Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Jay Crownover

Monday, May 16, 2016

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Charged by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Blog Tour, Contest, Excerpt, Review1 Comment

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Charged by Jay Crownover

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Charged by Jay CrownoverCharged by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver, Book 2
Also in this series: Leveled
Published by William Morrow on 24 May 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 361
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Built

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado

First Line(s): Don’t worry, Sprite, bad decisions always make for good stories…

CHARGED is the newest book in Jay Crownover’s Saints of Denver series and involves characters that we’ve met in this series and also in Crownover’s Marked Men books. Avett is the daughter of the man who used to own the Bar that Rome (my review) now owns and Quaid is the lawyer who helped Asa (my review) out when he got in too deep. CHARGED is the quintessential opposites attract story with the very uptight straight laced lawyer falling for the girl who can’t seem to stay out of trouble. They meet when Quaid is hired to help Avett when she’s arrested as a result of the events that happened in ASA. Avett is one of those characters that I’ve been interested in since she first walked across the page because she just seemed in desperate need of a HEA so I was excited to read her story. However, for me, she went from being an interesting character to one that annoyed me at every turn.

Like most broken characters, Avett has a tragic backstory but I don’t buy her actions that result from it. She claims that she’s trying to redeem herself for the mistakes of her past and yet she only continues on her path of self-destruction. If someone was truly on a path of redemption then wouldn’t they be trying to become better than they were and not continue to make poor choices? Although if she didn’t then she may not have encountered Quaid as they don’t come anywhere close to running in the same circles even though Quiad is friends with people who are part of her circle.  One thing I did like is the growth that both Quaid and Avett went through over the course of the novel as they each found a way to bring balance and stability into their lives.

CHARGED - Tour Teaser 2

CHARGED is more than just a boy meets girl love story and while I often love romances that have a little meat on their bones this one just seemed a little too over the top. I also wasn’t a fan of the random POV that happened at the 80% mark. There was absolutely no reason for it and it didn’t add anything to the story. All it did was set up a character for the next book to come, a character which was already introduced in the Marked Men series and so really didn’t need a POV chapter here. Especially since, to date, Crownover has stuck with POVs just from her hero and heroine. To me, this just distracted me and took me out of the story as it just didn’t fit.

Overall, CHARGED was just an ok read for me. It was a book that I wanted to love as I often love Crownover’s characters but Avett just annoyed me too much. CHARGED is a quick read and I know that it is going to appeal to many readers. I know I am picky and can be hard on books so what bothers me is sure to not be an issue for other readers. If you are a fan of Jay Crownover then pick up CHARGED you will probably like it.

irishdarkblue

From New York Times bestselling author Jay Crownover comes CHARGED, the latest in her sexy The Saints of Denver Series, releasing May 24th! Known for her strong heroines and alpha males, you won’t know what hit you as you read Avett and Quaid’s story. Keep reading for more about the Leagle Eagle and Avett and order your copy today.

Excerpt

Avett

                I blew out a breath and felt that bottom I had careened onto reach up to embrace me even tighter. “It is what it is. I’ve let both my folks down a lot over the last few years but getting caught up with a guy that would rob the bar, a guy who could threaten my dad’s people.” I shook my head. “I deserve to rot.”

                I was being overly dramatic but that’s how I felt. I deserved to sit in jail and so much worse than that. Self-pity was good company down here at rock bottom and I wasn’t ready to let go of the warmth it provided just yet.

                He gave me a look I couldn’t read and headed for the door. “I’ll call your parents for you and see if we can have something in place before tomorrow. Working on your case will be a lot easier for both of us if you aren’t incarcerated. Remember, you need to listen to me, Ms. Walker. That’s the first rule in all of this.”

                Panic hit me like a truck. What if he called my dad and my dad told him he’d had enough of his problematic daughter and her endless nonsense? What if he couldn’t love me anymore? Jail I could survive; losing my father for good, well, it would be the end of me.

                Without thinking I jumped to my feet, which had the chains on both my hands and my legs rattling loudly, and two uniformed officers hurried into the room. I was about to make maybe the worst decision to date but I couldn’t stop the words from sliding off my tongue.

                “Don’t call my dad!” Recklessness, thy name was Avett Walker.

                The attorney turned around and looked at me like I had grown a second head. He didn’t say anything as the officers moved to either side of me and told me to calm down.

                “You can’t call my dad.” The words sounded as panicked and as desperate as I felt on the inside.

                His broad shoulders lifted and fell in a shrug like he really couldn’t give a shit that he was about to ruin my life…which was saying a hell of a lot considering where I was.

                “I have to.” He sounded bored and impatient with my outburst.

                I narrowed my eyes at him, and that vortex of awful, which I always seemed to be smack dab in the center of, started to spin faster and faster around me.

                “Then you’re fired.” I saw the cops exchange a look and my rushed words had the blond man turning fully back around to look at me. “I don’t want your help. I don’t want anything from you.”

                Finally, there was something other than indifference in his gaze. There was surprise, maybe a hint of admiration colliding with a huge splash of humor in the pale depths.

                “Sorry, Ms. Walker, but you didn’t hire me, so that means you don’t get to fire me.” That grin of his, which should be registered as a deadly weapon, flashed across his face again as he watched me, and then he was gone.

 

Amazon ** iBooks ** Barnes & Noble ** Kobo

About CHARGED:

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Marked Men books comes the second installment in the Saints of Denver series featuring a bad girl and a by the book attorney who could be her salvation…or her ruin.

