Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Patricia Briggs

Monday, October 7, 2013

Audio Review: River Marked by Patricia Briggs

Posted by Irish in 1 Star, Adult, Audiobook, Review2 Comments

Audio Review: River Marked by Patricia BriggsRiver Marked by Patricia Briggs
Narrator: Lorelei King
Series: Mercy Thompson,
Also in this series: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, Silver Borne
Published by Penguin Audio on 02 March 2011
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Length: 8 hours 54 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Goodreads
one-star
Also by this author: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, Silver Borne

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Tri-Cities, Washington // Columbia River Basin, Washington

First Line: Under the glare of streetlights, I could see the grass of Stefan’s front lawn was dried to yellow by the high summer heat.

Mercedes ‘Mercy’  Thompson Series Order
Prequel – Homecoming
Book 1 – Moon Called
Book 1.5 – Wolfsbane & Mistletoe (short story)
Book 2 – Blood Bound
Book 3 – Iron Kissed
Book 4 – Bone Crossed
Book 5 – Silver Borne
Book 6 – River Marked
Book 7 – Frost Burned
Book 8 – Night Broken (~2014)

I am not sure where to start in my review of River Marked because this series really went off the rails for me in a big way. I had listened/read the previous books and despite the high werewolf content I found myself enjoying them. I enjoyed the banter of Mercy with the Alpha wolves and how she was never afraid to get her hands dirty, no matter the risk. But this book, just failed in so many ways. Not the least of which I really felt lost in the beginning. I kept thinking that I had missed an entire book and found myself checking Silver Borne out of the library to double check that I hadn’t.

River Marked starts in the midst of wedding planning and I didn’t recall Adam ever proposing to Mercy. I think that would have been a pretty important scene given how commitment phobic Mercy was – even though she did go through with the bonding – although if I recall right she wasn’t a full participant in that initially. Also the whole wedding sequence was just so rushed and forced and I really think that Briggs missed the boat on that one. Especially since the rest of the story removes all the players that the reader has come to know and love and introduces a whole new set of characters.

This new set of characters gives a whole new insight to Mercy’s past and adds a ton of Indian mythological lore to the story line. But it fails to make any of it interesting  The lore was given in these large info dumps and I just couldn’t bring myself to care. I didn’t connect with any of the characters as I kept thinking that these were a one and done group. Why bother getting to know them if the odds of them returning are slim? Plus they just didn’t have interesting story lines. The whole book was just dry and boring and if I was reading it in print I would have DNF’d it long before reaching the end. Lorelei King is the only reason why I kept listening until the end.

The whole big mystery of the story also did little for me. It was just so over the top and makes me wonder if this series may have jumped the shark. Before I looked forward to a new Mercy Thompson book but now I am unsure on if I want to continue on with Frost Burned or not. For me this book was a big old no and not one that I can recommend. If you are a fan of the series then I might suggest you skip this one entirely and just move on with Frost Burned. 

one-star
Divider

Monday, September 30, 2013

Audio Review: Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Audiobook, Review1 Comment

Audio Review: Silver Borne by Patricia BriggsSilver Borne by Patricia Briggs
Narrator: Lorelei King
Series: Mercy Thompson,
Also in this series: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, River Marked
Published by Penguin Audio on 30 March 2010
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Length: 9 hours 8 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
four-stars
Also by this author: Iron Kissed, Bone Crossed, River Marked

 

Place(s) Traveled to: Tri-Cities, Washington

First Line: The starter complained as it turned over the old Buick’s heavy engine.

Mercedes ‘Mercy’  Thompson Series Order
Prequel – Homecoming
Book 1 – Moon Called
Book 1.5 – Wolfsbane & Mistletoe (short story)
Book 2 – Blood Bound
Book 3 – Iron Kissed
Book 4 – Bone Crossed
Book 5 – Silver Borne
Book 6 – River Marked
Book 7 – Frost Burned
Book 8 – Night Broken (~2014)

I don’t know what it is about the Mercy Thompson series but there is just something about it that keeps bringing me back over and over again. Considering that much of the series revolves around werewolves, which I don’t typically like, this is saying a lot. Silver Borne picks up not long after the events of Bone Crossed and while that one took us back into the pit of vampires this one brings back the fae. In this book we learn a lot more about the fae, about Mercy, and about werewolf politics as Mercy’s relationship heats up.

One thing that I love about an ongoing series is just how detailed the world becomes and how the secondary characters get more and more fleshed out as time goes on. No longer are any of the characters two dimensional but they all have pretty detailed back stories. And even though you only get to see them through Mercy’s eyes you can really get a sense of who they are.

What did drag this one down a bit for me was the whole side story with Samuel. It just seemed a bit forced when coupled with the larger mystery of the fae book/artifacts story line. His story could have been done all on its own, although I’m not sure how I’d feel about that either. How his story line, in this book, is wrapped up was also a bit much. It just seemed to contrived and convenient based on all that has come before with his story. But even with all that, Silver Borne, rates among my favorite for the overall series.

