Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.

Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones

Posted by Irish in 4 Stars, Adult, Review1 Comment

Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda JonesFourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson,
Published by St Martin's Press on 02 October 2012
Genres: Adult, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Also by this author: Fifth Grave Past the Light, Sixth Grave on the Edge, Seventh Grave and No Body

Place(s) Traveled to: Albuquerque, New Mexico

First Line: I sat watching the Buy From  Home Channel with my dead aunt Lillian and wondered what my life would’ve been like had I not just eaten an entire carton of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Therapy with a mocha latte chaser.

Its always hard to review a series while trying to keep spoiler free but I will try my best with Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones. I feel hard for this series and I blitz read through all the available books because I just didn’t want to leave this world. I love Charlie, her family, her friends, her frenemies, and her who knows what he is Reyes. (*swoon* Reyes) I even love the quirky chapter titles and this is normally something that I royally dislike. But they work for these series and I love hitting a new chapter to see what saying or quote is used next.

Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet picks up soon after the crazy climax of the previous book with Charlie dealing with the consequences. She is not handling things as well as she would like and has developed a bit of an addiction to shop at home networks. Not to mention what happened with Reyes and Swoops. What I love about this series is that it always feels so real, yes even with all the demons and grim reapers. Things happen and there are consequences and repercussions for them. Well, except for when Charlie gets injured as she has some super amazing healing powers that I wish I had as I really do not like pain. lol

As with the previous books in the series there is a mystery ARC that covers the book from open to close and then there is this whole bigger story line that has been brewing over the previous books. The main mystery is solved and neatly tied up in a bow and I like that and there was just enough clues for this bigger story given to keep me interested in learning more. Though I do wish that Darynda Jones would pick up the pace a bit with these little nuggets for the bigger background story ARC. I also liked getting to know all the characters just a little bit better. I know that I’ve said that before and will probably say it again but that is the real benefit of a series.

A true series with the same MC in every book and not just companion novels linked together by a theme. I like learning all of Charlie’s quirks and idiosyncrasies and can really relate to her. I love the chemistry she has on the page with everyone in her life, even her evil step-monster. I love how these books are able to make me laugh out loud.

When I pick up a Charlie Davidson mystery I know that I am in for a good time. There are humorous moments and serious ones. There are hot steamy scenes and then there are things that can make a girl cringe. These are great beach time reads or sitting by the fire on a cold winter night. There is just something so fun about these books that I can’t help but recommend them to everyone I know. They are just such good fun and I hope that they never end because I would be so sad to have to leave these characters and this world forever.

Charley Davidson Series Order
Book 1: First Grave on the Right
Book 1.5: For I Have Sinned (novella)
Book 2: Second Grave on the Left
Book 3: Third Grave Dead Ahead
Book 4: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet
Book 5: Fifth Grave Past the Light
Book 6: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Summer 2014)


One Response to “Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones”

  1. Vivien

    Ok ok ok, I have an audiobook of the first one. I’m going to try this series. It sounds like an epic time killer and I love those. Definitely want the audio of all the them. Seems to be one of those series.