Avett Walker and Quaid Jackson’s worlds have no reason to collide. Ever. Quaid is a high powered criminal attorney as slick as he is handsome. Avett is a pink-haired troublemaker with a bad attitude and a history of picking the wrong men.

When Avett lands in a sea of hot water because of one terrible mistake, the only person who can get her out of it is the insanely sexy lawyer. The last thing on earth she wants to do is rely on the no-nonsense attorney who thinks of her as nothing more than a nuisance. He literally has her fate in his hands. Yet there is something about him that makes her want to convince him to loosen his tie and have a little fun…with her.

Quaid never takes on clients like the impulsive young woman with a Technicolor dye job. She could stand to learn a hard lesson or two, but something about her guileless hazel eyes intrigues him. Still, he’s determined to keep their relationship strictly business. But doing so is becoming more impossible with each day he spends with her.

As they work side-by-side, they’ll have to figure out a way to get along and keep their hands off each other—because the chemistry between them is beyond charged.

 

CHARGED - Tour Teaser 1

 

 

And don’t miss the first titles in The Saints of Denver Series!

 

LEVELED - cover

LEVELED

 

Studio portrait of young bearded man --- Image by © pinkypills/Corbis

BUILT

 

 

Jay Crownover - author picAbout Jay Crownover:

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men, The Point, and the Saints of Denverseries. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

 

 

 

Website ** Blog ** Facebook ** Twitter

CHARGED Goodreads ** Jay Crownover Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Contest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Stops

CHARGED Review & Excerpt Tour

May 16th

Ramblings From This Chick – Review & Excerpt

BJ’ S Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

2 Girls & Their Kindles – Review & Excerpt

She Hearts Books – Review & Excerpt

Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom – Review & Excerpt

Reading Between the Wines Book Club – Excerpt

BookWorm221 – Review & Excerpt

Red Hot + Blue Reads – Review & Excerpt

Three Little Birds Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Gemma Reads Too Much – Review & Excerpt

Read more sleep less – Review

Ticket to Anywhere – Review & Excerpt

May 17th

Never Judge a Book by its Cover – Review & Excerpt

The Book Disciple – Review & Excerpt

Desert Divas Book Addiction – Review & Excerpt

Literati Literature Lovers – Review & Excerpt

BFF Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Hot Guys in Books – Review & Excerpt

This Wacky Momma reads! – Review & Excerpt

The Rambling Book Junke – Review & Excerpt

A Reader Who Reads – Excerpt

Books to Breathe – Review & Excerpt

Disheveled Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

May 18th

The Book Bellas – Excerpt

HotPressedBooks – Review & Excerpt

The Book Reading Gals – Excerpt

Books by Migs – Review & Excerpt

Emilie’s Book World – Review & Excerpt

Dirty Birdie Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Pages Abound – Review & Excerpt

NC 2 DC – Review & Excerpt

kimberlyfaye reads – Review & Excerpt

The Book Maven – Review & Excerpt

Julalicious Book Paradise – Review & Excerpt

The Dirty Book Girls – Review & Excerpt

May 19th

Ineffable Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Much Loved Books – Review

Reading is Sexy – Review & Excerpt

Pretty Sassy Cool – Review & Excerpt

About That Story – Excerpt

An Asian Chick & Her Cat Walk into a Book Blog – Review

Shanoff Says… – Review & Excerpt

Krista’s Dust Jacket – Review & Excerpt

Home. Love. Books. – Review

Girls With Books – Review & Excerpt

Milky Way of Books – Review & Excerpt

Rachel Reads Ravenously – Review

May 20th

Naughty and nice book blog – Review & Excerpt

Take Me Away To A Great Read – Excerpt

Waiting For Wentworth – Review & Excerpt

TjLovesToRead – Review & Excerpt

Zili in the Sky – Review & Excerpt

From the TBR Pile – Review & Excerpt

Jack of All Trades, Master of None – Review & Excerpt

Typical Distractions – Review & Excerpt

Blog of Books – Review & Excerpt

Belle of the Literati – Review

Lea’s Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Crazii Bitches Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

This is the Story of My(Reading) Life – Review & Excerpt

May 21st

Random Book Muses – Review

Morning Books and Coffee – Review

Dark Faerie Tales – Review & Excerpt

three chicks and their books – Review & Excerpt

Ali’s Reviews and More – Review & Excerpt

Little Red’s Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Book Angel Booktopia – Review & Excerpt

Andi’s ABCs – Review & Excerpt

StarAngels Reviews – Review & Excerpt

We stole your book boyfriend – Review & Excerpt

City of Fandoms – Review & Excerpt

Natasha is a Book Junkie – Review

May 22nd

Best Book Boyfriends – Review & Excerpt

The Bookworms Obession Blog – Review

Bookcrack – Review

Bookaholics Not-So-Anonymous – Review & Excerpt

Words of Wisdom from The Scarf Princess – Review & Excerpt

Guiltyindulgencebookclub – Review & Excerpt

Cocktails and Books – Review & Excerpt

Ceres Books World – Review

Reese’s Reviews – Review & Excerpt

May 23rd

Lazy Book Lovers – Review

People Like Books – Review & Excerpt

The Book Lovers Codex – Review & Excerpt

Tash – Review & Excerpt

Obsessive Book Nerd – Review

Under the Covers – Review & Excerpt

Princess Reads – Review & Excerpt

Shelf_life – Review & Excerpt

The Bookmark Blog – Review & Excerpt

The Phantom Paragrapher – Review

May 24th

RELEASE WEEK BLITZ!

