Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.


Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Thursday, May 1, 2014

The Forbidden Library Blog Tour

Posted by Irish in Blog Tour, Guest Post2 Comments

Welcome to THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY blog tour! In honor of Django Wexler’s new series, perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere, we’ve paired Django and fellow Penguin author Seth Fishman (The Well’s End) in a battle of wits! Each day for the next two weeks, Seth and Django will challenge each other to escape from popular story scenes in the most creative way. Follow along as the two try to outmatch each other and check out some cool interior art from THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY along the way!

Swarmers

Django to Seth: If Mia and company were born in Lyra’s London, what would their daemons be?

Fantastic fun and challenging that question is. Mia Kish fell down a well as a baby, and is scared of the dark and of water (though she acts to overcome that). I’d love to say a fish or dolphin of some sort but unless you’re a captain of a ship, it wouldn’t make much narrative sense to have a daemon who’s stuck in the water all the time. So we’ll have to go with a German Shepherd, good swimmer, watchdog, fiercely loyal and, I’m sure, uncomfortable in dark tight places. Or a frog, but that’s no fun.

The others are a bit easier, I think. Brayden would be a fox (enough said), Jimmy a Great Dane because he’s big and scary and sits on you and licks you and doesn’t have a mean bone in his body. Odessa would be a male bird of paradise, always showing off her plumage. Jo, also a swimmer, but a diver, would be a Peregrine Falcon – fastest divers, great hunters, beautiful and stunning.

9780803739758_medium_The_Forbidden_Library
The Forbidden Library Synopsis:

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That–along with everything else–changed the day she met her first fairy

When Alice’s father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon–an uncle she’s never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it’s hard to resist. Especially if you’re a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

 

About Django Wexler: Django Wexler is the author of The Thousand Names. He lives near Seattle, Washington.

 

The Well’s End Synopsis:9780399159909_medium_The_Well's_End

Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish’s small town of Fenton, Colorado is known for three things: being home to the world’s tallest sycamore tree, the national chicken-thigh-eating contest and one of the ritziest boarding schools in the country, Westbrook Academy. But when emergency sirens start blaring and Westbrook is put on lockdown, quarantined and surrounded by soldiers who shoot first and ask questions later, Mia realizes she’s only just beginning to discover what makes Fenton special.

And the answer is behind the wall of the Cave, aka Fenton Electronics, of which her father is the Director. Mia’s dad has always been secretive about his work, allowing only that he’s working for the government. But unless Mia’s willing to let the whole town succumb to a strange illness that ages people years in a matter of hours, the end result death, she’s got to break quarantine, escape the school grounds and outsmart armed soldiers to uncover the truth.

About Seth Fishman: Seth Fishman is a native of Midland, Texas (think Friday Night Lights), and a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. He spends his days as a literary agent at The Gernert Company and his nights (and mornings) writing. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey. This is his first novel (that’s not in a drawer).

2 Responses to “The Forbidden Library Blog Tour”

  1. YvonneJ

    I loved this book. Very appropriate that it was released during National Library Week.