As with previous books, Silver Borne, is a fast paced story with lots of action to keep the reader engaged. Lorelei King continues to do a fabulous job bringing this large cast of characters to life and I find it so hard to read this series in print as I just love her narration. The only problem that I have with the audio is that I can’t just sit down and blitz through the story but it does make driving to/from work and errands so much more bearable. This is a fun series and if you are looking for something with long lasting appeal and don’t mind urban fantasy then you should check this one out.

four-stars
Divider

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review3 Comments

Review: Bone Crossed by Patricia BriggsBone Crossed by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson,
Also in this series: Iron Kissed, Silver Borne, River Marked
Published by Penguin Books, Publisher: Ace Books on 26 January 2010
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 287
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Iron Kissed, Silver Borne, River Marked

Place(s) Traveled to: Tri-Cities, Washington // Spokane, Washington

First Line: I stared at my reflection in the mirror. I wasn’t pretty, but my hair was thick and brushed my shoulders.

Mercedes ‘Mercy’  Thompson Series Order
Prequel – Homecoming
Book 1 – Moon Called
Book 1.5 – Wolfsbane & Mistletoe (short story)
Book 2 – Blood Bound
Book 3 – Iron Kissed
Book 4 – Bone Crossed
Book 5 – Silver Borne
Book 6 – River Marked
Book 7 – Frost Burned
Book 8 – Night Broken (~2014)

Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs is the fourth installment in her Mercedes Thompson series about werewolves, vampires, and other paranormal creatures. This book picks up moments after Iron Kissed ends and I was so glad I didn’t have to wait a year to learn what happened after that cliff hanger! In this book, the vampires are back. All of them. Our beloved Stefan, the evil queen of the sidhe, Marsilia and Wulf. They know what Stefan and Mercy did and now they are out for payback. Bone Crossed is filled with action and its the one and only time that Mercy listens to reason and runs away from a fight. But leave it to Mercy to find trouble in the place where she has gone to hide as the simple ghost haunting of an old friend turns out to be so much more. 

Things also heat up a bit between Mercy and Adam although due to his innate jealousy there are a couple of things that happen a bit more rapidly than Mercy or the wolf pack are ready for. But it doesn’t seem unnaturally fast and from a readers standpoint its a natural progression of events and only adds to the overall story of the pair and doesn’t take away from it. Though there were some times when I had to roll my eyes at some of the scenes between Stefan and Mercy which just seemed a tad bit forced. Her romantic world is complicated enough without added all that into the mix.

The story ARC was a decent one, though a bit convoluted at times, as a lot of the main action happened off the page and the subplot that became the main plot took over. Despite that the book proceeded in a realistic way – well, as realistic as a book with werewolves and vampires can be. I enjoyed reading and it didn’t take me long at all to whip through the story. Its a page turner and further cements my love for Mercy and the cast of characters that she surrounds herself with. There is also set up for the next book in the story, Silver Borne, which promises to close out some other lingering story lines. This is a fun series and one that continues to impress with its wit and action.

four-stars
Divider

Sunday, June 30, 2013

Audio Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Audiobook, Review6 Comments

Audio Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia BriggsIron Kissed by Patricia Briggs
Narrator: Lorelei King
Series: Mercy Thompson,
Also in this series: Bone Crossed, Silver Borne, River Marked
Published by Penguin Audio on 01 November 2009
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Length: 9 hours 11 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Bone Crossed, Silver Borne, River Marked

Place(s) Traveled to: Tri-Cities, Washington

First Line: “A cowboy, a lawyer, and a mechanic watched Queen of the Damned,” I murmured.

While searching my library’s digital catalog one day I stumbled on the audio of Iron Kissed by Patrica Briggs. I really enjoyed listening to the first book on audio and so deiced to DL it. This book picks up not long after Blood Bound ends and deals more closely with the Fae than the previous two books. What is missing however, if Mercy’s vampire friend Stefan. Though after the events of the previous book that’s not entirely unexpected.

I really liked learning more about Brigg’s version of the Fae which incorporates the various mythology that currently exists. Mercy has to navigate this treacherous rule where the Fae and lie without lying in order to free her former boss and friend Zee who is accused of murder. Mercy knows he didn’t do it and the Fae aren’t doing much to set him free so its up to Mercy and her friends to make sure the real murderer is brought to justice.

As with the previous books there is a good overall mystery ARC with a few twists and turns to keep the reader on their toes. Mercy also makes a choice in this book for which I am thankful because I am not a huge fan of love triangles. But what I hate more is a love triangle without end (*coughs*Stephanie Plum*coughs*). Though I don’t like how this one was resolved. I like the choice and think that it was pretty clear from the start just how it would go. Its the how it happened because it really wasn’t Mercy making a choice it all just sort of happened. So that was a bit of a disappointment but I am looking forward to seeing how things go between Mercy and her man.

The overall plot was really good and I enjoyed getting to know the various characters a bit more. There is a cliff hanger ending that would have driven me a bit mad if I didn’t have the next book available. Iron Kissed is also darker in some ways that the previous books and Mercy is really put through the ringer. There will definitely be some mental fallout that she has to deal with and that won’t be easy. It will also probably carry over into other books because if she heals quickly from this than it will just break the false reality of the story.

Iron Kissed isn’t a perfect book but there is enough entertainment contained within its pages that its easy to overlook the flaws. I also really love to listen to this series on audio as the narrator, Lorelai King, does an excellent job with all the voices. There is never any doubt as to who is speaking when. And her style is just perfect for history major, turned mechanic Mercy Thompson. King has become these characters and I can’t think of any other narrator who could do a better job.

four-stars
Divider