May 25th

Escaping Into Books – Review & Excerpt

Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

True Story Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Lili’s Books – Review & Excerpt

Two Book Pushers – Review

Book Sojourner – Review & Excerpt

Reviews by Tammy & Kim – Review & Excerpt

Romance Addict Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Babbling Chatter Reads – Review & Excerpt

Rentastic Reads – Review

Smut Book Junkie Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Total Book Geek – Review & Excerpt

My Girlfriend’s Couch – Review & Excerpt

The Book Avenue – Review & Excerpt

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Excerpt

Nose Stuck in a Book – Review & Excerpt

May 26th

RELEASE WEEK BLITZ!

May 27th

Mistress of Romance – Review & Excerpt

Live Read and Breathe – Review

The Revolving Bookcase – Review & Excerpt

Red Cheeks Reads – Review & Excerpt

The Romance Reviews – Review

BFD Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

lyssagabriellee_books – Review

Read-Love-Blog – Review & Excerpt

Renee Entress’s Blog – Review & Excerpt

Lucie Lu’s Book Reviews – Review

Oh My Shelves – Review

I Heart Books – Review & Excerpt

InkSlinger PR - blogger banner

three-stars
Divider

Friday, January 8, 2016

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Built by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in Adult, Blog Tour, Contest, Excerpt, Review1 Comment

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Built by Jay Crownover

Blog Tour Review + Excerpt: Built by Jay CrownoverBuilt by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver
Also in this series: Leveled, Charged
Published by William Morrow on 05 January 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friends to Lovers, Friendship, Love & Romance, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado // Lakewood, Colorado

First Line(s): I met her at a bar.

My truth. I have been looking forward to BUILT since before Jay Crownover even made the announcement for it. That is because the moment that the character of Zeb was first introduced I wanted to know more about him. And not just Zeb because I loved how he and Sayer interacted from their very first meeting in ROWDY (my review.) So it should come as no surprise that the moment BUILT landed in my hands I picked it up and started to read it and I didn’t stop until I was done. I devoured Zeb and Sayer’s story and just couldn’t put it down. BUILT is the sort of book that should come with a label because it totally kept me up long past my bedtime but it was totally worth it.

Even though there were times when I may have wanted to shake some sense into Sayer. Yet, even as I wanted to shake her, I found Sayer to be one of the most self aware characters in a romance book. All too often the characters aren’t aware of how contrary they are being but Sayer did and she also took steps to figure out what she truly wanted. Not just that but she took steps to heal what was broken before trying to build something with Zeb. This made their relationship all the more real and as a result made this poor reader heart ache all the more because all I wanted was for them to find their happily ever after as quickly as possible.

Built Quote

BUILT wasn’t just a heart achy read it was also filled with some light hearted moments that brought a smile to my face. I also liked how BUILT wasn’t just all boy meets girl they go through angst and then they fall in love. There is this amazing, heart breaking, heart uplifting, and beautiful story within these pages. I love ever facet of the diamond in the rough that is Zeb that we get to see. I adore how he is with Sayer and with those around him. With this book book, Zeb has totally become my favorite book boyfriend from Jay Crownover’s books. The story of Zeb and Sayer is just everything a reader could want in a book and more.

BUILT is a book that I am sad that I can’t read it again for the first time but I know that I will enjoy each and every re-read that I do (and may have already done.) I am so excited to stay in this part of Denver with this new series of Crownover’s and can’t wait to see the other stories that she writes. I just hope that we are able to get more cameos from Zeb and the other Marked Men boys because I with each last page in a book the good-byes get harder and harder. So that is my truth. I loved BUILT. I loved Sayer. And I most definitely loved Zeb. And I think that if you give him a shot that you will love him too.

irishdarkblue

IR - Built

Add Rock with Me by Kristen Proby to Goodreads. (Click here for my review.)

Add Changing His Game by Megan Erickson to Goodreads. (Review to come.)

 

Excerpt

 

“One battle at a time, Zeb. That’s all we can tackle, okay?”

He was quiet for a long moment, but I could hear him breathing and then finally he grunted a little bit and replied, “Well, then the battle I need to tackle right now is those god-awful walls. Thank you for talking me off the ledge. It’s impossible not to hope for the best when I talk to you.”

Maybe it was the overwhelming quiet of my house or it was the wistfulness in his voice. Or maybe it was really the fact that no matter how hard I tried to keep a clear divide between the two of us, I was always going to be too eager to cross over it when an opportunity presented itself. Like a goddamn fool.

Calling myself every kind of name there was in the book, I blurted out, “I’m not doing anything tonight, and Poppy went out with Rowdy, so if you need an extra set of hands to help with the paint I can swing by the house.” I wanted to groan. I was the least handy person in the whole world and I don’t think I had ever even held a paintbrush, but the idea of getting to spend some one-on-one time with him was just so tempting that I ignored all of that and secretly hoped he would ignore it, too.

He chuckled a little. “Are you serious?”

I shrugged even though he couldn’t see it. “Sure. Why not?”

“Well, I’m not going to turn down free labor, especially when that free labor looks like you. Do you even own anything that you won’t be pissed to get paint on, Say? What I do tends to get dirty.” His voiced dropped a little bit and there was a husky timbre to the words that made me shiver.

There was a double entendre there that was impossible to miss and it made all of my skin heat up from the inside out. Not to mention no one had ever shortened my name before. I wasn’t exactly the cutesy nickname type. My father wouldn’t have approved and as such I was always just “Sayer.” Zeb’s shortening my name felt intimate. It felt far more familiar than I should be allowing myself to get with him. Still I didn’t say anything other than “I’m sure I can find something.”

