Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.

Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Thursday, September 27, 2007

Scent of Shadows: The First Sign of the Zodiac by Vicki Pettersson

Posted by Irish in Uncategorized0 Comments

Publisher: Eos Publishing

Source: Purchased
Publication Date: 25 Feb 2007
Series or Standalone: Series (see order below)
ISBN: 0060898917
Format: Paperback
Pages: 464
Vicki Pettersson – Blog
Place(s) Traveled to: Las Vegas, Nevada
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

First Line: He didn’t look dangerous, not at first glance.

The final book that I read while on vacation was the start of another series called Scent of Shadows by Vicki Pettersson. This series takes place in Las Vegas and pulls elements from astrology as well as comic books. Here there is another definition of just what it means to be a superhero.
The main character is Joanna Archer, the eldest daughter of one of the richest men on the planet. But she is far from being the socialite that one would expect from someone raised in wealth. Instead she leads the life of a photographer chronicling the lives of the destitute and the poor while trying to reject the socialite her father would prefer her to be. Then in the blink of an eye everything that Joanna thought she knew is changed. For she is no ordinary woman. She is one of the 12 protector signs of the Zodiac and is needed to battle the Shadow counterpart who wants to send the world into chaos and destruction.
Joanna is the typical reluctant superhero. She tries to deny, resist and then finally accepts her calling in life. She also must deal with the difficult task of giving up her identity and all that she knows in order to follow her calling – to be The Archer. In the end though she does what she needs do for the betterment and well being of the mortals that its now her duty to protect…as all reluctant superheroes eventually realize they need to do.
I found this book to be an enjoyable and engrossing read. The writing isn’t the greatest and could be a little repetitive at times. But overall a decent start to a new series. Now that the main introductions and set ups are out of the way I look forward to the next book in the series to see what troubles the Shadow Signs begin to cook up next.
Sign of the Zodiac Series Order
Book 1: The Scent of Shadows
Book 2: The Taste of Night
Book 3: The Touch of Twilight
Book 4: City of Souls
Book 5: Cheat the Grave