Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.

Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

The 6th Target by James Patterson

Posted by Irish in Uncategorized0 Comments

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Source: Purchased
Publication Date: 08 May 2007
Series or Standalone: Series (order below)
ISBN: 031611880X
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 496
James Patterson – Twitter
Place(s) Traveled to: San Francisco, California
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First Line: A killer in waiting, Fred Brinkley slumps in the blue-upholstered banquette on the top deck of the ferry.

I’ve been reading the Women’s Murder Club series since James Patterson started to write it however many years ago. When the series first started I found it fresh and engaging but with this latest book (The 6th Target) the series is starting to get a little worn.
The write up for this book is for a serial kidnapper that supposedly has the city on edge. With lots of terrifying twists and turns that is guaranteed to keep one on the edge of their seat. When the reality was that this novel was more of a yawn than a nail bitter. There are really 3 mysteries – all of which are under developed and don’t blend well with the story as a whole.
The first incident is solved almost as soon as it begins. The serial kidnapping is only one child with allusions to others possibly taken in the past. The kidnapper is predictable and nothing is really solved in the end. And the final plot point starts slow, climaxes quickly and is then over in a flash. This book didn’t hold my attention and it took me far longer than it should have considering its uber short chapters but I just couldn’t get into any of the plots. I also couldn’t get into the whinings and other new details of the backstory on each character. The women never really seem to change or grow from one book to the next and I don’t think that I’ll be rushing out to buy the inevitable 7th book that we all know is coming.

Women’s Murder Club Series Order
Book 1: 1st to Die
Book 2: 2nd Chance
Book 3: 3rd Degree
Book 4: 4th of July
Book 5: The 5th Horseman
Book 6: The 6th Target
Book 7: 7th Heaven
Book 8: The 8th Confession
Book 9: The 9th Judgment