Tour Stops

December 28th

Reading is
Sexy
– Review & Excerpt

RentasticReads – Review & Excerpt

StuckInBooks – Review & Excerpt

Little Red’s Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Addicted to Happily Ever After – Review & Excerpt

kimberlyfaye reads – Review & Excerpt

December 29th

Bookcrack – Review

Ramblings From This Chick – Review

V’s Reads – Review & Excerpt

three chicks and their books – Review & Excerpt

Desert Divas Book Addiction – Review & Excerpt

Lili’s Books – Review & Excerpt

December 30th

Lustful Literature – Review & Excerpt

Zili in the Sky – Review & Excerpt

Red Hot + Blue Reads – Review & Excerpt

Biblio Belles – Review & Excerpt

Mustreadbooksordie – Review & Excerpt

Book Freak – Review & Excerpt

A Bookish Escape – Review & Excerpt

December 31st

The Book Maven – Review & Excerpt

She Hearts Books – Review & Excerpt

Lazy Book Lovers – Review

Reese’s Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Naughty and nice book blog – Review & Excerpt

January 1st

Books to Breathe – Review & Excerpt

Random Book Muses – Review & Excerpt

Under the Covers – Review & Excerpt

Holly’s Hot Reads – Review & Excerpt

Cocktails and Books – Review & Excerpt

January 2nd

Bewitching bibliophile – Review & Excerpt

Much Loved Books – Review & Excerpt

Dark Faerie Tales – Review & Excerpt

The Book Disciple – Review & Excerpt

Live Read and Breathe – Review & Excerpt

Smokin’ Hot Reads Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

January 3rd

People Like Books – Review & Excerpt

The Flare Up – Review & Excerpt

Gemma reads too much – Review & Excerpt

Read Love Blog –Review & Excerpt

KT Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

i love lady porn – Review & Excerpt

January 4th

Red Cheeks Reads – Review & Excerpt

Krista’s Dust Jacket – Review & Excerpt

Jenuine Cupcakes – Review

Book Angel Booktopia – Review & Excerpt

Never Judge a Book by its Cover – Review & Excerpt

Book Sojourner – Review & Excerpt

January 5th

Echoing Books – Review & Excerpt

oh the book feels – Review & Excerpt

Reviews by Tammy & Kim – Review & Excerpt

An Asian Chick & her cat Walk into a Book Blog – Review

TLBC’s Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

January 6th

Obsessive Book Nerd – Review

The Bookworms Obsession – Review

Total Book Geek – Review & Excerpt

True Story Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Literati Literature Lovers – Review & Excerpt

January 7th

The Revolving Bookcase – Review

Two Book Pushers – Review & Excerpt

BFD Book Blog – Review &
Excerpt

The Fairest of All Book Reviews – Review & Excerpt

Hot Guys in Books – Review & Excerpt

January 8th

Nose Stuck in a Book – Review & Excerpt

Book Babes Unite – Review

Renee Entress’s Blog – Review & Excerpt

BJ’s Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

Shelf_Life – Review & Excerpt

Ticket to Anywhere – Review & Excerpt

January 9th

Nuggets from a Book Nerd – Review & Excerpt

Krissy’s Book Nook – Review & Excerpt

Tar Heel Bibliobabe – Review

pbc – Excerpt

From the TBR Pile – Review & Excerpt

Romance Addict Book Blog – Review & Excerpt

 

BUILT - Tour Teaser 1

 

 

About BUILT:

From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men books comes an electrifying new spin-off series,Saints of Denver, featuring all the characters fans have been dying to read about.

Sayer Cole and Zeb Fuller couldn’t be more different. She’s country club and fine-dining, he’s cell-block and sawdust. Sayer spends her days in litigation, while Zeb spends his working with his hands. She’s French silk, he’s all denim and flannel.

Zeb’s wanted the stunning blonde since the moment he laid eyes on her. It doesn’t matter how many smooth moves he makes, the reserved lawyer seems determinedly oblivious to his interest—either that or she doesn’t return it. Sayer is certain the rough, hard, hot-as-hell Zeb could never want someone as closed off and restrained as she is, which is a shame because something tells her he might be the guy to finally melt her icy exterior.

But just as things start to heat up, Zeb is blindsided by a life altering moment from his past. He needs Sayer’s professional help to right a wrong and to save more than himself. He can’t risk what’s at stake just because his attraction to Sayer feels all consuming. But as these opposites dig in for the fight of their lives, battling together to save a family, the steam created when fire and ice collide can no longer be ignored.

BUILT - Tour Teaser 2

 

And don’t miss the previous novella in The Saints of Denver Series!

LEVELED - cover

LEVELED

 

Jay Crownover - author picAbout Jay Crownover:

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men and The Point series. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

 

 

 

 

Website ** Blog ** Facebook ** Twitter

BUILT Goodreads ** Jay Crownover Goodreads

Contest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

InkSlinger Blogger banner
four-stars
Divider

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Review: Leveled by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Leveled by Jay CrownoverLeveled by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver,
Also in this series: Charged
Published by William Morrow on 02 November 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, GLBT, Illnesses & Injuries, Love & Romance, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Short Story / Novella
Pages: 224
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss, Publicist
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado

First Line(s): Leveled. Laid out. Knocked sideways. Flattened and collapse. Breathless and stunned.

LEVELED by Jay Crownover is a novella that is billed as a bridge between her two series, Marked Men and The Saints of Denver. Although I do think that BUILT makes a better bridge based on how close those main characters were to the characters in Marked Men I just have to shrug and sort of accept this explanation. For when I first learned that Crownover was sticking around Denvery, so to speak, I was hoping that Dom and Lando would get a story. Those who have read the Marked Men books may remember these two, Dom is Royal’s (ASA, my review) good friend and Lando knew Rule’s (RULE, my review) twin brother Remy. (Hmm…Perhaps the bridge comes because RULE was the first book in Marked Men and ASA was the last.) Anywho, Dom and Lando meet when Rule, through Royal, helps get Dom into Lando’s physical therapy program as he’s recovering from an on the job accident. There is instant attraction and angst and heart achy feels that have you flipping the pages to see how things will work out.

