Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Heidi Joy Tretheway

Monday, October 3, 2016

Blog Tour Review: Say It Louder by Heidi Joy Trethway

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Adult, Blog Tour, Contest, Review0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Say It Louder by Heidi Joy Trethway

Blog Tour Review: Say It Louder by Heidi Joy TrethwaySay it Louder by Heidi Joy Tretheway
Series: Tattoo Thief,
Also in this series: Tattoo Thief, Tyler & Stella, Revenge Bound
Published by Self-Published on September 28, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, Performing Arts, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Pages: 246
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Tattoo Thief, Tyler & Stella, Revenge Bound

 

Place(s) Traveled To: New York, New York // Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

First Line(s): I’m shaking as I leave Tyler’s loft.

One band. Five love stories. Too many secrets.

We’ve been waiting a long time to find out how the band Tattoo Thief will deal with drummer Dave’s toxic ex—and the secrets she’s been collecting on everyone. It was worth the wait.

You don’t have to be a fan of the series to love a book that starts fast with a huge wow moment and then unpacks the band’s secrets. In fact, you don’t have to read the earlier books because each book is a different love story about a different member of the band.

 About Say it Louder:

I had a choice—dump my toxic girlfriend, or break up my band.

It should have been easy. But she’s been collecting dirt on all of us for years.

Just when I think I’ve hit rock bottom, a pink-haired street artist rocks my world. They call Willa “the Parking Lot Picasso.” I call her my refuge, my center, my last reason to hope.

When Willa’s life on the streets collides with a sudden spotlight on her art, I’ll stop at nothing to protect her. But when the spotlight turns on my secret shame, she might be my only salvation.

Review

SAY IT LOUDER is the long awaited sequel in Heidi Joy Tretheway’s Tattoo Thief series and it picks up almost immediately after REVENGE BOUND ends. We see Dave at a crossroads with the members of his band and the after effects of choices he makes from that meeting. Though its a decision that’s a long time in coming since readers are well aware of the toxicity that is Dave’s girlfried, Kristina. We also know that Kristina won’t go quietly though I did expect there to be more tension and drama from her. The scenes with Kristina just fell flat for me as did much of this book. Perhaps, because I’d been waiting for it for so long that my expectations were higher than they may have been and as a result SAY IT LOUDER just never really lived up.

As an installment in the series, I liked where SAY IT LOUDER went but just never really felt the heat between Willa and Dave. Willa was intensely dislikable at first and Dave seemed a little wishy-washy. Willa does change over the course of the book but it seemed pretty sudden and I never really bought her change in behaviour. I didn’t really feel the heat between Willa and Dave but as a couple they did work. They definitely worked better than Dave and Kristina ever did. For me, SAY IT LOUDER just didn’t seem to hit the right now. It was well written but it just seemed to lack the heart of the other books and while I liked it I just didn’t love it as much as I’d wanted.

A portion of SAY IT LOUDER was also spent introducing a new character, Ryan, and placing her into the path of the main characters. As with the introduction of Willa in REVENGE BOUND, this was all part of a set up and we learn that there is to be another book in the series, SKIP A BEAT. Which I’m not entirely sure how I feel about it. On one hand, I like the idea of another rock star musician book but on the other I was ready for this series to be over. Ryan also wasn’t really developed enough in this book to give a sense on who she is and if her story is worth reading. Although, deep down I know that I will because I do enjoy Tretheway’s writing.

irishdarkblue

 

Grab your copy today:

Amazon ebook | iBooks | Kobo | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Paperback

 

sil-teaser-2

 

Get the first book in the Tattoo Thief series free (on iBooks, Amazon, Nook or Kobo), or dive in to Say it Louder by downloading a free extended sample for Kindle or all other devices. Check out this excerpt, and then enter the Rafflecopter giveaway to win a signed paperback and special swag.

