Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Author: Darynda Jones

Saturday, January 17, 2015

Review: Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 3 Stars, Review, Young Adult0 Comments

Review: Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda JonesSeventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge
Published by St Martin's Press on 21 October 2014
Genres: Adult, Angels, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Demons, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Friendship, Ghosts & the Undead, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge

 Place(s) Traveled To: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line(s): If the howling from the backseat of Agent Carson’s black SUV weren’t already dead, I would’ve strangled her. Gladly.

Seventh Grave and No Body is the seventh installment in Darynda Jones’s Charlie Davidson series and picks up not long after Sixth Grave on the Edge ends. While I wasn’t thrilled with the previous installment I was looking forward to Seventh Grave as I thought that maybe some of the bigger story ARC mysteries would be dealt with. However, I ended up being more disappointed in this story than I’d hoped and think that its really losing steam. The start of this series was so fresh and unique and now its just dragging on and getting a little repetitive in its telling. Charlie is getting a little annoying with her constant naming of things and constantly rushing off into danger.

In the beginning you could almost excuse her leaps into danger as there was always a bigger end game going on. But this aspect was missing in Seventh Grave and when you add into it that Charlie is pregnant its just reckless and irresponsible. The mystery that is started in this book is mediocre at best and as with the previous installment not much is accomplished with the overall story ARC. Other than re-hashing things that happened before there wasn’t anything new here and so that made Seventh Grave all the more frustrating and I am really starting to question if I want to continue reading this series or not.

Seventh Grave and No Body Quote

There are still elements of the story that I like, I do enjoy the humor though as I said above I do wish that some things would get toned down. The secondary characters continue to shine though why they continue to put up with some of Charlie’s antics I’ll never know. So in the end I sighed more than I laughed in this one and it just took longer to get through than it should have. There were also moments in this book that were impossible to believe because its hard to feel tension and think that characters are in peril when there are 4 more books to come in the series.

For me, its starting to seem as though there is no end point to the series and I think that does this world and characters a disservice. It just drags things out too much and so not much really happens in the story. While I do like how there is less than a year to wait between the next installment I am just not sure if I have the time or the energy to devote to books 8, 9, 10 and 11.

irishdarkblue

 

IR - Seventh Grave
three-stars
Divider

Monday, June 30, 2014

Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 3.5 Stars, Adult, Review2 Comments

Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda JonesSixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Seventh Grave and No Body
Published by St Martin's Press on 20 May 2014
Genres: Abduction, Action & Adventure, Adult, Angels, Contemporary Romance, Dating & Sex, Death & Dying, Demons, Emotions & Feelings, Family, Ghosts & the Undead, Love & Romance, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 326
Format: ARC
Source: Gift
Buy on Amazon|Buy on Audible|Buy on Barnes & Noble|Buy on Book Depository
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Fifth Grave Past the Light, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled To: Albuquerque, New Mexico // Other locations in New Mexico

First Line(s): “A girl, a mocha latte, and a naked dead man walk into a bar,” I said, turning to the naked dead man sitting in my passenger seat.

 

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones was among my most anticipated titles of 2014 as I just love the humor of this series. So I was really excited when I received an ARC of it as part of Andi’s Spring Book ExchangeSixth Grave on the Edge is filled with all the humor and shenanigans that I’ve come to expect from a Charlie Davidson book and despite many of the same tricks and ploys used in previous books Darynda Jones manages to keep the story fresh. I think this is due in part ot how these books aren’t a mystery of the week sort of story anymore and while there is always a mystery story ARC in the book there is this larger backstory/mystery going on that spans multiple books.

The big mystery is intriguing and I look forward to gaining new clues to the big mystery of just what Charlie’s full purpose is here on Earth. I love seeing more of Cookie, Uncle Bob, Reyes, and all the rest as they all continualy grow and become a bit more real as the series progesses. However, in this book I have to admit to being a little disappointed in it. It just didn’t seem as if much of anything happened in the bigger storyline and the main mystery of the book was just so-so. Overall, Sixth Grave felt more like book 2 in a trilogy in the sense that there was a lot of build up but not a lot of action. There were lots of hints about things to come but not major revels. At least, not until the end. Even the question proposed at the end of Fifth Grave Past the Light wasn’t fully answered until towards the end of this book.

As with all the other books Sixth Grave was entertaining but I just wanted a little more depth to it. A bit more of the big mystery revelead. Or even more development among the various characters as they all just sort of stood still in this one. With the exception of Mr Wong who had some cryptic remarks made about him and now I’m more curious than ever about Charlie’s roommate than I was before. Though despite not being as fully satisfied in this installment as I normally am in a Charlie Davidson book I still managed to read it pretty fast. This series is alwys good fun and even with the added minor cliff-hangers that are appearing at the end of each book I do find myself excited for the next one. And you can be sure that I’m uber excited that Seventh Grave and No Body will be released in October 2014 and a year from now in 2015. I just hope that there is a bit more substance to that one than was in this one.

 .

irishdarkblue

 

.

.

.

Sixth Grave Quote

three-half-stars
Divider

Monday, July 8, 2013

Review: Fifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 5 Stars, Adult, Review2 Comments

Review: Fifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda JonesFifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda Jones
Series: Charlie Davidson,
Also in this series: Sixth Grave on the Edge, Seventh Grave and No Body
Published by St Martin's Press on 09 July 2013
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 501
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
five-stars
Also by this author: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet, Sixth Grave on the Edge, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled to: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line: The dead guy at the end of the bar kept trying to buy me a drink.