As with all novellas, I wish that this one had been longer as I would have loved to have seen more of Lando and Dom’s families in the books. What little we did see had me smiling and wondering just how much better this could have been. I did enjoy this book but just felt that something was missing because we didn’t have a ton of time to develop the relationship between these characters. And then there was the dreaded epilogue. I always say that I won’t read them but then I do and always end up being disappointed and this one was no exception. It was just so vague and abstract and I would have preferred to have more pages of Lando and Dom in the now then in this weird time in the future that really doesn’t add anything to the story.

As a bridge between the two series I don’t really think LEVELED fits as Dom and Lando make such small cameos in each but as an introduction to Crownover’s writing and this world I think that this novella works. Its a quick read and Lando and Dom had some great chemistry. I’m glad I read this book and while I’ll always want more I do hope that we get to see more of this duo in the Saints of Denver series.

irishdarkblue

Leveled Quote
three-stars
Divider

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Blog Tour Review + Contest: Asa by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, New Adult, Review2 Comments

Blog Tour Review + Contest: Asa by Jay Crownover

Blog Tour Review + Contest: Asa by Jay CrownoverAsa by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men,
Also in this series: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Rowdy
Published by William Morrow on 21 April 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, New Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Leveled, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado // Louisville, Kentucky

First Line(s): Not too long ago when I watched a girl purposely get as drunk as this pretty one did, I would’ve moved in for the kill.

With the release of Asa, Jay Crownover’s Marked Men comes to a close and it was with mixed feelings that I started this book as I wasn’t ready to leave this world or these characters. (Even with all their crazy, cooky, totally out there names.) We first meet Asa in Jet (my review) as he is Ayden’s older brother and a bit of an ass, if I’m honest. But over the course of the series you see Asa start to change and become more redeamable as he leaves his criminal ways behind him to try and make a better life. Along the way he also meets Royal, Saint’s (Nash Review) neighbor and friend and they are often tossed together as they have the same group of friends. Asa, thinking he’s not good enough for Royal since he’s a reforming criminal and she’s a cop. Royal, on the other hand, has other ideas.

Overall, I did enjoy Asa and Royal’s story but its not my favorite in the series. There was just a lot of back and forth going over the same issues again and again that it got old. Then there was their big dramatic, lets break up moment that was just so eye-roll inducing that it wasn’t funny. It was all another case that things would have been fine if they just talked about it and got it out into the open but instead its this long drawn out thing. Not to mention how crazy unrealistic the whole resolution of that matter was because there is no way that little seed won’t grate over time.

Asa Quote

Speaking of seeds, Asa is also filled with lots of seeds for other stories so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that Crownover has a spin off series in the works, currently titled The Saints of Denver. That will bring in some of the side characters that we’ve met over the course of the Marked Men books. Right now I have a pretty good idea of who most of the stories will be about so it will be interesting to see how right I am on that. I also think that Asa’s story may have been a better fit to kick off that series since this book never even visited the tattoo shop that played such a role in all the previous stories. Even the characters from the previous books weren’t as present in this one as the previous ones.

If you’ve enjoyed the Marked Men books then you will most like enjoy Asa as well. Its the sort of story and plot that I’ve come to expect from Crownover with a little random, over the top action thrown in for fun. There were definitely elements of this story I could have done without as I don’t think they added value to Asa and Royal’s story ARC but they don’t distract from it either so it could have been worse. The names still drive me nuts and I don’t think that will ever change. But despite that I will check out the spin off series and continue to read Jay Crownover’s books as they are like crack and I can’t get enough.

CLICK HERE TO READ AN EXCERPT FROM ASA!!!!

irishdarkblue

IR - Asa

 

Add The Shamless Hour by Sarina Bowen to Goodreads.

Add All Played Out by Cora Carmack to Goodreads. (Review on 04 May)

Tour Schedule

April 13

Book Angel Booktopia-Excerpt & Review
Love Between the Sheets-Review
Read This Hear That-Review
Resch Reads and Reviews-Review

April 14

Starbucks & Books Obsession-Review
Desert Divas Book Addiction-Review
Red Hot + Blue Reads-Excerpt & Review
Three Chicks & Their Books-Excerpt & Review

April 15

BCS Reviews-Review
Lustful Literature-Review
Sassy Divas Book Blog-Excerpt & Review
Lulo Fangirl-Excerpt

April 16

A Bookish Escape-Review
Works of Fiction-Review
Fiction Fangirls-Review
No BS Book Reviews-Excerpt & Review
Ramblings From This Chick-Review

April 17

A Literary Perusal-Review
Literati Literature Lovers-Excerpt & Review
Typical Distractions-Review
Becca the Bibliophile-Excerpt & Review

April 18

Made For You Book Reviews-Review
Ticket To Anywhere-Excerpt & Review
Belle of the Literati-Excerpt & Review

April 19

Holly’s Hot Reads-Review
Kimberlyfaye Reads-Excerpt & Review
Books, Chocolate & Lipgloss-Review

April 20

Novels on the Run-Review
FicWishes-Excerpt & Review
Give Me Books-Review
Stuck in Books-Excerpt & Review

April 21

Book Bitches Blog-Excerpt & Review
Prisoners of Print-Review
Krista’s Dust Jacket-Excerpt & Review
Waves of Fiction-Review

April 22

Book Starlets-Excerpt & Review
Red Cheeks Reads-Excerpt & Review
Vi3tabe-Review
Romance Addict Book Blog-Review

April 23

Jen in Bookland-Review
Stuck in YA Books-Excerpt & Review
Cocktails and Books-Excerpt & Review

April 24

Bestsellers & Beststellars-Review
Reading Between the Wines-Review
The Book Enthusiast-Excerpt & Review

April 25

Cruising Susan Book Reviews-Review
Nose Stuck in a Book-Excerpt & Review
The Book Lovers Codex-Review

April 26

Naughty and Nice Book Blog-Excerpt & Review
Once Upon A Twilight-Review
Grown Up Book Reviews-Excerpt

Contest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, November 29, 2014

Review: Rowdy by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Rowdy by Jay CrownoverRowdy by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men,
Also in this series: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Asa
Published by William Morrow on 21 October 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friends to Lovers, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, New Adult, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 416
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Asa, Leveled, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado // Boulder, Colorado // Loveless, Texas

First Line(s): I don’t have a lot of great memories from my childhood.

 

Rowdy by Jay Crownover is the latest installment in her Marked Men Series and involves Rowdy, a man with a mysterious past, and Salem a girl from that past. Rowdy was hurt badly in the past and as a result he’s never really had a serious relationship and one of the girls that hurt him was Salem’s younger sister, Poppy. Salem and Poppy were Rowdy’s neighbors when he lived in Texas and the daughters of the local preacher. Let’s pause for a moment and think about those names, Salem and Poppy…2 more strange names and ones that we’re supposed to believe belong to the daughters of a very religious family. I just don’t buy it. Add in the Sayer character that is introduced later on in this book and my eyes almost rolled out of my head. It just really takes me out of the story having all these crazy names as it just doesn’t seem plausible that not a single person in the Denver area would be named Jennifer or Ryan or something more common. Anywho back to the story.

Rowdy is jaded and aloof and Salem is determined to work her way back into his life. She feels that with just a couple weeks at a job in Denver that she’s proven that she has staying power. Even though she spent years as Rowdy’s neighbor before she left without a word. She’s a bit brash and demanding and I do get Rowdy wanting to have a little emotional distance between them. I also think that Rowdy’s walls come down a little too quickly to be real and I just didn’t believe in this story as much as I have others in the series. There was the influx of new characters that was a bit distracting as well as all these little subplots going on that offer hints of new stories but ones that won’t come as the next book, Asa, is currently scheduled to be the last of the Marked Men books. So why add in all the drama of a long lost best friend, a long lost love, and a long lost relation to the mix? It just gets a bit muddled.

For the most part I did enjoy Rowdy and Salem’s story but felt that we were told more than we were shown. Rowdy didn’t have the same emotional impact as others in the series as it didn’t seem to dive as deep. Rowdy was standoffish and wary of Salem and then in a blink he was head over heels in love. The subplots were also more of a distraction than an asset. It just stretch plausibility too much at times. Rowdy and Salem both annoyed me at times but I did enjoy all the cameos from the characters in the previous books. Rowdy is a quick read and I managed to read it in just a few hours once I really sat down with it. It was a good addition to the series but not one that will ever be a favorite of mine. It also made me look forward to Asa’s story more than I had been initially and I know that I will be sad to say goodbye to these characters. Crazy, unrealistic names and all.

 

irishdarkblue

 

 

Rowdy Quote
four-stars
Divider

Monday, June 23, 2014

Review: Better When He’s Bad by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, New Adult, Review3 Comments

Review: Better When He’s Bad by Jay CrownoverBetter When He's Bad by Jay Crownover
Series: Welcome to the Point,
Published by William Morrow Genres: Action & Adventure, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, New Adult, Social Issues
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: The Point, Unknown // Carlson, Unknown

 

First Line(s): There are very few things that can kill the buzz of postsex mellowness. Getting coldcocked in the side of the head by a pair of knuckles that felt like they were encased in steel ranks right at the top of my list.

 

I was so excited to receive a copy of Better When He’s Bad by Jay Crownover for I’d blitzed through her Marked Men series in no time and craved new writing. For me, Better When He’s Bad was a slow start as I didn’t like either of the main characters very much. Dovie was just a bit too much of a Mary Sue and Bax was a bit too much of an ass for most of the book. I get that he is not supossed to be that typical bad boy you see in books but in the end he really was that quintissential bad boy. He had a troubled past, trust issues, but was healed by the power of love from a good girl. *insert sigh over cliches here* The romance story line wasn’t bad, but it also wasn’t very realistic. I just never really bought Bax and Dovie as a couple or Bax’s transition from ‘never gonna love anyone’ to ‘i’ll do anything for dovie.’

Better When He’s Bad wasn’t just a romance though it was also a mystery and this is where things got a bit muddled. Most of the book was spent running around trying to track down Race (yes, this series has just as many strange names as the Marked Men books) who was Bax’s BFF, Dovie’s brother, and part of the reason that got Bax sent to jail five years prior. There is a mystery in figuring out just what happened five years ago and then in the present finding a way to stop the even bigger bad in the neighborhood who is after Bax, Race and Dovie – as she’s the one thing they two of them care about so she gets caught in the cross fire. Things were slow to be unveiled in this book and then it was bing bang boom big conflict and then it was all over. With the end result of the reader going huh? that happened fast.