Tattoo Thief (#1) – https://heidijoytretheway.com/0px%20!important;%22%20/%3E

Tyler & Stella (#2) – https://goo.gl/WrLTff

Revenge Bound (#3) – https://goo.gl/Uq5VTR

Skip a Beat (#5) – releases Jan. 31, 2017

All buy links are at www.heidijoytretheway.com/books

 

About Heidi Joy Tretheway:

heidi-joy-tretheway-author-photo

Heidi Joy Tretheway is a sucker for campfires, craft cocktails, and steamy romance in books and real life. She sings along with musicals (badly), craves French carbs, and buys plane tickets the way some women buy shoes.

Her first career as a journalist took Heidi behind the scenes with politicians, rock stars, and chefs, all of whom inspire her stories. Heidi Joy is currently working on her tenth book from her home in southwestern Washington.

 

Connect with Heidi:

Contest

Enter Heidi’s Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Tour Stops

September 30th                             

Socially Awkward Book Nerd     Review

Barbara’s Book Reveiws                              Excerpt

October 1st                      

Books,Dreams,Life          Excerpt

The Silver Dagger Scriptorium                   Excerpt

Vera is Reading                Excerpt

October 2nd                    

Sassy Girl Books                             Review

A Dream Within A Dream            Excerpt

Quesarasera Book Blog                Review

October 3rd                     

Southern Belle Book Blog            Excerpt

Ticket to Anywhere                       Review

Reading Tigress                Review

October 4th                     

My Favorite Things         Review

SnoopyDoo’s Book Reviews        Excerpt

October 5th                     

Words of Wisdom from The Scarf Princess           Review

Reese’s Reviews               Excerpt

Bound By Books Book Review    Review

October 6th                     

Romance Book Nerd      Excerpt

EskieMama Reads           Excerpt

October 7th                     

Collector of book boyfriends      Playlist

iScream Books Review

Captain Reads A Lot       Excerpt

Inked in Chapters            Review

October 8th                     

CReeeBookWorld            Review

Renee Entress’s Blog      Review

Author Groupies              Review

October 9th                     

A Brit and a Yank             Review

Reading Between the Wines Book Club Guest Post

bookshelf dreaming       Review

Ashley Book Blog            Review

October 10th                   

The Smut-Brarians          Review

Books to Breathe             Review

Books Need TLC                              Review

October 11th                   

Adventures in Writing    Playlist

Live read and breathe    Review

Novel Addiction                              Review

October 12th                   

Alpha Book Club              Review

Red Cheeks Reads           Excerpt

Wild and Dirty Book Blog             Review

October 13th                   

G & T’s Indie Café            Excerpt

Short and Sassy Book Blurbs       Review

Ramblings From This Chick         Review

The Phantom Paragrapher          Review

Nay’s Pink Bookshelf      Excerpt

 

three-stars
Divider

Friday, August 15, 2014

Review: Revenge Bound by Heidi Joy Tretheway

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Revenge Bound by Heidi Joy TrethewayRevenge Bound by Heidi Joy Tretheway
Series: Tattoo Thief,
Also in this series: Tattoo Thief, Tyler & Stella, Say it Louder
Published by Self-Published on 31 July 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, New Adult, Parents, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Issues
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Tattoo Thief, Tyler & Stella, Say it Louder

Place(s) Traveled To: New York, New York // Ithaca, New York // Steamboat Springs, Colorado // Los Angeles, California

First Line(s): The internet is full of naked pictures of pretty girls.

Whenever it comes to a series that involves a group of people there is always one that you want to know about more and one that you don’t really have an opinion on one way or the other. In Heidi Joy Tretheway’s Tattoo Thief series, Jayce falls into the catagory of one that I wanted to know more about so I was excited when Revenge Bound would be his story. Violet, on the other hand, was someone that I was more unsure of as she didn’t really make her presence known in Tyler & Stella and she kind of faded into the backround. I really wasn’t expecting much from her so was pleasently surprised when she was made from stronger stuff than I thought.

In Revenge Bound, we learn that Violet’s ex-boyfriend was not dealing with the break up well and when attempts to win her back failed he decided to post intimate photos of her on a revenge porn webiste along with her name, address, and phone number. Which is beyond a dickhead move to do as there are some very real crazies out in the world, many of who start to text Violet and a few who try to accost her at her home. This sort of response from the ex is one that totally baffles me and it seems like something out of a Law & Order: SVU episode than anything else. What makes it even more scary is that this sort of thing does actually happen in the world and that just made my heart go out to Violet.

I loved Violet and Jayce’s relationship and thought that they really meshed well together. They complimented each others strengths and help make the other person better. I like how, while there is instant attaction between the two there is a real build up in feelings and it was fun to see their relationship grow over the course of the book. Even if it did seem a bit too much of a coincidence that they both shared similar sexual proliclivities. But then that is part of what makes this a fictional story and not real life as you can have these sort of things all fall nicely into place with just a few strokes of the keyboard. It still worked and it worked for Violet and Jayce and it made me happy that they found a HEA together.

What bothered me about this story was Kristina, a secondary character that we’ve seen since the begining. Kristina is the long time girlfriend of Tattoo Thief’s drummer, Dave, and a very real B!tch. Which is why I found it hard that all the characters in this story seem to confinde in her at some point in time or another. She’s not the sort that one spills secrets to and so its no shock that she uses these secrets against those around her when it suits her interests. This sort of behavior also escalated a bit too fast in Revenge Bound to seem realistic though I know its just a set up for the big conflict in the fourth book in the series. Because with each book the story becomes a bit more than just a straight romance and after the events in Revenge Bound you need something dramatic to keep the momemtum going.

For there is a lot that happens in Revenge Bound that goes beyond Jayce and Violet falling in love. There is the stalker to deal with along with Violet’s ex  and how that effects not just Violet but also her family and Jayce. While I did think that the whole stalker aspect was a bit rushed at the end it was a realistic progression from observation to action. It just all happened so fast. But will admit that those final moments did keep me on the edge of my seat. I liked how Violet wasn’t a passive character as I initially thought she would be based on what we saw of her in Tyler & Stella. I liked how she was strong and took control of her situation even when there were times when she probably should have asked for help. (Tretheway talks a little about why she wrote Violet as she did in this post and I think you should check it out.)

Overall, I enjoyed this installment in the series and while I think that Tyler & Stella is still my favorite Revenge Bound is a close second. If you like new adult romances that involve rock stars and heroines that find their strength then you should really check this one out.

.

irishdarkblue

.

.

.

Revenge Bound quote

three-half-stars
Divider

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Blog Tour Review: Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Trethway

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Blog Tour, Contest, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Trethway

Blog Tour Review: Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy TrethwayTyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Tretheway
Series: Tattoo Thief, Book 2
Also in this series: Tattoo Thief, Revenge Bound, Say it Louder
Published by Self-Published on 20 February 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Emotions & Feelings, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, New Adult, Performing Arts
Pages: 275
Format: eARC
Source: Inkslinger PR
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Tattoo Thief, Revenge Bound, Say it Louder

Place(s) Traveled To: New York, New York

First Line(s): I never hated myself as much as I do right now.

Tyler & Stella by Heidi Joy Trethway picks up a little before the end of Tattoo Thief and is told from Stella’s POV. You get to see a bit more of her motivation behind stealing the video but the way that whole scenario played out is still a bit unsatisfactory. And the big cryptic secret/envelope that she had was a little underwhelming as well. Although, despite these things I did enjoy Stella’s story more than I did Beryl’s and I think a good reason for that is because Stella and Tyler actually spent most of the book together.

I liked how Stella and Tyler started as friends(ish) and then roommates and then as a couple. It made their realtionship seem real and tangible which is part of what I think was missing from Beryl and Gavin’s story. Since I liked the main characters better I found Tyler & Stella to be a quick read as I wanted to see how they would get to their HEA. I also wasn’t disappointed at all that there wasn’t a ton of cameos from Beryl. Normally I love it when characters from previous books keep popping in on the next one but in this case I was happy for the focus to be on Stella and Tyler. And I could have done with a little less Violet. Though I get why she was around so much as its a set up for her story which will be coming next.