Holy frijoles Batman!

This is one book that I have a hard time putting into words it was just that good and exceeded all of my expectations. If you’re a regular reader of this blog then you know that I’ve been blitzing through the Charley Davidson books by Darynda Jones. And if you live in Massachusetts then you may have hear my squeal of delight when I received a copy of Fifth Grave Past the Light which is the newest installment in the series. Fifth Grave picks up almost immediately after Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet ends and its just filled with hotness and awesome.

The mystery portion of this book wasn’t as intriguing to me in this book as in previous ones and in some cases it even took a back seat to the secondary storylines. Because in this book, dear readers, sh!t really starts to hit the fans. Things are alluded to that could have some crazy crazy things happen to our favorite grim reaper in the future. Not to mention the whole crazy portal back story and its future implications. Talk about edge of your seat moments and yet at the same time just not enough. Before this book the whole secondary portions of Charley’s purpose was just kinda meh. Well, not meh but it just wasn’t at the forefront of my brain. But in Fifth Grave there were just enough details and hints given that have me lusting for more.

And speaking of lust….can we just say ooh la la steamy hot scenes with our favorite son of satan, Reyes. Wow. These are the scenes that readers have been waiting for ever since First Grave on the Right. I just love these two together and their chemistry positively sizzles off the page. Plus there was that ending!! Talk about killer and its a whole millenina (ok only about a year) until the next book is out and you know what will happen next. So while there is a cliff hanger its not one that the story hinges on. The mystery is solved in this book and the cliff hanger is all about Charley.

There was some disappointments in this book and that was a lack of the Step-monster. I may not like the character much but I do like the barbs that she and Charley toss at each other. I also missed Charley’s interactions with her father but was glad to see more of her sister. Which such a big secondary cast though it can be hard to give them all the page time that they deserve. So as long as there is Reyes, Cookie, Uncle Bob, and Swoops I can be happy. Mostly. It will also be interesting to see where all these secondary characters fit into that thing that we learn about in this book. I have my ideas and I can’t wait to see if they pan out or not.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and think its the best one in the series to date. I am eager to see what happens next. If you love a humorous, sexy, fun paranormal story and you haven’t picked up this series yet then you are seriously missing out.

Charley Davidson Series Order
Book 1: First Grave on the Right
Book 1.5: For I Have Sinned (novella)
Book 2: Second Grave on the Left
Book 3: Third Grave Dead Ahead
Book 4: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
Book 5: Fifth Grave Past the Light
Book 6: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Summer 2014)

five-stars
Divider

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review1 Comment

Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda JonesFourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson,
Published by St Martin's Press on 02 October 2012
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled to: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line: I sat watching the Buy From  Home Channel with my dead aunt Lillian and wondered what my life would’ve been like had I not just eaten an entire carton of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Therapy with a mocha latte chaser.

Its always hard to review a series while trying to keep spoiler free but I will try my best with Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones. I feel hard for this series and I blitz read through all the available books because I just didn’t want to leave this world. I love Charlie, her family, her friends, her frenemies, and her who knows what he is Reyes. (*swoon* Reyes) I even love the quirky chapter titles and this is normally something that I royally dislike. But they work for these series and I love hitting a new chapter to see what saying or quote is used next.

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet picks up soon after the crazy climax of the previous book with Charlie dealing with the consequences. She is not handling things as well as she would like and has developed a bit of an addiction to shop at home networks. Not to mention what happened with Reyes and Swoops. What I love about this series is that it always feels so real, yes even with all the demons and grim reapers. Things happen and there are consequences and repercussions for them. Well, except for when Charlie gets injured as she has some super amazing healing powers that I wish I had as I really do not like pain. lol

As with the previous books in the series there is a mystery ARC that covers the book from open to close and then there is this whole bigger story line that has been brewing over the previous books. The main mystery is solved and neatly tied up in a bow and I like that and there was just enough clues for this bigger story given to keep me interested in learning more. Though I do wish that Darynda Jones would pick up the pace a bit with these little nuggets for the bigger background story ARC. I also liked getting to know all the characters just a little bit better. I know that I’ve said that before and will probably say it again but that is the real benefit of a series.

A true series with the same MC in every book and not just companion novels linked together by a theme. I like learning all of Charlie’s quirks and idiosyncrasies and can really relate to her. I love the chemistry she has on the page with everyone in her life, even her evil step-monster. I love how these books are able to make me laugh out loud.

When I pick up a Charlie Davidson mystery I know that I am in for a good time. There are humorous moments and serious ones. There are hot steamy scenes and then there are things that can make a girl cringe. These are great beach time reads or sitting by the fire on a cold winter night. There is just something so fun about these books that I can’t help but recommend them to everyone I know. They are just such good fun and I hope that they never end because I would be so sad to have to leave these characters and this world forever.

Charley Davidson Series Order
Book 1: First Grave on the Right
Book 1.5: For I Have Sinned (novella)
Book 2: Second Grave on the Left
Book 3: Third Grave Dead Ahead
Book 4: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
Book 5: Fifth Grave Past the Light
Book 6: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Summer 2014)

four-stars
Divider