For me, Better When He’s Bad was an ok read but there was so much time spent doing little to nothing and setting up the whole backstory that the story arc as a whole suffered. And things were not super finalized in this book either as there was also lots of set up (especially towards the end) for the next book in the series, Better When He’s Bold. Which will feature two characters we meet in this story and that I predicted when I was just 12% into the story. They whole storyline in fact was easy to predict and I think that is part of why I didn’t like this one as much as Crownover’s other series. In a straight romance, you know walking in that the boy & girl will meet, there will be attraction, then a conflict to drive a wedge between them, and then they’ll make up and find their HEA. Its a predictable formula but in a straight romance its not about the ending its the journey to get there. When you add in a mystery element then the mystery becomes the story and when that is easy to figure out I tend to get bored.

Better When He’s Bad wasn’t terrible but its not the Jay Crownover book that I’ll recommend when people are looking for some new adult. While I didn’t love the story I will read Better When He’s Bold because I do think that Crownover is a talented writer and I would probably read her grocery list if she published it.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Saturday, April 26, 2014

Review: Nash by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, New Adult, Review1 Comment

Review: Nash by Jay CrownoverNash by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men,
Also in this series: Rule, Jet, Rome, Rowdy, Asa
Published by William Morrow on 29 April 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Love & Romance, New Adult
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Rome, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado

First Line(s): High School…Not the best years of my life.

The moment I finished Rome by Jay Crownover I knew that I had to dive right into the next book Nash. As with the previous books in the series I devoured this one and once I started it I couldn’t put it down. I loved Nash and his backstory was so heartbreaking and just has you cheering him on to find his happily ever after. Saint on the other hand annoyed me at times at the assumptions she made and how she let one experience a dozen or so years ago define her whole life. Yes, people in high school can be cruel but what she thought she heard wasn’t the total earth shattering “I’ll never trust a boy ever again” sort of thing. But once I got past that aspect of her I did begin to like Saint and like her with Nash. In the end, they ended up being a good complement for each other.

In some ways, Nash is your typical New Adult story with broken and flawed characters who are looking to find some completion. Though in this case the one most broken isn’t the one that you might think. And that is where the similarities of your typical NA story end because the writing and the plot of the Marked Men novels is better than other NA stories that I’ve read. Nash has his entire world turned upside down in a single night and its then that he also becomes reaquainted with a girl from his past. In a world where girls on every other page are fawning and falling all over these boys Saint isn’t one. This makes for some interesting scenes between the two and the chemistry just sizzles off the page.

I loved Nash and how vulnerable he was compared to those around him. Oh the other Marked Men boy have their issues but there was always something that set Nash apart from them in the previous books. I loved getting into his head and seeing what made him tick. It broke my heart on numerous occasions when Saint would say and do something to hurt him. She wasn’t always the most likeable of characters in that way but she did make up for her hurts as the book went on. Their ending did seem a bit rushed but even with that Nash has been my favorite in this series so far.

The thing that bothered me most as I got to Nash was all the crazy out there names. If I were to go on this series alone I wouldn’t think that there was a single Bob or Mary in all of Colorado. I have nothing against creative names but its all just getting a bit ridiculous in these books. Even when preacher kids are mentioned they were named Poppy and Salem. There is even a Sunshine running around this town as well. Its just gotten to the point where I roll my eyes whenever a new character is mentioned as I know they’ll be called something outlandish and over the top. I’ve also started to rename some of the characters in my head to add a little bit of reality to this world.

Crazy names aside I am now going through some series Marked Men withdrawal and can not wait until the next book in the series which will feature Rowdy. Rowdy is a bit of an unknown in the series but I look forward to learning more about him and seeing the old gang again. The Marked Men books are ones that I highly recommend to those thinking about reading New Adult. They are total book crack for me and Jay Crownover is totally on my autoread list as a result.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Review: Rome by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Rome by Jay CrownoverRome by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men,
Also in this series: Rule, Jet, Nash, Rowdy, Asa
Published by William Morrow on 07 January 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Family, Friendship, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, New Adult, War & Military
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Jet, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado

First Line(s): Its my favorite thing ever to have all the people I love in one place at the same time.

Even though I was a little disappointed in Jet, I couldn’t wait to dive into Rome by Jay Crownover. We first meet Rome in Rule as he is Rule’s older brother and until the big secret in that book comes out he is the most steady and stable of all the characters in this series. Rome is an ex-marine and part of how he lost his way is the after effects of events in Afghanistan that left him injured and those under his command dead. He is lost, suffering from PTSD, and trying to deal with family secrets and so is a bit volatile and just makes your heart ache for him. His family know how he was before and believe that if they just let things slide that he’ll find his way again. Cora and Brite however continually call him on his crap with mixed results.

Cora is also a character we first meet at the start of the series and if the guys in the previous books could be called Bad Boys then she is the equivalent of the Bad Girl. She’s opinionated and tattooed and refuses to take crap from anyone. She’s almost a little too sharp around the edges at times but once you learn her backstory you can understand where she is coming from and how she is the way she is. And as such you can understand her better though I may not always agree with how she deals with it all. Although, with what Rome is dealing with he needs someone who isn’t afraid to be blunt and abrasive which is something that Cora can do well.

As with Rule and Jet, I read Rome in just a few hours. Once I started I couldn’t put it down and I needed to know what would happen next with not just with the central characters but with the secondary ones as well. One thing that I’ve enjoyed with the Marked men series is how Jay Crownover keeps all of her characters around with each successive story. They don’t just disappear or are barely mentioned but all have an integral part in the story to play. Although Nash does have a bigger part in this one than the others and a big part of that is probably because his story is the one that follows this.

