Current Contests/Announcements

The story of the Orange Cake Click here to find out more.

Check out the NKOTB Book Tag Meme Here!

Having trouble leaving a comment? If you have trouble commenting then please click on the refresh button, this usually fixes the issue. I also use comment moderation for new commenters to the blog.

Saturday, August 18, 2007

Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton

Posted by Irish in Uncategorized0 Comments

Publisher: Ace Books

Source: Purchased
Publication Date: 01 Oct 1993
Series or Standalone: Series (see below for order)
ISBN: 0441304834
Format: Paperback
Pages: 272
Place(s) Traveled to: St. Louis, Missouri
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

First Line: WILLIE MCCOY HAD been a jerk before he died.

In Laurel K. Hamilton’s book Guilty Pleasures we are introduced to Anita Blake, a young, pint sized, spunky girl who has the ability to raise the dead. Anita lives in a world were supernatural beings – vampires, wereanimals, etc – live right alongside humans. By day Anita works for an organization call Animators, Inc and she raises zombies for money. She is also known in the vampire world as The Executioner and if often charged with the task of executing those vampires or other supernatural creatures who do not follow the law.
One morning Anita gets a phone call to attend the bachlorette party of a friend that night at a place in The District (where most of the vampires in the city live/work) called Guilty Pleasures. While there Anita is asked to work for the vampires to search for the person who has been murdering others of their kind. Anita, who hates vampires, refuses. The master vampire of the city, evil incarnate in the form a child, forces Anita’s hand by threatening the life of her friend. With no choice in the matter Anita plunges head first into the case and along the way deals with wereanimals, zombies and people who want to kill her.
I really enjoyed this first book of a series. I found Anita’s character to be likable and funny. She is a flawed persona with a heart of gold. The mystery of the book was enjoyable although not super difficult to figure out. I will certainly be checking out more books in this series to see what happens next in the world of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter.
Anita Blake Series Order
Book 1: Guilty Pleasures
Book 2: Laughing Corpse
Book 3: Circus of the Damned
Book 4: The Lunatic Cafe
Book 5: Bloody Bones
Book 6: The Killing Dance
Book 7: Burnt Offerings
Book 8: Blue Moon
Book 9: Obsidian Butterfly
Book 10: Narcissus in Chains
Book 11: Cerulean Sins
Book 12: Incubus Dreams
Book 13: Micah (novella)
Book 14: Dance Macabre
Book 15: The Harlequin
Book 16: Blood Noir
Book 17: Skin Trade
Book 18: Flirt (novella)
Book 19: Bullet
Book 20: Hit List
Buy this book from Barnes & Noble or Amazon
Next Up: Finish The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman