailing. Completely walking away wasn’t an option anymore. The attraction was too strong. The oppressive Louisiana heat boiled his blood just enough to make dangerous ideas seem possible.

“It’s a beautiful night.” Arabella was a low whispered voice behind him, and when Charlie turned it was in time to watch her cover-up fall to the ground.

Sweet Jesus. The dress she’d worn all day had been typical Arabella, classy and feminine. She’d looked beautiful as always, so much so that it hadn’t been a shocker to find another guy hanging on her with drool on his chin. But the swimsuit hidden beneath the simple dress almost dropped Charlie to his knees.

The two-piece was emerald green, a spectacular color set against her olive skin that made those doe eyes pop. It was vintage in style, like everything she owned, and the bottom consisted of more fabric than half the women’s shorts today, but it cupped her hips and thighs in a way that his hands itched to replicate. And the swimsuit’s top… Charlie swallowed thickly. Arabella’s small, high breasts were lifted in a mouthwatering display of cleavage that was a feast for the eyes.

She looked seductive and innocent and, good Godshe was trying to kill him.

Charlie was moving before he even realized it, walking in a lust-filled daze toward her. But then, his feelings were more complicated than simple lust…and that was the problem.

“You take my breath away.” The line was cliché, like a lyric from some lame power ballad, but for the first time in his life, Charlie understood the meaning. Arabella’s eyes latched onto his, and her chest rose and fell as her pink lips parted in an exhale and, for a moment, he legitimately forgot his own name.

Arabella made his chest ache with want. She made him forget everything in the world other than how it felt to hold her in his arms. How their bodies aligned, her height allowing her to rest her head on his shoulder if she wanted to. Or stare into his eyes if and when he kissed her.

Right now, he wasn’t thinking about the many reasons why he shouldn’t want that, why he didn’t deserve her or why it would be so wrong to reach out and slide his hand along the gentle curve of her waist. No, Charlie forgot all those things, so when his palm grazed across her petal-soft skin, and Arabella’s gasp hit his ears, he also forgot why it was wrong, so very wrong, to act on his needs.

Lowering his head, he breathed in her floral fragrance and closed his eyes.

“Baby girl, you destroy me,” he whispered against her lips. “You have to tell me if you don’t want this, because I’m holding on by a thread.”

“Then let go.”

Tour Stops

Rachel Harris’ YOU’RE STILL THE ONE – Review & Excerpt Tour Schedule:

February 16th

What I’m Reading – Review & Excerpt

Alpha Book Club – Review

I Love Romance – Review & Excerpt

Ficwishes – Review

Book Starlets – Review & Excerpt

FMR Book Grind – Review

Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

February 17th

Lovin’ Los Libros – Review & Excerpt

Angel Reads – Review

SassyCat’s Books Review – Review & Excerpt

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Excerpt

Books According to Abby – Review & Excerpt

First Dream of Books – Excerpt

February 18th

Friends Till The End Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

What Is That Book About – Excerpt

Tsk Tsk What to Read – Review & Excerpt

Oh the Book Feels – Excerpt

Book Junkie: Not-So-Anonymous – Review & Excerpt

SnoopyDoo’s Book Reviews – Excerpt

E-Reading After Midnight – Review & Excerpt

February 19th

thebookdragon – Review & Excerpt

Adventures in Writing – Excerpt

Reviews With Rah – Review & Excerpt

Cyn’s Reviews AndPromotionals – Review & Excerpt

Extreme Bookaholic’s – Excerpt

Jack of All Trades, Master of None – Review & Excerpt

February 20th

The Lovely Books – Review & Excerpt

Miss Riki – Excerpt

Bookaholics Reading Haven – Review & Excerpt

Literary misfit – Excerpt

We All Make Mistakes in Books – Review & Excerpt

Liz’s Reading Life – Excerpt

BookWorm221 – Review & Excerpt

February 21st

Four Chicks Flipping Pages – Review & Excerpt

The Bibliophile Confessions – Review

Jen’s Reading Obsession – Review & Excerpt

Short and Sassy Book Blurbs – Review

Romance Reviews and More – Review & Excerpt

Debbie’s World of Books – Excerpt

February 22nd

The Book Hammock – Review & Excerpt

Books, Coffee & Passion – Excerpt

Crazy Cajun Book Addicts – Review & Excerpt

Vi3tbabe – Review

Ticket to Anywhere – Review & Excerpt

Worth Reading It? – Review

My Fictional Escape – Review & Excerpt

February 23rd

Bridget’s Book Bungalow – Review & Excerpt

Dazzled by Books – Review & Excerpt

The Cover Contessa – Excerpt

Bound By Books Books Book Review – Review & Excerpt

All For Love of the Word – Excerpt

February 24th

Book Angel Booktopia – Review & Excerpt

The Phantom Paragrapher – Review

Sultry, Steamy Reading – Review & Excerpt

Alphas Do It Better Book Blog – Excerpt

Library of a Book Witch – Review & Excerpt

Book reviews by lexi – Review

My Fictional Escape – Review & Excerpt

February 25th

Jax’s Book Magic – Review & Excerpt

Lazy Book Lovers – Review

Romantic Reads and Such – Review & Excerpt

A crazy vermonters book reviews – Review

Books Eater – Review & Excerpt

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Review

Karen McCoy Books Presents: The Writer Librarian – Excerpt

February 26th

Ramblings From This Chick – Review & Excerpt

G & T’s Indie Café – Excerpt

phishbowl’s bookshelf – Review & Excerpt

Beneath The Covers Blog – Excerpt

The Power of Three Readers – Review & Excerpt

Becky’s Book Bytes – Excerpt

Pandora’s Books – Review & Excerpt

Girl with a Pen and a Dream – Excerpt

 

 

You're Still the One - Review & Excerpt Tour Teaser

 

 

About YOU’RE STILL THE ONE:

Love is one dare neither of them can take…
Arabella Stone, Nashville’s darling, is eager to shuck her prim-and-proper rep, and a few wild months spent checking items off her ” summer bucket list” is the way to do it. First up: kiss the man she’s crushed on since she wore a training bra, the bad boy of country himself, Blue bassist Charlie Tucker.

For Charlie, a beautiful woman flirting with him isn’t out of the norm–but a beautiful woman bolting after the hottest kiss of his life sure is. And when he finds out his kiss-and-run Cinderella is none other than Arabella Stone, daughter of his label’s CEO, he knows he’s in trouble. Because not only is she a Stone, she’s also his employee for the next few months at the recording studio he just bought.

Over the course of one thrilling summer, Arabella and Charlie chip away at her bucket list and fight the simmering attraction between them…knowing that once it’s all over, so is their time together.

 

 

 

Rachel Harris - Author photoAbout Rachel Harris:

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Harris writes humorous love stories about sassy girls-next-door and the hot guys that make them swoon. Vibrant settings, witty banter, and strong relationships are a staple in each of her books…and kissing. Lots of kissing.

An admitted Diet Mountain Dew addict and homeschool mom, she gets through each day by laughing at herself, hugging her kids, and watching way too much Food Network with her husband. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult romances, and LOVES talking with readers!

 

 

Website | Facebook |Twitter | Rachel Harris Goodreads | Newsletter Sign Up

 

Contest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Review: The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Review, Young Adult2 Comments

Review: The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel HarrisThe Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris
Series: The Fine Art of Pretending,
Also in this series: The Natural History of Us
Published by Spencer Hill on 30 September 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friends to Lovers, Friendship, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues, Young Adult
Pages: 300
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Taste the Heat, Seven Day Fiance, Accidently Married on Purpose, You're Still the One, The Natural History of Us

Place(s) Traveled To: Fairwood City, Texas // Cypress Lake, Texas

First Line(s): The cleavage popping out of my scandalously low-cut halter top heralds the beginning of Operation Sex Appeal.

I’m a relatively new convert to Rachel Harris’s books and I really enjoyed her adult contemporary series, Love and Games, and so was really excited with I heard about her newest young adult contemporary The Fine Art of Pretending. The story is told from the alternating perspectives of Aly and Brandon who are really good friends. At the start of the book Aly decides that she needs a make over so that people will see her differently and sets a goal of getting the hottest boy in school to ask her to the homecoming dance. Part of Aly’s plan is a new wardrobe and the other part is convincing Brandon to pretend to date her as a way to make her more appealing in the eyes of the other boys in school. But as you can imagine things start to get a little muddled when real feelings start to come into play.

The Fine Art of Pretending is no deep character study but it is a fun and entertaining story. I have always liked the friends to lovers trope as I firmly believe that some of the best relationships are based on friendship. You need to have things in common and not just be attracted to the other person, though attraction certainly helps. The Find Art of Prentending is a quick, fast-paced read and your heart will really get a work out even though you know how this journey will end. At the start of the book it seems like Aly might be a bit shallow thinking that her popularity is based on how she looks. But I love the character growth that Aly takes throughout the book as she learns to accept her whole self. I also like Brandon’s growth as he deals with his relationship-phobia.

The Fine Art of Pretending is filled with an awesome cast of secondary characters too and I loved what they all added to the page. I liked how Aly’s friends were real friends and how she had to face consequences for her actions. I liked how the book had parents that weren’t emotionally distant and just how real the book felt. This was a great book to pass the time and is perfect for a day at the beach or for a cold snowy day when you are trapped inside. Its an entertaining read and I look forward to the next book in the series. I also need to find the time to read Rachel Harris’s other YA series My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century because I adore her quirky characters and a modern girl who ends up in the distant past? Well, that’s a book that’s sure to be filled with shenanigans.

.

irishdarkblue

 

.

 

Fine art of pretending quote

three-half-stars
Divider

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Review: Accidentally Married on Purpose by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Accidentally Married on Purpose by Rachel HarrisAccidently Married on Purpose by Rachel Harris
Series: Love and Games,
Also in this series: Taste the Heat, Seven Day Fiance
Published by Entangled Bliss on 14 July 2014
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians
Pages: 266
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Taste the Heat, Seven Day Fiance, The Fine Art of Pretending, You're Still the One, The Natural History of Us

Place(s) Traveled To: Las Vegas, Nevada / / Magnolia Springs, LOuisiana // Nashville, Tennessee // Opelousas, Louisiana

First Line(s): Sad eyes tracked Sherry’s movements as she said good-bye to the man in her life.

Accidentally Married on Purpose is the third and final book in Rachel Harris’s Love and Games series and deals with Sherry Robicheaux, sister to Cane and Colby. Sherry is a little more innocent and wild than her older siblings as she has been sheltered from the troubles that plauged their parents marriage. As such she is more carefree and despite being an adult there is a distinct vibe in Cane and Colby treating her like a child still. So when the opportunity comes up for Sherry to travel to Las Vegas to oversea a catering gig for Colby’s restaurant she jumps at the chance. Wanting in part to have a fun time in Vegas and also to show her family she’s not quite the flake they often think she is. Enter in one of my favorite romance novel tropes…nay…make that TWO of my favorite tropes….the quicky wedding AND a rock star story. *swoon*

While I enjoyed Taste the Heat and Seven Day Fiancethe previous books in the series, I wasn’t head over heels in love with them. There was just something about the main characters that I just never connected with. But the moment I saw the synopsis for Accidentally Married on Purpose I knew that this was the Love and Games book for me. And it was. I just loved Tyler and Sherry and thought that they worked really well together even with their unconventional start. They complemented each other personality wise and their chemistry just sizzled off the page. Though I will admit there were times in which I wanted to smack them both upside the head when they were being all stubborn and such. I swear these two were perfect for each other, fell hard for the other and then worried abour rejection so failed to communicate. And as a result….they almost lost a good thing.

Once I started reading Accidentally Married I couldn’t put it down. I just kept turning the pages because I needed to see how it all ended and then I was left with this void because it was over. This book gave me all those happy heart achy feels that I love and it is my favorite in the series. I just adored Tyler and Sherry and really hope to see a spin off series with a character that we meet in this book because then we’d get more Tyler and Sherry. Or at least I hope that we’d get more Tyler and Sherry as I am going to miss these characters now that their story is over. Accidentally Married on Purpose is definately a book that I would recommend to all who love a good romance story. The conflict isn’t as annoying as in Seven Day Fiance and I understand where both Sherry and Tyler were coming from. This is one that I will most likely read again and be sad that I can’t read it again for the first time.

*happy sighs*

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

.

accidentally-married-on-purpose-by-rachel-harris2

four-stars
Divider

Friday, July 25, 2014

Review: Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Seven Day Fiance by Rachel HarrisSeven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris
Series: Love and Games, Book 2
Also in this series: Taste the Heat, Accidently Married on Purpose
Published by Entangled Bliss on 14 October 2013
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance, Parents, People & Places, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 211
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Taste the Heat, Accidently Married on Purpose, The Fine Art of Pretending, You're Still the One, The Natural History of Us

Place(s) Traveled To: Magnolia Springs, Louisiana // Bon Terre, Louisiana

First Line(s): Shivering as a cool November air kissed her exposed skin, Angelle Prejean quickened her pace across the Magnolia Springs Banquet Hall parking lot.

Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris is the second book in her Love & Games series and follows Cane Robicheaux who we first met in Taste the Heat, along with Angelle Prejean. Angelle is shy and awkward and she’s head over heels in like with bad boy, commitment phobic Cane Robicheaux. Otherwise known as your typical romance novel trope. Another common trope used in Seven Day Fiance was the fake relationship, for which I’ve always been a bit partial too. I always love that push and pull between the characters as they fight for what the reader knows is inevitable…that they are destined for a HEA. So even though I am over the good girl/bad boy trope I am able to over look that for the trope that I do like. Plus, Cane Robicheaux really isn’t your typical bad boy, he’s just got some issues from his past that he never worked through as his role models weren’t always the best. 

For the most part I liked Angelle and I liked who she was with Cane. I liked how he made her be a better her than she was alone just as she made Cane a better Cane. What I didn’t like was the stupid ass decisions that Cane made in the story and just how quickly everyone jumped to the worst case scenario. That scene really bugged me because yes, as a reader wer knew what a jerk he was acting like, but he left all of his things and was only gone a few hours and suddenly the entire town had turned on him. Way to have trust there Angelle and company. I mostly liked Angelle but she annoyed me at times as she could be a bit too naive and was a little too quick to judge. This after Cane put his entire life on hold just to help her save face with her parents who she had been lying to for months. I thought that was really sweet of him all things considered. And Cane was a nice guy throughout most of the book so that seen when he had a personality transplant just came out of no where. One thing I hate in books is conflict just for the sake of having conflict. Its stupid and pointless and what is wrong with just bringing two people together in their HEA? Why do they need all that extra drama??

Because Cane and Angelle had enough to deal with without the drama. There was Cane’s hangups with relationships thanks to his parents and there was Angelle’s crazy involved parents. There was enough drama without adding more and for me it just took away from the story. It pull me out of the fun heart-achy read that Seven Day Fiance was up until that point. Angelle and Cane had a lot of chemistry and they just sizzled on the page and so they didn’t need extra drama. Plus with this drama coming near the end of the book it meant that the HEA portion of it was rushed. I did like this one better than Taste the Heat but I’m not head over heels in love it with it either. I like the town of Magnolia Falls and I enjoyed seeing Bon Terre but I am not sure how often I’ll re-read this story and if I do I’ll probably skip the pointless drama scenes and just stick with the HEA, feel good, make my heart ache ones.

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

.

.

Seven Day Fiance2

three-stars
Divider

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Excerpt + Contest: A Tale of Two Centuries by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in Contest, Excerpt, Misc, Spotlight0 Comments

Greetings and Salutations Internet!

Today I am happy to be working with Inkslinger PR and Entangled Teen to bring you an excerpt for Rachel Harris’s newest book, A Tale of Two Centuries. This is a companion novel to her first book, My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century and sounds like a fabulous read.

A TALE OF TWO CENTURIES Synopsis:

Alessandra D’Angeli is in need of an adventure. Tired of her sixteenth-century life in Italy and homesick for her time-traveling cousin, Cat, who visited her for a magical week and dazzled her with tales of the future, Alessandra is lost. Until the stars hear her plea.

One mystical spell later, Alessandra appears on Cat’s Beverly Hills doorstep five hundred years in the future. Surrounded by confusing gadgets, scary transportation, and scandalous clothing, Less is hesitant to live the life of a twenty-first century teen…until she meets the infuriating—and infuriatingly handsome—surfer Austin Michaels. Austin challenges everything she believes in…and introduces her to a world filled with possibility.

With the clock ticking, Less knows she must live every moment of her modern life while she still can. But how will she return to the drab life of her past when the future is what holds everything she’s come to love?

A TALE OF TWO CENTURIES EXCERPT:

Without stopping or even slowing his stride, he grabs a map from a vendor and flips it open. “So Lethal Xperience is at the back of the park. We’ll hit that first and then make our way up to the front.”

He seems unaware that the length of his legs far exceeds my own. As I frantically attempt to match his stride, I must pant or wheeze because he finally looks down at me, no doubt pink-faced and wide-eyed both from the sensory overload surrounding us and my huffing at a near jog to stay beside him. He grins. “Try to keep up, Short Stuff.”

I grit my teeth with determination and somehow keep myself from muttering, Yes, Master. But the thought still makes me smile. Cat must be rubbing off.

We pass a circular ride filled with fake horses going up and down. Giggling and drooling children clap their adorable hands from their belted saddles while a spirited tune blares overhead. Just past that is a miniature roller coaster made to look like a giant, happy centipede. The child in the front seat waves to his mother as the cart dips, and his squeal of joy tails behind him. It’s too bad that not all roller coasters can be five feet tall.

Then I get a wicked idea.

Austin believes I am a child, naive and boring, and, it would seem, without any humor. This second challenge is supposed to be about fun, and nothing—not even the lead role in a prestigious play with a crowd of a thousand—will give me more joy than turning the tables on him, even if only for a moment.

Looking back at the children’s ride, I grab Austin’s elbow and say innocently, “Is this not the roller coaster you are looking for?”

He stops rather abruptly and peers at me through squinted eyes. “You know, it’s like you look normal…” He trails off and shakes his head. He points a long tan finger at the centipede ride and in a tone dripping with condescension explains, “Less, Arthropod Picnic is a kiddie ride. It’s made for pint-size ankle-biters ages three and under.”

I try my best to look disappointed. I do everything I can to contain my mounting delight. But after no more than a few brief moments, I let forth a victorious giggle.

Realization dawns on his face. “You think you’re funny, huh?”

When I nod, he chuckles. He leans back on his heels and lets his gaze travel over my body. Humor dissipates as my skin prickles to life. On Austin’s slow ascent back up, he pauses to look me in the eye and an emotion crosses his face. It’s so fleeting—gone and there in an instant—that I cannot catch it.

“So, you think you’re ready to play at the big girl table now.” The left side of his mouth kicks up in a grin. “We’ll just have to see about that.”

The apparent taunt and Austin’s added wink spur me on.

This is my chance to prove to him that I’m not the timid girl I once was. To prove to myself that I’m no longer the child of my youth but a woman ready for the future.

I sashay toward a person dressed as a shiny nugget of gold posing for pictures with children, feeling Austin watching me, his gaze on my every step like a physical touch. My legs feel wobbly under my skirt, but an energizing spark ignites in my blood. I glance over my shoulder, confirming I have his complete attention, and then with an outward shrug (and an inner dance), I reply with every ounce of confidence I can muster, “Yes. We will.”

Austin’s smile widens. The sounds and patrons of the park fade away, and it is as if we are the only two around. I don’t know what is happening…I scarcely even recognize myself in this moment. Being with Austin does that. It turns me into someone else.

And I like who I become.

I watch his slow saunter, my body poised with tension. I don’t know what is going to happen next, but I wouldn’t trade the delicious expectation for anything. Austin doesn’t stop until he is right in front of me, close enough that I have to look up to meet his demanding blue gaze, and so close that warmth fans across my face as he says in a low voice, “Careful, girl. You’re playing with fire.”

“I’ve been careful my whole life,” I tell him, surprising myself with the resentment ringing in my tone. But it’s the truth. “And you know, I think it’s about time for me to be a little…” I bite the corner of my bottom lip, searching for exactly the right word to describe the emotions and thoughts that have surfaced the last few days. When I find it, I smile and wiggle my eyebrows suggestively “Wild.”

Austin sucks in a breath. He searches my eyes and I boldly stare back, praying that he cannot see my knees shaking. Then, obviously concluding that I meant every word, he flashes his devilish grin. “I can work with that.”

About RACHEL HARRIS:

Rachel Harris grew up in New Orleans, where she watched soap operas with her grandmother and stayed up late sneak reading her mama’s favorite romance novels. Now a Cajun cowgirl living in Houston, she still stays up way too late reading her favorite romances, only now, she can do so openly. She firmly believes life’s problems can be solved with a hot, powdered-sugar-coated beignet or a thick slice of king cake, and that screaming at strangers for cheap, plastic beads is acceptable behavior in certain situations.

When not typing furiously or flipping pages in an enthralling romance, she homeschools her two beautiful girls and watches reality television with her amazing husband. Taste The Heat is her adult romance debut. She’s the author of MY SUPER SWEET SIXTEENTH CENTURY and A TALE OF TWO CENTURIES. She loves hearing from readers! Find her at www.RachelHarrisWrites.com.