I liked Rome, a lot. I liked his and Cora’s chemistry and I loved their story. I liked how life threw them both a curveball and how they managed to deal with it. This one was fast paced and filled with lots of heart-achy feel good feels. If you are thinking of trying New Adult then you should really check out the Marked Men series. Great writing, good stories, and odd names aside, lots of good romancy emotions.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider

Monday, April 21, 2014

Review: Jet by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Jet by Jay CrownoverJet by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men, Book 2
Also in this series: Rule, Rome, Nash, Rowdy, Asa
Published by William Morrow on 28 May 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, New Adult
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Rule, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado // Louisville, Kentucky

First Line(s): It was totally against everything I was supposed to be doing in my new life – to ask a really cute boy in a band to take me home.

Jet by Jay Crownover is the second book in her Marked Men series that started off with bad boy Rule. Jet is a long time friend of Rule and through him he meets Ayden who was Shaw’s roommate and who now lives with Jet and Cora. The story picks up about a year after the events in Rule and the disastrous night when Ayden and Jet almost hooked up but didn’t. Since then there has been a strained friendship between the two as the attraction is still there but neither are brave enough to act on it. I didn’t like Jet as much as Rule and a good part of that had to do with Ayden. She was just so selfish and judgmental and just annoyed me with the majority of her actions.

Nothing Jet did was good enough for Adyen and she wasn’t content in her own skin. She lived a life of secrets and lies and when things started to come out she panicked, lied some more, and  just made a has of everything. She breaks hearts without a care and then later on says that they are to blame when it was all Ayden’s drama and perceived drama. I just wanted to smack her upside the head more often than not and I really didn’t understand why those around her put up with all her bullshit. Ayden is not a girl to be content in life and only seemed to be happy when she was telling those around her what they needed to do to improve their lives.

I also didn’t get Ayden’s behavior around her older brother. The things she did for him and how she was always trying to save him. It just didn’t make sense since she was his younger sister. If she was older than I could have understood this protectiveness more but as she wasn’t I had a hard time wrapping my head around it. I also didn’t get how her mother was so useless and yet would then blame Ayden for her brother getting in trouble or how Ayden didn’t save him. Why was it all on Ayden’s shoulder when she was the baby in the family? And why did she put up with it when she really didn’t seem to care about those around her.

The saving grace of Jet was Jet himself who was a tortured sole and your heart just breaks when you learn his back story. He had a tough life growing up and its easy to see why his is the way he is. All you want is for him to be happy and you just hate how Ayden treats him throughout most of the book. I found it hard to believe in their HEA because of what a royal pain in the a$$ Ayden could be. Not just to Jet but also to her BFF Shaw and to her roommate and friend Cora. I always found it hard to understand why they would want to be around Ayden as she wasn’t all that fun to be around.

I did like the writing of this book and I read it just as quickly as Rule. The pacing and plotting were good. Even with the crazy side story line of Asa’s mob-like ties. I think that storyline kind of overpowered things a bit especially when you add in Jet’s side story as well. Overall I liked Jet but I didn’t love it and it probably won’t be a story that I revisit. Preferring instead to just revisit these characters (mostly Ayden) as secondary ones in other books.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Review: Rule by Jay Crownover

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, New Adult, Review4 Comments

Review: Rule by Jay CrownoverRule by Jay Crownover
Series: Marked Men,
Also in this series: Jet, Rome, Nash, Rowdy, Asa
Published by William Morrow on 22 October 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Love & Romance, New Adult
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Jet, Rome, Nash, Better When He's Bad, Rowdy, Asa, Leveled, Built, Charged

Place(s) Traveled To: Denver, Colorado // Brookside, Colorado

First Line(s): At first I thought the pounding in my head was my brain trying to fight its way out of my skull after the ten or so shots of Crown Royal I had downed last night, but then I realized the noise was someone storming around in my apartment. She was here, and with dread I remembered that it was Sunday.

Rule by Jay Crownover is the start of a new adult series called Marked Men and takes place in Denver, Colorado. Its also a book that was on my kindle and partially forgotten until another blogger friend began talking about it on twitter and instagram. I was intrigued and in need of a new distraction at the time and quickly fell into the crack that was this series. The first book is Rule and Shaw’s story and is filled with lots of emotional turmoil. Rule had a twin who died a few years prior to the start of the book and Shaw was Remy’s BFF and alleged girlfriend. She was close to the family as her home life wasn’t the best and after Remy’s death has taken it upon herself to keep Rule in the family. But its hard as they are all sorts of screwed up.

The story is fast paced and raw and I loved that even though Rule was your stereotypical bad boy (tattooed, man whore, et cetra) he was also more than the cliche. Just as Shaw was more that the good girl who would redeem the bad boy with her love. Shaw was every bit as broken as Rule just in different ways and when they got over their issues they were able to heal themselves and each other. There were some parts of the story that I could have done without, like the crazy ex-boyfriend, and it was far from perfect but at the time I read it Rule was a great escape novel. It kept me up past my bedtime and I feel in love with all of the characters. I was filled with a need to know more and so was really glad I was able to bounce to several books before I ran out of material.

I also could have done without the cryptic foreshadowing of events and random pointless details that seemed to appear at odd moments in the text. These things would take me out of the story for a few moments  but the characters are what kept pulling me back it. Rule was a heart-achy book for me and I hated when the Rule and Shaw placed barriers between them. Even though I know its sometimes easier to push someone away then to do with some harsh truths. Rule was a good story and a great addition to the New Adult genre as it takes the cliche of it and turns it around to makes it all its own. If you are looking for a new series to read then I highly recommend the Marked Men books.

irishdarkblue

four-stars
Divider