As with, Tattoo Thief, this one ends with a random dialogue scene that is a lead in for the next book and it just left me sighing. And not a sigh of happiness either. This method of ending just seems so forced to me as if its trying to be a cliff hanger but without the suspense or drama that cliff hangers usually have. So if I ever re-read this story then I will have to make a notation to stop before I get to that very last chapter. I much preferred the story ending with some happy times/thoughts between Tyler and Stella and not with other characters.

Overall, I enjoyed Tyler & Stella and its one that I would recommend those that like new adult, rock starts, and books about second chances. Its a companion to Tattoo Thief and can probably be read independently of the first book since this one starts before that one ends so all the main points of that book are pretty well covered. The writing and the pacing were good and I found myself cheering Stella and Tyler on as they searched for their HEA. They are both flawed people with issues and they manage to overcome them and find a common ground. Tyler and Stella compliment each other in a way that I found missing from Beryl and Gavin’s story and I was sad when this one was over. While I will read Violet and Jace’s story when it comes out I have a feeling that Tyler & Stella will remain my favorite of the lot.

irishdarkblue

Tyler & Stella Synopsis:

Stella Ramsey always says bad boys can’t break your heart. They don’t call, don’t cuddle and don’t send flowers—but what do you expect? For Stella, no strings means no regrets.

When the biggest story of her fledgling career as a music journalist nearly ruins her relationship with her best friend, Stella has one chance to redeem herself. Tyler Walsh could be that chance.

Stella promises the bassist for the rock band Tattoo Thief anything in exchange for behind-the-scenes access. But Tyler doesn’t want anything. He wants everything—and that’s more than Stella is prepared to give.

When Tyler’s explosive secret thrusts Stella into the media spotlight, she must choose between the selling the story and telling the truth—and exposing the truth about herself as well.

Tyler & Stella (Tattoo Thief #2) is a sizzling story of lust, lies, and sacrifice, revealing how much love can forgive.


Heidi Joy Trethway  Bio:

Heidi Joy lives in Happy Valley off Sunnyside Road. She swears she did not make that up.

Heidi’s obsessed with storytelling. Her career includes marketing, journalism, and a delicious few years as a food columnist. Media passes took her backstage with several rock bands, where she learned that sometimes a wardrobe malfunction is exactly what the rock star intends.

You’ll most often find Heidi Joy with her husband and two small kids cooking, fishing, exploring the Northwest, and building epic forts in their living room.

She loves to hear from readers via messages at facebook.com/author.heidi.

Links:

 

Blog // Twitter // Facebook // Author Goodreads // Tyler & Stella Goodreads

 

 

Heidi Joy Trethway  Bio:

Heidi Joy lives in Happy Valley off Sunnyside Road. She swears she did not make that up.

Heidi’s obsessed with storytelling. Her career includes marketing, journalism, and a delicious few years as a food columnist. Media passes took her backstage with several rock bands, where she learned that sometimes a wardrobe malfunction is exactly what the rock star intends.

You’ll most often find Heidi Joy with her husband and two small kids cooking, fishing, exploring the Northwest, and building epic forts in their living room.

She loves to hear from readers via messages at facebook.com/author.heidi.

 

Contest:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Blog Tour Schedule:

Feb 21

Dirty Hoe’s Book Blog     Dreamcast

Books to Breathe             Review

Feb 22

BestSellers & BestStellars             Playlist

Ramblings From This Chick           Review

Feb 23

sofia loves books             Review

Read-Love-Blog                                Review

Feb 24

Made For You Book Reviews                      Review

All booked out                  Excerpt

Feb 25

All Romance Reviews                     Review

Cocktails and Books                        Review

Feb 26

Holly’s Hot Reads                             Guest Post

Our Fictional Boyfriends                                Review

Feb 27

A Life Bound By Books   Review

Ficwishes                             Excerpt

Feb 28

Live Read and Breathe                   Review

Brianna Lee Book Reviews           Guest Post

Mar 1

Sassy Girl Books                                Review

Reading Between the Wines      Guest Post

Mar 2

deal sharing aunt                             Dreamcast

Ticket to Anywhere                        Review

Mar 3

My Daily Romance                           Review

Mar 4

Nomi’s Paranormal Palace           Excerpt

Fabulously Girly Book Blog           Playlist

Mar 5

Romance Addict Book Blog          Review

The Book Bellas                 Review

Mar 6

Gigi’s Book Blog                 Review

Smokin’ Hot Book blog   Dreamcast

Mar 7

Sarah’s Bookshelf            Review

mustreadbooksordie     Excerpt.

 

three-half-stars
Divider

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Review: Tattoo Thief by Heidi Joy Tretheway

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, New Adult, Review0 Comments

Review: Tattoo Thief by Heidi Joy TrethewayTattoo Thief by Heidi Joy Tretheway
Series: Tattoo Thief,
Also in this series: Tyler & Stella, Revenge Bound, Say it Louder
Published by Self-Published on 08 October 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Love & Romance, Music & Musicians, New Adult
Pages: 300
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Tyler & Stella, Revenge Bound, Say it Louder

Place(s) Traveled To: Eugene, Oregon // New York, New York

First Line(s): When failure rubs its stinky butt in your face, it smells like coffee.

Tattoo Thief by Heidi Joy Tretheway came across my path when I saw a blog tour announcement for the second book in the series, Tyler & Stella. I liked the sound of that book and so decided to check this one out to see what this world was all about. Tattoo Thief is told from the POV of Beryl a recent college graduate who thinks that her life is this big horrible, tragic mess because she hated her chosen career path and so quit and is now managing a Starbucks. At the ripe old age of 24 she feels she’s a terrible failure and that she’ll never amount to anything. Cue major eye rolling at the initial mental hysterics from our heroine. But wouldn’t you know, just as she thinks life is over in drops her long lost pseudo-Uncle who offers her a job in New York City with lots of potential and adventure in the big city where her BFF already lives and who is in need of a roommate. Its all so very fairy tale-ish and there were many sighs on my part.

While life in the Big Apple isn’t quite what Beryl expected, especially since her BFF doesn’t actually have a room to let and our MC feels like a total country bumpkin. But pseudo-Uncle saves the day again by saying that he always wanted to expand his property management company to include house sitters and wouldn’t you know it there is a place that needs someone to look after it and take care of the owners dog too. Soon Beryl is living the high life in a penthouse apartment belonging to the MIA lead singer of one of the most popular bands in the world as well as initiating a correspondence with him as he deals with some issues that caused him to flee the city in the first place.

Tattoo Thief isn’t like most romances where the hero and heroine have lots of face to face time, Beryl and Gavin don’t actually meet in person until almost the end of the book. Up until then their interaction was through emails and IMs – most of which Gavin would leave abruptly because Beryl would call him on his sh!t and he didn’t like that. As such I found their romance a bit hard to believe. I know that people meet on-line all the time and do find last love but there was just something about this one that didn’t ring true. Friendship, yes, that I can believe but ever-lasting love? Not so much.

The big climax, almost break up scene, at the end was also a bit rushed and really felt incomplete. Gavin and Beryl are quick to believe the worst of each other but they are even quicker to drop all that and move on to reconciliation. It all happened in a blink and almost gave me whiplash. The fight that Beryl had with Stella was equally quick and never rang true. I felt like there was a lot that happened in the end that was cut out of the story and so it just seemed as though there were pieces missing. I also hated the very very end where all of a sudden Beryl is talking directly too the reader, giving a crazy hint at something dark and mysterious in Stella’s past but nothing can be said as its her story and she’ll have to tell it. *sighs* I’m not a fan of cryptic announcements.

Overall, I wasn’t a huge fan of Tattoo Thief but I didn’t hate it either. It was decently written and a quick read. I didn’t mind spending my afternoon on it. I just wish that the ending could have been beefed up a bit and that I liked the MC more. I am curious enough to continue this series though and see where it all goes. After all, its hard to resist those rock stars.

irishdarkblue

three-stars
Divider