Links
Website // Twitter // Facebook // Goodreads Author // A TALE OF TWO CENTURIES Goodreads //Entangled Website // Entangled Teen Facebook // Entangled Twitter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Divider

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Review: Taste the Heat by Rachel Harris

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Review2 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Taste the Heat by Rachel HarrisTaste the Heat by Rachel Harris
Series: Love and Games,
Also in this series: Seven Day Fiance, Accidently Married on Purpose
Published by Entangled Publishing on 08 July 2013
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 220
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Seven Day Fiance, Accidently Married on Purpose, The Fine Art of Pretending, You're Still the One, The Natural History of Us

Place(s) Traveled to: Magnolia Springs, Louisiana // New Orleans, Louisiana

First Line(s): When the bright red and white Taste the Heat banner fluttered in an abrupt and unseasonable gust of wind, then collapsed onto her head in an undignified heap, Colby Robicheaux figured it had to be an omen.

Just a few days ago I was saying how books with a widow/widower MC were a turn off for me so it might come as a surprise that shortly after that I found myself reading about one in Taste the Heat by Rachel Harris. Now, based on the synopsis its not entirely clear that the hero of this story is a widower but its not long before this is mentioned in the text of the book. You can be sure that there was an eye roll on my part and some serious consideration on putting this one aside. But I am trying to branch out more with my books so I decided to stay with it.

Overall, I enjoyed Taste the Heat and for the most part I liked the two main characters, Colby and Jason. Of the two though, Colby did annoy me the most. She was just a tad too stuck in the past sometimes and it affected her personality. She did start to get over some of her issues but it all just seemed to happen a bit too fast to be real. I know if a book that there isn’t a ton of time to accomplish things but it did feel a bit rushed. Her and Jason’s relationship also felt a bit rushed. Oh, it started off a good pace and then BAM! there was love and it almost gave me whiplash.

Taste the Heat also had a lot of secondary characters which can sometimes take away from the main story. Fortunately, in this book the secondary characters only add to the overall story. Jason’s daughter, Emma, was adorable and fun and Colby’s siblings also added some entertainment to the story. I’m also hopeful that the next two books in this series follow them.

Taste the Heat wasn’t a perfect story but it was a quick read and I read it in one sitting over a couple of hours. Its a fast paced contemporary that allows you to escape for a bit without requiring much thinking. Its a perfect brain candy/beach read when all you want to do is just hunker down with a book and forget the world around you. There is no super complex mystery or plot and while I often prefer more of a romantic suspense over a straight romance this one hit the spot right when I needed it. It was a nice distraction from everything going on in my life right now.

I enjoyed Rachel Harris’s writing and I do think that she’s an author to watch. I look forward to reading her two YA books and in seeing what she comes up with in the future for her more adult stories.

Love and Games Series Order
Book 1: Taste the Heat
Book 2: Her Fake Fiance (Oct 2013)

Book 3: Untitled (Early 2014)

Related Posts: Learn about the setting of Taste the Heat

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Guest Post + Contest: Rachel Harris Talks About the Setting for Taste the Heat

Posted by Irish in Blog Tour, Contest, Guest Post, Travel Log8 Comments

Greetings and Salutations lovely people of the interwebs!!

How are you on this fine Wednesday? I am well and trying to get back into the swing of this blogging thing after a heat wave (and busy life) sucked out my will to blog. I was going over my calendar over the weekend and realized that during my unexpected hiatus that I missed a blog tour post – totally my fault too. I really should schedule these things when I get the info from the publicist. But hindsight is 20/20 and my guilt meter is on high. I also didn’t want this fabulous post to go to waste since Rachel spent a lot of time writing it and I think that what she says about the setting of her book really embodies what I love about reading. That transportation through the page to a whole other world. Here is what she has to say about it:

Setting. Y’all, I have to admit as an author and as a proud bookaholic, setting makes all the difference for me when it comes to books. I love losing myself in a different place. I love picturing it, being able to imagine what it sounds like, smells like, looks like, and my favorite, tastes like. I try to bring the setting to life in every book I write, and I have to admit one of my favorite compliments readers give me is that they want to visit the places my stories take place.

Taste the Heat, setting is not only an important part of the story, and one of my favorites…the setting is almost its own character.

Magnolia Springs is a fictional small town on the outskirts of New Orleans. I grew up in Marrero, a factual suburb of New Orleans, and I’ve always wanted to write a book set in my hometown. A place that has so much life and culture and history…and a place so often misrepresented by mass media.

(Our accents? We don’t sound like southern belles, y’all. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had my Yankee friends in hysterics when I “axe” them something.)

New Orleans, or Nawlins as I call it, is about family. It’s about food. And it’s about laughter. We tease, we love, and we eat. That’s us in a nutshell. We love our Saints, we love our seafood, and we love our superstitions. We find it completely acceptable behavior to beg and fight over cheap plastic beads under certain conditions, and we love our breakfast treats caked in powdered sugar. But there’s also a heart and a determination and a deep faith that I haven’t found anywhere else. And that’s what I want people to know.

When I sat down to write Taste the Heat, I decided to write more than a love story between two people. I wanted it to show the deep loving family connections that are so vital to our community. I wanted to honor the people that raised me, the culture that made me the woman I am today.

Taste the Heat is not just Colby and Jason’s story. It’s a love letter to the people of New Orleans.

So, dear fantabulous reader, it’s my hope that as you read this fun and sexy romance, you fall in love with Jason Landry. That you laugh out loud and swoon like crazy. That you find yourself craving Cajun food. And if at the end you find that you’ve also learned a little more about my hometown, I’ll call it a success.

TASTE THE HEAT Synopsis:


One sexy fire captain. One Cajun chef. One combustible kitchen…

When chef Colby Robicheaux returned home to New Orleans to save her family restaurant, the last person she expected to reconnect with was her brother’s best friend and her childhood crush. As tempting as a sugar-coated beignet, Jason is one dish she can’t afford to taste. Colby can’t wait to leave the place where her distrust of love and commitment originated and go back to Vegas.

Fire captain Jason Landry isn’t looking for love, either. Disillusioned by his past, he knows he should be focusing on finding the perfect mother for his daughter. But when he first sees Colby, all grown up and gorgeous, he can’t help but be drawn to her. And when she suggests a no-strings-attached fling, Jason can’t say no.

As their relationship grows more intense, Colby finds that Jason isn’t as easy to leave behind as she thought. Could turning up the heat on something real be worth the possibility of getting burned?

Rachel Harris Bio:

Rachel Harris grew up in New Orleans, where she watched soap operas with her

grandmother and stayed up late sneak reading her mama’s favorite romance novels. Now a Cajun cowgirl living in Houston, she still stays up way too late reading her favorite romances, only now, she can do so openly. She firmly believes life’s problems can be solved with a hot, powdered-sugar-coated beignet or a thick slice of king cake, and that screaming at strangers for cheap, plastic beads is acceptable behavior in certain situations.

When not typing furiously or flipping pages in an enthralling romance, she homeschools her two beautiful girls and watches reality television with her amazing husband. Taste The Heat is her adult romance debut. She’s the author of MY SUPER SWEET SIXTEENTH CENTURY and A TALE OF TWO CENTURIES. She loves hearing from readers! Find her at www.RachelHarrisWrites.com.

Links:
Website
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads Author
TASTE THE HEAT Goodreads
Entangled Website
Barnes & Noble
Amazon 

To make it up to Rachel for being late with this post, I will be giving away an ebook copy of not just her newest release, Taste the Heat, but also her other two books My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century and A Tale of Two Centuries. Just fill out the rafflecopter below and good luck to all who enter!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Be sure to check out these other fabulous stops on the Tour

July 7th
Between Fantasy & Reality
Fantasy Fairy

July 8th
All Romance Reviews

July 9th
Mostly YA Book Obsessed
Starbucks & Books Obsession

July 10th
A Book Lovers Review
Unforgettable Books

July 11th
Romancing Rakes
Every Free Chance Reader

July 12th
Always YA at Heart
Oops! I Read Again

July 13th
A Bookish Escape
Comfort Books

July 14th
Pink Fluffy Hearts
Brianna Lee Reviews

July 15th
Dazzled by Books
Library of a Book Witch

July 16th
ReaderGirls
Books Mystify

July 17th
Ticket to Anywhere
Tangled Up in Books

July 18th
Stuck in Books
The Cover Contessa

July 19th
Books, Coffee, & Wine
Refreshingly Riki

July 20th
Book Bitches Blog
Harlie’s Books

Divider